Main Street Area Survey (VA-897), Main Street. General views and selected details of building groups along Main Street. 10 ext. photos (1968).

Pendleton-Coles House (VA-898), see House (VA-898), 319 Letcher Ave., Lexington.
Page 143

Reid-White House

Reid-White House (VA-955), S side of Nelson St. (U.S. Rte. 60), between Myers St. and Lee St. Brick, 40'6" (three-bay front) x 34'6", two stories above raised basement, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys. Built early 19th C., wings added later. 8 sheets (1970, including plans, elevations, section, details).

Stono (VA-900), see Jordan's Point (VA-900), Lexington.

Stono
Page 144

Virginia Military Institute, Barracks

Valley Railroad Station (VA-904), N side of intersection of McLaughlin and Glasgow Sts. Brick, 142'6" (fifteen-bay front) x 22', one story, steep gable roof, one interior chimney, pressed brick segmental jack arches over openings; interior divided into passenger and freight areas; flanking gable-roof wings. Built 1883 for the Valley Railroad Company of Virginia; acquired by the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad Co. 1942. 5 ext. photos (1968);'4 data pages (1969).

Virginia Military Institute: Barracks (VA-902), V M.I. Parade Grounds at end of Letcher Ave. Brick with stucco, quadrangle (thirteen-bay S front), four stories, flat roof, crenellated parapet, octagonal towers flanking S entrance; quadrangular plan with open balconies on interior courtyard. Built 1850-62; burned 1864; rebuilt 1870-73, Alexander Jackson Davis, architect; enlarged 1892, 1. E. A. Rose, architect; enlarged 1918-19, B. G. Goodhue, architect; enlarged 1946-48, Carneal and Johnson, architects. 3 ext. photos (1968); 22 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965). NR; NHL

Superintendent's Quarters (VA-901), N side of V.M.I. Parade Grounds. Brick with stucco, irregular (nine-bay front), two stories, flat roof, six concealed interior chimneys; irregular plan; flanked by crenellated octagonal three-story towers. Built 1860-62, Alex-ander Jackson Davis, architect; dismantled and reconstructed on new site 1914; altered and enlarged 1924, Carneal and Johnson, architects; renovated 1954. 4 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 4 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965).

Washington and Lee University, Washington Hall

Washington Hall, Washington and Lee University (VA-568), N side of Jefferson St., E of Washington St. Brick, five-part composition, central block: rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof with cupola, gable-end front with hexastyle pedimented Doric portico, interior end chimneys; terminal blocks: rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, hipped roof with deck, portico with paneled square columns, interior end chimneys; hyphens: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, twin pilaster motif separates bays. Washington Hall built c. 1824; S block built c. 1831; N block and hyphens added 1842. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1968); 1 int. photo (1968); 11 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965).

 

  LEXINGTON VICINITY Rockbridge County (82)

Covered Bridge (VA-567.) on Maury River, .1 mi. W of intersection of U.S. Rte. 11 and State Rte. 39, at NE line of Lexington city limits. Frame, post supports under bridge platform, two long arched planks anchored on each bank span river to give additional stability, vertical and diagonal framing support gable roof. Built late 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Stone House

Stone House (VA-899), W bank of Woods Creek, .2 mi. SW of State Rte. 687 (Ross Rd.), at its intersection with Woods Creek. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney, one-story pedimented wooden entrance porch; center-hall plan; one-story side wing connected to main house by hyphen. Built 1797, John Spear, builder; renovated and partially restored 1966. 3 ext. photos (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1969); HABSI's (1957, 1965).

Winterview Farm Log Cabin (VA-956), .1 mi. S of interstate 81, 1.5 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 11. Log, rectangular (one-bay front), two stories, gable roof with overhang protecting second-floor balcony, one interior chimney; open plan. 5 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations).

 

  LIGHTFOOT VICINITY James City County (48)

Greenspring (VA-440), .4 mi. W of W tributary of Powhatan Creek, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 614, 1.2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 613. Site. Brick, foundations only; rectangular plan with ell. Built mid 17th C.; demolished 1796. 1 sheet (1929, plan); HABSI (1958).
Page 147

Stone House

Pinewoods (Warburton House) (VA-532), .1 mi. N of NE tributary of Pine Woods Pond, .4 mi. N of State Rte. 613, 1.4 mi. SW of inter-section with State Rte. 614. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two T-shaped interior end chimneys, segmental arched openings, full-length front porch; irregular plan; rear ell. Built late 17th C.; front porch and later additions. 3 ext. photos (1934); HABSI (1958).

Warburton House (VA-532), see Pinewoods (VA-532), Lightfoot Vicinity.

 

  LITWALTON VICINITY Richmond County (80)

Edge Hill (VA-431), .2 mi. NW of Lancaster Creek, .7 mi. SE of end of State Rte. 605, 1.4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, molded brick water table; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C. 3 ext. photos (c. 1930, 1934).
Page 148

 

  LONG ISLAND VICINITY Campbell County (16)

Green Hill (VA-419), .5 mi. N of Staunton River, E side of State Rte. 728, .3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 633. Brick, rectangular five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney, brick-columned porch. Built c. 1800; rear ell possibly built earlier. House and subsidiary bldgs. form extremely well-preserved plantation complex. 12 ext. photos (1937, 1960); 1 photocopy, plan of plantation (1960); 6 data sheets (1960); HABSI (1958). NR

White Hall (VA-66), 1.6 mi. NE of Staunton River, N side of State Rte. 637, 1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 761. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four stone exterior end chimneys; two stone one-story outbuildings. Built late 18th C.; renovated. 3 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  LORETTO VICINITY Essex County (29)

Brooke's Bank (VA-731), S bank of Rappahannock River, 1.3 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 17, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 638. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), hipped roof, two interior end chimneys with brick diaper work, modillion cornice, molded brick belt course and water table, one-story wooden Doric entrance porch; center-hall plan, notable interior trim; one-story side wings, brick, one-story kitchen, smokehouse, and privy, frame with clapboarding. Built 1731-34; lateral wings altered and enlarged 1934. 16 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details of main house and outbuildings), 15 sheets (1967, adapted from drawings 1933, including plans, elevations, details); HABSI (1958).
Page 152

Brooke's Bank

Elmwood (VA-323), .5 mi. N of Elmwood Creek, .9 mi. NW of State Rte. 640, .2 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 17. Brick (Flemish bond), 100 (eleven-bay front) x 33', two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers; two interior chimneys, modillion cornice, advanced entrance bay with gable and Palladian window above entrance door, gauged belt course, molded brick water table; center-hall plan, notable interior trim including Doric cornice in center hall with triglyphs, metopes, and rosettes; elaborate dado, cornice, overmantels in drawing room and parlor. Built late 18th C.; enlarged late 18th C.; altered 1852; partially restored and renovated 1961-67. 5 ext. photos (1934, 1939), 12 int. photos (1994, 1939); 3 data pages (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

Elmwood
Page 153

Kinloch

Kinloch (VA-387), 2.7 mi. E of Baylors Pond, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 641, 2.3 mi. E of intersection of U.S. Rte. 17. Brick with stucco, square (five-bay front), three stories above raised basement, shallow hipped roof with deck with balustrade, two interior chimneys, recessed central bay, one-story entrance porch with flat roof, cast-iron balustrade, paired Ionic columns, double flight carved stone entrance steps with cast-iron railing; center-hall plan. Built c. 1840; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1937); 1 data page (1941).

Vauter's Church (VA-410), .1 mi. S of Elmwood Creek, NE side of U.S. Rte. 17, .3 mi. SE of State Rte. 640. Brick (Flemish bond), T-shaped (four-bay lateral front), one story, gable roof, one interior corner chimney modillion cornice, glazed headers above water table, S entrance with square-headed door and triangular brick pediment with gallery windows above, W entrance with arched door and segmental arched brick pediment, windows with arched heads; one-room plan. Built early 18th C.; interior partially destroyed mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1932); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  LORTON VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Arch Hall (VA-109), see Lewis, Lawrence, House (VA-109), Lorton Vicinity.
Page 154

Belmont (Cocke-Washington House) (VA-578), 10913 Belmont Blvd., Belmont Park. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan with side stair hall. Original house built early 18th C. for Catesby Cocke and purchased by Edward Washington 1742; major portion dismantled 1866; the remaining structure may have been a dependency. 8 ext. photos (1959); 2 data pages (1959); HABS1 (1958).

Cocke-Washington House (VA-578), see Belmont (VA-578), Lorton Vicinity.

Colchester Inn (Fairfax Arms Tavern) (VA-413), 10712 Old Colchester Rd. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised stone basement, gable roof with hipped dormers, two stone and brick exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations and renovations. 7 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1959); 1 data page (1959); HABS1 (1958).

Fairfax Arms Tavern (VA-413), see Colchester Inn (VA-413), Lorton Vicinity.

Vauter's Church
Page 155

Gunston Hall

Gunston Hall Gardens
Page 156

Gunston Hall (VA-141), 10709 Gunston Rd. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond), stone trim, 60'6" (five-bay front) x 40'6", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, wooden pedimented W entrance porch, wooden semi-octagonal Gothic E entrance porch; center-hall plan, notable interior trim including an outstanding Chinese room and a Palladian room. Built 1755-58 for George Mason, author of the Virginia Declaration of Rights; William Buckland, architect-joiner, executed much of the interior work; altered mid 19th C.; partially restored and renovated 1913 by Glenn Brown; further restored 1951-52 under the direction of the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America and the Commonwealth of Virginia. 7 ext. photos (1936, 1938); 6 data pages (1941); HABSI (1969). NR; NHL

House (Metzer House) (VA-580), 10720 Old Colchester Rd. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; rectangular plan. Built late 18th C.; extensive later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1959); 1 data page (1959).

Lewis, Lawrence,House (Arch Hall) (VA-109), 11701 River Dr. Frame with clapboarding, 50'2" (five-bay front) x 25'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one interior chimney, entrance doorway with glazed arched transom and sidelights; center-hall plan, large center hall with arched ceiling, notable interior trim. Built late 18th C.; dismantled and moved from 815 Franklin St., Alexandria, 1950; reconstructed with alterations on Belmont Bay, utilizing materials from the original structure 1951 ; roof raised 18" and dormers added on one side of the gable roof 1951 ; further alterations included the addition of a two-story wing and increasing the existing one-story wing to one-and-a-half stories 1962. This house was acquired by Lawrence Lewis of Woodlawn Plantation as his town residence in the early 19th C. 11 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (1936, 1959), 5 int. photos (1937); 1 data page (1959); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Metzer House (VA-580), see House (VA-580), Lorton Vicinity.

Pohick Episcopal Church (VA-190), 9301 Richmond Hwy. Brick (Flemish bond), 66' (five-bay front) x 45'6" (two-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, wooden modillion cornice, rectilinear windows at ground-floor level, arched windows above, sandstone corner quoins, rusticated entrance doorways flanked by Ionic pilasters supporting a cushion frieze and pediment; one-room plan. Built 1769-74, James Wren and William Welt, architects; Daniel French, builder; William Bernard Sears, finish carpenter and carver; repaired and reroofed 1838; interior vandalized 1860-65; interior refurbished in Gothic Revival style 1874; interior partially restored and interior gallery added 1900-30. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1936, 1938); 3 data pages (1960). NR
Page 157

 

  LOVINGSTON Nelson County (63)

Nelson County Courthouse (VA-336), W side of Peebles Mountain, E side of U.S. Rte. 29, .3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 56. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof with cupola, gable-end front, five-bay first-floor arcaded porch; courtroom with gallery; rear wings. Built early 19th C.; stucco added; rear wings added 1940. 2 ext. photos (n.d.); I data page (1941); HABSI (1957).

 

  LURAY VICINITY Page County (70)

Fort Egypt (VA-200), .2 mi. N of Shenandoah River, .3 mi. SE of State Rte. 615, 1.8 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Log above stone basement, 36' (three-bay front) x 322", two stories, hipped roof, one stone interior chimney, fortified stone rooms in basement; four-room plan; notable construction details. Built mid 18th C.; fenestration altered and roof changed from high gable to hipped c. 1840. 11 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details, conjectural restoration); 5 ext. photos (1940), 9 int. photos (1940); 3 data pages (1941); HABSI (1958).

Fort Egypt
Page 158

Fort Massanutten (VA-341), .4 mi. N of Shenandoah River, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 615, 1 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone with brick gables, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two brick interior end chimneys, fortified stone rooms in basement; plan unknown, possibly two room. Built mid 18th C.; ruinous 1940; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941).

Fort Stover (VA-194), .3 mi. E of Shenandoah River, .8 mi. W of State Rte. 660, 1 mi. NW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone, 36'5" (three-bay front) x 28', two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, stone jack arches over windows, fortified arched stone vaulted room in basement; two-room plan, notable interior construction details. Built c. 1760, Samuel Stover, builder; sash altered late 19th C. 12 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 3 data pages (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  LYNCHBURG

Point of Honor (VA-311), 112 Cabell St. Brick with stucco, irregular shape (nine-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, three exterior end chimneys, center three bays framed by semi-octagonal ended bows; irregular plan, fine Adam-style mantels and doorways; one-story wing. Built 1806; later one-story addition. Stucco removed 1972. 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  LYNCHBURG VICINITY Campbell County (16)

Johnson, Christopher, Cottage (VA-11), W side of Tomahawk Creek, N side of State Rte. 126, .7 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 675. Frame with clapboarding, 32'1" (three-bay front) x 18', one-and-a-half stories above stone foundation, gable roof, two stone exterior end chimneys, front overhang forming porch; two-room plan. Built late 18th C. 3 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Christopher Johnson Cottage
Page 159

 

  MADISON Madison County (57)

Madison County Courthouse (VA-325), .5 mi. SE of White Oak Run, NW side of U.S. Rte. 29, .3 mi. NE of intersection of State Rte. 231. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular, temple form (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof with domed octagonal cupola, three interior end chimneys, Tuscan entablature with full Tuscan pediments at either end of building, ground-floor front is four-bay open arcade with brick arches and stone keystones; one-room plan with second-floor gallery. Built 1828, Malcolm F. Crawford, builder; interior ceiling altered and exterior chimneys added. 1 ext. photo (1939); 34 data pages (1941, including 33 pages of photostats of early correspondence concerning construction of the building); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  MADISON VICINITY Madison County (57)

Hebron Lutheran Church Fence, Gate, and Stile (VA-411), .3 mi. W of White- Oak Run, NE side of intersection of State Rtes. 638 and 653, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 231. Picket fence with square pickets; gate with double arched picket motif and pierced lower rail; three-step wooden stile. Probably built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1937); 1 data page (1941).

 

  MANAKIN Goochland County (38)

Manakin Village (VA-218), at intersection of State Rtes. 6 and 621. View of the village; near here is the site of the Dover Coal Mines, one of the first coal mining operations in America, which flourished in the mid 18th C. Much of the work force came from Huguenot families who moved to the Manakin area from the original Huguenot settlement south of the James River at Manakin-Town. 1 ext. photo (1940); 4 data pages (1941).

 

  MANAKIN VICINITY Goochland County (38)

House (Old House) (VA-315), 1.1 mi. N of James River, W side of State Rte. 621, .3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 6. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, center chimney, extension of rear roof pitch forms salt-box shape. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Old House (VA-315), see House (VA-315), Manakin Vicinity.

Powell's Tavern (VA-748), .9 mi. N of James River, N side of State Rte. 650, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 647. Two separate buildings. N building: frame, two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, rear lean-to; central connecting porch. Built late 18th C. S building: brick, two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C. Central porch replaced by two-story frame passageway with interior chimney 1957. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1957).

 

  MANASSAS Prince William County (76)

Liberia (VA-834), 627 Centreville Rd. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, sawtooth cornice, two-story Tuscan tetrastyle portico, arched doorway with semi-circular fanlight; modified center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; later additions. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

Tudor Hall (VA-835), end of Tudor Lane, one block E of intersection with Fairview Ave. Frame with wood siding simulating brick with stone quoining, covered with asbestos siding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, giant tetrastyle Doric portico, modillion cornice with triglyphs and metopes carried around below modillions; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 19th C.; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 161

 

  MANASSAS VICINITY Prince William County (76)

Ben Lomond (VA-836), 1.7 mi. S of Bull Run, .4 mi. E of State Rte. 234, 2.6 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 29/211. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, monumental Tuscan portico extending across W end; center-hall plan; stone outbuildings. Built early 19th C.; later alterations and additions. 2 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1958).

Stone House

Stone House
Page 162

Brent House (VA-553), see White House, The (VA-553), Manassas Vicinity.

Moor Green (Old House) (VA-554), 1 mi. N of Broad Run, .3 mi. W of State Rte. 692, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 649. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys, brick cornice; center hall plan, notable interior trim; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Old House (VA-554), see Moor Green (VA-554), Manassas Vicinity.

Stone House (VA-144), N side of Youngs Branch, NE corner intersection of U.S. Rte. 29/211 and State Rte. 234, Manassas National Battlefield Park. Historic house museum. Stone, 40' (four-bay front) x 23'7", two stories, gable roof, two stone interior end chimneys; center hall plan. Built early 19th C. 9 sheets (1959, including plot plans, plans, elevations, details); 8 ext. photos (1936, 1937, 1940, 1959), 21 int. photos (1959); 2 data pages (1959); HABSI (1958).

White House, The (Brent House) (VA-553), .2 mi. S of Broad Run, to Rte. 619, SE corner intersection with State Rte. 678. Brick with cement wash, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, four brick exterior end chimneys with parapets; center-hall plan; wing. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo HABSI's (1958, 1959).

 

  MANGOHICK King William County (51)

Cottage (House) (VA-534), .8 mi. N of Millpond Creek, N side of 604, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 30. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one story above high brick basement, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys with pent closet between; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; later addition;

1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-534), see Cottage (VA-534), Mangohick.

Mooklar House (VA-764), .7 mi. N of Millpond Creek, NE corner of State Rtes. 604 and 30. Frame with clapboarding, (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, partially enclosed front porch. Built early 19th C.; frame kitchen remains. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 163

Hornquarter

 

  MANGOHICK VICINITY King William County (51)

Hornquarter (VA-149), .6 mi. E of Pamunkey River, .6 mi. N of State Rte. 614, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 601. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with balustrade deck, four interior end chimneys, two-story pedimented portico, three-part windows, rear five-bay front, sides and rear have rectangular paneled insets on each bay between stories; center-hall plan; two front and two rear one-story brick dependencies. Built mid 19th C. 4 ext. photos (n.d., 1938); 1 data page (1939); HABSI (1958).

Mangohick Baptist Church (VA-763), .6 mi. N of Millpond Creek, N side of State Rte 638, .2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water table), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, modillion cornice. Built c. 1730; window sash, interior altered; rear additions. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Palestine (VA-765), .3 mi. N of Herring Creek, .4 mi. W of State Rte. 604, .7 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 628. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; frame, one-and-a-half story side wing. Built late 18th C.; later additions; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).
Page 164

Retreat (VA-767), .4 mi. of Malden Creek, .2 mi. NW of State Rte. 604, 2.2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 628. Brick, rectangular (five bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; brick one-story wing, entrance porch; frame rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions; porch removed. 2 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Roseville (VA-766), .4 mi. N of Herring Creek, .1 mi. SE of State Rte. 604, 1.1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 628. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, N exterior end chimney with brick pent closet, S double chimney with brick pent closet between them; center-hall plan; frame side wing; frame one-story outbuilding with gable roof and exterior end chimney. Built early 19th C.; later additions; N chimney and pent closet destroyed and replaced by exterior end chimney. 2 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  MANQUIN VICINITY King William County (51)

Dabney House (VA-244), see Seven Springs (VA-244), Manquin Vicinity.

Fontainebleu (VA-379), .3 mi. E of E tributary of Manquin Creek, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 618, 1.4 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 661. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers and cupola, four exterior end chimneys. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Seven Springs (Dabney House) (VA-244), .2 mi. E of Mehixen Creek, .4 mi. W of State Rte. 604, .l mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 605. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water table), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and kipped dormers, T-shaped central chimney; entrance hall with three rooms surrounding chimney, two rear rooms have corner fireplaces. Built mid 18th C.; in process of' restoration, rear screen porch added. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  MAPPSVILLE VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Wharton House (VA-490), .4 mi. W of Assawaman Creek, .3 mi. N of State Rte. 762, .4 mi. SE of intersection with Rte. 679. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 46' (five-bay front) x 45', two stories, hipped roof with balustrated deck, two interior chimneys, rectangular plan, fine carved doorway, plaster ceiling decoration, four signed Philadelphia mantels by R. Wellford; side wing. Built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958).
Page 165

Abijah Thomas House

 

  MARION VICINITY Smyth County (87)

Thomas, Abijah House (VA-639), .25 mi. N of South Fork of Holston River, N side of Thomas Bridge Rd., .5 mi. SE of intersection with Scratch Gravel Rd. Brick, octagonal, 2410" each side two-bay side), two stories, octagonal hipped roof, four interior chimneys, one-story porch on three sides; complex interior plan. guilt mid 19th C.; abandoned. 13 sheets (1963, including plans, elevations, sections, details).
Page 166

Abijah Thomas House

 

  MATTOAX VICINITY Amelia County (4)

Oaks, The (VA-157), see Oaks, The (VA-157), 307 Stockton Lane, Richmond.

 

  McLEAN VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Maplewood (VA-739), 7676 Old Springhouse Rd. Brick, asymmetrical (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, advanced entrance tower with steep mansard roof and paired oval attic windows, bracketed cornice, one-story bracketed veranda flanking the entrance tower; modified center-hall plan; one-story side wing, unusually large scale. Built c. 1870; exterior altered 1884-1912; interior extensively remodeled 1912-19; demolished 1970. 7 ext. photos (1969); HABSI (1969).
Page 167

Maplewood

Spring House (VA-740), 7676 Old Springhouse Rd. Stone, rec-tangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, crossed lattice work in gable-end entrance; one-room plan. Built mid 19th C. 2 cxt. photos (1969).

 

  MEADOWS OF DAN Patrick County (71)

Mabry Mill (VA-165), see Mabry Mill (VA-165), Willis Vicinity, Floyd Co.
Page 168

Maplewood

 

  MECHANICSVILLE VICINITY Hanover County (43)

Dr. Gaines House (VA-335), see Powhite (VA-335), Mechanicsville Vicinitv.

Gaines House (VA-78), .2 mi. NE of Sledd's Lake on Fairfield Farm, .2 mi. NW of- State Rte. 615, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 156. Frame with clapboarding, 26'2'/" (three-bay front) x 14'2", one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, two lean-to closets at either side of chimney end form 'T-shape; one-room plan with side closets. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged. 3 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935, 1936, n.d.) ; 1 data page (1941).

Gathwright House (VA-76), N side of N branch of Boatswain Creek, .1 mi. S of State Rte. 156, .4 mi. W of' intersection with State Rtes. 619 and 633. Brick and frame, 48'3" (five-bay front) x 18', two stories, gable roof, W interior end chimney, E exterior end chimney, W three bays oil first floor are brick; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; brick part is original with later frame additions; restored. 13 sheets (1934, 1935, including plans, elevations, details); IIABSI (1957).
Page 169

Pollard House (VA-343), see Williamsville (VA-343), Studley Vicinity.

Powhite (Dr. Gaines House) (VA-335), .3 mi. W of Powhite Creek, 1 mi. SE of State Rte. 615, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 156. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior and one exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; demolishe 2 ext. photos (1934).

Rural Plains (VA-753), .4 mi. NE of Totopotomoi Creek, S side of State Rte. 606, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 643. Brick rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with hipped dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, two-level entrance porch with enclosed second level; center-hall plan, corner fireplaces. Built early 18th C.; porch additions; interior remodeled mid 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

Watt House (VA-477), .2 mi. S of Boatswain Creek, .7 mi. S of Statell Rte. 156, 1.6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 615, at Cold' Harbor National Battlefield Park. Frame with clapboarding, 30'6" (three-bay front) x 28', one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys with two frame pent closets; side-hall plan. Built c. 1835; restored 1959. 6 sheets (1956, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (n.d., 1956); 3 data pages (n.d.).

 

  MERRY POINT VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Oak Hill (VA-298), S bank of W branch of Corotoman River,.3 mi. N of State Rte. 604, .3 mi. W of S terminus of Merry Point-Ottoman Wharf Ferry. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; probably two-room plan. Built c. 1805; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Verville (VA-151), .6 mi. NW of W branch of Corotoman River, W side of State Rte. 611, .3 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 604. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, notable interior trim; flanking one-story wings. Built c. 1700; later additions; restored. 5 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 2 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (1939); HABSI's (1957, 1958).

Waddel, James, House (VA-297), N bank of W branch of Corotoman River, E side of State Rte. 604, at N terminus of Merry Point-Otto-man Wharf Ferry. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three exterior end chimneys; probably two-room plan; side wing: one-and-a-half story, gambrel roof. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged early 19th C.; ruinous 1940; reconstructed within remaining original chimneys 956. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).
Page 170

 

  MIDDLETOWN VICINITY Frederick County (35)

Old Stone Fort (VA-210), NW bank of Middle Marsh Brook, .6 mi. NW of Chapel Rd., 1.1 mi. N of intersection with U.S.Rte. 11. Stone, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, segmental flat stone lintels, nine-over-six window sash with heavy plank frames, three-room plan including long E room the full length of the house. Built mid 18th C. as house with fortified basement room; altered and enlarged early 19th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1938), 2 int. photos (1938); 1 data page (1941).

 

  MILLWOOD Clarke County (22)

Belle Grove (VA-259), .2 mi. S of Cedar Creek, E side of State Rte. 27, .5 mi. NW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 11. Historic house useum of National Trust for Historic Preservation. Stone, rectangular (seven-bay front), hipped roof, four interior stone chimneys, one-story pedimented tetrastyle Doric entrance porch, entrance door with arched transom, stone corner quoins; cross-hall plan, notable interior trim including paneled dog-ear motif overmantels and glazed interior doorway transoms; one-story flanking wing above raised basement. Built c. 1794; restored c. 1922. 15 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.), 8 ext. photos (n.d., 1910, 1939, 1964), 6 int. photos (1964); 9 data pages (1940, 1972); HABSI (1958). NR

Burwell's Mill (Millwood Mill) (VA-354), S bank of Spout Run, N side of State Rte. 723, .4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 255. Stone, rectangular (two-bay front), gable roof with loft, one interior corner chimney; one-room plan. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1934), 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR

Carter Hall (VA-358), .2 mi. NW of Spout Run, .4 mi. SE of State Rte. 255, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 723. Stone, five part composition; central section: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof; hexastyle two-story Ionic portico with parapet, two interior chimneys, arched fanlight; modified center-hall plan; flanking two-story wings; gable roof terminated by flanking one-story wings, gable roofs; main house flanked by matching dependencies: stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built 1790-92; altered and enlarged c. 1830, c. 1855, c. 1930. 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.), 1 int. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).
Page 171

Burwell's Mill

Millwood Mill (VA-354), see Burwell's Mill (VA-354), Millwood.

 

  MODEST TOWN Accomack County (1)

Salt Box House (VA-491), .6 mi. W of Northam Creek, E side of State Rte. 679, E corner of intersection with State Rte. 772. Frame with clapboarding and brick (Flemish bond) end, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; two-room plan; frame, one-story addition. Built mid 18th C.; addition. 3 ext. photos (1940, 1960).
Page 172

 

  MOLLUSK VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Belmont (VA-296), S side of State Rte. 662, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 354. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), gable roof with jerkinheads, dormers, and lean-to slope in ar, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan, closed string stair, otablc interior trim. Built mid l 8th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1940), 4 int. photos (1940).

Saint Mary's Whitechapel (VA-59), 1.1 mi. E of Rappahannock River, NE corner of' intersection of State Rtes. 354 and 201. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), 60' (four-bay front) x 28', one story, hipped roof, modiIlion cornice, arched window heads; one-room plan, gallery, cove ceiling. Built c. 1740; extensively altered mid 19th C.; renovated mid 20th C. 5 ext. photos (1937, 1939), 2 int. photos (1937); HABSI's (1957, 1958). NR

Salt Box House
Page 173

Towles House

Towles House (VA-62), E bank of Rappanhannock River, .5 mi. SW of S end of State Rte. 626, 1.4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 354. Brick ends and frame with clapboarding on front and rear walls, 39'7'/2" (four-bay front) x 26'4", one-and-a-half stories, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan, notable walnut stair. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 12 sheets (1940, including plot plans, plans, elevations, sections, details); 15 ext. photos (1933, 1937, 1940); 2 ext. photocopies (1893, 1898); 2 data pages (1941).

 

  MOSQUITO CREEK VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Poplar Grove (Wallop House) (VA-693), exact location unknown. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, segmental arched windows; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; burned 1944. 3 cxt. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 2 data pages (n.d., 1949).

Wallop House (VA-693), see Poplar Grove (VA-693), Mosquito Creek Vicinity.
Page 174

Mount Vernon

 

  MOUNT VERNON Fairfax County (30)

Mount Vernon (VA-505), Va. shore of Potomac River, .2 mi. S of Mount Vernon Memorial Hwy. at intersection of State Rte. 235. Historic house museum. Frame, beveled-edged wood siding resembling rusticated stonework, 96' (nine-bay front) x 32' (not including portico), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with octagonal cupola and dormers, two interior chimneys, modillion cornice, monumental two-story portico with eight square pillars extending the width of the E front, modillion cross gable with elliptical lunette on the W front, entrance doorway with architrave frame supporting a frieze and pediment, Palladian window on N front; center-hall plan, notable interior trim, ornamental plaster decoration; frame, one-and-a-half story dependencies connected to main house by quarter circle covered arcades; notable brick and frame outbuildings forming com-plete plantation complex; notable landscaping and gardens. Probably first built c. 1730 for Augustine Washington, George Washington's father, as a one-and-a-half story dwelling; enlarged to two-and-a-half stories 1758-59; S end extended 1775; N end extended 1776; E portico completed 1777; W cross gable completed 1778; octagonal cupola added 1787; restored by the Mount Vernon Ladies' Associa-tion of the Union 1858. Mount Vernon was acquired by George Washington from his half brother's widow in 1 754 and was his home until his death in 1799. He is buried on the estate in the tomb erected in 1831. 8 ext. photos, main house (1942, 1969, 1970), 4 ext. photos, outbuildings (1942), 1 ext. photo, tomb (1942); HABSI (1969). NR; NHL
Page 175

Pope-Leighey House

Pope-Leighey House

Pope-Leighey House

Pope-Leighey House
Page 176

Pope-Leighey House

 

  MOUNT VERNON VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Pope-Leighey House (VA-638), 9000 Richmond Hwy. Historic house museum of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Wood and brick, L-shaped, one story, two levels, flat roof, one interior chimney, pierced decorative clerestory window bands, three-layer wooden wall construction consisting of cypress sheathing screwed to both sides of a plywood core; asymmetrical plan of interrelated spaces. Built 1940-41 for Loren B. Pope at 1005 Locust St., Falls Church,Va., Frank Lloyd Wright, architect; sold to Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Leighey 1946; the National Trust for Historic Preservation and Mrs. Leighey contracted for removal and reconstruction of house at Woodlawn Plantation July 1964; house dismantled autumn 1964; reconstruction completed 1965. This house is an example of Wright's Usonian architecture. 9 sheets (1964, 1973, including plot plan plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos before dismantling (April, 1964), 6 ext. photos, after reconstruction (1969), 11 int. photos, before dismantling (April, 1964), 10 int. photos, after reconstruction (1969); 3 data pages (1964); HABSI (1969). NR
Page 177

Washington's Grist Mill (VA-506), 55,414 Mount Vernon Memorial Hwy. Museum. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories with loft, gable roof, one interior stone corner chimney; open plan. Built mid 18th C., ruinous condition mid 19th C.; reconstruct 1932. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1969).

Woodlawn Plantation (VA-337), 9000 Richmond Hwy. Historic house museum of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Brick with stone trim, five part composition, central block: 56' (five-bay front) x 45', two stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and cross gable over central bay, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, one-story porch with stucco over brick columns, deck roof with balustrade on E front; center-hall plan, notable interior stair and trim; symmetrical one-and-a-half-story gable-end flanking pavilions connected to the main block by one-and-a-half-story hyphens; separate dairy; smoke-house: brick (Flemish bond) with stone trim, one story, pyramid roof; one-room plan. Built 1800-05, Dr. William Thornton, architect; flanking wings altered and enlarged early 20th C. Woodlawn was built on part of the Mount Vernon estate for George Washington's adopted granddaughter Eleanor Parke Custis Lewis and her husband, Lawrence Lewis, who was George Washington's nephew. 16 ext. photos (1936, 1939, 1942, 1964), 9 int. photos (1936, 1964);HABSI (1969). NR

Woodlawn Plantation
Page 178

 

  NASSAWADOX VICINITY Northampton County (66)

Brownsville (VA-810), .1 mi. W of Upshur Creek, .6 mi. NE of end State Rte. 608, 1.2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 600. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice, pedimented wooden Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan, notable interior trim; one- and one-and-a-half-story frame wings; frame with clapboarding outbuildings. Built early 19th C.; attached frame wing predates main block; later addition. 6 ext. photos (1960), 2 ext. photos, outbuild-gs (1960), 7 int. photos (1960); HABSI (1958). NR

Happy Union (VA-805), N bank of Holly Grove Cove, .2 mi. NW of W end of State Rte. 692, 1.4 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, entrance door with semi-circular transom in gable end; side-hall plan with three entrance doors; one-story two-bay flanking dependency conected to house by one-story hyphen. Built late 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1960).

Holly Grove (VA-804), S bank of Holly Grove Cove, .8 mi. W of State Rte. 610, .1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; modified side-hall plan; side and rear frame one-story ells. Built 1812; later additions. 3 ext. photos (1960), 3 int. photos (1960).

Woodlands (VA-590), .5 mi. W of Greens Creek, .3 mi. E of State Rte. 600, 2.2 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; one-story frame wing, connecting hyphen; frame outbuildings, including icehouse and dairy. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1960), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1960), 6 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960).

 

  NAXERA VICINITY Gloucester County (37)

Land's End (VA-518), N bank of Severn River, .7 mi. S of State Rte. 614, 1.2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 629. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell; dairy: frame with clapboarding, one story. Built mid 18th C.; later additions mid 20th C. 4 ext. photos (1940), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1940); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1959).
Page 179

 

  NEW CHURCH VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Pitts Neck Farm (VA-492), .3 mi. SE of Pocomoke River, W end State Rte. 709 at intersection with State Rtc. 804, 1 mi. W of intersection with State Rtc. 701. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), gable roof', two brick interior end chimneys, brick pedimented entrance; center-hall plan; side wing. Built early 18th C. 3 ext. photos (1940).

 

  NEW KENT VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Criss-Cross (VA-126), .5 mi. E of intersection of Pelham Swamp and Rumley Marsh, .3 mi. S of State Rtc. 617, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 604. Brick and frame with clapboarding, cruciform (three-bay front), W wing: brick with frame gable end above eaves, one story, gable roof; S wing: brick with frame above second-floor windows, two-and-a-half stories, gable roof; E wing: brick with frame above first floor, two stories, gable roof; N wing: frame with clapboarding, two stories, gable roof; two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney. Built late 17th C.; originally a T-shaped plan; N wing added later; altered; W wing now: brick, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable end above caves; S wing: brick, two stories, gable roof, f'ramc gable end above eaves; E wing: brick, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable end above caves; N wing: brick, one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, frame gable end above eaves. 13 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 7 ext. photos (1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 4 data pages (1937); HABSI (1958).

 

  NEWPORT NEWS

Jones, Matthew, House (VA-1 63), S side of' intersection of MacAuliffe Ave. and James River Rd. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water table), 31'1" (three-bay front) x 21'2", two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, two-story enclosed front porch; one-story rear lean-to. Built early 18th C.; altered; second story added. 7 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations); 10 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935, 1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1959). NR

 

  NEWTOWN VICINITY King and Queen County (49)

Drysdale Glebe (VA-398), 1 mi. S of Beverly Run, S side of State Rte. 641, 1.5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 625. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 int. photo, stair (1939), 1 int. photo, stair (1937, probably of another but similar unidentified stair); 2 data pages (1940, 1941).
Page 180

Matthew Jones House

Hillsborough

Hillsborough (VA-125), N bank of Mattaponi River, .6 mi. SW of State Rte. 633, 1.8 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 632. Brick (Flemish bond), gable ends and frame with clapboarding, 52'5" (five-bay front) x 30'4", two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, wooden one-story entrance porches; center-hall plan, notable interior trim; side wing; storehouse outbuilding: brick, 32'9" (four-bay front) x 18'8", one story, gable roof; one-room plan. Built c. 1722; extensive alterations and additions including removal of drawing room paneling. 20 sheets, main house (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 sheets, store-house (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos, main house (1936), 2 ext. photos, storehouse (1936), 7 int. photos, main house (1936); 5 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Jackson Farm Buildings (VA-361), exact location unknown. Three frame barns: two with clapboard siding and gable roof with wooden shingles, one with board and batten vertical siding and standing-seam tin roof; plans unknown. Date of erection unknown. 1 ext. photo (1937).
Page 181

Hillsborough

Hillsborough
Page 182

Southworth House (VA-313), exact location unknown. brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with shed dormers; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1938), 1 int. photo, basement stair (1938); data page (1941).

 

  NORFOLK

Purdy-Whittle House (Whittle House) (VA-15), 225 W. Freemason St. Brick, 40'2" (three-bay front) x 40'5", two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, two brick interior chimneys, modillion cornice, pedimented Tuscan entrance porch, two-level side porch; fine interiors. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 5 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photo (1934); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Whittle House (VA-15), see Purdy-Whittle House (VA-15), 225 W. Freemason St., Norfolk.

 

  NOKESVILLE VICINITY Prince William County (76)

Effingham (VA-575), .5 mi. W of Cedar Run, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 646, 1 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; frame and stone outbuildings including blacksmith shop, dairy, and slave quarters. Built mid 18th C.; extensive later alterations and additions including mid 20th C. giant portico across front. 4 ext. photos, main house (1936, 1959), 9 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936), 4 int. photos, main house (1936); 2 data pages (1959).

Fleetwood (VA-275), S side of Slate Run, W side of State Rte. 611, .7 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 653. Stone, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; side-hall plan; flanking one-story wings, log with clapboarding. E wing built late 18th C.; main section and office wing built early 19th C. 4 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

House (VA-825), .1 mi. W of Cedar Run, N side of State Rte. 646, 1.6 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C. or early 19th C.; later additions and alterations including dormer windows. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Purdy-White House
Page 183)

Park Gate (VA-555), .4 mi. N of Slate Run, N side of State Rte. 65, .3 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, roof extended to cover porch across front; modified two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; later lean-to addition and interior alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937 HABSI (1959).

Pilgrim's Rest (VA-837), .2 mi. E of Cedar Run, .2 mi. W of State Rte. 607, opposite intersection with State Rte. 645. Frame with brick nogging and flush siding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys joined together below the eaves line to form one extra broad chimney; side-hall plan notable interior trim; side wing. Built late 18th C.; later porch and side-wing additions. 3 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

 

  NOTTOWAY Nottoway County (68)

Nottoway County Courthouse (VA-812), .5 mi. E of Crystal Lake, W side of State Rte. 625, .1 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 460. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented Tuscan portico; one-room plan; flanking one-story, one-bay wings with gable roofs. Built c. 1840; later additions. 1 ext. photo (1938); HABSI (1959).

 

  NUTTSVILLE VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Belle Isle (VA-64), .1 mi. N of N branch of Deep Creek, at SW end of State Rte. 683, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 354. Brick (Flemish bond), three part composition with flanking dependencies, 38'1'/2" (three-bay front) x 32', two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water table, shallow segmental window lintels; modified asymmetrical plan; flanking one-story, gable roof wings each four bays with interior end chimney; NE dependency: brick, 28'1" (three-bay front) x 19'21/2", one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; interiors altered late 18th C.; ground-floor interiors removed c. 1930; ground floor renovated and plan altered c. 1940. Design of house possibly influenced by Robert Morris, Select Architectore, London 1750, plate 33. 18 sheets (1940, including plot plan, plans, elevations, interior elevations, details); 13 ext. photos (1937, 1940), 5 ext. photos, dependencies (1934, 1940), 5 int. photos (1940); 1 photocopy plate from Robert Morris (n.d.); 1 data page (1937); HABSI (1957).
Page 184

Belle Isle

Morattico (VA-73), NE bank of Rappahannock River, at S bank of mouth of Lancaster Creek, .1 mi. W of S end of State Rte. 622, .9 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 718. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished c. 1925; exceptionally fine interior trim reused in modern structure on site. 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1900); 1 data page (1940).

Oakley (VA-535), .1 mi. N of Little Branch, S side of State Rte. 622, .4 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 618. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (five-bay front), two-story front section, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one interior chimney; center-hall plan; ell: one-and-a-half story, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers, one exterior end chimney; outbuilding: frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior center chimney, two-room plan. Built early 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations. 2 ext. photos (1930); HABSI (1958).

 

  OCCOQUAN Prince William County (76)

Mill Ruins and Mill House (VA-576), SW bank of Occoquan Creek, N side of Mill St., at W end. Fieldstone and brick ruins of corner of mill at edge of creek; stone mill house: rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Mill built mid 18th C.; ruinous; mill house built late 18th C., reconstructed. 1 ext. photo (1959); 1 data page (1959).
Page 185

Rockledge

Bel Air

Rockledge (VA-577), S bank of Occoquan Creek, S side of Mill St. at W end. Stone, main block 62'9" (six-bay front) x 20'3", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, two interior end chimneys, one interior chimney, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; one-and-a-half story side wing; springhouse. Built mid 18th C., William Buckland, architect; later addition; interior vandalized; ruinous 1970. 11 sheets (1960, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details, main house; plans, elevations, details, springhouse); 20 ext. photos, main house (1959, 1960), 1 ext. photo, springhouse (1959), 12 int. photos (1960); 5 data pages (1959, 1961); HABSI (1959).

 

  OCCOQUAN VICINITY Prince William County (76)

Bel Air (VA-99), .2 mi. S of Neabsco Creek, .9 mi. W of State Rte. 640, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 610. Brick (Flemish bond), 50'11" (four-bay front) x 34'9", one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney, one interior end chimney; center-hall plan, notable interior trim in-cluding removable interior hall partition. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 7 sheets (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 6 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); HABSI (1959). NR
Page 186

 

  OLD TOWN NECK Northampton County (66)

Westover (VA-957), .2 mi. S of Mattawoman Creek, .5 mi. N of State Rte. 630, .8 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 1. Brick and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan, elaborate panelling. Built 18th C. 7 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections).

 

  ONANCOCK Accomack County (1)

Kerr Place (VA-494), NE corner of Crockett Ave. and Market St. Brick, rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, gable roof with cross gable, two interior chimneys, two interior end chimneys, central projecting pedimented pavilions on front and rear facades; center-hall plan, fine Adam-style mantels and woodwork; two-story wing. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1958). NR

Topping House (VA-482), .9 mi. S of Finneys Creek, .8 mi. S of State Rte. 638, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 641. Frame with clapboarding and brick (Flemish bond) end, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built late 18th C.; ruinous. 3 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  ORDINARY Gloucester County (37)

Old House (VA-519), see Sewell's Ordinary (VA-519), Ordinary.

Sewell's Ordinary (VA-519), 1.2 mi. E of Timberneck Creek, W side of U.S. Rte. 17, opposite intersection with State Rte. 636. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two T-shaped exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney; center-hall plan; ell. Built mid 18th C.; moved to present location c. 1960; extensive alterations. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1959).

 

  ORDINARY VICINITY Gloucester County (37)

Belle Farm Site (VA-69), S bank of Vaughans Creek, N side of State Rte. 656, opposite intersection with State Rte. 641. Landscape and garden plan of Belle Farm site, house: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney; one-and-a-half story rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; dismantled and moved to Williamsburg. 1 ex photo, site (1937); 2 data pages (n.d., including garden plan).
Page 187

 

  OWENS VICINITY King George County (50)

Saint Paul's Episcopal Church (VA-266), .8 mi. N of Pepper Mill Creek, SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 206 and 218. Brie (Flemish bond), cruciform (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, modillion cornice, arched windows, brick water table; Greek-cross plan. Built mid 18th C.; interior ruinous 1812; converted to school mid 19th C.; partially restored. 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  PAINTER VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Thunder Castle (Thunder Cottage) (VA-496), .9 mi. W of Machipongo River, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 607, .8 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends (Flemish bond with random glazed headers), rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; additions. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Thunder Cottage (VA-496), see Thunder Castle (VA-496), Painter Vicinity.

 

  PARIS Fauquier County (31)

Watts Ashby Tavern (VA-743), SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 759 and 701. Stone and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories (stone first story, frame second story), gable roof, three exterior stone end chimneys, second story projects beyond first floor on street front to form covered porch below; one-story flanking stone wings. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1936).

 

  PETERSBURG

Battersea (VA-1 36), 793 Appomattox St. Brick, covered with stucco, five-part composition, two-story main block, one-story wings and hyphens, pyramidal hipped roof on main block, pedimented gable roofs on wings; notable Chinese trellis stairway. Built c. 1770, attributed to Thomas Jefferson; later alterations. 19 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, section, details); 32 photos (1935, 1937, 1938).
Page 188

Battersea
Page 189

Battersea

William H. Bowers House

Bolling, Robert, House (Lawn, The) (VA-814), 224 S. Sycamore St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys, pedimented entrance porch; side hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1825. 2 ext. photos (1935); HABSI (1959).

Bollingbrook (VA-79), on block bounded on S by Franklin St. on N by Henry and Bank Sts., on W by Jefferson St., on E by Madison St. Frame with clapboarding, 48'1" (five-bay front) x 22' 1", one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; side wing: originally one of two similar buildings, each with two flanking side wings; destroyed. 5 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, details); 2 ext. photocopies (n.d. 1900); 21 data pages (n.d., 1940).

Bowers, William H., House (VA-68), 254 N. Sycamore St. Brick, 23'7" (three-bay front) x 50', three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, five interior end chimneys, rectangular insets above first and second-story windows, oval inserts above third-story windows, iron balconies, first floor store front; side-hall plan. Built 1828-1829; later alterations. 5 sheets (1935, including plan, elevations, details of ironwork); 6 ext. photos (1938, 1969), 3 int. photos (1968); 8 data pages (1939, 1968); HABSI (1959).
Page 190

William H. Bowers House
Page 191

Center Hill (VA-815), N of Franklin St., at end of Center Hill Lane. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, low hipped roof with cupola, four interior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; center-hall plan. Built c. 1825; altered with additions c. 1850. 2 ext. photos (c. 1920, 1936); HABSI (1959).

City Hall (VA-659), see Old United States Custom Office (VA-659), 121-41 N. Union St., Petersburg.

Double House (VA-816), 208-08A Bollingbrook St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, arched entrances; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1935); HABSI (1959).

Dunlop, David, Tobacco Factory (VA-663), 45-127 Old St. Brick, 144' (seventeen-bay front) x 151', four stories, gable roof, one tapered rectangular brick stack, corbeled brick decoration at gable eaves and on cross gable; open plan, wooden interior structural framing. Built 1887-88. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 ext. photocopy(1894); 6 data pages (1968).

David Dunlop Tobacco Factory
Page 192

The Exchange

The Exchange

Dunn House (VA-130), 105 S. Sycamore St. Brick, 53'11/2" (five-bay front) x 23'3/4", two stories, hipped roof, interior end chimneys, Tuscan entrance porch; center-hall plan; dairy, smokehouse, and stable outbuildings. Built c. 1833; destroyed. 16 sheets (1936, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 5 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936), 6 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages.

Elliott House (VA-662), 269 High St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, decorative cast-iron roof cresting, three-bay projecting bay window on principal front, elaborate wooden hooded entrance porch with Eastlake decoration and iron cresting; side-hall plan. Built c. 1876; rear addition 1889. 2 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Exchange, The (VA-647), 15-19 W. Bank St. Brick with stucco, 60'4" (five-bay front) x 79'11", three stories, hipped roof; dome and ten-sided lantern, monumental tetrastyle Greek Doric portico, one interior end chimney; rectangular plan with central rotunda 39'7" in diameter with surrounding balcony. Built c. 1840-41, Mr. Berrien, architect; later interior alterations. 8 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 7 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959). NR
Page 193

Friend, Nathaniel, Jr., House (VA-651), 27-29 Bollingbrook St. (Flemish bond front), approx. 48' (six-bay front) x 48', three-and-a- half stories, gable roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys four-room plan, notable interior trim; rear wing. Built 1816; extensive later alterations to ground-floor shop and interior room arrangements. 3 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 5 data pages (19 HABSI (1959).

Gill, Erasmus, House (VA-650), 53 S. Market St. Frame with boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, exterior end chimneys; side-hall plan, notable interior trim; one-story side wing (two-bay front), shallow gable roof; one interior end chimney; notable interior trim including arched niches flanking fin detailed gauge-work mantel and overmantel, fluted pilaster door window trim carrying paneled entablatures. Built c. 1785-91; interior trim and side wing possibly added c. 1800-10; later additions alterations. 1 ext. photo (1968), 6 int. photos (1968); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 6 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Gilliam Row Houses (VA-817), 102-04 Grove Ave., see Read's, B., Row (VA-643), 102-04 W. Old St., Petersburg.

Golden Ball Tavern (VA-818), SE corner of Market St. and Grove Ave. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above brick basement, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney and three interior end chimneys; rear ell continues pitch of roof making saltbox shape. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1935).

Harrison House (VA-642), see Strachan, Dr. Alexander Glass, House (VA-642), 302 Cross St., Petersburg.

Hinton House (VA-426), 416 High St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice. Built early 19th C.; altered. 2 ext. photos (1940), 4 int. photos (1935).

House in Blandford (VA-819), exact location unknown, site possibly S side of Wills St., between Church and Center Sts. in Blandford Cemetery. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built early 19th C.; demolished or possibly moved to unknown site. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Hustings Courthouse (VA-657), Courthouse Ave. and N. Sycamore St. Brick with stucco, temple form, 50' (one-bay front) x 100' (seven-bay lateral facade), two stories, gable roof, hexastyle portico, four Tower-of-the-Winds-order columns flanked by square pilaster-anta at each end, octagonal clock tower resembling steeple surmounted by statue of justice; modified center-hall plan, notable plaster ceiling in courtroom. Built 1838-40, Calvin Pollard, architect; later additions and alterations 1877, 1965. 4 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 1 ext. photocopy (1865); 10 data pages (1968).
Page 194

Hustings Courthouse

Hustings Courthouse

Jackson, John, House (VA-661), 410 High St. Brick with stucco, approx. 60' (five-bay front) x 40', two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, mansard roof with dormers; four interior end chimneys, arched cast-iron window lintels, bracketed cornice, entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1867; ground-floor balcony removed; interior altered. 4 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 1 ext. photocopy (1894); 8 data pages (1968).
Page 195

Lawn, The (VA-814), see Boiling, Robert, House, 224 S. Sycamore St., Petersburg.

May's, David, Row (VA-660), 21 7-23 High St. Brick, four adjoining units approx. 105' (twelve-bay front, each unit three bays) x 55'; three stories above raised basement, flat roof, large scale bracketed cornice, eight interior chimneys, two interior end chimneys, shallow pediments over first- and second-story windows, wooden entrance porches, cast-iron entry well fences; side-hall plan. Built 1859; ruinous 1968. 2 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 1 photocopy (c. 1870); 8 data pages (1968).

O'Hara, Charles, House (VA-820), 244 N. Market St. Brick, trapezoidal (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, arched entrance; altered one-room plan; absence of parallel walls or right angles. Built c. 1815; renovated. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1959).

Old Farmers Market (VA-649), NE corner of intersection of W. Old and Rock Sts. Brick, octagonal, 80' in diameter, 33'10" per side (three bays per side), one story, hipped roof, octagonal louvered cupola, two interior end chimneys at each corner, projecting shed roof, 12', with ornamental cast-iron supporting brackets, open shed 60' x 30' on N side; open plan. Built 1878, B. J. Black, architect; H. W. Williams, builder; altered 1952. 4 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections); 4 ext. photos (1968); 8 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959). NR

Old United States Custom House and Post Office (City Hall) (VA-659), 121-41 N. Union St. Brick faced with granite, 46' (three-bay front) x 100' (eight-bay lateral facade), three stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, arcaded window and door openings on first floor, pedimented window lintels at second-floor level; modified center-hall plan, cast-iron interior supports with composite capitals. Built 1856, Ammi B. Young, architect; remodeled 1870; lateral facade extended three bays 1908-10; renovated 1938. 5 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 30 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Pig Alley Block Study (VA-930), Hurt St., Plum St., and Grove Ave., near Appomattox River. Mid 19th C. village complex of cottages, built for laborers in nearby flour and cotton mills. General views; looking S along Hurt St. toward Plum St., and looking N along Hurt St. toward Grove Ave., arc included in this entry. 2 ext. photos (1968).
Page 196

Old Farmer's Market

Double House (VA-654), 406-08 Hurt St. Frame with clapboarding, 36' (four-bay front of two units) x 26', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, wooden one-story entrance porch; two-room plan per unit. Built c. 1835; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Double House (VA-645), 411-13 Hurt St. Frame with clapboarding, 36'4" (four-bay front of two units) x 26'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, wooden one-story entrance porches; two-room plan per unit. Built c. 1835; later additions and alterations. 7 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections); 2 ext. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Double House (VA-656), 702-04 Plum St. Brick, 40' (four-bay front of two units) x 30', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, wooden one-story entrance porch; two-room plan per unit, corner fireplaces. Built c. 1835; later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

House and Store (VA-653), 706 Grove Ave. Frame with clapboarding, trapezoidal, approx. 15' (two-bay front) x 60', two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, gable-end street facade with ground-floor store front; one-room plan; one-story rear wings. Built early 19th C.; ruinous 1968. 5 ext. photos (1968); 4 data pages (1968); HABSI (1969).

Row Houses (VA-655), 703-13 Plum St. Frame with clapboarding covered with asphalt shingles, approx. 100' (ten-bay front of five two-bay units) x 25', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney, four interior chimneys; two-room plan per unit. Built c. 1835; extensive alterations. 2 ext. photos (1968); 7 data pages (1968).
Page 197

House and Store of Pig Alley Block Study

Store (VA-644), 412 Hurt St. Frame with clapboarding, 18'4" (three-bay front) x 36'7", one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, heavy stone foundation piers, one-story wooden entrance porch; one-room plan; side and rear wings. Built c. 1835; side and rear additions of one room each early 19th C., mid 20th C. 8 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections); 3 ext. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Pride's Tavern (VA-821), E of 600 N. West St. Brick, L-shaped (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior and two interior end chimneys; side lean-to; two brick one-story outbuildings. Built early 19th C.; tavern and one out-building demolished; kitchen remains. 2 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

Read's, John B., Row (Gilliam Row Houses) (VA-643), 102-04 W. Old St. Brick with stone window and door dressings and belt courses, 46'9" (six-bay front, three bays per unit) x 44'3", three stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys, arched entrance doorways with stone archivolts and keystones, shop fronts on ground floor; side-hall plan on second- and third-floor living quarters. Built 1815-18; later alterations and additions. 9 sheets (1968, including plot plans, plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (1935, 1968), 4 int. photos (1935, 1968); 7 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).
Page 198

John B. Read's Row

Pig Alley Block Study, Store - elevation, not yet digitized.
Page 199

Albert L. Scott House

Scott, Albert L., House (VA-648), 29 S. Market St. Brick with stucco scored to resemble ashlar, 42'8" (three-bay front) x 45'2" with rear wing 37'1" x 17'3", two stories above raised basement, hipped roof, square bracketed lantern, five interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, main floor windows paired with arched heads, entrance porch with balcony roof, cast-iron entrance gate and piers; center-hall plan, marble mantelpieces. Built 1860-61; remodeled c. 1950. 8 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (c. 1950, 1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 6 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Smith's, John H., Row (VA-646), 209-15 High St. Brick, four individual houses forming row, 20'7" (three-bay front single unit) x 34'11", two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys per unit, rectangular recessed panels between first- and second-story windows; side-hall plan; antherion motif cast-iron fence. Built 1837, as row of five units; one unit demolished c. 1950; ruinous 1968. 9 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details of cast-iron fence); 4 ext. photos (1968, including fence), 4 int. photos (1968); 7 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Spottswood House (VA-822), see Stirling Castle (VA-822), 320 High St., Petersburg.
Page 200

John H. Smith's Row

Stirling Castle (Spottswood House) (VA-822), 320 High 5t. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, Greek Ionic entrance porch; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; altered; moved from unknown site W of Petersburg early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936); IIABSI (1959).

Stone House in Blandford (VA-96), SE corner of E. Washington St. and Crater Rd. Stone with clapboarding, 30'5" (three-bay front) x 30'6'/2", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney, stone quoining, frame south wall with clapboarding; side-hall plan. Built c. 1760; demolished. 9 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 8 ext. photos (1935, 1936); 4 data pages (n.d.).
Page 201

Dr. Alexander Glass Strachan House

Stone Warehouse (VA-823), E side of Market St., between Grove Ave. and the Appomattox River. Random-laid stone, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof. Built early 19th C.; altered. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1959).

Strachan, Dr. Alexander Glass, House (Harrison Douse) (VA-642), 302 Cross St. Frame with clapboarding, center section 46'4" (five-bay front) x 19'11", one-and-a-half stories, hip on gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; flanking wings: rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, N wing is connected to center section by one-bay hyphen. Built mid 18th C.; wings added probably early 19th C.; interior gutted 1968. 7 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1936, 1968), 7 int. photos (1968, including framing details and removed mantels); 6 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).
Page 202

Dr. Alexander Glass Strachan House

Tabb Street Presbyterian Church (VA-658), 21 W. Tabb St. Stone d brick with stucco scored to resemble ashlar, temple form, approx. 5' (one-bay front) x 85' (four-bay lateral facade), two stories above raised basement, gable roof, monumental hexastyle Greek Doric portico, cast-iron and granite fence; entrance lobby and auditorium with balcony on three sides, hexastyle modified Corinthian exedra, t-iron balcony columns; rear ell. Built 1843; addition 1923; octagonal spire on square belfry removed 1938. 2 ext. photos (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 2 photocopies (1910, 1935); 8 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Washington Street Methodist Church (VA-299), SW corner of Washington and Adams Sts. Brick with stucco, three-part composition, central block: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above rusticated basement, low hipped roof, two-story three-bay Greek Doric portico; two flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, low hipped roof, two-story Greek Doric porticoes. Built 1842; later additions. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1959).

 

  PETERSBURG VICINITY Dinwiddie County (27)

Mayfield (VA-958), .1 mi. N of Cattail Branch, S side of U.S. Rte. 1 (U.S. Rte. 460), .5 mi. E of intersection of Rte. 1 and Rte. 460. Brick, 54' (five-bay front) x 32', one-and-a-half stories over raised basement, clipped gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, fine interior panelling. Built mid 18th C., moved.5 mi. NW of original location 1969. 10 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections, details). NR
Page 203

Mayfield

Mayfield

Wales (VA-152), 2 mi. S of Appomattox River, .3 mi. S of U.S. Rte. 460, immediately E of intersection with State Rte. 632. Frame with clapboarding, central unit: approx. 32' (three-bay front) x 24', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys; modified four-room plan; flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof with hipped end facing central unit, interior end chimney, wings connected to central unit by one-bay hyphens. Built mid 18th C.; later additions. 17 sheets (1935, 1940, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 16 ext. photos (1935, 1936, 1940), 10 int. photos (1935, 1940); 2 data pages (1940); HABSI (1959).
Page 204

 

  PORT ROYAL Caroline County (17)

Rectory, The (VA-260), E side of State Rte. 1006, adjacent to St. Peter's Episcopal Church. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney; two-room plan, corner fireplaces; side wing: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built mid 1 8th C.; wing constructed early 19th C. I ext. photo (1939); HABSI (1957).

Roy House (VA-721), exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 4 ext. photos (n.d.).

Saint Peter's Episcopal Church (VA-261),N side of Water St., between State Rtes. 1002 and 1006. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, distyle-in-antis entrance bay flanked by lancet windows, pedimented gable end with circular lunette, lancet windows; one-room plan; separate bell tower in churchyard: square with wooden vertical siding, battered base walls, pyramidal roof with scalloped soffitt skirting. Built 1836; bell tower demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 ext. photo, bell tower (1939); HABSI (1957).

St. Peter's Episcopal Church

St. Peter's Episcopal Church
Page 205

 

  PORT ROYAL VICINITY Caroline County (17)

Camden (VA-184), S bank of Rappahannock River, .8 mi. N c of State Rte. 686, .5 mi. N of intersection of State Rte. 686 a Rte. 17. Frame with flush siding, T-shaped (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with subsidiary crossed gable interior end chimneys, one interior chimney, projecting pediment front pavilion, boldly projecting bracketed eaves, paired and single segmental arched windows, triple round arched windows, one-story roofed front and rear porch flanking semi-circular arcaded conservatory; center-hall plan, offset elliptical staircase, notable mantels, plaster cornices, and centerpieces; flanking two-story wing. Built 1856-69, Nathan G. Starkweather, architect; square center cupola destroyed c. 1863. 4 ext. photos (1939) 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1957). NR

Gaymont (VA-306), .5 mi. N of Goldenvale Creek, .5 mi. SE Rte. 17, .7 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 675. Concrete with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two end chimneys, full-length one-story hexastyle front porch; center-hall plan; flanking one-story wings with shallow gable roofs terminated by half-octagons, foundations of octagonal rear wing. Built mid 18th C.; wings and front porch built 1819-20; octagonal rear wing built 1834; half octagon-ends to flanking wings built 1838-39; burned 1959; S wing rebuilt 1960; N wing rebuilt 1962; central block rebuilt in concrete block with stucco to replace original frame construction 1964-65. 17 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 3 int. photos (1940), 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1957).

 

  PORT ROYAL VICINITY King George County (50)

Belle Grove (VA-274), NE bank of Rappahannock River, .2 mi. W of U.S. Rte. 301, 1.1 mi. S of intersection with State Rtes. 660 and 625. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two gable roof, four interior end chimneys, N front with projecting pedimented central pavilions flanked by two-story concave quandrant porticoes at re-entrant angles, modified Corinthian superposed Doric order, S front with pedimented central portico, Ionic posed on Doric order; center-hall plan; flanking wings termini one-story pedimented pavilions with central arched windows by paired Ionic pilasters. Built early 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1937); 1 data page (1941).
Page 206

Woodlawn (VA-213), N bank of Rappahannock River, 1.2 mi. S of State Rte. 627, 1.5 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 301. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, two-story Doric portico; center-hall plan; W wing added. Built early 19th C.; later additions 1932. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  WHATAN Powhatan County (73)

Tavern (VA-441), .5 mi. E of Fighting Creek, N side of State Rte. 300 at intersection with State Rte. 13. Brick, rectangular (nine-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, two interior chimneys, two-level full-length front porch; one-and-a-half story frame side wing; one-story rear ell additions. Built late 18th C.; altered for apartment use. 1 ext. photo (n.d.); HABSI (1958).

 

  POWHATAN VICINITY Powhatan County (73)

Belnemus (VA-86), .6 mi. N of Sallee Creek, .1 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 60, 1.5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 684. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with finial, two interior end chimneys; one-room plan; two flanking wings: rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof. Built late 18th C.; altered with later additions in rear. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 3 data pages (1940); HABSI (1958).

Keswick (VA-164), .8 mi. S of James River, .2 mi. N of State Rte. 711, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 714. Frame with clapboarding, H-shaped (six-bay E front), two stories, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys; four-room plan. Built early 19th C.; renovated with additions. 3 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

Page 207

Keswick, Outbuildings

Malvern (VA-338), .9 mi NW of Bernards Creek, .5 mi. N of State Rte. 711, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 624. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four exterior end chimneys with brick pent closets, brick W gable end; center-hall plan, notable paneling. Built late 18th C.; much of fine interior paneling removed 1936-37; renovated. 2 ext. photos (1940), 9 int. photo., (1940, n.d.); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958).

Norwood (VA-148), .6 mi. SW of James River, .1 mi. NE of State Rte. 711, 2 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 652. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; flanking wings: rectangular (one-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; additions mid 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); 1 data page (1937).
Page 208

Woodberry Mill

Woodberry Mill (VA-201), .1 mi. E of Woodberry Pond, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 614, .6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 711. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above stone foundations, gable roof with two tiers of dormers, segmental arched windows and doors. Built c. 1800; burned. 4 ext. photos (1936).

 

  PRINCE GEORGE VICINITY Prince George County (75)

Brandon (VA-143), W bank of James River, at E end of State Rte. 611, .3 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 653. Brick, seven-part composition, central block: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof; one-room plan; two flanking wings: one story, two bays, hipped roof, interior end chimney; one-story hyphens connect central grouping with two terminal pavilions: rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1935); 2 data pages (1940). NR

Merchants Hope Church (VA-405), .1 mi. W of Walls Run, N side of State Rte. 641, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 646. Brick (Flemish bond with English bond below water table), rectangular (one-bay front), gable roof, splayed eaves, gable-end front, rubbed brick arched entrance way, gallery window, four-bay nave, modillion cornice; altered. Probably built mid 17th C. 5 ext. photos (1932), 1 int. photo (1932); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 209

 

  PROVIDENCE FORGE New Kent County (64)

Dr. Pott's House (VA-912), see Providence Hall (VA-912), Williamsburg.

 

  PROVIDENCE FORGE VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Cedar Grove (VA-802), .6 mi. SE of Toe Ink Swamp, N side of State Rte. 609, .2 mi. VV of intersection with State Rte. 615. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, frame gable ends above eaves, modillion cornice; one-room side-hall plan; two-story frame side wing. Built late 18th C.; altered; later additions. 1 ext. photo (1936), 3 int. photos (1936).

Grist Mill (VA-110), S bank of Old Forge Pond, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 608, .2 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 60. Frame with clapboarding, 48'2" (three-bay front) x 32'3", two stories over brick; (Flemish bond) foundations on both sides of stream, scroll-cut boards at first-floor joist level. Built mid 18th C.; demolished 1938. 9 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 12 ext. photos (1937, n.d.), 5 int. photos (1937); 2 data pages (n.d.).

 

  PUNGOTEAGUE Accomack County (1)

St. George's Church (VA-497), 1 mi. E of Nandua Creek, NW side of State Rte. 178, .3 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 180. Brick (Flemish bond front), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof with belfry, pedimented gable-end front; originally cruciform plan. Built early 18th C.; ruinous after Civil War; rebuilt without transepts 1885. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  PUNGOTEAGUE VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Melrose (VA-631), see Shepherds Plain (VA-631), Pungoteague Vicinity.

Shepherds Plain (Melrose) (VA-631), SE bank of Nandua Creek, 1.2 mi. NW of State Rte. 178, 1.3 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 180. Frame with clapboarding and brick (Flemish bond) ends, approx. 53' (five-bay front) x 34', two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick quoins, brick rustication around first-floor end windows; center-hall plan, fine interior paneling. Built mid 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1960), 4 int. photos (1960); 2 data pages (1960, 1962).
Page 210

Grist Mill

Grist Mill

Grist Mill
Page 211

 

  QUINBY VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Warwick (VA-495), .2 mi. W of Upshur Bay, .1 mi. E of State 605, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 182. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; one a-half story wing. Built early 18th C.; addition; renovated. 1 photo (1934), 2 int. photos (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  QUINTON VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Dr. Lucas House (VA-121), 1.1 mi. E of Chickahominy River, .1 N of State Rte. 33, .2 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 613.- Frame with clapboarding, 45'4" (three-bay front) x 18'1", two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built 18th C.; W two-bay part is original with E one-bay part added; ruinous, only chimney and foundations remain. 8 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sections, details, interior perspective).

Dr. Lucas House
Page 212

 

  RICHMOND

Adams, Dr. John, Double House (VA-865), 2501-03 E. Grace St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, plastered flat arches over windows; two separate two-room plans; rear ell. Built 1809-10; originally half of four-unit row; exterior restored except for the small rear ell and the retention of the two post-Civil War entrance porches. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Allen-Ellett House (Ellett House) (VA-850), 2702 E. Grace St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Tuscan porch with pediment; side-hall plan. Built 1829. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Allen, William C., Double House (VA-869), 4-6 E. Main St. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, two modified Corinthian entrance porches; side-hall plan. Built 1836; W unit restored 1946; E unit altered by projecting store front. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Allison-Moore-Crump Building (VA-896), 1309 E. Main St. Brick with iron store front, rectangular (four-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, parapet walls, Corinthian pilasters on store front supporting cornice, arched windows with metal hood molds above. Built mid 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1969); 4 data pages (1969).

Ampthill (VA-159), 211 Ampthill Rd. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hip-on-hip roof, two interior chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan, fine interior paneling; flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), one story, hipped roof, one interior end chimney, connected to main block by hyphens. Built c. 1732; enlarged c. 1750; dismantled and moved from original site .8 mi. W of James River, .4 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 1, .4 mi. S of Richmond city limits in Chesterfield Co.; reconstructed at present location 1929; wings placed closer to central block than before; hyphens added; hipped dormers added later. 1 sheet (1941, plan only); 1 ext. photo (1940), 10 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (1940).

Barret, William, House (VA-425), 15 S. Fifth St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, three-piece first-floor windows, Greek Ionic entrance porch, rear two-level verandah; center-hall plan. Built 1844; restored. 2 ext. photos (1936, 1940); HABSI (1957).
Page 213

Bell Tower (VA-116), Capitol Square. Brick, 25'6" (one-bay frog x 25'7", three stories, ballustrade deck and cupola. Built 1824:; sheet (1936, including plans and elevations); 1 ext. photo (1930 1 ext. photocopy (1886); 5 data pages (1936, n.d.); HABSI (1951 NR

Belvin House (VA-111), see William, William C., House (VA-111 Richmond.

Bott, Aliles, House (VA-119), 216 Cowardin Ave. Frame with clap boarding, 47'11" (five-bay front) x 36'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two free-standing double chimneys with pen closet at each end; center-hall plan. Built c. 1800; demolished 1941 12 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 3 ext. photo (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 3 data pages (1936).

Bowser, Rosa D., School (VA-862), see Dill, Addolph, House (VA-` 862), Richmond.

Branch-Glasgow House (Glasgow, Ellen, House) (VA-857), 1 W. Main St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built 1841. Home of novelist Ellen Glasgow from 1887 until her death in 1945. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957). NR; NHL

Bransford-Cecil House (Bransford, Frederick-Cecil, House) (VA-161), 1005 Clay St. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch, two-level rear verandah; one-room plan, fine marble mantels. Built 1840; moved 1953-54 from 13 N. Fifth St.; interior plan and exterior brickwork altered. 5 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 4 int. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Bransford, Frederick-Cecil House (VA-161), see Bransford-Cecil House (VA-161), Richmond.

Brockenbrough, Dr. John, House (White House of the Confederacy) (VA-861), 1201 E. Clay St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, low hipped roof with cupola, garden front has two-story Doric portico, heavy modillion cornice; modified center-hall plan. Built 1816-18, attributed to Robert Mills, architect; third-floor addition and interior alterations 1850's. Residence of Jefferson Davis during the Civil War. 3 ext. photos (1936, n.d.); HABSI (1957). NR; NHI.

Bell Tower
Page 214

Miles Bott House

Building (VA-420), NE corner of Third and E. Main Sts. Brick with stucco, rectangular (seven-bay front), three stories, hipped roof, interior chimneys, central pedimented pavilion; first-floor store front. Built late 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).

Call, Daniel, House (VA-866), 217 IV. Grace St. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; side wings; rear ell. Built before 1796; moved from SE corner of Ninth and Broad Sts. 1849; dismantled and rebuilt 1936; additions; full-length porch re-placed by present entrance porch. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 215

Cameron, Alexander, House (VA-876), 519 E. Franklin St. Brick rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimneys; each bay has rectangular inset panels between stories. Built mid 19th C.; demolished 1938. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Carter-Crozet House (Crozet House) (VA-420), 100 E. Main St. Brick rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, two center entrances, heavy cornice, bracketed porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1814-15; structure divided into double house between 1881 and 1885; renovated 1940; front entrance now has molded brick segmental arch motif. 2 ext. photos (1936), 3 in photos (1936); HABSI (1957).

Columbian Block (VA-842), 1301-07 E. Cart' St. Brick with stucco, trapezoidal (eleven-bay front), three stories, low hipped roof, cupola, sheet-metal cornice, doorway and window trim, iron store fronts on Cary St.; exchange room on third floor uses cast-iron Corinthian columns. Built 1871 as a commodity exchange. 4 ext. photos (1969, 3 int. photos (1969); 6 data pages (1969).

Commercial Building (VA-853), see Donnan-Asher Iron Front Building (VA-853), Richmond.

Cottage (VA-881), 6 Granby St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof; two exterior end chimneys; windows have dado paneling. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Cottage (VA-877), 778 N. Ninth St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Crozet House (VA-420), see Carter-Crozet House (VA-420), Richmond.

De Saussure House (VA-114), see Freeman, Samuel, House (VA-114), Richmond.

Dill, Addolph, House (Rosa D. Bowser School) (VA-862), 00 Clay St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, Ionic entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built 1832. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 216

Donnan-Asher Iron Front Building

Donnan-Asher Iron Front Building (Commercial Building) (VA-853), 1207-I1 E. Main St. Brick with cast-iron front, rectangular (twelve-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, bracketed cornice, arched window openings separated by Corinthian columns. Built c. 1866; center four bays of street front altered. 6 ext. photos (1936, 1969); 7 data pages (1969); HABSI (1957). NR

Double House (VA-875), 311-13 College St. Brick end walls with clapb6arding on fronts, two units, S unit: rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, central entrance; N unit: rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimney, side entrance. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).
Page 217

Double House

Double House (VA-892), 212-14 S. First St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, central chimney, heavy wooden cornice. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Double House (VA-118), 2216-18 E. Main St. Brick, 45'4" (six-bay front) x 44'4", three stories, flat roof, stone flat arches with keystones over windows; passageway separates house at first-floor level. Built early 19th C.; gable roof removed early 20th C. 12 sheets (1936, including plans, elevation, details); 2 ext. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1936).

Double House (VA-886), 1200-02 N. Seventeenth St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Dunlop Mills (VA-925), S side of James River, .1 mi. E of Hull St., at S end of Mayo's Bridge. Brick, two structures form L-shape; W structure: rectangular (five-bay front), five stories, gable roof, parapet end walls, four interior end chimneys, lunettes on gable ends, six-story river front; E structure: rectangular (four-bay front), four stories, gable roof, parapet end walls, gable-end front, four interior end chimneys, lunettes on gable ends, seven-story river front; four-story metal covered frame structure attached to inset of ell on river front. Built 1853; burned and repaired 1865; enlarged; demolished. This mill, with the Gallego and Haxall mills, made Richmond one of the leading flour-producing centers in antebellum America. 2 ext. photos (1936).
Page 218

Ellett House (VA-850), see Allen-Ellett House (VA-850), Richmond.

Ellett-Todd-Lawrence Building (VA-844), 1019-21 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), four stories on north, three stories on south, gable roof, parapet end walls, two interior end chimneys. Built late 19th C. as canal warehouse. 2 ext. photos (1969), 1 int. photo (1969); 4 data pages (1969).

Freeman, Samuel, House (De Saussure House) (VA-114), 316 E. Main St. Brick, 275" (three-bay front) x 4011", two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; bays have inset rectangles between first and second floors; side-hall plan. Built 1838-39, Samuel Freeman, architect; demolished 1940-41. 11 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 3 ext. photos (1936, 1940); 2 data pages (1936).

Gentry-Stokes-Crew House (VA-873), NW corner of Twenty-eighth and E. Franklin Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, cupola, three-bay Doric entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built 1839; second floor and wings added later. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Dunlop Mills
Page 219

George, William O., House (VA-868), 116 S. Third St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, flat roof, two-story portico flanking two-story wings with projecting three-piece bow windows; modified side-hall plan. Built 1847; altered. 1 ext. Photo HABSI (1957).

Gill House (VA-131), see House (VA-131), Richmond.

Glasgow, Ellen, House (VA-857), see Branch-Glasgow House (VA-857), Richmond.

Gosden House (Tucker House) (VA-852), NW corner of Third and E. Leigh Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Greenhow House (VA-112), 403 E. Grace St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan, refined interior woodwork with Adam influence. Built early 19th C.; demolished 1936. 5 sheets (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 1 ext. photo (n.d.), 8 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1937).
Page 220

Greenhow House

Hancock-Wirt-Caskie House

Hampton-McCurdy House (VA-851), see House (VA-851), Richmond.

Hancock-Palmer-Caskie House (VA-113), see Hancock-Wirt-Caskie House (VA-113), Richmond.

Hancock-Wirt-Caskie House (Hancock-Palmer-Caskie House) (VA-113), 2 N. Fifth St. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water table), rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, three-part bow projection at either side of central entrance and two-level wooden arcaded porch, two interior chimneys, enclosed porch; center-hall plan, fine plaster and wooden door and ceiling ornament; rear ell. Built c. 1809. 12 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 3 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957). NR

Hawes House (VA-115), see Mann-Hawes House (VA-115), Richmond.

Hickock House (VA-855), see Ritter-Hickock House (VA-855), Richmond.

Hobson-Nolting House (Nolting House) (VA-160), 409 E. Main St. Brick, 48'31/2" (three-bay front) x 44'3 1/2", three stories above raised basement, hipped roof, two brick interior chimneys, three-piece windows, three-story rear portico; center-hall plan, elaborate interior woodwork. Built mid 19th C.; demolished, but some interior columns and moldings are preserved in the Valentine Museum, Richmond. 8 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations); 10 ext. photos (1936, 1940), 11 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (1940).
Page 221

House (VA-879), NE corner of Ballard St. and Tobacco Alley. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (six-bay front), one story, gable roof, interior chimneys; lean-to. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-859), 107 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, modified step-gable roof, two interior end chimneys, Greek Ionic entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; altered, porch removed and door replaced with window. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-891), 402 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), three stories, flat roof, two interior end chimneys, Roman Doric entrance porch. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-856), see Mann, William, House (VA-856), Richmond.

House (VA-882), 21 W. Clay St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, step gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

House (VA-887), 706 N. Eighteenth St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, canopy porch design with brackets. Built early 19th C.; altered; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 222

House (Hampton-McCurdy House) (VA-851), SW corner of Eighteenth and E. Main Sts. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; first-floor store front; rear ell. Built 1845; altered and enlarged. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-422), 400 W. Franklin St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, low hipped roof, heavy bracketed cornice, wooden bracketed full-length porch. Built late 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1940).

House (VA-890), 206 E. Leigh St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, entrance porch. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-885), 531 E. Leigh St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, two interior end chimneys, entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (Gill House) (VA-131), 1007 McDonough St. Frame with clapboarding, two stories, gambrel roof with dormers, pedimented entrance porch. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 sheet (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 1 ext. photo, porch (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 3 data pages (1937).

House (VA-864), 2416 E. Main St. Brick (Flemish bond with English bond foundations), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built c. 1800; first-floor entrance and windows altered; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-854), 2606 E. Marshall St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney. Built c. 1810. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

House (VA-883), SE corner of Seventeenth and Venable Sts. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, gable-end parapet wall, heavy bracketed nice. Built early 19th C.; first floor altered by store front; demolished 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 223

House (VA-888), SE corner of Fifth and E. Leigh Sts. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof with dormers, connected interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch, two-level rear verandah; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).

House (VA-894), 516 N. Third St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).

House (VA-893), 102 S. "Third St. Brick,with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, cast-iron porch with delicate tracery, heavy cornice; side wing. Built late 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-880), SW corner of Twenty-second and Venable St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one story above raised basement hipped roof, brick interior end chimneys, entrance porch. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-884), 9 N. Twenty-third St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay-bay, front), two-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof, two interior end chimneys, Tuscan entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-878), SW corner of Venable and Tulip Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, central chimney. Built mid 19th C.; altered by store front. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Howard-Palmer House (Palmer House) (VA-867), 211 W. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, modified step-gable roof, four interior end chimneys, Roman Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1852. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Jefferson Hotel (VA-840), block bounded by W. Main, N. Jefferson, W. Franklin, and N. Adams Sts. Brick with iron beams, terra cotta and stone decorative trim, symmetrical composition on N front consisting of four-story central block with loggia, flanked by two six-story towers and three-story wings; two clock towers rise behind wings; the S half of hotel has eight-story, U-shaped plan surrounding two-story lobby fronted by a Doric portico; the N end contains the Palm Room, the Marble Hall, and several richly decorated parlors; the S end of the hotel centers around a two-story lobby with a double tier of columns supporting the mezzanine and the cove ceiling. Built 1895, Carrere and Hastings, architects; S two-thirds burned 1901; rebuilt 1905. 9 ext. photos (1969), 15 int. photos (1969); 10 data pages (1969); HABSI (1969). NR
Page 224

Jefferson Hotel
Page 225

Main Street Station

Kent-Valentine House (VA-858), 12 E. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, flat roof, interior end chimneys, two-story Ionic portico, heavy bracketed cornice. Built 1845; altered after 1904. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957). NR

Lee, General, House (VA-895), see Stewart-Lee House (VA-895), Richmond.

Linden Row (VA-247), 100-14 E. Franklin St. Brick, eight units, each: rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, flat roof, two interior chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan. 110-18 built 1847; 100-08 built 1853; 116-18 demolished 1922. 6 ext. photos (1936, 1940); HABSI (1957).

Main Street Station (VA-848), 1520 E. Main St. Brick with stone and terra cotta, rectangular (seven-bay front) with iron train shed projecting from rear, three-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with red tile, six-story clock tower, two levels of dormers, first story and loggia faced in stone. Built 1901, Philadelphia firm of Wilson, Harris and Richard, architects. 9 ext. photos (1969); 6 data pages (1969); HABSI (1969). NR

Malone,,James, Row (VA-870), 2301 E. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimneys; side-hall plan. Built 1827; part of a four-house row including 2303, 2305, and 2307, all of which have been demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 226

Mann-Hawes House (Hawes House) (VA-115), 506 E. Leigh St. Brick, 6'1" (three-bay front) x 38', two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built 1816; rear additions. 14 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos J1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).

Mann, William, House (House, Chamberlayne Ave. and St. Peter St.) VA-856), SW corner of Chamberlayne Ave. and Jackson St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; E bay; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions; asbestos siding recently added. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Marshall, John, House (VA-309), NW corner of Marshall and Ninth Sts. Historic house museum. Brick, two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, pedimented gable-end front, modillion cornice; four-room plan, fine woodwork shows Adam influence; rear ell; outbuildings. Built 1790; rear ell added before 1810; the law office, kitchen, and laundry outbuildings have been demolished. 9 ext. photos (1940), 13 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1957). NR, NHL

Mason's Hall (VA-21), 1805 E. Franklin St. Frame with clapboarding, 50'10 1/4" (three-bay front) x 47', two stories, hipped roof with cupola, two interior chimneys, projecting central pedimented pavilion. Built 1785-87. 12 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, de-tails); 2 ext. photos (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).

Monroe, James, Tomb (VA-843), Hollywood Cemetery. Cast-iron cage set on granite base enclosing a simple granite sarcophagus. Erected when Monroe's body was moved from New York 1859; cast in Philadelphia from designs by Richmond architect, Albert Lybrock. 3 ext. photos (1969); 4 data pages (1969). NR, NHL

Morris, John, Cottage (VA-860), 2500 E. Grace St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built c. 1830. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Nolting House (VA-160), see Hobson-Nolting House (VA-160), Richmond.

Oaks, The (VA-157), 307 Stockton Lane, Windsor Farms. Brick, L-shape, four-and five-bay fronts), two stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys; side-hall plan; flanking one-and-a-half story frame wings. Built mid 18th C.; moved from Amelia Co. to present site early 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 5 int. photos (1939, 1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

Mason's Hall
Page 227

Palmer House (VA-867), see Howard-Palmer House (VA-867), Richmond.

Parsons, Samuel P., House (Virginia Division of Youth Services) (VA-434), 601 Spring St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan, fine front-room mantel; high brick wall curved from shallow entrance shelter out to street; two-story brick rear ells. Built 1818; curved wall demolished. I ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Philip Morris Leaf Storage Warehouse (VA-849), 1717-21 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular, 88'5" x 93'9" ; with elevator shaft on W front, five stories, flat roof, exposed brick piers with brick curtain walls, windows with segmental arches. Built early 20th C. 4 ext. photos (1969); 4 data pages. (1969).

Poe Museum (VA-120), see Stone House (VA-120), Richmond.

Pratt's Castle (VA-162), 324 S. Fourth St. Brick with stucco and tin, irregular plan, two stories with stone foundations; corner towers and roof parapet were brick covered with tin forming crenellations. Built-1853-54; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1939, 1940); 1 data page (1940); IIABSI (1957).

Pratt's Castle
Page 228

Quarles, John D., House (VA-871), 1 E. Main St. Brick, rectangular three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Greek Ionic entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built 1839; altered. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Ritter-Hickock House (Hickock House) (VA-855), 821 W. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, interior chimneys, pedimented pavilion, heavy entablature, Ionic entrance porch, balustrading on surrounding un-sheltered promenade. Built 1855. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Rutherfoord-Hobson House (VA-423), 2 W. Franklin St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, mansard roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, cast-iron porch with delicate tracery. Built 1842-43; altered and enlarged late 19th C.; demolished 1941. 2 ext. photos (1940).

St. John's Episcopal Church

St. John's-Episcopal Church (VA-22), 2400 block between E. Grace and E. Broad Sts. Frame with clapboarding, cruciform plan, one story, gable roof with belfry. Transept built in 1741; 40' of nave built in 1772; belfry added and nave widened c. 1830; present belfry is third replacement. Oldest, public graveyard in Richmond; church was scene of the Virginia Convention, March 23, 1775, where Patrick Henry delivered his "Liberty or Death" speech. 11 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1934), 1 int. photo (1935); 4 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957). NR
Page 229

Scott-Clarke House (VA-421), 9 S. Fifth St. Brick, rectangular (three bay front), two stories, flat roof, four interior end chimneys, three-part first-floor windows, Greek Doric entrance porch; five-room plan. Built 1841; interior plan altered. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Smith, John D., House (VA-872), 2617 E. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof with dormers, connected interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch, two-level rear verandah; side-hall plan. Built 1856; restored 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Stearns Iron-Front Building (VA-847), 1007-13 E. Main St. Brick with cast-iron front, rectangular (fourteen-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, decorated cornice, arched windows separated by engaged Corinthian columns. Built 1866; ironwork furnished by Hayward, Bartlett of Baltimore. 2 ext. photos (1969); 11 data pages (1969); HABSI (1957). NR

Stewart-Lee House (Lee, General, House) (VA-895), 707 E. Franklin St. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built 1844. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Stone House (Poe Museum) (VA-120), 1916 E. Main St. Stone, 32'1", (three-bay front) x 22', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with three irregularly spaced dormers, two stone and brick interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. Probably the oldest dwelling standing in Richmond. 7 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 8 ext. photos (1936, 1937, 1939); 4 data pages (1936, 1940); HABSI (1957).

Tomlinson, A. M., House (VA-926), 2427 Venable St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built 1840. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1957).

Tucker Cottage (VA-959), 612 N. Third St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers. Built c. 1800. One of last remaining gambrel roof cottages in city. 1 sheet (1971, elevations).

Tucker House (VA-852), see Gosden House (VA-852), Richmond.
Page 230

Turpin-Yarbrough-Pohlig Factory (Yarbrough or Pohlig Factory) (VA-863), SW corner of Twenty-fifth and Franklin Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, gable-end front, connected interior end chimneys, parapet wall. Built 1853, John Freeman, architect. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Valentine Museum (VA-310), see Wickham-Valentine House (VA-310), Richmond.

Wickham-Valentine Museum
Page 231

Virginia Division of Youth Services (VA-434), see Parsons, Samuel P House (VA-434), Richmond.

Virginia Fire and Marine Insurance Company Building (VA-84 1015 E. Main St. Brick with cast-iron front, rectangular (four-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, heavily ornamented cornice recessed first-floor porch with Corinthian columns supporting semi-circular arches, upper-story arch windows separated by Corinthian columns. Built c. 1866 to replace structures destroyed in the April 3, 1865, Evacuation Fire. 4 sheets (1970, including elevations, details, section); 3 ext. photos (1969); 5 data pages (1969). NR

White House of the Confederacy (VA-861), see Brockenbrough, Dr. John, House (VA-861), Richmond.

Whitlock Double House (VA-874), 628-30 N. Seventeenth St. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney, arched entrances. Built c. 1818; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Wickham-Valentine House (Valentine Museum) (VA-310), 1015 E. Clay St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, central pavilion on front facade, three-piece windows, projecting bow in rear, one-story full-length rear porch which follows curve of bow; circular vestibule with spiral stair. Built c. 1812, attributed to Robert Mills, architect; interior altered 1850's. 1 ext. photo (1936), 10 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1957). NR

William, William C., House (Belvin House) (VA-111), 412 N. Eighth St. Brick with stucco, 55'8" (five-bay front) x 44'7", two stories, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, heavy bracketed cornice. Built 1810; burned and roof replaced mid 19th C.; demolished 1936. 5 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos (1926, 1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 3 data pages (1936).

William C. William House

William C. William House
Page 232

Wilton

Wilton (VA-158), N bank of James River, at end of Wilton Rd., .5 mi. S of Cary Street Rd. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, rubbed brick window dressings and quoining, wooden pedimented entrance; center-hall plan, fully paneled rooms. Built c. 1750; dismantled and moved from original site .1 mi. E of James River, 1 mi. W of Wilton Rd., .6 mi. S of Richmond city limits; reconstructed at present location 1935. 13 ext. photos (1933, 1939, 1949), 13 int. photos (1933, 1939); 4 data pages (n.d., 1940).

Wiseham House (VA-889), 804 E. Clay St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, entrance canopy design with consoles. Built 1823; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936).

Yarbrough or Pohlig Factory (VA-863), see Turpin-Yarbrough-Pohlig Factory (VA-863), Richmond.

 

  RICHMOND VICINITY Chesterfield County (21)

Ampthill (VA-159), see Ampthill (VA-159), Richmond.

Bellona Arsenal Workshops (VA-139), .l mi. S of James River, .2 mi. N of State Rte. 673, 2.4 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 147. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above stone foundation, hipped root, segmental arched windows and entrance; two smaller workshops to N and W: brick, rectangular (three-bay fronts), two stories, hipped roofs, wide segmental arched windows. Arsenal quadrangle completed by U.S. Government 1817; arsenal building on the N matching large and small workshops and officers' quarters on the E and W sides, barracks on the S and powder magazine to the W, outside of the stone walls surrounding the quadrangle; barracks destroyed 1840's; arsenal building, officers' quarters, and one workshop destroyed 1870's; three remaining workshops renovated as a residence and guest house 1942; window sash, chimneys, interior paneling, and porches added to remaining shell of structures. E workshops connected by kitchen hyphen. 10 ext. photos, workshops before renovation (1936); 4 data pages (1937); HABSI (1957). NR
Page 233

Bellona Arsenal Workshops

 

  RICHMOND VICINITY Henrico County (44)

Fairfield (VA-146), see Rocky Mills (VA-146), Richmond Vicinity.

Malvern Hill (VA-89), .2 mi. N of Turkey Island Creek, 1.1 mi. S of State Rte. 156, immediately W of intersection with Carter's Mill Rd. Walls remain from original brick (Flemish and English bonds) structure, 50'10'/2" (five-bay front) x 20'7", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys with glazed header diaper pattern, front and rear arched brick porches with gable roofs; two-room plan. Built late 17th C.; altered early 18th C.; burned c. 1905, approx. one bay and end wall remain. 6 sheets (1934, 1935, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections, including kitchen and icehouse); 3 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 2 data pages (1941). NR
Page 234

Malvern Hill

Malvern Hill

Rocky Mills (Fairfield) (VA-146), 211 Ross Rd. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above stone foundations, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, stone belt course and quoining, Palladian window centered on N front; central salon-stair hall with hall beyond, two rooms on either side. Built mid 18th C.; dismantled and moved from original site in Hanover Co., rebuilt near Richmond, central pedimented pavilion restored to S front, two bays and stone porch added to S front, brick one-story wing added to E side of structure 1928. 6 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations); 6 ext. photos (1940), 4 int. photos (1940); 6 data pages (1940).

Wilton (VA-158), see Wilton (VA-158), Richmond.

 

  ROANOKE VICINITY Roanoke County (81)

Garst Fort (VA-359), .2 mi. S of Lock Haven Lake, .3 mi. N of State Rte. 811, 2.2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 116. Planks with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories above stone cellar, gable roof, stone exterior end chimney, planks dovetailed at corners and exposed on front facade up to second-floor window sill level; one-room plan, built over spring for water supply. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1957).
Page 235

Rocky Mills

Rocky Mills

 

  SABOT Goochland County (38)

Saddlebag House (VA-215), .2 mi. E of Dover Creek, S side of State Rte. 6, immediately E of intersection with State Rte. 644. Frame with batten walls, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, central chimney; structure was rear ell of frame two-story building. Built early 19th C.; two-story building added later; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).

SALEM

Moravian House (VA-347), see Williams-Brown House and Store (VA-347), Salem.

Williams-Brown House and Store (Moravian House) (VA-347), 423 E. Main St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, recessed two-level verandah on front with two arched side entrances opening on either end of the first-level porch; rear ells. Built mid 19th C.; altered with later additions. 1 ext. photo (1940).

 

  SALEM VICINITY Roanoke County (81)

Fotheringay (VA-348), see Fotheringay (VA-348), Elliston Vicinity.
Page 237

 

  SCOTLAND VICINITY Surry County (91)

Pleasant Point (VA-94), S bank of James River on Timber Neck Creek, N side of State Rte. 637, .5 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 31. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; glazed brick header pattern parallel to raking on gable ends; center-hall plan; frame kitchen and smokehouse outbuildings. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 1 sheet (1935, detail of paneled cup-board only); 4 ext. photos (1932, 1934); HABSI (1959).

SCOTTSVILLE VICINITY Albemarle County (2)

Fry House (VA-12), see Viewmont (VA-12), Scottsville Vicinity.

Viewmont (Fry House) (VA-12), .5 mi. W of Hardware River, .4 mi. E of State Rte. 20, 2.3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 712. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; burned 1939. 4 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 3 ext. photos (1934), 2 int. photos (1934); 2 data pages (n.d., 1936).

Viewmont

Viewmont
Page 237

Pear Valley

 

  SEALSTON VICINITY King George County (50)

Lamb's Creek Episcopal Church (VA-98), .1 mi. W of Lamb's Creek, NE side of State Rte. 694, .4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 3. Brick (Flemish bond), 80' (seven-bay front) x 34', one story, hipped roof, modillion cornice, arched windows, molded brick pediments above entrance doorways, rubbed brick dressings; one-room plan. Built 1770; interior gutted 1861-65; exterior restored mid 20th C. 3 sheets (1936, including plan, elevation); HABSI (1958).

SHADYSIDE VICINITY Northampton County (66)

Pear Valley (VA-960), .1 mi. S of State Rte. 628, .5 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Brick and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one-room plan. Built 17th C. Rare example of small yeoman's cottage. 5 sheets (1971, including site plan, plan, elevations). NR
Page 238

 

  SKINQUARTER Chesterfield County (21)

House (Skinquarter) (VA-724), .5 mi. SE of pond at head of Goode Creek, S side of U.S. Rte. 360, .2 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 603. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Skinquarter (VA-724), see House (VA-724), Skinquarter.

 

  SMITHFIELD Isle of Wight County (47)

Barrett House (VA-140), N side of S. Church St., opposite Cedar St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable ends above eaves, two interior end chimneys, the E one being T-shaped; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; renovated. 5 ext. photos (n.d., 1936); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958).

Clerk's Office (Small Office) (VA-754), NE corner of Mason and Main Sts. Brick, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, gable-end front, one interior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; renovated. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1958).

Grove Hotel (VA-301), see Pierce, Thomas, House (VA-301), Smithfield.

Isle of Wight County Courthouse (VA-294), NE corner of Main and Mason Sts. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above high basement, gable roof with dormers, gable-end parapet wall, two interior end chimneys; rear apsidal ell. Built c. 1750; extensively altered; rebuilt 1961, structure now: brick, rectangular (five-bay porch arcade), one story, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys; rear apsidal ell. 3 ext. photos (1937, 1940); HABSI (1958). NR

Masonic Hall (VA-424), near site of present lodge hall at SE corner of Mason and Hill Sts. Brick with stucco, second floor was frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).
Page 239

Pierce, Thomas, House (Grove Hotel) (VA-301), SW corner of Mason and Grace Sts. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, pedimented gable end. Built early 19th C.; restored. 3 ext. photos (1937, 1940); HABSI (1958).

Small Office (VA-754), see Clerk's Office (VA-754), Smithfield.

 

  SMITHFIELD VICINITY Isle of Wight County (47)

St. Luke's Church (VA-20), S side of SW tributary of Jones Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 10, .2 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 258. Brick (Flemish bond with English bond below grade), 29'43/4" (one-bay front) x 65'7'/2" with tower, one story, gable roof with step-gable ends; buttressing with plastered splays, some original molded brick mullions remain in lancet windows; tower: rectangular, three stories, peaked roof, arched entrance way with simple detached pediment above. Built late 17th C.; renovated and restored. 10 sheets (1934, including plan, elevations, details); 12 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1939, 1940), 2 int. photos (1934); 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1890); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958). NR; NHL

 

  SOMERS VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Edgehill (VA-930), .8 mi. NE of Deep Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 354, opposite intersection with State Rte. 683. Frame with clap-boarding, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two-story side wing. Built early 18th C.; later addition. HABSI (1957).

 

  SOUTH BOSTON VICINITY Halifax County (42)

Berry Hill (VA-304), .5 mi. N of Dan River, .6 mi. S of State Rte. 659, 1.5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 682. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, gable-end front with pedimented octastyle Greek Doric portico, four interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; office and schoolhouse are temple-form structures which form forecourt. Earlier structures re-modeled c. 1839. 9 ext. photos (1940), 4 ext. photos, outbuildings (1940), 4 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 240

St. Luke's Church

St. Luke's Church
Page 241

Berry Hill

Berry Hill
Page 242

 

  SOUTH HILL Mecklenburg County (59)

Old Tavern (VA-312), 624 Mecklenburg Ave. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys (one of which was stone up to the eaves, the rest being brick). Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

 

  SPERRYVILLE VICINITY Rappahannock County (79)

Estes Mill (VA-374), S bank of S fork of Thornton River, SW corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 211 and State Rte. 667. Frame with clapboarding above stone basement, rectangular (three-bay front), one story with lofts above raised basement, gambrel roof, wooden overshot wheel with wooden sluice. Built late 18th C.; wheel removed c. 1940. 4 ext. photos (c. 1934); 1 data page (1941).

Saw Mill (VA-839), NE bank of S fork of Thornton River, SW side of U.S. Rte. 211, 1.9 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 667. Frame with vertical planking, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, wooden saw mill equipment, iron blade for vertical up-and-down cutting; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

 

  SPOTSYLVANIA Spotsylvania County (89)

County Offices (VA-265), see Spotsylvania County Jail (VA-265), Spotsylvania.

Harrison House (VA-392), .7 mi. SW of Ni River, N side of State Rte. 208, .l mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 613. Brick end wall and interior end chimney remain from original two-story structure. Built early 19th C.; wall and chimney now demolished. 2 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935).

Spotsylvania County Jail (County Offices) (VA-265), 1.5 mi. W of Ni River, SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 208 and 613. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney, brick corbeled cornice, walls become thinner at second-floor level. Built early 19th C.; stucco added. 1 ext. photo (1939).

 

  SPOTSYLVANIA VICINITY Spotsylvania County (89)

Dabney Farm Outbuildings (VA-391), 1.1 mi. W of Ni River, NW side of State Rte. 208, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 720. Smokehouse: brick, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof; kitchen: frame with batten walls, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers set partially into the front wall, central chimney. Built early 19th C.; altered. 1 ext. photo (1935).
Page 243

Herndon House (VA-372), .3 mi. N of Po River, .1 mi. SE of State Rte. 612, 1.9 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 649. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, S three bays on both fronts project from facade with the second-floor wall sloped and roofed creating a gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; altered with later additions. 7 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (c. 1934).

Todd House (VA-367), exact location unknown. Frame, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, two interior chimneys; probably center-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (1934).

Todd House
Page 244

Whig Hill (Wigg Hill) (VA-373),.3 mi. W of Ni River, .2 mi. SE of State Rte. 208, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 720. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, lower slope of roof is covered with clap-boarding, one interior and one interior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; enlarged. 4 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1957).

Wigg Hill (VA-373), see Whig Hill (VA-373), Spotsylvania Vicinity.

 

  STAFFORD Stafford County (90)

Old Stafford County Courthouse Complex (VA-56), SE corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 1 and State Rte. 630. Complex including: Courthouse: brick, T-shaped (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, cornice forming pediment at gable ends with semi-circular recess simulating a lunette. Built mid 19th C. Clerk's Office: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built late 18th C. Jail: stone, rectangular (one-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central interior chimney. Built early 19th C. All buildings demolished. 4 ext. photocopies (c. 1900, including Courthouse, Clerk's Office, jail); 3 data pages (1936).

 

  STAFFORD VICINITY Stafford County (9-0)

Aquia Church (VA-415), .8 mi. SW of Aquia Creek, .l mi. E of U.S. Rte. 1, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 676. Brick with rusticated stone quoins, cross-shaped (five-bay front), one story with gallery, hipped roof, modillion cornice, three pedimented entrances framed by stone architraves, semi-circular arched window heads at gallery level; one-room Greek-cross plan, gallery on one side, notable interior including three-level pulpit and sounding board, box pews, and reredos. Built 1751; burned; rebuilt 1757; restored. 5 ext. photos, church (1934, 1959), 9 ext. photos, cemetery (1959), 1 int. photo, church (1932); 5 data pages (1941, 1959); HABSI (1958). NR

Entrance Gates

 

  STAUNTON

Entrance Gates (VA-7), 120 Church St. Wood, two posts with caps and spherical finials, double leaves with Chinese Chippendale decorative framing. Built late 18th C. 1 sheet (1934, including plan, elevation, details); 2 ext. photos (1934); 2 data pages (1936).
Page 245

The Manse

Manse, The (VA-392), SW corner of Frederick and Coalter Sts. House museum. Brick, 44'3" (three-bay front) x 34'3", two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, E street front had two-level Doric porch with extensions on first-floor level to either side, rear w elevation has two-level porch with two-story Doric columns; center-hall plan. Built c. 1847; altered c. 1897; restored c. 1941; street front now has Greek Doric entrance porch. Birthplace of President Woodrow Wilson, December 28, 1856. 8 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (n.d., 1934); 2 data pages (1936). NR

 

  STAUNTON VICINITY Augusta County (8)

Folly Farms (VA-8), .3 mi. S of Folly Mills Creek, .3 mi. NW of U.S. Rte. 11, .3 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 654. Brick (Flemish bond), 50'7" (three-bay front) x 40'4", one story above high basement, hipped roof with deck and balustrade around deck, four interior end chimneys, N and E pedimented tetrastyle Tuscan porticoes, three-part windows, center-hall plan with cross hall; brick, one-and-a-half story side wing; one-story rear ell; brick icehouse with pyramidal roof; brick dairy with gable roof and pedimented portico; brick slave quarters; brick serpentine wall frames garden. Built c. 1818. 10 sheets (1934, including plot plans, plans, elevations, details, main house and icehouse); 6 ext. photos, including slave quarters, dairy, and icehouse (1934), 1 int. photo (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 246

 

  STRASBURG VICINITY Shenandoah County (86)

Fort Bowman (Harmony Hall) (VA-909), NW bank of Shenandoah River, at end of Frontage Rd., .6 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 11. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, notable interior trim including exposed-beam ceiling with beaded beams and joists, fully paneled interior walls, large fireplace with bolection molding surround. Built mid 18th C.; later additions and alterations. 7 sheets (1970, including plans, elevations, sections, details); I ext. photo (1938); 2 int. photos (1938); HABSI (1958). NR

Harmony Hall (VA-909), see Fort Bowman (VA-909), Strasburg Vicinity.

Hupp House (VA-908), E bank of Town Run, NW side of U.S. Rte. 11, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 55. Stone, approx. 42' (three-bay front) x 25', one story above raised basement, gable roof, stone jack arches above doors and windows; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; interior chimney dismantled. 1 ext. photo (1938); HABSI (1958).

Old Tavern No. 1 (VA-35), .7 mi. NW of Shenandoah River, N side of U.S. Rte. 11, .2 mi. E of intersection with Frontage Rd. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, interior stone chimney; log one-story rear wing. Built approx. 1800; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1935).

Folly Farms
Page 247

Fort Bowman

Old Tavern No. 2 (VA-35A), .7 mi. NW of Shenandoah River, S side of U.S. Rte. 1 1, .1 mi. W of intersection with Frontage Rd., approx. location. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two stone interior end chimneys, one-story wooden pedimented entrance porch; probably center-hall plan. Built approx. 1800; later alterations and additions; demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).
Page 248

 

  STRATFORD Westmoreland County (97)

Stratford Hall (VA-307), .8 mi. S of Potomac River, .6 mi. NE of State Rte. 214, 1.2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 3. Historic house museum. Main house: brick (Flemish bond), H-shaped, 93'6" (nine-bay front) x 62'8", two stories, hipped roof, eight interior chimneys in two clusters of four chimneys with segmental brick arches between the chimneys in each cluster and flat observation deck with turned wooden baluster railings between the chimneys, modillion cornice, ground-floor windows with segmental brick arched lintels set below molded brick water table and forming the base story for the principal second story, windows with rubbed brick jack arches, principal entrance doors to hall on N and S with rubbed brick dressings and molded brick pediments, monumental splayed stone steps to N and S entrance doors, massive brick steps with brick parapet railings to E and W entrance doors; center-hall plan with E and W cross halls, notable interior trim including fully paneled Great Hall, 28'8" x 28'6", with engaged Corinthian pilasters and tray ceiling; SW dependency: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, one interior chimney; two-room plan; SE dependency (kitchen, laundry): brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, one interior chimney; two-room plan; NW and NE dependencies: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one story, hipped root; one interior end chimney; one-room plan; stable: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular, one story with loft, gable roof. Built c. 1730; extensive interior alterations late 18th C.; exterior alterations early 19th C.; restored 1933-40, Sidney Fiske Kimball, architect for Robert E. Lee Memorial Foundation, Inc.; exterior steps built 1935, 1940. Stratford Hall is an outstanding example of American Georgian architecture. 34 sheets (1969, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details, annotated restoration drawings); 55 ext. photos (1932, 1934, 1938, 1940, 1969), 82 int. photos (1938, 1940, 1969); 2 photocopies (1940); 13 data pages (1940, 1969). NR; NHI,
Page 249

Stratford Hall

 

  STUDLEY VICINITY Hanover County (43)

Pollard House (VA-343), see Williamsville (VA-343), Studley Vicinity.

Williamsville (Pollard House) (VA-343), .4 mi. E of Pollard Creek, .4 mi. NW of State Rte. 645, .8 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 615. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1800. 2 ext. photos (1935); 1 data page (1941).
Page 249

Joiner House

Clerestory House

 

  SUFFOLK VICINITY Nansemond County (62)

Joiner House (VA-248), .3 mi. W of Green Swamp, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 31, .6 mi S of intersection with State Rte. 10. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, rear porch; side lean-to. Built late 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1938); 1 data page (1941).

 

  SURRY VICINITY Surry County (91)

Clerestory House (VA-248), .3 mi. W of Green Swamp, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 31, .6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 10. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, full length clerestory windows on front and rear, two exterior end chimneys; rear ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1938); HABSI (1958).
Page 250

Four Mile Tree Plantation (VA-55), .1 mi. S of James River, .9 mi. N of State Rte. 610, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 618. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, hip-on-gambrel roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, Ionic porch; center-hall plan; servants' quarters: pise, one-and-a-half stories. House built late 18th C.; altered; servants' quarters built early 19th C.; demolished. Grounds contain oldest legible tombstone in Virginia (1650). 3 ext. photos, slave quarters (1934), 1 int. photo (1934); 3 ext. photocopies (c. 1900); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1959). NR

Warren House (VA-397), .6 mi. S of Grays Creek, at end of State Rte. 641, .2 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 31, 2 mi. NE of Surry. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, two interior end chimneys, brick segmental arch entrance design; center-hall plan. Originally built c. 1652; rebuilt early 18th C.; restored 1934. 7 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1939), 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Warren House
Page 251

 

  SUSSEX VICINITY Sussex County (92)

Windsor Farm (VA-255), see Winsor (VA-255), Sussex Vicinity.

Winsor (Windsor Farm) (VA-255), .4 mi. W of Joseph Swamp, .1 mi. S of State Rte. 602, 4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 35. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, one interior and one exterior end chimney, modillion and denticulated cornice; irregular plan; two-story side wing. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 3 ext. photos (1938).

 

  SWEET HALL VICINITY King William County (51)

House (VA-533), see Seaton House (VA-533), Sweet Hall Vicinity.

St. John's Church (VA-758), l mi. SW of Bull Swamp, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 30, .2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 630. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water table), approx. 30'2" (one-bay front) x 50'3", one story, gable roof, molded brick arches on W and N entrances; much original woodwork, N wing. Built 1734; N wing added c. 1760; in process of renovation. 1 ext. photo (1934), 2 int. photos (1938); HABSI (1958).

Seaton House (House) (VA-533), .6 mi. S of Custis Pond, N side of State Rte. 634, .l mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 625. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

Sweet Hall (VA-385), N bank of Pamunkey River, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 634, 1.6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick (English bond) with partially stuccoed front facade, T-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two T-shaped interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney, modillion cornice, side and front porches; rear ell. Built early 18th C.; later additions. 3 ext. photos (n.d., 1937); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

Waterville (VA-257), see Windsor Shade (VA-257), Sweet Hall Vicinity.

Windsor Shade (Waterville) (VA-257), N bank of Pamunkey River, .4 mi. W of S end of State Rte. 634, 1.7 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 30. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with hipped dormers, two massive exterior end double chimneys with brick pent closets between, brick (English bond) E gable-end wall up to eavesline; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.); HABSI (1958).
Page 252

 

  TAPPAHANNOCK Essex County (29)

Customs House (VA-499), 109 Prince St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with pedimented dormers; one interior chimney; side-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

Debtor's Prison (Old Lawyer's Office) (VA-500), 321 Prince St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, wooden box cornice; one-room plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; interior altered and rear ell constructed mid 20th C. I ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1968).

Emerson's Ordinary (House) (VA-498), 314 water Lane. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan; right-angle wing: frame with clapboarding, one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built in two stages: early 18th C. and mid 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1935); HABSI (1958).

Glebe House (VA-961), Tappahannock. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; open plan, elaborate interior woodwork. Built 18th C. 5 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections).

House (VA-498), see Emerson's Ordinary (VA-498), Tappahannock.

Glebe House
Page 253

Old Lawyer's Office (VA-500), see Debtor's Prison (VA-500), Tappahannock.

Ritchie House (VA-501), 227 Prince St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; two exterior end T-chimneys, wooden box cornice, brick water table; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. in two stages; interior of principal ground-floor rooms removed and rebuilt in the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum at Winterthur, Del. 4 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, details); 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  TASLEY VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Custis House (VA-485), .1 mi. E of Deep Creek, .4 mi. NW of State Rte. 660, 1 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 658. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior and one exterior end chimney; off-center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  THE PLAINS VICINITY Fauquier County (31)

Gordonsdale Cabin (VA-6), 1.9 mi. NW of Broad Run, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 750, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 245. Log with stucco, 30'1" (three-bay front) x 20'4", one story, gable roof, three exterior stone chimneys; modified two-room plan; rear lean-to. Built mid 18th C.; later addition. 9 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photo (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  TIDEWATER VICINITY Richmond County (80)

Indian Banks (VA-74), .1 mi. E of Morattico Creek, W side of State Rte. 606, .8 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 673. Brick (Flemish bond), L-shaped (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water table, scalloped brick jack arch lintel above S entrance door; modified center-hall plan. Built early 18th C. 5 ext. photos (1934, 1937), 2 int. photos (1934, 1937); 1 data page (1937).
Page 254

 

  TOANO James City County (48)

Marston House (VA-319), exact location unknown. Frame with clap-boarding, two stories, gable roof, exterior end chimney in Flemish and English bond. Built mid 18th C.; raised from one-and-a-half to two stories; extensive later additions; demolished. 1 ext. photo, chimney detail (1938); 1 data page (1941).

 

  TOANO VICINITY James City County (48)

Hickory Neck Church (VA-214), .6 mi. E of Mill Creek, E side of U.S. Rte. 60, .8 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 610. Brick (Flemish bond above beveled water table and English bond below, three-course American bond on S end and on S portions of the E and W walls), rectangular, 36' (three-bay front) x 28', one story, gable roof, modillion cornice, small chimney on S end, porch on S entrance, vestry on N end; one-room plan. Built 1773-74 as the N transept addition to 1734 nave and chancel which were destroyed c. 1825; later additions; interior completely altered. 2 ext. photos (1936, 1940); HABSI (1958).

Martin House (VA-756), N bank of intermittent stream of Mill Creek, S side of U.S. Rte. 60, .3 mi. W of intersection with State Rtes. 30 and 168-Y. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Windsor Castle (VA-254), .5 mi. SW of S tributary of Mill Creek, N side of State Rte. 610, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 659. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; side wing; rear ell; log smokehouse. Built mid 18th C.; later additions and renovations. 2 ext. photos, main house (1936, 1937), 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1937); 1 data page (1941).

 

  TOWNSEND VICINITY Northampton County (66)

Fitchett House (VA-548), .2 mi. IV of Raccoon Creek, E side of State Rte. 600, 3.2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 645. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys. Built early 19th C.; destroyed; now site of Cape Charles Air Force Base. 2 ext. photos (1940).
Page 255

 

  TUCKER HILL VICINITY Westmoreland County (97)

Yeocomico Church (VA-268), .1 mi. SE of Bonum Creek, w side of State Rte. 606, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 610. Brick, T-shaped (three-bay entrance front), one story, gable roof, flared eaves, modillion cornice, round window in E gable, paired double-hung sash windows, advanced brick entrance porch with gable roof and flared eaves, triple arched head above porch entrance comprised of two small brick semi-circles surmounted by a third, resembling tracery, massive batten door (6' x 8') with a smaller wicket door with its own hinges set into it; T-shaped-open plan. Built 1706; extensive, almost continuous renovations and alterations 1773, c. 1820, 1906, 1928, 1959. 3 ext. photos (1937), 1 ext. photo, wicket door (1937); 1 data page (1941). NR

 

  TUNSTALL VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Castle, The (VA-124), .1 mi. S of Pamunkey River, 1 mi. N of State Rte. 608, 1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), T-shaped (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys, two-story enclosed brick porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1700; originally: one-and-a-half stories, two-story porch; enlarged late 19th C.; rear additions 20th C. 13 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 4 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Road View Farm Kitchen
Page 256

St. Peter's Church

Poplar Grove (VA-801), S side of Pamunkey River, 1.2 mi. N of State Rte. 608, 1 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 609. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (originally two-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, one brick interior end chimney and one brick exterior end chimney; side-hall plan; two-story brick ell; brick barn, frame office, outbuildings. Built late 18th C.; ell added mid 19th C.; addition early 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936); HABSI (1958).

Road View Farm Kitchen (VA-97), .6 mi. W of W tributary of St. Peter's Swamp, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 609, .2 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 606. Frame with vertical boarding, 143" (one-bay front) x 1441/2", one story, gable roof, wood and clay chimney. Built early 19th C.; destroyed. 5 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1935), 3 int. photos (1935, 1936); 3 data pages (1936).

St. Peter's Church (VA-127), .3 mi. S of St. Peter's Swamp, N side of State Rte. 642, .4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 609. Brick (English and Flemish bond), 284'/2" (one-bay front) x 644", one story, gable roof, curvilinear gable ends, segmental arched windows, two-story tower with pyramidal roof, open first-floor arches. Built early 18th C.; tower added mid 18th C.; pre-Revolutionary N wing removed mid 19th C. Restored. 9 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1936); 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1892); 10 data pages (1937); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 257

Woodland (VA-803), exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two brick (English bond) T-shaped exterior end chimneys; two side lean-to 's. Built mid 18th C; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  UPPERVILLE Fauquier County (31)

House (VA-478), N side of U.S. Rte. 50, .5 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 712. Stone with stucco and log, 33'8" (three-bay front) x 25', two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, one exterior end chimney; two-room plan; log side wing: 25'5" (three-bay front) x 20', two stories, gable roof; one-room plan. Built late 18th C.; restored. 5 sheets (1953, including plans, elevations).

 

  URBANNA Middlesex County (60)

Customs House (VA-799), N side of State Rte. 1002, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 1005. Brick, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, modillion cornice. Early 18th C.; renovated. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1959).

Tobacco Warehouse (VA-589), S side of State Rte. 1002, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 1005. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, full-length front porch; two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 7 ext. photos (1960), 20 int. photos (1960); 6 data pages (1960); HABSI (1959).

 

  URBANNA VICINITY Middlesex County (60)

Hewick House (VA-540), .7 mi. S of Robinson Creek, .3 mi. N of intersection of State Rtes. 615 and 602, .4 mi. IV of intersection with State Rtes. 602 and 1010. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell: brick, T-shaped, one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof, interior end chimneys. Rear ell built late 17th C.; front block added later; alterations. 2 ext. photos (c. 1935); HABSI (1959).

 

  VARINA VICINITY Henrico County (44)

Cox House (VA-396), exact location unknown. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; rear lean-to; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys with frame pent closet between; rear lean-to forms saltbox shape. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 5 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935).
Page 258

 

  VIENNA VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Ash Grove (VA-504), 8900 Ash Grove Lane. Frame with clapboarding, 61'5" (five-bay front) x 20'5", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell, 29'1" x 17'5". Built late 18th C.; seriously damaged by fire 1960; restored 1961. 15 sheets, main house (1960, including plot plan, plans, elevations, details), l sheet, kitchen (1960, including plans, elevations); 13 ext. photos, main house (1930, 1959, 1960), 2 ext. photos, kitchen (1959), 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1959), 7 int. photos, main house (1960), 5 int. photos, smokehouse (1959); 3 data pages (1961); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Ash Grove
Page 259

Brock Farm Quarters

 

  VIRGINIA BEACH

Ackiss, Francis, House (VA-226), exact location unknown. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with shed dormers, two exterior end chimneys. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Brock Farm Quarters (Brook Farm Quarters) (VA-400), 2.5 mi. E of West Neck Creek, .5 mi. SE of State Rte. 615 (Oceana Blvd.), .9 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 632 (London Bridge Rd.). Planks, rectangular, one story above brick (Flemish bond) foundation, gable roof, dovetailed timbering. Built late 18th C.; end chimney destroyed 1937; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1937, 1939); 2 data pages (1941, n.d.).

Brook Farm Quarters (VA-400), see Brock Farm Quarters (VA-400).
Page 260

Cornick, Henry T., House (VA-558), 1.5 mi. SW of Linkhorn Bay, .2 mi. S of intersection of Potters and Colonial Rds., .4 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 58. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular, two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; one-story frame rear ell, exterior end chimney. Built c. 1800; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Eastwood (VA-242), S side of Great Neck Lake, .2 mi. W of Great Neck Rd., .l mi. S of intersection with First Colonial Rd. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys (destroyed above roof ridge line); two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; demolished; bolection molding around one fireplace now in the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, Winterthur, Del., as part of the Flock Room woodwork. 2 ext. photos (1934, 1939), 3 int. photos (1938); 1 data page (1940).

Fairfield Plantation Dependency (VA-557), .5 mi. E of E branch of Elizabeth River, .2 mi. W of State Rte. 190, .5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 165. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, steep gable roof, two interior end chimneys (the N one being T-shaped). Built early 18th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1935).

Hudgins House (VA-243), E side of Pinetree Branch, S side of U.S. Rte. 58, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 644. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, massive E exterior end chimney, IV interior end chimney. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1939); 1 data page (1940).

Keeling, Adam, House (VA-17), N side of Keeling Drain, SE side of Keeling Rd., opposite intersection with Inlet Rd. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water table), 48'3" (five-bay front) x 20'2'/2", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, rows of glazed headers follow roof rake on gable ends, modillion cornice; center-hall plan, fine interior paneling. Built late 17th C.; later additions. 6 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1938), 1 int. photo (1934); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Lovett, Reuben, House (VA-560), .1 mi. S of West Neck Creek, .2 mi. NE of State Rte. 627 (Holland Rd.), .5 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 149 (Princess Anne Rd.). Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; renovated with rear additions. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Adam Keeling House
Page 261

Pleasant Hall (VA-238), .1 mi. E of E branch of Elizabeth River, N side of State Rte. 165, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 646. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; frame rear ell. Built late l 8th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Princess Anne County Courthouse (VA-556), .2 mi. E of E branch of Elizabeth River, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 165, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 646. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney; one-room plan with balcony. Built late 18th C.; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1958).

Salisbury Plains (VA-559), .8 mi. W of Great Neck Creek, S side of State Rte. 1002, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 635. Brick with frame front, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Thoroughgood, Adam, House (VA-209), .1 mi. W of Bayville Creek, at E end of Thoroughgood Lane. Historic house museum. Brick (English bond except for Flemish bond on W front), rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, one exterior end and one interior end chimney (both being T-shaped), modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 17th C.; altered 18th C.; restored and opened to public 1957; dormers and cornice removed, both fronts are now three bays with segmental arched, leaded diamond-pane windows. 2 ext. photos (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABS1 (1958). NR; NHL

Wishart, James, House (VA-16), .9 mi. NE of Thurston Branch, .1 mi. S of State Rte. 649, .4 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 652. Brick (English bond), 32'91/4" (three-bay front) x 21'1/2", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with connected shed dormers similar to clerestory, two massive T-shaped exterior end chimneys, front porch; two-room plan, closed stair; rear ell. Built late 17th C.; later additions. 3 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 2 ext. photos (1934), 1 int. photo (1939); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 262

Adam Thoroughgood House

Woodhouse, Jonathan, House (VA-239), 1.5 mi. E of West Neck Creek, .2 mi. NE of State Rte. 632 (London Bridge Rd.), .7 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 615 (Oceana Blvd.). Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys, rear porch; two-room plan; side-wing. Built mid 18th C.; interior paneling replaced; later additions. 5 ext. photos (1937, 1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  WARDTOWN VICINITY Northampton County (66)

Fisher House (VA-549), 1 mi. NE of Holly Grove Cove, .2 mi. E of State Rte. 606, .4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 607. Frame with clapboarding with one brick end (Flemish bond with glazed headers set in diaper pattern), rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, brick interior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished 1944. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Locust Grove (VA-550), .1 mi. NW of Nassawadox Creek, 1 mi. S of State Rte. 183, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 611. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear lean-to forming saltbox. Built early 18th C.; later addition. 2 ext. photos (1940).
Page 263

 

  WARSAW Richmond County (80)

Clerk's Office (VA-331), S side U.S. Rte. 360, between State Rtes. T1004 and T1015. Stone with garnetted joints exposed below water table, stone with stucco above water table, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, central door-way with fluted keystone; one-room plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; altered and enlarged 1935. 2 ext. photos (1938); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

Lawyer's Office (VA-563), NW corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 360 and State Rte. 3. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, wooden box cornice, main entrance on second floor approached by exterior brick stair; one-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Richmond County Courthouse (VA-896), S side of U.S. Rte. 360, between State Rtes. T1004 and T1015. Brick (Flemish bond), rec-tangular (six-bay front), one story, hipped roof, two interior corner chimneys, modillion cornice, brick water table, arched windows set in recessed arched panels with stone imposts and keystones; one-room plan, advanced brick vestibule. Built mid 18th C.; extensively altered late 19th C.; interior remodeled 1952. 2 ext. photos (1938); HABSI (1958).

Saint John's Episcopal Church (VA-564), N side of U.S. Rte. 360, at NW corner of intersection with State Rte. T1003. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 54' (four-bay lateral facade) x 34', one story, gable roof, square wooden belfry, recessed porch-vestibule with three-bay arcade supported by brick columns without capitals, arched entrance doors; one-room plan. Built 1837; later rear chancel addition. 2 ext. photos (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  WARSAW VICINITY Richmond County (80)

Menokin (VA-156), .2 mi. E of Menokin Bay, .8 mi. W of State Rte. 690, 1.3 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 621. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with deck, two interior chimneys, corner quoins, double belt course, water table, molded window architrave with rusticated blocks, arched fanlight; four-room plan, notable interior trim including paneled dado and overmantels; stone dependency: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, arched central doorway; two-room plan, notable interior trim including Chinese Chippendale stair rail. Built c. 1769; main house ruinous; dependency demolished: 20 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, details); 6 ext. photos, main house (1934, 1940), 2 ext. photos, dependency (1940), 5 int. photos, main house (1940), 3 int. photos, dependency (1940); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 264

Menokin

Mount Airy (VA-72), .5 mi. S of Mt. Airy Millpond, .3 mi. W of State Rte. 646, .4 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 360. Stone, five-part composition, main house: rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior chimneys, advanced three-bay central pedimented pavilions on NE and SW fronts with rusticated cut-stone decoration, NE front with recessed entrance loggia and Doric pilastered piers, SE front with arched rusticated recessed entrance loggia; stone cornice, corner quoins, belt course, water table, and window architrave; center-hall plan; flanking one-story quadrants with shed roofs terminated by dependencies: rectangular (three-bay fronts), two stories, hipped roofs, one interior chimney, corner quoins; SE dependency: four-room plan; NW dependency: three-room plan; entrance court with stone piers and carved stone vases. Built 1758, attributed to John Ariss, architect; interior of main house gutted by fire 1844; rebuilt c. 1845. Mount Airy is the most outstanding 18th C. stone house erected in Virginia. 10 ext. photos, main house (1934, 1937, 1938, 1939), 4ext. photos, dependencies (1938), 3 ext. photos, entrance court (1938), 1 int. photo (1938); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI's (1957, 1958). NR; NHL
Page 265

Mount Airy

Old House (VA-566), see Linden Farm (VA-566), Farnham.

Sabine Hall (VA-155), 1.3 mi. NE of Rappahannock River, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 624, 1.3 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 360. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, brick belt course and water table, rusticated stone central bay, stone window lintels with keystones, tetrastyle wooden two-story Doric entrance portico with pediment on NE front; center-hall plan, unusually line interior trim; flanking wings: one-and-a-half story, gable roof. Built c. 1735; main house connected to kitchen with covered way, porches added, roof lowered 1764; house stuccoed and kitchen demolished 1830-40; W wing added and E wing enlarged 1929. 24 sheets (1940, including plot plan, plan, elevations, details); 14 ext. photos (1934, 1940), 1 ext. photo, gate house (1940); 3 ext. photos, garden (1940), 22 lilt. photos (1934, 1937, 1940); 5 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958); NR; NHL
Page 266

Sabine Hall

Sabine Hall
Page 267

 

  WASHINGTON Rappahannock County (79)

Lawyer's Offices (VA-561, Area Survey), Court Green. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Rappahannock County Courthouse (VA-561, Area Survey), Court Green. Brick, rectangular, temple form (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, square belfry, four interior end chimneys, pedimented gable end with semi-circular lunette, four engaged Doric pilasters; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; interior remodeled c. 1958. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  WASHINGTON'S BIRTHPLACE Westmoreland County (97)

Blenheim (VA-571), .8 mi. S of Bridges Creek, .5 mi. W of State Rte. 204, .8 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 3. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, segmental window lintels; center-hall plan; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; roof altered and wing added early 19th C.; ruinous. 4 sheets (1968, including elevations); 4 ext. photos (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

George Washington Birthplace National Monument (Wakefield) (VA-393), W bank of Pope's Creek, N end of State Rte. 204, 1.7 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 3. Historic house museum. Brick, 52' (five-bay front) x 34', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Original house built c. 1726, burned 1779; present house erected 1931. Conjectural reconstruction of house in which George Washington was born. Edward W. Donn, Jr., architect for reconstruction. 21 photocopies of working drawings (1930, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 3 ext. photos (1934).

Wakefield (VA-393), see George Washington Birthplace National Monument (VA-393), Washington's Birthplace.

 

  WATERFORD Loudoun County (54)

Apothecary Shop (VA-777), see Haines-Shuey House (VA-777), Waterford.
Page 268

Arch House (Miriam Gover House) (VA-380), NE side Main St. Brick, 18' (three-bay front) x 22'3", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, brick archway and covered passage connecting street with rear garden at ground-floor level; two-room plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; altered and enlarged mid 20th C. 1 ext.s photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Atley-Huff House (VA-779), see Hough-Haines House (VA-779), Waterford.

Bank House (Old Bank) (VA-378), SW side Main St. Brick, 37' (five-bay front) x 24', two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, carved wooden cornice with modified triglyphs and metopes, semi-circular fanlight above entrance door; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; interior plan altered early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Braden-Rinker House (Charles Moreland House) (VA-768), SW side Main St. Hill. Brick, 22'1" (three-bay front) x 18'2", one story above full stone basement, gable roof, interior end chimney, two-story wooden porch with balcony across full width of street facade; two-room plan. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Brick Cottage on Hwy. (VA-776), see Gover-Phillips Cottage (VA-776), Waterford.

Clockmaker's House and Shop (VA-787), see Nettle, W. and Sarah, House (VA-787), Waterford.

Curbs, Lloyd, House (VA-785), see Myer, Mahlon, House (VA-785), Waterford.

Divine, Charles IV., House (Loudoun Hotel) (VA-769), NE side Main St. Brick nogging with clapboarding, 38'11" (six-bay front) x 29'2", three stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, iron balcony across full width of street facade at second story; two-room plan; originally two adjacent houses. Built late 18th C.; later additions and alterations. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Dorsey, Edward, House (Middle Huff House) (VA-770), SW side Main St. Hill. Brick, 36'6" (five-bay front) x 20'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, carved wooden cornice with modified triglyph and metope detail; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1804. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).
Page 269

Dutton, John B., House (Steer House) (VA-771), NE corner Second and Mahlon Sts. Frame with clapboarding, 38' (five-bay front) x 25', one-and-a-half stories above raised stone basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Edwards Barn (VA-782), see Hough, William, Barn (VA-782), Waterford.

Edwards House (VA-781), see Hough, William, House (VA-781), Waterford.

Edwards-Hough House (Dr. Edwards House) (VA-772), NW corner intersection of Main St. Hill and Butcher's Row. Brick, 34'2" (five-bay front) x 20'2", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; originally center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; extensive alterations and additions mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Fairfax Meeting House (Meeting House) (VA-773), SE corner intersection of State Rtes. 665 and 698. Stone, 70' (seven-bay facade) x 35', two stories, gable roof, two stone interior corner chimneys; original interior plan altered by conversion into residence. Built 1761; reconstructed 1868; altered as residence mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

French-Atlee House (Sidewell House) (VA-774), NW corner Second and Church Sts. Brick, 26'2" (three-bay front) x 28', two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan, elliptical arch in entrance hall; one-and-a-half story rear ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

    General Views: a) View from W. 1 photo (1937); b) View of Main St. 1 photo (1937); c) View up street from Mill. 1 photo (1937); d) View of Bond St. 1 photo (1937); e) View from N. 1 photo (1937).

Gover-Matthews Log House (Log House) (VA-775), NE side Main St., opposite Bank House. Log, 14'5" (one-bay front) x 15'2", two stories, gable roof, interior chimney; one-room plan; frame lean-to side wing. Built late 18th C.; later addition; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Gover-James House (VA-382), see Gover, Samuel A., House (VA-382), Waterford.
Page 270

Gover-Phillips Cottage (Brick Cottage on Hwy.) (VA-776), SW side Main St. Brick, 27'3" (three-bay front) x 161", one story, wooden shingle gable roof; one-room plan; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Gover, Miriam House (VA-380), see Arch House (VA-380), Waterford.

Gover, Samuel A., House (Gover-James House) (VA-382), SW side Main St. Log and frame with clapboarding, 33'9" (six-bay front) x 20', two stories, gable roof, brick interior end chimney, stone exterior end chimney; rectangular plan. Built late 18th C.; altered and stone chimney reconstructed mid 20th C. l ext. photo (1937).

Haines-Shuey House (Apothecary Shop) (VA-777), NE side Main and Water Sts. Brick, 29'4" (five-bay front) x 22'6", three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, metal supports for balcony across full width of street facade at second-floor level; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Haines-Shuey House
Page 271

Hampier-Robinson House (Nancy Robinson House) (VA-778), N side Water St., at intersection with Main St. Log, 36' (four-bay front x 15'11 ", two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-roof plan. Built late 18th C.; enlarged early 19th C.; restored 1959. 1 ex photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Hough-Haines House (Atley-Huff House) (VA-779), SW side Main St Hill. Brick, 26'1" (three-bay front) x 18'1", two stories, gable roof two interior end chimneys; two-room plan; brick, one-story side wing. Built early 19th C. l ext. photo (1937).

Hough, Hector, House (VA-789), see Moore, James, House (VA-789), Waterford.

Hough, John and Samuel, House (Robert Huff House) (VA-780), SW side Main St. Hill. Brick, 34'6" (four-bay front) x 25'4", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney; originally a double house with adjacent three-room plans; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937), light-struck negative, print available by special request; HABSI (1959).

Hough, William, Barn (Edwards Barn) (VA-782), W side John Brown's Rdwy. Frame with stone foundations and gable end, rectangular, one story with loft, gable roof. Built late 18th C.; burned 1864; rebuilt. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Hough, William, House (Edwards House) (VA-781), E side John Brown's Rdwy. Brick (Flemish bond), 44'2" (five-bay front) x 28'8", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water table; center-hall plan, notable interior trim including fully paneled wall in principal room with fluted pilasters and dog-ear motif overmantel; kitchen: stone, one story, gable roof, interior end chimney; one-room plan, unusually large fireplace, connected to main house by two-story brick hyphen. Built late 18th C.; alterations, including raising original one-story hyphen to two stories, mid 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937), 1 int. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Huff, Robert, House (VA-780), see Hough, John and Samuel, House (VA-780), Waterford.

Huff, Robert, House (VA-792), see Schooley, Mahlon, House (VA-792), Waterford.
Page 272

Janney, Mahlon, House (View of Bond St.) (VA-927), N side Bond St., opposite intersection of Leggett St. Stone, 25'11" (three-bay front) x 20', two stories above raised basement, gable roof, interior end chimney; one-room plan; rear ell. Stone section built mid 18th C.; brick portion built late 18th C.; both sections originally two separate houses converted into a single residence mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Log Cabin (VA-783), SXV side Main St., adjacent to Old Mill. Log, 19'6" (two-bay front) x 14'9", one story, gable roof, interior end chimney; one-room plan; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; moved to present location from outside village c. 1870; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Log House (VA-775), see Gover-Matthews Log House (VA-775), Waterford.

Loudoun Hotel (VA-769), see Divine, Charles IV., House (VA-769) and Talbot's Tavern (VA-929), Waterford.

Mansfield House (VA-795), see Walker-Phillips House (VA-795), Waterford.

Meeting House (VA-773), see Fairfax Meeting House (VA-773), Waterford.

Fairfax Meeting House
Page 273

Middle Huff House (VA-770), see Dorsey, Edward, House (VA-770), Waterford.

Mock House (VA-793), see Shawen-Schooley House (VA-793), Water-ford.

Moore, James, House (Hector Hough House) (VA-789), NE side Main St. Hill. Brick and stone, 26' (three-bay front) x 23'3", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937);HABSI (1959).

Moreland, Charles, House (VA-768), see Braden-Rinker House (VA-768), Waterford.

Mount-Silcott House (Shop on Main St.) (VA-381), SW side Main St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof. Built early 19th C.; destroyed 1965. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Myers, Mahlon, House (Lloyd Curtis House) (VA-785), NE side Main St. Hill. Brick, 16'2" (two-bay front) x 25'2", one story, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-room plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; altered and enlarged mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Nettle, W. and Sarah, House (Clockmaker's House and Shop) (VA-787), W side Second St., between Patrick and Church Sts. Brick, 29' (three-bay front) x 21'2", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; two-story side wing; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Nettle, William, House (Yellow Brick House) (VA-786), W side Second St., between Church and Main Sts. Brick, 26'6" (three-bay front) x 20'4", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, wooden denticulated cornice; modified center-hall plan, notable interior trim; one-story rear ell above raised stone basement. Built 1817; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Old Bank (VA-378), see Bank House (VA-378), Waterford.

Old Mill (VA-788), N bank of Catoctin Creek, at end of Main St. Brick, 36'4" (three-bay front) x 39'1", three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pulley hoist, interior corner chimney; open plan with heavy timber posts, metal overshot wheel. Built early 19th C.; converted to exhibition use mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo, detail of working wheel (1937); HABSI (1959).
Page 274

Old Mill

Patton House (VA-794), see Steer, James M., House (VA-794), Water-ford.

Robinson, Nancy, House (VA-778), see Hampier-Robinson House (VA-778), Waterford.
Page 275

Sappington House (View of Main St. from Bank) (VA-928), SW side Main St. Log with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937).

School House (VA-798), see Williams Warehouse (VA-798), Water-ford.

Schooley, Elizabeth Hough, House (Nathan Walker House) (VA-789), NW corner Main St. and John Brown's Rdwy. Brick, 47'2" (five-bay front) x 20', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; two-story side wing. Built 1796, dormer windows added 1969. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Schooley, Ephraim, House (Stucco House) (VA-790), W side Second St., between Patrick and Mahlon Sts. Stucco over brick, 50'7" (six-bay front) x 22'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Originally two adjacent houses; S portion built 1835; N portion built 1850; altered 1959. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Schooley, John, House (VA-791), W side Second St., at intersection with Factory St. Brick, 40' (five-bay front) x 18', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; additions and alterations mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Schooley, Mahlon, House (Robert Huff House) (VA-792), W side Second St., between Mahlon and Patrick Sts. Brick, 30'2" (three-bay front) x 24'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; two-story rear wing. Built 1817; wing added c. 1850; interior altered c. 1900, c. 1930; partially restored 1969. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Shawen-Schooley House (Mock House) (VA-793), NE side Main St. Hill. Brick, 61' (seven-bay front) x 24'4", three-part composition, one story, one-and-a-half stories with dormers and two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Shop on Main St. (VA-381), see Mount-Silcott House (VA-381), Waterford.
Page 276

Sidewell House (VA-774), see French-Atlee House (VA-774), Waterford.

Steer House (VA-771), see Dutton, John B., House (VA-771), Waterford.

Steer, James M., House (Patton House) (VA-794), NE corner Second and Factory Sts. Brick, 46'6" (five-bay front) x 27'3", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. S portion built late 18th C.; raised to two stories mid 20th C.; N portion built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); ILABSI (1959).

Stucco House (VA-790), see Schooley, Ephraim, House (VA-790), Waterford.

Talbot's Tavern (Loudoun Hotel) (VA-929), NE side Main St. Stone, 20'4" (three-bay front) x 29'2", three stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-room plan; one-and-a-half story side wing. Built late 18th C.; altered and enlarged mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

View of Bond St. (VA-927), see Janney, Mahlon, House (VA-927), Waterford.

View of Main St. from Bank (VA-928), see Sappington House (VA-928), Waterford.

Walker-Phillips House (Mansfield House) (VA-795), W side Second St., at intersection with Church St. Brick, 23' (three-bay front) x 28'2", two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan; one-an d-a-half-story rear ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Walker, Nathan, House (VA-789), see Schooley, Elizabeth Hough, House (VA-789), Waterford.

Waterford Baptist Church (VA-796), SW corner High and Church Sts. Brick, 39'9" x 59'10" (three-bay lateral facade), one story above raised basement, gable roof, Doric distyle-in-antis entrance vestibule; one-room plan. Built 1853. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Williams, John B., House (VA-797), NE corner Second and Janney Sts. Brick, 28' (three-bay front) x 32', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan, notable interior trim; two-story rear ell. Built 1815; addition to rear ell late 19th C.; partially gutted by fire 1968; restored 1969. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).
Page 277

Williams Warehouse (School House) (VA-798), NE corner Second and Janney Sts. Brick, 26' (two-bay front) x 28'9", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; exterior end chimneys; one-room plan. Built 1808, later converted to a school; altered 1937. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Yellow Brick House (VA-786), see Nettle, William, House (VA-786), Waterford.

 

  WAYNESBORO VICINITY Augusta County (8)

Rockfish Service Station (VA-962), E side of State Rte. 865, 10 mi. N of Waynesboro. One story, rectangular, gable roof, porte-cochere. Example of early 20th C. gasoline station. 6 sheets (1970, including plans, elevations, sections, details).

 

  WEEMS VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Corotoman (Spinster's House) (VA-153), N bank of Rappahannock River at mouth of Carter Creek, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 222, at inter-section with State Rte. 631. Frame with clapboarding, 62' (three-bay front) x 20'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney; modified center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 1 sheet (1940, including plan, elevation); 1 ext. photo (1925); 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1910); 4 data pages (1925, 1929, 1945). NR

 

  WEST POINT VICINITY King William County (51)

Chelsea (VA-399), W bank of Mattaponi River, 1 mi. NE of State Rte. 634 (Chelsea Rd.), .9 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, entrance porch; three-room plan; rear ell: brick, rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one interior and one exterior end chimney. Built early 18th C.; enlarged; porch now two-story. 2 ext. photos (1934, 1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 278

Chelsea

 

  WHITE MARSH VICINITY Gloucester County (37)

Abingdon Church (VA-65), .6 mi. E of Piny Swamp, E side of U.S. Rte. 17, .5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 614. Brick (Flemish bond), cruciform (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, modillion cornice, rubbed brick corners and window jambs, gauged brick window arches, water table, and door openings, W doorway with arched tympanum and semi-circular paneled transom, N and S doorways with triangular tympanum and without transom; cruciform plan. Built mid 18th C.; altered mid 19th C. 4 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (1937), 5 int. photos (1937, 1939); 2 data pages (1941); HABSI (1959). NR.

 

  WHITE MARSH Gloucester County (37)

White Marsh Store (VA-520), White Marsh P.O., U.S. Rte. 17. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, wooden shingle gable roof with dormers and rear lean-to slope, two exterior end chimneys. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1934, including plank shutter and door detail).
Page 279

Abingdon Church

Rosewell (VA-61), NW bank of Carter Creek, .5 mi. SE of State Rte. 644, .3 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 632. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, gable roof, molded brick exterior decoration, stone keystones, sills, and chimney caps; highly architectural composition. Built 1726-50; interior stripped c. 1838; burned 1916; extensive ruins remain; 18th C. graves vandalized 1967. 8 ext. photos, main house (1934, 1937, 1939), 3 ext. photos, cemetery (1934, 1937); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1959). NR

 

  WHITE POST VICINITY Clarke County (22)

Greenway Court Estate Office (VA-332), .1 mi. W of Borden's Marsh Run, .3 mi. W of State Rte. 658, .6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 627. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front); one story, gable root, one interior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936, including a photo of interior door possibly from original house now demolished); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR; NHL
Page 280

Powder House (VA-108), .1 mi. W of Borden's Marsh Run,.3 mi. W of State Rte. 658, .6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 627. Log, approx. 12' (one-bay front) x 12', one story, conical wood shingle roof; horizontal logs mortised into vertical corner structural members; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; moved to new foun-dations mid 20th C. 4 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, section); 5 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 1 data page (1937); HABSI (1958).

Rosewell

Tuleyries, The (VA-353), .8 mi. S of Westbrook Run, .7 mi. NE of State Rte. 628, 1.4 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Brick with stucco, L-shaped (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with flat deck, balustrade, and octagonal domed cupola, two-story pedimented tetrastyle Corinthian portico, four interior chimneys; center-hall plan; notable brick outbuildings with stepped gables and arched window and door openings. Built 1828. 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).
Page 281

 

 
Page 282-drawings of Greenway Court Estate powder house, not yet digitized

 

  WILLIAMSBURG

Barraud, Dr. Philip, House (Mercer House) (VA-234), NW corner of Francis and Botetourt Sts. Frame with clapboarding, approx. 46' (five-bay front) x 33', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1942. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Blair, Archibald, House (VA-196), N side of Nicholson St. between N. England St. and Palace Green. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; porch; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; porch added early 19th C.; rear ell removed 20th C.; restored 1930-31. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Blair, John, House (VA-910), N side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Nassau and Henry Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end and one interior chimney; modified three-room plan; rear shed. E four bays built early 18th C.; W three bays added late 18th C.; present interior chimney is an expansion of an earlier end chimney; restored. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 int. photo (1937); 1 data page (1940).

Bland, Richard, House (VA-403), see Bland-Wetherburn House (Wetherburn's Tavern) (VA-403), Williamsburg.

Bland-Wetherburn House (Bland, Richard, House; Wetherburn's Tavern)((VA-403), S side of Duke of Gloucester St., E of Botetourt St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and hipped dormers, two interior chimneys, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice. Built early 1 8th C.; restored. 2 ext. photos (1938, 1939), 2 int. photos (1938, 1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Bracken-Carter House (VA-523), see Bracken, Rev. John, House (VA-523), Williamsburg.
Page 283

Bracken, Rev. John, House (VA-523), S side of Francis St., between Queen and Colonial Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two T-shaped exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; attached rear structure: frame, one story, gable roof, connected by hyphen. Built early 18th C.; restored; rear structure demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Brush-Everard House (Page House) (VA-273), E side of Palace Green, N of Nicholson St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan, interior woodwork probably moved from another structure in 18th C.; rear ell; smokehouse and kitchen outbuildings. Built early 18th C.; altered with additions; restored, second rear ell reconstructed. 6 ext. photos (1937, 1938), 1 int. photo (1937); 2 data pages (1941).

Bruton Parish Church (VA-191), NW corner of Duke of Gloucester St. and Palace Green. Brick, cruciform (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, three-story tower with low spire, arched windows, modillion cornice. Built c. 1714; chancel deepened 1750-52; tower added 1769; restored 1903-07, 1939. 2 ext. photos (1930, 1937). NHL

Camm-Apothecary Shop (VA-316), see Prentis Store (VA-316), Williamsburg.

Capitol (VA-365), E end of Duke of Gloucester St. Historic museum. Brick, H-shaped (nine-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers and central cupola, S projections have apsidal ends with semi-conical roofs, N projections have square ends, central connection has first-floor loggia. Built 1701-05; burned 1747; rebuilt in altered form by 1756; destroyed by 1832; reconstructed 1931-34. 1 ext. photo (1939); 3 data pages (1941).

Chiswell, Col. Charles, House (VA-404), S side of Francis St., E of Botetourt St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney; rear ell, side wing. Built early 18th C.; restored with E three bays reconstructed. Structure now: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers, two interior chimneys. 2 int. photos (1937); 2 data pages (1941).
Page 284

Coke-Garrett House (VA-527), N side of Nicholson St., W of Waller St. Four-part composition: W part: frame with clapboarding, approx. 40' (five-bay front) x 18', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, exterior end chimney. Built mid 18th C. E office built partially on site of an earlier structure: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, gable-end front, pedimented porch. Built between 1810-20. In 1837, the two-and-a-half story, frame with clapboarding structure was built at the E end of the original building, and an 18th C. frame, one-and-a-half story structure was moved from another site and placed between the new building and the older brick office. Restored. 1 ext. photo (1934).

College of William and Mary, The: Brafferton Hall (VA-346), College Yard. Brick, approx. 52' (five-bay front) x 34', two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two interior chimneys; center-hall plan. Built 1723; restored 1931-32. 4 ext. photos (1937, 1938, n.d.); 3 data pages (1941, n.d.).

Main Building (Wren Building) (VA-401), College Yard. Brick, rectangular (thirteen-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, cupola and central pedimented pavilion; chapel and hall rear ells; W front has arcaded first-floor loggia between the chapel and hall ells. Built 1695-1700; burned 1705; rebuilt by c. 1716; burned and rebuilt 1859; burned 1862; rebuilt 1869; restored 1927-31. Oldest academic building in continuous use in the United States; attributed to Sir Christopher Wren. 1 sheet (n.d., restored first-floor plan only); 4 ext. photos (1937, 1938, 1939); 1 data page (n.d.). NHL

President's House (VA-913), College Yard. Brick, approx. 56' (five-bay front) x 38', two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two interior chimneys; center-hall plan. Building begun 1732, Henry Cary, master builder; interior burned 1781; repairs made 1782-83; restored 1931. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Wren Building (VA-401), see Main Building (VA-401), Williamsburg.

Courthouse (VA-528), Courthouse Green, N side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Queen St. and Palace Green. Historic museum. Brick, T-shaped (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof with octagonal cupola, two interior chimneys, central pedimented portico with Tuscan columns; plan has central courtroom with two-room side wings. Built 1770; interior burned 1911; columns added after fire; restored 1932, columns removed. 1 ext. photo (c. 1929).
Page 285

De Neufville (Barlow) House (VA-245), see Orr, Captain Hugh, House (VA-245), Williamsburg.

Foundation of Early Church (VA-176), Bruton Parish Churchyard. Brick, 66'2" x 28'5", five buttress bases remain on the S wall foundations, three remain on the N. Completed 1683; demolished 1718. 1 sheet (1938, foundation plan only).

Galt, Annie, House (VA-522), see Nelson-Galt House (VA-522), Williamsburg.

Golden Ball Shop (VA-526), see Hunter, Margaret, Shop (VA-526), Williamsburg.

Governor's Palace (VA-327), N end of Palace Green, N of Duke of Gloucester St. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, steep hipped roof with dormers, ballustraded deck, cupola, two interior chimneys; modified four-room plan, front entrance hall; rear ell; entrance forecourt formed by two brick, one-and-a-half story dependencies. Built 1706-20; altered with additions 1749-51 and 1770-76; burned 178 1 ; reconstructed 1932-33. 4 ext. photos (1938, 1939); 4 data pages (1941).

Greenhow-Repiton Office (VA-406), S side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Nassau St. and Palace Green. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, molded brick water table. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1948, now has dormers. 1 ext. photo (1937); 1 data page (1941).

Hunter, Margaret, Shop (Golden Ball Shop) (VA-526), N side of Duke of Gloucester St., E of Botetourt St. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, gable-end front with clapboarding above eaves. Built mid 18th C.; moved and restored. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Jackson, George, House and Store (Lamb, Lucy, House) (VA-524), N side of York St., between Waller and Page Sts. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, rear lean-to continues the roof pitch of main structure, exterior end chimney; E wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, exterior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; E wing moved to present location 18th C.; demolished 1933; reconstructed 1953-54, E wing now has three bays. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).
Page 286

Kerr House (VA-525), see Palmer House (VA-525), Williamsburg.

Lamb, Lucy, House (VA-524), see Jackson, George, House and Store (VA-524), Williamsburg.

Little Christian House (VA-383), see Timson, William, House (VA-383), Williamsburg.

Ludwell-Paradise House (Paradise House) (VA-189), N side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Colonial and Queen Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; rear lean-to. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1931. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1938); 1 data page (1941).

McCandhsh House (VA-328), see Orrell, John, House (VA-328), Williamsburg.

Magazine, The (Powder Horn) (VA-529), S side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Queen St. and Palace Green. Historic museum. Brick, octagonal, two stories, peaked roof. Built c. 1716; restored 1934-35. 1 ext. photo (c. 1935).

Mercer House (VA-234), see Barraud, Dr. Philip, House (VA-234), Williamsburg.

Moody House (Roper House) (VA-237), S side of Francis St., between Botetourt and Colonial Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; rear lean-to added; demolished and reconstructed 1939-46. 3 ext. photos (1933, 1937); 2 data pages (1941).

Nelson-Galt House (Galt, Anne, House) (VA-522), N side of Francis St., E of Botetourt St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two interior end chimneys, E chimney is T-shaped, small end-bay windows light chimney closets; center-hall plan; smaller E structure: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, T-shaped interior end chimney, connected to main house by hyphen. Built early 18th C.; later additions; restored 1951-52. 1 ext. photo (c. 1935).
Page 287

Nicolson, Robert, House (VA-188), N side of York St., between Waller and Page Sts. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; XV two bays added. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Prentis Store
Page 288

Orr, Captain Hugh, House (De Neufville [Barlow] House) (VA-245), SW corner of Duke of Gloucester and Colonial Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior and one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1930-31. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1940).

Orrell, John, House (McCandlish House) (VA-328), S side of Francis St., between Colonial and Botetourt Sts. Frame with clapboarding, 28' square (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, interior end chimney, modillion cornice; modified side-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1929-31. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Page House (VA-273), see Brush-Everard House (VA-273), Williamsburg.

Palmer House (Kerr House) (VA-525), S side of E end of Duke of Gloucester St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1951. Structure now: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Paradise House (VA-189), see Ludwell-Paradise House (VA-189), Williamsburg.

Peachy House (VA-197), see Randolph, Peyton, House (VA-197), Williamsburg.

Powder Horn (VA-529), see Magazine, The (VA-529), Williamsburg.

Prentis Store (Camm-Apothecary Shop) (VA-316), NW corner of Duke of Gloucester and Colonial Sts. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, pedimented gable-end front with splayed eaves, interior end chimney in rear, store front with central door and large flanking windows. Built mid 18th C.; partially restored. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Providence Hall (Dr. Pott's House) (VA-912), .2 mi. S of Francis St., SE of Williamsburg Inn. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end double chimneys with brick pent closets between; smokehouse outbuilding. Built late 18th C.; dismantled and moved from Providence Forge location, .2 mi. SE of Old Forge Pond, now N lane of U.S. Rte. 60, NW side of intersection with State Rte. 608, Providence Forge, New Kent Co.; reconstructed in Williamsburg; smokehouse demolished. 6 ext. photos (1934, 1936, 1937), 3 ext. photos, outbuildings (1934, 1937); HABSI (1958).
Page 289

Public Gaol (VA-530), N side of Nicholson St., between Waller and Botetourt Sts. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable ends above eaves, two small interior chimneys. Built early 18th C.; restored 1935-36. Building now: brick, I.-shaped, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinhead at S end and hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney, enclosed S yard. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Public Records Office (VA-1 95), N side of E end of 'Duke of Gloucester St. Historic Museum. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof, two T-shaped interior chimneys, rubbed brick pedimented door ornamentation; three-room plan. Built 1747-48; restored. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Randolph, Peyton, House (Peachy House) (VA-197), NE corner of Nicholson and N. England Sts. Historic house museum. Built in three parts, W part: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior chimney, two-story closed porch on N front. Built c. 1715; restored. E part: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney. Built c. 1724; reconstructed. Middle part added to connect the two buildings: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 1 ext. photo (1938), 5 int. photos (1937, 1938, 1939); 2 data pages (1941). NR; NHL

Randolph-Semple House (VA-911), see Semple House (VA-911), Williamsburg.

Roper House (VA-237), see Moody House (VA-237), Williamsburg.

Semple House (Randolph-Semple House) (VA-911), S side of Francis St., IV of Waller St. Frame with clapboarding, -rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, two interior end chimneys, Roman Doric entrance porch; three-room plan; flanking one-story, two-bay wings form typical Palladian design. Built late 18th C.; roof of central block burned and replaced c. 1900; restored 1932. 1 ext. photo (1938). NR; NHL
Page 290

 

  Spencer's Hotel

Spencer's Hotel (VA-356), present site of Chowning's Tavern, NW corner of Duke of Gloucester and Queen Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with cupola, two-level full-length porch on S and W fronts. Built c. 1840; additions to N and E; demolished c. 1938. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Taliaferro-Cole Shop (VA-531), S side of Duke of Gloucester St. E of Nassau St. Historic museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, gable-end front; lean-to shed added on W. Built before 1782; partially restored; lean-to removed. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Timson, William, House (Little Christian House) (VA-383), NW corner of Prince George and Nassau Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, brick interior end chimney. Built early 18th C.; later additions; restored. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941). HABS1 (n.d.).

Wetherburn's Tavern (VA-403), see Bland-Wetherburn House (Bland, Richard, House) (VA-403), Williamsburg.
Page 291

 

  WILLIAMSBURG VICINITY James City County (48)

Carter's Grove (VA-351), .2 mi. W of Grices Run, .7 mi. SW of U.S. Rte. 60, .2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 667. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond with belt course and molded water table), rectangular (seven-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, modillion cornice, two interior chimneys, rubbed brick flat arches and quoins, molded brick pedimented entranceways; plan centers on broad, paneled entrance hall with smaller stair hall behind, flanking paneled rooms with imported marble mantel in W parlor; connected side dependencies: brick, rectangular (three-bay fronts), one-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers; hyphens have similar design. Built 1751, David Minitree, builder; roof raised and dormers added 1927-29; dependencies enlarged and connected to house. 2 photos, plantation account book showing payments for house construction (1939); 3 data pages (1941). NR; NHL

Kingsmill Plantation Dependencies (VA-208), .6 mi. S of Kingsmill Pond, 1.5 mi. S of S end of State Rte. 637, 1.8 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 60. Two dependencies: brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, double entrance doorways; two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; W dependency said to have burned and been rebuilt within the old walls; later frame additions. 2 ext. photos (1938); 2 data pages (1940).

Maine Farm (VA-71), .6 mi. W of Powhatan Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 614, .9 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 31. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys, pedimented entrance porch, larger gable dormer over entrance porch. Built late 18th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished c. 1928. 6 ext. photos (1928); 1 data page (n.d.).

Poplar Hall (VA-755), .1 mi. S of Skiffes Creek, .2 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 60, .9 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 667. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior T-shaped end chimneys; rear ell. Built late 17th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1937).

Skiffs Creek House (VA-407), .1 mi. W of Skiffes Creek, 1.6 mi. SE of U.S. Rte. 60, 1.4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 667. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged early 19th C.; burned 1964. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1936); 1 data page (1941).
Page 292

 

  WILLIS VICINITY Floyd County (32)

Mabry Mill (VA-165), 1 mi. SE of Laurel Fork, E side of Blue Ridge Pkwy., 1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 778. Historic museum. Frame with clapboarding and batten walls, rectangular, one story above stone foundations, gable roof; waterwheel; one-story flanking wings lower than central block. Built c. 1900 for use as a saw mill and grist mill; restored. 7 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Mabry Mill

Mabry Mill
Page 293

Mabry Mill
Page 294

Mabry Mill
Page 295

Mabry Mill
Page 296

Mabry Mill
Page 297

Mabry Mill

 

  WILSONS VICINITY Dinwiddic County (27)

Roseberry (VA-727), .9 mi. N of White Oak Creek, .1 mi. N of intersection of State Rte. 640 and U.S. Rte. 460, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 724. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; one-story side wing; three frame one-story gable roof outbuildings each having one free-standing chimney. Built mid 19th C.; extensively altered; outbuildings demolished. 2 ext. Photos (1936).

 

  WINCHESTER

Abram's Delight (VA-692), see Hollingsworth, Isaac, House (VA-692), Winchester.

Amherst Street Area Survey (VA-694), N side of Amherst St. between Washington and Braddock Sts. Mid 19th C. area, containing 5 houses (Robert Long House, 1850; Alexander S. Tidball House, c. 1830; William F. Hottle House, 1880; Dr. William T. McGuire House and office, c. 1880; and Edward McGuire House, c. 1825). 6 sheets (1972, including site plans, plans, elevations, details); 25 data pages (1972).
Page 298

Durtz, Adam, House (Washington's Headquarters) (VA-696), NE corner S. Braddock St. and W. Cork St. Museum. Rubble stone and log with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior chimney; three-room plan. Built c. 1750. 1 photo-copy (1899); 11 data pages (1972).

Glen Burnie (VA-698), 801 Amherst St., opposite intersection with Whittier Ave. Brick, rectangular with side and rear wings, two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Original portion built c. 1794; altered 19th C.; remodeled 1959. 18 data pages (1972).

Hollingsworth, Isaac, House (Abram's Delight) (VA-692), Rouss Spring Ave. House Museum. Random rubble, 38'2" (three-bay front) x 27'4", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built 1754, two-story gable-end wing. 7 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, section, details); 11 data pages (1972).

Lawyer's Row (Holliday Office Building) (VA-691), 30-36 Rouss Ave. Brick, 61'3" (ten-bay front) x 36'1", two stories, gable roof, two double interior end chimneys, one double interior chimney, one-story front porch; interior arranged as three offices (first floor), two offices (second floor). Built '1874. 5 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, section, details); 10 data pages (1972).

Amherst Area Street Survey
Page 299

Washington's Headquarters (VA-696), see Durtz, Adam, House (VA-696), Winchester.

WINCHESTER VICINITY Frederick County (35)

Red Lion Tavern (VA-508), 204-08 S. Loudoun St. Stone, two stories, gable roof; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; later alterations and additions. I ext. photo (1935); HABSI (1958).

 

  WOODBRIDGE VICINITY Prince William County (76)

King's Highway (VA-579), narrow roadway bordered by hedgerows, extending from ferry landing opposite Colchester for several hundred yards to Belmont subdivision. It roughly parallels U.S. Rte. 1 and stands as a ridge across open fields. Built as a colonial post road. 2 photos (1959); 2 data pages (1959); HABSI (1959).

Rippon Lodge (VA-106), .2 mi. NW of Neabsco Creek, .2 mi. NW of State Rte. 638, .8 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 1. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; extensive later alterations and additions including colonnaded front porch, flanking wings, and rear porch. 9 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 5 int. photos (1936), 1 int. photo, furnishings (1936), 1 photo, wooden newel post as garden ornament (1936).

Scarlit, Martin, Gravestone (VA-838), W bank of Belmont Bay, between Conrad Point and Deep Hole Point at end of State Rte. 687, 2 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 1. Stone, rectangular grave-stone with clipped corners, bearing the inscription: "M S 1695. Heare lyes Martin Scarlit Gent." Erected 1695 on gravesite near Marumsco Creek, discarded into Marumsco Creek and gravesite cultivated c. 1900; retrieved and erected at present location approx. 1 mi. E of original site c. 1915. 1 photo (1936).

 

  WOODFORD Caroline County (17)

Flippo House (Old Sycamore Tavern) (VA-344), Woodford, exact location unknown. Brick nogging with clapboarding, 166" (three-bay front) x 20'2", one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan; shed. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1936); 1 data page (1941).

Old Sycamore Tavern (VA-344), see Flippo House (VA-344), Woodford.
Page 300

Issac Hollingsworth House

 

  WOODS CROSSROADS VICINITY Gloucester County (37)

Marlfield (VA-514), .3 mi. N of PopLir Spring Branch, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 612, 1.4 mi. NIV of intersection with State Rte. 613. Brick (Flemish bond), T-shaped (three-bay facade), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; enlarged; demolished mid 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1934).

Mount Prodigal (VA-510), see Roane House (VA-510), Woods Cross-roads Vicinity.

Roane House (Mount Prodigal) (VA-510), 1 mi. E of Poropotank River, .2 mi. SE of U.S. Rte. 17, .4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 14. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, one-story wooden pedimented entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell; dairy and smokehouse: frame with clapboarding, rectangular, one story, pyramidal roofs. Built c. 1700; later additions and alterations. 3 ext. photos (1934), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1935); 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1935); 1 int. photo ( 1935); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 11ABS1 (1959).
Page 301

 

  WORSHAM Prince Edward County (74)

Jail (VA-552), .8 mi. N of W tributary of Briery Creek, W side of U.S. Rte. 15, SW side of intersection with State Rte. 695. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, brick gable ends above caves. Built 1823; burned 1845 and rebuilt; burned 1855 and repaired; demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

YORKTOWN York County (100)

Archer House (VA-914), S bank of York River, side of Water St., Colonial National Historical Park. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations c. 1820, 4913; restored. 3 sheets (1958, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details).

Architectural Remains: Bake Oven (VA-915), Commons Lot 117, Water St., Colonial National Historical Park. Brick remains of bake oven. Built early 18th C.; demolished. Site is immediately N of and adjacent to the Archer House. 1 sheet (1960, including plot plan, plan).

Architectural Remains: Structures "L"and "M" (VA-917), Lot 77, Main St., Colonial National Historical Park. Brick foundations of two rectangular structures; structure "L" 36'2" x 18'3"; structure "M," 16'2" x 12'2". Built c. 1706-07; destroyed c. 1755-60. Site is located in the front yard of the Dudley Digger House. 2 sheets (1960, including plot plan, plan, sections).

Ballentine House (Dewsville) (VA-596), S side of Main St., between Comte de Grasse and Nelson Sts. Brick, 39'8" (three-bay front) x 19'4", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; two-room plan, notable interior trim. Built c. 1939 from material salvaged from Dewsville, Newton Vicinity, King and Queen Co., which was originally built late 18th C. 3 int. photos (1960, showing salvaged architectural features); 3 data pages (1960).
Page 302

Customs House (VA-202), W corner of intersection of State Rte. 1004 and Main St. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior end chimney, modillion cornice; two-room plan. Built early 18th C.; restored 1929. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1938); HABSI (1959).

Dewsville (VA-596), see Ballentine House (VA-596), Yorktown.

Digges, Dudley, House (West House) (VA-82), NE side of Main St., NW corner of intersection with State Rte. 1002. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (five-hay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimeiited dormers, modillion cornice, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built c. 1760. 18 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (1934, 1937); 1 ext. photo-copy (n.d.); 2 data pages (1938).

Foundations (VA-93), SE corner of intersection of Main and Church Sts. in Lot 30, Yorktown. Unexposed. 1 sheet (1935, plan).

Foundations (VA-92), MV corner of intersection of Main and Church Sts. in Lot 31, Yorktown. Unexposed. 1 sheet (1935, plan).

Lightfoot House (Somerwell House) (VA-87), E corner of intersection of State Rte. 1003 and Main St. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable wooden pedimented entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell; dairy and smokehouse: frame with clapboarding, rectangular, one story, pyramidal roofs. Built c. 1700; later additions and alterations. 3 ext. photos (1934), l ext. photo, dairy (1935); 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1935); 1 int. photo (1935); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); HABSI (1959).

Dudley Digges House
Page 303

Medical Shop (VA-395), N corner of intersection of State Rte. 1003 and Main St. Colonial National Historical Park. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; reconstructed. 1 ext. photo (1939).

Nelson House (VA-58), see York Hall (VA-58), Yorktown.

Sessions-Sheild House (VA-81), S corner of intersection of State Rte. 1005 and Main St. Brick, 49'6" (five-bay front) x 27', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and hipped dormers, modillion cornice, two exterior end T-shaped chimneys; center-hall plan; frame rear ell. Built c. 1700. 11 sheets (1933, including plans, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos (1934, 1938); 1 data page (1937); HABSI (1959)

Somerwell House (VA-87), see Lightfoot House (VA-87), Yorktown.

Swan Tavern (VA-83), SW side of Main St., SE side of intersection with State Rte. 1001. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and hipped dormers, interior end chimneys. Original structure built early 18th C.; demolished 1862; reconstructed 1934. 10 sheets (1933, including plot plan, archeological remains, plan, elevations, details); 3 ext. photos (1934); 1 photocopy (n.d.); 2 data pages (n.d.).

Two Stone Steps from the Dudley Digges House (VA-916), Lot 77, Main St., Colonial National Historical Park. Fragments of two stone steps with unusual keying as integral part of the stone. Stone is limestone of English origin. Steps made during 18th C.; excavated mid 20th C. 1 sheet (1960, including plans, elevations, molding profiles).

West House (VA-82), see Digges, Dudley, House (VA-82), Yorktown.

Wharf Buildings (VA-371), N side of State Rte. 238, E corner of intersection with George P. Coleman Memorial Toll Bridge. First building: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), gable roof, interior chimney. Built c.1934. Second building: brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney. Built c. 1934. 2 ext. photos (1935).
Page 304

York Hall

York Hall (Nelson House) (VA-58), W corner of intersection of State Rte. 1005 and Main St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two interior chimneys, pedimented gable ends, modillion cornice, segmental-arched window openings with stone keystones, molded brick water table, brick pedimented entrance motif, stone quoins; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 8 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1938), 2 int. photos (n.d.); 13 ext. photocopies (c. 1863, 1915), 21 int. photo-copies (c. 1915); 4 data pages (1937).

Moore Hall

Painting/Sketch of Moore House not available
Page 306

 

  YORKTOWN VICINITY York County (100)

Kiskiack (VA-183), W bank of S tributary of Lee Pond, 1.6 mi. NW of State Rte. 238, 2.4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 168, Page 305 Naval Weapons Station. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior T-shaped end chimneys with molded brick caps, brick water table, advanced entrance vestibule; center-hall plan. Built late 17th C.; burned February 24, 1915; renovated 1927; entrance vestibule added 1937. 4 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations). NR

Moore House (VA-80), .1 mi. S of York River, E side of State Rte. 676, .4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 238. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, hipped on gable roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end T-shaped chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 16 sheets (1931, including plans, elevations, details, archeological remains); 10 ext. photos (1929, 1934, 1939); 2 ext. photocopies (1864); 1 data page (1940).

 

  YORKTOWN NAVAL WEAPONS
STATION BRANCH VICINITY York County (100)

Bellfield Cemetery (VA-918), .2 mi. NW of Indian Field Creek, .2 mi. N of intersection of Bellfield and Digges Rds., .4 mi. N of intersection of Digges and Felgates Rds. Marble and brick, table tombs. Erected 18th C.; restored. I ext. photo (c. 1900).

Ringfield (VA-318), S bank of King Creek, .2 mi. N of Colonial National Pkwy., 1.8 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 641. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior T-shaped end chimneys; brick wing. Built 18th C.; altered; demolished c. 1905. 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1900); 3 data pages (1940).
Page 307