Historic American Building Survey
Virginia Catalog

This page still under construction. Thank you for your patience.

 

  ACCOMAC     Accomack County (1)

Debtors' Prison (Jailor's House) (VA-623), E side of State Rte. 764, NE corner of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Brick, 30' (three-bay front) x 18', one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one interior end chimney; two-room plan. Built late 18th C.; altered; renovated. 4 ext. photos (1960); 2 data pages (1960); HABSI (1958).

Drummond House (VA-692), SE side of Back St., .2 mi. SW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; rectangular plan; two-story gable-end wing connected to main block by one-story hyphen. Built early 19th C.; later frame addition on rear. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1958).

Episcopal Rectory (VA-622), NW side of Back St., NE corner of intersection with State Rte. 605. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, wooden flat arches with keystones; center-hall plan, fine Adam mantel and cornices; two-story kitchen wing connected to main block by one-story hyphen. Built early 19th C. 6 ext. photos (1960), 5 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960, 1961); HABSI (1958).

Fisher-Seymour House (VA-624), SE side of U.S. Rte. 13, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 605. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, fine mantels; one-story gable-roof wing linked to one-story gable-roof kitchen by one-story hyphen. Built early 19th C.; wing built late 18th C. 3 ext. photos (1960), 2 int. photos (1960); 4 data pages (1960, 1962); HABSI (1958).

Ice House (VA-636), SE side of U.S. Rte. 13, .1 mi. E of inter-section with State Rte. 605. Brick, circular (17' diameter), partly underground, conical roof with ball finial. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1960); 1 data page (1960, 1962).

Jailor's House (VA-623), see Debtors' Prison (VA-623), Accomac.
Page 3

Bowman's Folly, general view from North

Bowman's Folly, Privy
Page 4

 

  ACCOMAC VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Bowman's Folly (VA-625), .2 mi. N of Folly Creek, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 652, 2.5 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding, brick ends, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, fine second-story central Palladian window; side wing. Built early 19th C. 8 ext. photos (1960); 4 data pages (1960); HABSI (1958). NR

Folly, The (VA-626), .1 mi. W of Folly Creek, 1.3 mi. E of State Rte. 605, .4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 740. Frame with clapboarding, brick ends, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; irregular plan; two-story gable-roof wing, connecting two-bay kitchen. Built mid 18th C.; wing added early 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1960), 2 int. photos (1960); 4 data pages (1960, 1962); HABSI (1958).

Dove Cote (VA-633), .1 mi. W of Folly Creek, 1.3 mi. E of State Rte. 605, .4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 740. Frame, one story, octagonal plan, pyramidal roof with ball finial. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1960); 1 data page (1960, 1962).

Ice House (VA-632), .1 mi. W of Folly Creek, 1.3 mi. E of State Rte. 605, .4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 740. Brick, polygonal (21' diameter), sunk 12'6" in ground, wooden conical roof with ball finial. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1960); 1 data page (1960, 1962).

Mount Custis (VA-627), .1 mi. S of Parker Creek, .5 mi. N of State Rte. 662, 2.5 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding, U-shaped (three-bay front), two-and-a-half story center section, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys; center-hall plan; two-and-a-half story projecting front wings. Built early 18th C.; additions c. 1800, c. 1840; original section renovated. 2 ext. photos (1960), 6 int. photos (1960); 2 data pages (1958); HABSI (1958).

Runnymede (VA-628), .3 mi. NW of Walston Creek, .3 mi. SW of State Rte. 662, 1.7 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends, original structure rectangular (one-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, one exterior end chimney; wing: frame, two stories; kitchen and one outbuilding connected to original structure by hyphen. Built late 18th C.; additions early 19th C. 4 ext. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960, 1961).
Page 5

Mount Custis
Page 6

 

  ADEN     Prince William County (76)

Green House (VA-825), see House (VA-825), Nokesville Vicinity.

 

  ALEXANDRIA

Adam Silver Shop (VA-667), 318 King St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), three stories, shed roof with parapet, molded brick cornice, wooden lintels, denticulated and bracketed cornice defining projecting store front; two-room plan. Built mid 19th C.; later alterations; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Alexandria Almshouse (Alexandria Poor House) (VA-134), NW corner E. Monroe Ave. and Jefferson Davis Hwy. (U.S. Rte. 1). Brick (Flemish bond), 80'5" (seven-bay front) x 41'8", two-and-a-half stories with slightly projecting center pavilion, hipped roof with pediment and dormers, four interior chimneys, modified modillion cornice, arched and sidelighted entrance, Palladian window above; longitudinal-hall plan with center access. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished 1952. 8 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, details).

Alexandria Poor House (VA-134), see Alexandria Almshouse (VA-134), Alexandria.

Appich Buildings (VA-677), 408-14 King St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, shed roof with arched parapet, modified modillion, bracketed, and denticulated cornice, recessed vertical panels, arched windows with molded sills, four units; two-room plan. Built 1866; store front of 408 King St. remained virtually intact while the other three were substantially altered; demolished 1968. 6 ext. photos (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Arch Hall (Lawrence Lewis House) (VA-109), see Lewis, Lawrence, House (VA-109), Lorton Vicinity, Fairfax Co.

Athenaeum (VA-428), see Old Dominion Bank (Free Methodist Church) (VA-428), Alexandria. Ayres Gun Shop (VA-456), 324 King St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, interior chimney. Built late 18th C.; wooden Gothic false front added mid 19th C.; demolished 1958. 2 ext. photos (1958); 1 data page (1958).
Page 7

Bank of Alexandria (VA-449), 133 N. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), now stuccoed, rectangular (five-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, flat hipped roof concealed by balustrades, two interior chimneys, ornamental stone cornice, two arched doorways with cast capitals and keystones with eagles, stone columns, platforms, and steps; large banking room with rear hall. Built c. 1805, with early extension; incorporated into composition and development of Green's Mansion House mid 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1958); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1958).

Bank of Potomac (VA-458), 415 Prince St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), three -and -a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, stone flat arches with keystones, two arched doorways with cast capitals and keystones, stone columns and steps, monumental scale; side-hall plan; rear wing; two-story wing and courtyard with arched brick gateway. Built late 18th C.; major alterations early 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 data page (1958); 2 HABSI's (1958, 1959).

Barrett, Kate Waller, House (VA-696), see Dick Janney House (VA-696), Alexandria.

Bayne-Moore House (VA-453), 811 Prince St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, low pitched roof, three interior end chimneys, bracketed cornice, monumental scale; side-hall plan, marble mantels, ornamental plasterwork; wing: brick, one story. Built c. 1832. 1 ext. photo (1958); HABSI (1959).

Brown Building (VA-669), 113-15 N. Fairfax St. Brick, rectangular (adjacent two-bay front and three-bay front), two stories, shed roof, wooden lintels; two-room plan and modified side-hall plan. S portion built c.1875; N portion built c. 1910; demolished 1970. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Brown, Dr. William, House (VA-466), 212 S. Fairfax St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney, small entrance porch; side-hall plan, nole interior woodwork, bake oven, boiling kettles, and stone sink; brick ell. Built c. 1775; restored c. 1930. 2 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 2 data pages (1958); HABSI (1958).

Burson House (VA-933), see Wilson -Hopkins House (Hallowell School) (VA-933), Alexandria.
Page 8

Bush Hill (Holly Hill School) (VA-507), 1405 Bush Hill Dr. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, wooden entrance porch with flat roof and balustrade; center-hall plan; two-story side wing. Built late 18th C.; later addition and alterations. 2 ext. photos (1937).

Carlyle, John, House (VA-101), 123 N. Fairfax St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco and rusticated stone quoins, 29'9" (six-bay front) x 38'1", two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, slightly projecting center pavilion, wide ellip-tical doorway, windows framed by masonry architraves, rear terrace on rubble platform with vault beneath; center-hall plan, fully paneled principal room. Built 1752; extensive alterations, undergoing resto-ration (1974). 8 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, profiles, details, conjectural restoration); 8 ext. photos (1936, 1937, 1940), 4 int. photos (1936); 1 photocopy, conjectural restoration (n.d.); 3 data pages (1941). NR

John Carlyle House
Page 9

Caton, James R., House (VA-668), 111 S. Fairfax St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, shed roof, pseudo-mansard front of hexagonal slates, two round louvered attic openings, one interior end chimney, pressed brick cornice, prominent use of pressed brick ornament, segmental brick arched lintels over incised wooden frames; side-hall plan. Built c. 1893. 1 ext. photo (1968);2 data pages (1968).

Chatham, Henry, Houses (VA-680), 106-08 N. Pitt St. Brick, rec-tangular (six-bay front), two stories, shed roof, bracketed cornice, adjacent bracketed and pilastered entrance doorways sharing common cast-iron stoop; side-hall plans. Built mid 19th C. as a double house; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Carne School (VA-450), see St. John's Academy (VA-450), Alexandria.

Chequire, Bernard, House (VA-455), 202 King St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 23' (four-bay front) x 43', three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cor-nice, stone flat arches with keystones; shop-residence with side-hall plan, nole interior trim, ornamental plaster; rear ell. Built 1797; restored 1942-47. 1 ext. photo (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 2 data pages (1958); 2 HABSI's (1958, 1959).

Christ Church (Episcopal) (VA-479), SE corner of intersection of Columbus and Cameron Sts. Brick (Flemish bond) with rusticated Aquia stone quoins, 50'6" (three bays) x 77'6'/2" (five bays), two tiers of windows, hipped roof, square brick tower with octagonal belfry, modillion cornice, pair of pedimented doorways framed by rusticated Aquia stone, Palladian window in E facade; rectangular one-room plan, nole interior furnishings including wineglass pulpit and sounding board (relocated), hand lettered lets. Built 1767-73, James Wren, architect; James Parsons and John Carlyle, builders; galleries along back and sides added 1785; majority of pews divided 1817; tower and steeple built 1818. 13 sheets (1958, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 34 ext. photos (1936, 1958), 16 int. photos (1936, 1958); 1 photocopy, prototype plan (n.d.); 4 data pages (1958). NR

City Hotel (VA-100), see Mason's Ordinary (VA-100), Alexandria.

City Tavern (VA-100), see Mason's Ordinary (VA-100), Alexandria.

Coffee House (VA-100), see Mason's Ordinary (VA-100),Alexandria.
Page 10

Christ Church

Commercial Building (VA-619, Area Survey), 103-07 N. Royal St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, brick mo-dillion cornice, wooden lintels; store fronts across entire ground floor. Built early 19th C.; altered late 19th C. and early 20th C.; demolished 1963. 1 ext. photo (1960).

Coryton, Catharine, House (VA-686), 522-24 King St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, flat stone arches with keystones, stone arched doorway with reeded pilaster, leaded fanlight intact; side-hall plan. Built c. 1815; ground floor remodeled mid 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Craddock-Crocker House (VA-229), see DeNeale-Craddock-Crocker House (VA-229), Alexandria.

Craik, Dr., House (VA-583), see Murry-Craik House (VA-583), Alexandria.

Dalton-Herbert House (Wise's Tavern) (VA-934), 201 N. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), L-shaped (five-bay front), three stories above raised basement, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys and interior chimney, modillion cornice; modified center-hall plan. Under construction in 1777 (appears to have originated as two building continuing alterations, renovations, and rear addition to accomodate differences in use; Aquia stone doorway with arched pediment now at basement level, apparently shifted from some earlier position. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).
Page 11

Dalton, John, House (VA-460), 209 N. Fairfax St. Frame with clap-boarding and brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above high basement, gable roof with dormers; center-hall plan, nole closed string stair. Built 1749-50; extensive exterior and interior alterations and additions mid 19th C. and late 19th C., including reconstruction of N bay of original frame house in brick refacing of street facade with brick, alteration of entrance hall, and demolition of original exterior end chimneys. This is thought to be the earliest extant structure in Alexandria constructed on its original site. 1 ext. photo (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); HABSI (1959).

DeNeale-Craddock-Crocker House (Craddock-Crocker House) (V 229), 323 S. Fairfax St. Frame with shiplapping, rectangular (three bay front), two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior chimneys, stone entrance platform, double incurving steps, wrought iron railings with lyre motif, pilastered doorway with transom and side lights; center-hall plan, tiered galleries, ornamental plaster; rear wing. Built early 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1936, 1939); HABSI (1958)

Devaughan, James H., House (VA-679), 516 King St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), four stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, small upper windows, wooden lintels; side-hall plan. Built 1855; ground-floor plan and facade extensively altered for commercial purposes early 20th C. and mid 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Dick-Janney House (Kate Waller Barrett House) (VA-696), 408 Duke St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 24' (three-bay front) x 32', three stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, molded brick modillion cornice; side-hall plan; brick ell. Nucleus built c. 1796; completed as projected early 19th C.; numerous frame additions altered and enlarged mid 19th C., late 19th C., early 20th C. 1 ext photo (1958); 10 data pages (1967).
Page 12

Duffey House (VA-454), 203 S. Fairfax St. Frame with clapboarding over brick nogging, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, interior chimney; side-hall plan; two-story rear wing. Built mid 18th C.; later additions and alterations; vestibule added mid 19th C.; remodeled 1958. 1 ext. photo (1958); 2 data pages (1958); HABSI (1958).

Dulany, Benjamin, House (VA-697), 601 Duke St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 32' (three-bay front) x 45', two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney combining two stacks, molded cornice with denticulated course continuous across gable end, pedimented doorway with fanlight, stone stoop and steps with wrought-iron balusters; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; long Flounder ell. Built 1783-84; entrance doorway and rear-wing extension added early 19th C. 6 ext. photos (1967), 4 int. photos (1967); 9 data pages (1967); HABSI (1958).

Benjamin Dulaney House
Page 13

Benjamin Dulaney House

Page 14

Evans Building (VA-666), 320 King St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, shed roof, parapet, bracketed tin cornice, tall upper windows with ornamented and scrolled tin heads. Built late 19th C.; store front altered mid 20th C.; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Fairfax-Adam-Hodgson House (VA-230), 207 Prince St. Brick (Flem-ish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice, stone arched doorway and rusticated platform, wrought-iron railings; side-hall plan; extensive ell. Nucleus built c. 1760; extensively enlarged late 18th C.; interior retrimmed c. 1800; additions and alterations late 19th C. and early 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1936, 1939).

Fairfax House (VA-211), see Yeaton-Fairfax House (VA-211), Alexandria.

Farmers Bank of Alexandria (VA-937), 200 Prince and 201 S. Lee Sts. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, gambrel roof, interior chimney, modillion wooden cornice continuous across gable end, flat stone arches with keystones. Built late 18th C.; divided into two houses and outstanding woodwork removed early 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Fawcett House (VA-104), see Murray -Dick-Fawcett House (VA-104), Alexandria.

First National Bank (VA-672), 503-07 King St. Brick and concrete, faced with white marble, one story, gable roof, great central grilled window and door motif suggestive of arch or niche, flanking solid masonry piers support Doric pediment, enlature broken to pro-vide for arched opening and ornamental keystone; banking room lined with white brick, high vaulted ceiling and skylight; two stories in rear. Built 1908-09, Vogt and Morrill, architects; Charles J. Cassidy Co. builders; demolished 1968. 2 ext. photos (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 3 data pages (1968).

Flounder House (VA-618, Area Survey), 403 S. Fairfax St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, half-gable roof with dormers; two interior chimneys; single-room depth. Built early 19th C.; renovated c. 1959. 1 ext. photo (1959).
Page 15

Flounder House, 511 Queen Street

Flounder House (VA-600, Area Survey), 511 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, half-gable roof, two interior end chimneys; two-story porch with balcony; single-room depth. Built early 19th C.; restored. 1 ext. photo (1959).

Flounder House (VA-462), 317 S. St. Asaph St. Brick, rectangular, two-and-a-half stories, half-gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, two-story porch with balcony; single-room depth. Built prior to 1779. An outstanding example of the domestic Flounder type. 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1958).

Flounder Tavern Buildings (VA-621), Gazette (Sharpshin) and Market Square Alleys. Brick (Flemish bond), 55'5'/2" (original six-bay front plus addition) x 35'1", two stories, gable roof with end parapets (formed by double buildings back-to-back), three interior chimneys, saw tooth brick cornice; irregular plan with two entrances. Nucleus built c. 1800 and doubled shortly afterwards; twice enlarged and substantially altered late 19th C.; major interior alterations early 20th C.; demolished 1965. 6 sheets (1964, including plans, elevations); 4 ext. photos (1959, 1963); 5 data pages (1965).
Page 16

Flounder Warehouse (VA-474), 207 Ramsay's Alley. Brick, rectangular (one-bay front), three stories, half-gable roof; two-room plan. Built late 18th C.; extensive exterior and interior alterations. 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 data page (1959).

Fortney, Jacob, House (VA-619, Area Survey), 207 N. Royal St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, exterior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1960).

Fowle, William, House (VA-574), 711 Prince St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, gable roof, front gable (three bays wide), two interior chimneys, entrance portico, elliptical arched doorway with side lights, wrought-iron balcony with Palladian window-door above, stone arches and lintels; center-hall plan, circular stair; two-story rear wing. Built late 18th C.; altered and enlarged early 19th C.; restored 1969. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1958).

Free Methodist Church (VA-428), see Old Dominion Bank (Athenaeum) (VA-428), Alexandria.

Friendship Fire Company (VA-463), 107 S. Alfred St. Museum. Brick, 20'6" (two-bay front) x 34'8", two stories, flat shed roof, tall louvered bell cupola on square base, molded brick cornice, paired tall windows on second floor with ornamental heads, pedimented double doors for vehicular equipment. Built 1855. 5 sheets (1964, including plans, elevations); 5 ext. photos (1958, 1963); 5 data pages (1958, 1964).

Gadsby's Tavern (VA-100), see Mason's Ordinary (VA-100), Alexandria.

General View (VA-919), 100 block S. Fairfax St. Streetscape from NE, including 105-09 S. Fairfax St., the Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Shop, and flanking buildings. Built late 18th C. to mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1968).

General View (VA-920), 300 block King St. Streetscape from NE, including 308-20 King St. Built mid 18th C. to mid 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1968).

General View (VA-921), 400 block King St. Streetscape from NW, including 400-30 King St. Built early 19th C. to mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1968).
Page 17

Friendship Fire Company
Page 18

General View (VA-922), 500 block King St. Streetscape from NW, including 500-32 King St. Built early 19th C. to mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1968).

General View (VA-923), N. Pitt St. Streetscape from SE, including 104-12 N. Pitt, and a view of the First and Citizens National Bank facilities (new building opened 1967). Built early 19th C. to mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1968).

General View (VA-924), 103-13 Prince St. Streetscape from SE, including brick houses, two-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers. Built late 18th C. to early 19th C.; restored. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Gordon, John, House (VA-938), 631 King and 100-09 N. Washington Sts. Brick (Flemish bond), 205" (two-bay front) x 87', three-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice continuous across gable end, flat arches with key-stones, circular window in peak of gable; irregular plan. Built 1797-99; wing added early 19th C.; interior extensively remodeled; exterior restored except for ground floor 1955. 2 ext. photos (1963), 1 int. photo (1963); 5 data pages (1964).

Greene Funeral Home (VA-102), see jockey Club (VA-102), Alexandria.

Gregory, William, Building (VA-674), 400-02 King St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay x four-bay), three stories, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, brick cornice, flat brick arches with keystones; double-unit plan; one-story rear addition. Built 1829; ground floor altered late 19th C. and early 20th C.; additions c. 1940; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 3 data pages (1968).

Gregory, William, Building (VA-690), 404 King St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay front), three stories, gable roof, brick cornice, flat stone arches with keystones. Built c. 1841; altered late 19th C. and early 20th C.; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968).

Gregory, William, House (Old Leadbeater House) (VA-416), 329 N. Washington St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, flat brick arches with keystones, stone steps with wrought-iron railings; side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built c. 1821; roof line reputedly raised 1830; interior alterations and side additions c. 1947. 2 ext. photos (1936, 1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 2 data pages (1941, 1959); HABSI (1958).
Page 19

General View, 103-133 Prince St.

Hallowell School (VA-694), see Wilson-Hopkins House (Burson House) (VA-694), Alexandria.

Hallowell- Carlin House (VA-617, Area Survey), 215 N. Washington St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys, roof balustrade, bracketed cornice; center-hall plan. Built 1854; demolished 1965. 1 ext. photo (1960).
Page 20

Hallowell, James, School for Young Ladies (VA-448), see House (VA-448), Alexandria.

Hampson, Bryan, House (Wales House) (VA-468), 120 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, gauged flat arches; side-hall plan, nole interior trim, plaster cornice; two-story ell. Built 1805-15; restored c. 1950. 2 ext. photos (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 1 data page (1958).

Harper-Buckingham-Berry Building (VA-664), 312 King St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, shed roof, gabled parapet, raked, bracketed, and denticulated cornice, raked window heads and raked and bracketed lintels above, molded sills with panels, gabled cornice .with wood drapery defining projecting store front. Built mid 19th C.; interior remodeled c. 1960; demolished 1968. 2 ext. photos (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Hallowell-Carlin House
Page 21

Harper-Vowell House (VA-939), 213 Prince St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, modillion and fret cornice; side-hall plan, nole interior trim. Built c. 1790; vestibule altered late 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 int. photo (1937).

Hollinsbury, John, House (VA-600, Area Survey), 525 Queen St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney, denticulated cor-nice, flat arches with keystones; side-hall plan; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; restored mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).

Holly Hill School (VA-507), see Bush Hill (VA-507), Alexandria.

House (VA-461), 801 Duke St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, interior end chimney, wooden lintels, tall windows on first floor with cast-iron grills, pedimented double en-trance doors with octagonal panels; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; minor later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1958).

House (James Hallowell School for Young Ladies) (VA-448), 215 N. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay front), three-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, lintels with corner blocks; center-hall plan; one-story entrance wing with roof balustrade. Built early l9th C., abutting 213 N. Fairfax St.; converted for educational purposes with 213 N. Fairfax St. mid 19th C.; condemned 1962; renovated with balustrade constructed and modillion cornice re-used from demolished King St. building 1963; 213 N. Fairfax: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, window lintels with cornerblocks; side-hall plan with principal room full width of second floor. Both structures used as James Hallowell's School for Young Ladies and later as St. Mary's Academy. 2 ext. photos (1958).

House (VA-618, Area Survey), 117 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; entrance vestibule and ground-floor rooms altered mid 19th C.; restored 1968. 1 ext. photo (1959).
Page 22

House (VA-618, Area Survey), 118 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, gauged flat arches; side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-618, Area Survey), 405 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, saw tooth brick cornice, transomed doorway. Built late 19th C.; later alterations; restored. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-940), 310 N. Lee St. Arch detail, molded impost blocks, brick arch with angel head probably cast stone. Built late 18th C.; demolished c. 1940. 1 ext. photo (1937).

House (VA-465), 106 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, wooden lintels with corner blocks; side-hall plan. Built late 18th C. as warehouse-residence; interior altered early 19th C.; extensive interior renovations 1932, 1967. 1 ext. photo (1958).

House (VA-584), 310 S. Lee St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney; side-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; false front with bracketed cornice added late 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

John Carlyle House see p. 9
Page 23

House (VA-620, Area Survey), 403 S. Lee St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, transomed doorway; sidehall plan; two-story rear ell. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1959).

House (VA-620, Area Survey), 601 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, with dormers, interior end chimney, brick cornice, wooden lintels; threeroom plan. Built early 19th C.; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-620, Area Survey), 605 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-lay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, dent iculated cornice, flat arches with keystones; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; restored mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-620, Area Survey), 615 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney; side-hall plan; frame, two-story ell; twostory wing with arched entrance door. Built early 19th C.; addition c. 1960. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-683), 110 N. Pitt St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; altered late 19th C.; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968).

House (VA-683), 112 N. Pitt St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968).

House (VA-446), 214 Queen St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney; side-hall plan, enclosed stair, corner fireplaces; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; demolished 1960. 1 ext. photo (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1957).
Page 24

House (VA-600, Area Survey), 308 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, arched doorway keystone; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1959).

House (VA-600, Area Survey), 317 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, interior end chimney, brick modillion cornice, wooden lintels, arched doorway; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-600, Area Survey), 510 Queen St. Frame with clapboard-ing, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, common chimney with adjoining unit, transomed doorway; frame and brick ell. Built early 19th C.; restored c. 1960. 3 ext. photos (1959).

House (VA-600, Area Survey), 517 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories above raised basement, gable roof, interior end chimney, saw tooth cornice, wooden lintels; side-hall plan; two-story rear ell. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-600, Area Survey), 519 Queen St. Frame with clapboard-ing, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; doorway altered. 1 ext. photo (1959).

House (VA-600, Area Survey), 523 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), gable roof, exterior rear chimney, saw tooth cornice, segmental arches; two-room plan. Built mid 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1959).

House (VA-619, Area Survey), 109 N. Royal St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, modified modillion cornice, flat arches with fluted keystones, transomed doorway; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; later alterations, including ground-floor store front, late 19th C.; demolished 1963. 1 ext. photo (1960).

House (VA-619, Area Survey), 217 N. Royal St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, shallow gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice; side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built late 18th C.; roof line raised and redesigned mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1960).
Page 25

House (VA-293), 219 N. Royal St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, double sawtooth brick cornice, fanlighted doorway; side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-619, Area Survey), 221 N. Royal St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, double sawtooth brick cornice, fanlighted doorway, arched areaway; side-hall plan; two-story rear ell. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1960).

House (VA-619, Area Survey), 112 S. Royal St. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, transomed doorway; side-hall plan; two-story brick ell. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations; remodeled 1967. 1 ext. photo (1960).

House (VA-619, Area Survey), 120 S. Royal St. Brick veneer over frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; extensive renovations and alterations to facade and plan 1960. 1 ext. photo (1960).

House (VA-619, Area Survey), 122 S. Royal St. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior chimney; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1960).

House (VA-267), 308 S. Union St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, doorway with transom, arched areaway. Built mid 18th C.; ruinous 1936; demolished 1938. 1 ext. photo (1938).

House (VA-617, Area Survey), 209 S. Washington St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior chimney; side-hall plan; rear brick kitchen and frame hyphen. Built early 19th C.; additions late 19th C.; demolished c. 1960. 1 ext. photo (1960).

House (VA-617, Area Survey), 411 S. Washington St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior chimney, transomed doorway with side lights. Built early 19th C., originally as double unit; later alterations and additions. 1 ext. photo (1960).

Jockey Club
Page 26

Howard House (VA-617, Area Survey), 207 S. Washington St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, bracketed cornice; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built mid 19th C.; demolished 1965. 1 ext. photo (1960).

Jacobs-Miner House (VA-673), 113 S. Royal St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), three stories, shed roof, interior end chimney, bracketed modillion cornice; side-hall plan. Built 1868; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); l data page (1968).

Janney, Elisha, House (VA-703), 404 Duke St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 30' (three-bay front) x 35', three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, gauged arches, monumental scale; side-hall plan, plaster cornices, ceiling medallions; ell: brick with stucco. Completed by 1809; Greek Revival doorway with wrought-iron railings, minor interior restyling, mid 19th C.; rear tiered porches and development of duplex in ell early 20th C.; minor renovations 1960. 4 ext. photos (1967), 2 int. photos (1967); 8 data pages (1967).

Jockey Club (Greene Funeral Home) (VA-102), 814 Franklin St. Frame with clapboarding under brick veneer, 45'4" (five-bay front) x 335", two stories, hipped roof, one interior and one exterior end chimney, modified modillion cornice, arched doorway with side lights, porch, oversize windows; center-hall plan, tiered galleries, plaster cornices, Adam marble mantels; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; enclosed with brick, rear galleries filled in, one-story addition 1959. 7 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, details, sections); 4 ext. photos (1936), 4 int. photos (1936).
Page 27

Johnston, Ruben, House (VA-618, Area Survey), 213 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, molded brick cornice; side-hall plan; two-story rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1958).

Johnston-Vowell House (VA-451), 224 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, Aquia stone flat arches with keystones, fanlighted doorway, side porch with jalousies; side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built late 18th C.; restored. 1 ext. photo (1958); 2 data pages (1958).

Jones Point Lighthouse (VA-641), W bank of Potomac River and N bank of Hunting Creek, S end of S. Lee St., at Woodrow Wilson Bridge. Frame with clapboarding, 38'6" (three-bay front) x 19'1", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with cast-iron lantern in center, two interior end chimneys, side porch; center-hall plan. Built 1855; active as lighthouse until 1926. One of the oldest inland lighthouses in the United States. Retaining wall for Lighthouse protects initial cornerstone of the District of Columbia. 6 sheets (1967, including plans, elevations, section); 5 ext. photos (1962), 1 int. photo (1962); 7 data pages (1963).

Kennedy Buildings (VA-670), 416-18 King St. Brick, rectangular (originally two-bay fronts), two stories, gable roof, interior chimney for double units, arched areaway. Built mid l 9th C.; exterior drastically altered by cornice, window, and store-front changes late 19th C. to mid 20th C.; demolished 1968. 2 ext. photos (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Korn and Wisemiller Building (VA-704), 202 S. St. Asaph and 502 Prince Sts. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 38' (four-bay front) x 38', three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, modillion cornice, pedimented Doric doorway, fanlighted doorway concealed by millwork frame; side-hall plan. Built 1792; interior radically modified from mid 19th C. to present;s enclosed porch addition early 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1967), 1 int. photo (1967); 13 data pages (1967).
Page 28

Ladd House (VA-212), 320 N. Fairfax St. Arch detail, plain impost block, stone voussoirs with sculptured head. Built late 18th C.; building demolished c. 1940. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Lafayette-Cazenove House (VA-467), see Lawrason, Thomas, House (VA-467), Alexandria.

Lannon's Opera House (VA-675), 500-08 King St. Brick, rectangular (six bays x eight bays), two stories, shed roof with parapet, bracketed cornice with recessed panels between, tall upper windows with segmental arches and molded heads; side-hall plan, stores and shops on ground floor, gallery across rear of auditorium space. Built 1884; altered early and mid 20th C.; pedimented entrance and store fronts virtually intact. 1 ext. photo (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 3 data pages (1968).

Lawrason, Thomas, House (Lafayette-Cazenove House) (VA-467), 301 S. St. Asaph St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, parapets and balustrades, Aquia stone flat arches with fluted keystones, elliptical arched stone doorway, double fanlights and sidelights; side-hall plan, delicate woodwork, composition ornament and plaster cornices, winding stair; two-story ell. Built c. 1819; minor restorations 1948. 7 int. photos (1958); 2 data pages (1958); HABSI (1958).

Leadbeater Drug Store (VA-948), see S ler-Leadbeater Drug Corp. (VA-948), Alexandria.

Leadbeater House (VA-457), 414 N. Washington St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, shallow hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, heavy modillion cornice, low frieze windows, Doric entrance portico; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished 1960. Used as a Federal hospital during the Civil War. 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1958).

Leadbeater, James, House (VA-641), 213 S. Pitt St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, brick cornice; side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built 1810; later alterations. 4 sheets (1967, including plans, elevations); HABSI (1959).

Leadbeater-Stabler Apothecary Shop (VA-175), see Stabler-Lead- 7 beater Apothecary Shop (VA-175), Alexandria.

James Leadbeater House
Page 29

Leadbeater House

Lee, Charles, House (VA-617, Area Survey), 407 N. Washington St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, shed roof, one interior chimney, one interior end chimney; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; rear wing: brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney; two-room plan. Portion of main block and rear wing built late 18th C.; main block extensively enlarged in plan and raised from two-and-a-half to three stories late 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1960).

Lee, Edmund J., House (VA-452), 428 N. Washington St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney, modillion cornice continuing across gable end, pedimented doorway, Aquia stone steps, side-hall plan, notable interior trim and hardware; two-story ell. Built 1791; later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1958); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1958).
Page 30

Leadbeater House

Lee, Robert E., House (VA-707), see Potts-Fitzhugh House (VA-707), Alexandria.

Lloyd House (VA-582), see Wise-Hooe-Lloyd House (VA-582), Alexandria.

Lockwood-Cross Building (VA-665), 314 King St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, shed roof, modillion cornice. Built mid 19th C.; extensively altered c. 1960; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Longden, John, House (VA-689), 111 S. Royal St. Frame with brick veneer, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimney; modified two-room plan. Built early 19th C.; extensive alterations including brick veneer street facade 1956; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968).

Longden, John, Houses (VA-685), 105-07 S. Royal St. Double house, brick, rectangular (adjacent two-bay fronts), two stories, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan. Built c. 1787-90; original street facades altered c. 1890; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 2 data pages (1968).
Page 31

Lyceum (McGuire House) (VA-185), 201 S. Washington St. Brick with stucco, 61'1" (five-bay front) x 45'9", two stories, gable roof, with pedimented ends, two interior chimneys, corner antae, inter mediate antae on three sides, tetrastyle portico, Greek Doric order wooden enlature surrounding building; center-hall plan. Built 1840; interior altered 1868-1900; rear addition late 19th C. 10 sheet (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 12 ext. photo (1936, 1940), 5 int. photos (1938); 2 data pages (1937, 1969) HABSI (1958). NR

Lyceum

Lynch, Capt., House (VA-476), 708 Wolfe St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior chimney, transomed entrance; side-hall plan; one-story rear and side wings. Built prior to 1779. 3 ext. photos (1958, including brick smokehouse and dairy); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1958).

Lynn, Adam., House (VA-676),518-20 King St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, molded brick cornice, flat stone arches with key-stones, stone arched doorway with reeded pilasters, arched areaway; side-hall plan, nole interior trim. Built 1811; minor alteration late 19th C.; store front remodeled mid 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1968) 4 int. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).
Page 32

Lyceum

Capt. Lynch House
Page 33

Lynn, Adam, House (VA-687), 532 King St. Brick, rectangular (three bay front.), three stories, flat roof with parapet, no visible chimneys, bracketed cornice, flat stone arches with keystones. Built c. 1815, originally three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers removed c. 1910, replaced with parapet during extensive renovation and addition to the original structure; ground floor altered for modern commercial purposes mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page, (1968).

Lynn, Adam, House (VA-688), 104 S. St. Asaph St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys;' irregular plan; rear ell. Built c. 1815; renovated with tin cornice late l 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968).

McConnell, ,Alexander, House (VA-459), 201 Duke St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; one-and-a-half story wing. Built 1795-97; later additions and alter-ations; transomed doorway with side lights mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 data page (1958).

McConnell, Alexander, Tenements (VA-475, Area Survey), 223-25 S. Lee St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay fronts), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, double units with common interior chimney. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 data page (1958).

McGuire House (VA-185), see Lyceum (VA-185), Alexandria.

Mason's Ordinary (Coffee House) (with later addition known as Gadsby's Tavern, City Hotel, City Tavern) (VA-100), 128 N. Royal St. Museum. Brick (Flemish bond), 38'1" (five-bay front) x 29', three-and-a- half stories, gable roof with dormers with keystones, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice with fret, flat arches with vermiculated keystones, stone string course, pedimented and pilastered Doric doorway; center-hall plan, nole mid-Georgian interior. Built 1752 for Charles Mason; Sampson Darnell (?), carpenter-builder. Gadsby's addition: Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, pedimented Doric doorway with engaged columns, flat arches with gauged brickwork; modified side-ha plan with stair hall beyond, excellent Georgian woodwork. Built 1792 for John Wise; leased to John Gadsby 1796; alterations and additions late 19th C.; doorway and interior ballroom woodwork: acquired by Metropolitan Museum of Art 1917; building restored and ballroom copied and installed 1936-40; original doorway returnee 1949. 7 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details 7 ext. photos (1936, 1937), 7 int. photos (1936, n.d.); 1 photocopy (c. 1860's); 4 data pages (1941). NR
Page 34

Alexander McConnell Tenements [not yet digitized by HABS/HAER]
Page 35

Mason's Ordinary (In published Catalog image is actually a Civil War era photograph)
Page 36

Miller, Mordecai, House (VA-618, Area Survey), 109 S. Fairfax St Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories gable roof, two interior end chimneys, brick cornice, wooden lintel; with corner blocks beneath; side-hall plan. Built 1828. 2 ext. photo; (1959, 1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Miller, Samuel, Building (VA-671), 420 King St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof with end parapets, flat stone arches with keystones. Built mid 19th C.; altered late 19th and early 20th C.; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 data page (1968)

Mason's Ordinary
Page Coffee House complete set of drawings
Page 37

Murray-Dick-Fawcett House (Fawcett House) (VA-104), 517 Prince St. Frame with clapboarding, 32'6" (five-bay front) x 84', one-and-half stories above basement, gable roof with shuttered dormers, two interior end chimneys, two interior chimneys; side-hall plan, paneled interiors; rear ell housing kitchen, laundry, smokehouse, and necesaries. Built late 18th C.; porch and rear extensions added to create modified L-plan c. 1816. 6 sheets (1936, including plans, elevation! sections); 1 ext. photo (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); HABSI's (195E 1959).

Murry-Craik House (Craik, Dr., House) (VA-583), 210 Duke St. Bric. (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, Aquia stone flat arches with keystones, stone arched doorway arched areaway passage; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; rear ell Built 1790; restored 1943. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI's (1958-1959)

Old Dominion Bank (Athenaeum, Free Methodist Church) (VA-428) 201 Prince St. Museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-ba,' front), one story, gable roof, tetrastyle Greek Doric portico; one room plan. Built mid 19th C.; interior altered late 19th C.; remodeled as museum 1965. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Old Leadbeater House (VA-416), see Gregory, William, House (VA 416), Alexandria.

Old Presbyterian Meeting House (VA-231), 321 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 60' (four-bay front) x 80', two tiers of windows, gable roof, brick cornice, pediment with round louvered opening, double door opening upon stone platform, outcurving stone steps with iron railings; one-room plan with vestibule, gallery on three sides with two tiers of columns, arched ceiling, pulpit recessed int. base of tower. Built 1774-90; gutted by fire 1835; rebuilt 1837 tower added 1843; front extended 1853. 2 ext. photos (1936, 1939) 2 int. photos (1936); HABSI (1958).

Patterson-Fitzgerald Warehouses (Warehouses) (VA-132), 101-05 S Union St. Brick (Flemish bond), 74' (nine-bay front) x 44'4", two and-a-half stories above rubble basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys; adjacent one-room sail loft. Built late 18th C. John Patterson, carpenter-builder; alterations and additions mid 20th C. 7 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photo (1937, 1938), 2 int. photos (1958); 1data page (1958); HABSI (1958).
Page 38

Patterson-Fitzgerald Warehouse, West Elevation

Patterson-Fitzgerald Warehouse, South Elevation

Plain, George, House (VA-618, Area Survey), 227 S. Fairfax St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, interior end chimney, molded brick cornice, wooden lintels, pilastered door-way; side-hall plan; two-story wing. Built 1852. 1 ext. photo (1959).

Potts-FitzhughHouse (Robert E. Lee House) (VA-707), 607 Oronoco St. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 55' (five-bay front) x 25', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, slightly projecting pedimented center pavilion, pilastered doorway, dated gutterhead; center-hall plan, nole interior trim, ornamental plaster, patent bake-oven; rear ell. Built 1795; restored 1968. Boyhood home of Robert E. Lee (1811-1816 and 1820-1825). 5 ext. photos (1936, 1967), 7 int. photos (1967); 13 data pages (1967); HABSI (1968).

Pythian Temple (VA-252), 319 Cameron St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, shed roof, bracketed cornice, traceried windows; commercial-loft plan. Built mid 19th C.; first floor converted to store front and interior renovated after fire c. 1936; remodeled 1967. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Ramsay-Atkinson House (VA-464), 113 N. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, arched and coved cornice, stone flat arches with keystones; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; brick service outbuilding. Built prior to 1785; major alterations. 2 ext. photos (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 2 data pages (1958); HABSI (1958).
Page 39

Ramsay, Dennis, House (VA-475, Area Survey), 221 S. Lee St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, entrance doorway with glazed transom; side-hall plan; two-story, brick rear ell. Built 1760. 4 ext. photos (1936, 1958); 3 int. photos (1936); 1 data page (1958).

Ramsay, William, House (VA-103), 221 King St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, 39'6" (three-bay front) x 35' one-and-a-half stories above stone and brick basement, gambrel roof, with dormers, one exterior and one interior end chimney, one-story entrance porch; irregular plan. Built 1748; possibly moved to present location from another site; extensive later alterations and additions; partially damaged by fire 1942; reconstructed 1955. First home of William Ramsay, a founder of Alexandria and its first and only Lord Mayor. 4 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details, sections); 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 int. photo (1936).

Roberdeau, Gen. Daniel, House (VA-469), 418 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Aquia stone flat arches with keystones, monumental scale, side-hall plan, unusual door pediments; rear wing. Built c. 1790, probably preceded by rear section; altered late 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 1 data page (1958); HABSI (1958).

Row Houses (VA-618, Area Survey), 131-37 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay fronts), two-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers; two interior chimneys for four units, brick modillion cornice, transomed doorways. Built 1827-33. 2 ext. photos (1959).

Row Houses (VA-618, Area Survey), 207-09 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay fronts), two-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers, four interior end chimneys, deep modillion cornice, Ionic portico for double units; side-hall plans; rear ells. Built early 19th C.; restored. l ext. photo (1959).

Row Houses (VA-618, Area Survey), 511-13 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay fronts), two-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers, common chimney for double units, brick sawtooth cornice, stone lintels, transomed doorways. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).
Page 40

Row Houses (VA-618, Area Survey), 515-17 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay fronts), two-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers, common interior chimney for double units, brick sawtooth cornice, flat brick arches, transomed doorways. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1959).

Row Houses (VA-600, Area Survey), 301-07 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay fronts), two stories, gable roofs, four units with two interior chimneys, brick modillion cornice; side-hall plans; two-story rear ells. Built mid 19th C.; later alterations. 3 ext. photos (1959, 1960).

Row Houses (VA-600, Area Survey), 319-25 Queen St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay fronts), two stories, gable roofs, interior end chimneys, sawtooth cornice, doorways with transoms; four units with side-hall plans; one-and-a-half story ells. Built early 19th C. 4 ext. photos (1959).

Row Houses (VA-600, Area Survey), 513-15 Queen St. Frame with clapboarding (partial shiplapping), rectangular (four-bay front), gable roof, interior chimney; irregular plans (double units); lean-to addition. Built late 18th C.; additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1959).

Row Houses (VA-617, Area Survey), 415-17 S. Washington St. Brick rectangular (two-bay fronts), two stories above raised basements, gable roofs, interior end chimneys, wooden lintels. Built early 19th C.; twin units with separate entrances unified with double doors c. 1960. 1 ext. photo (1960).

St. John's Academy (Carne School) (VA-450), SE corner Duke and S. Columbus Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, gable roof; two interior chimneys, bracketed cornice with wide over-hang, cupola; modified center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; greatly altered in Greek Revival style and wing added mid 19th C.; interior alterations late 19th C. and early 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1958); 3 data pages (1959); HABSI (1959).

St. Paul's Episcopal Church (VA-340), 216 S. Pitt St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two tiers of windows, gable roof, triple arcade of tall pointed arches, stepped parapet returning at corners to give impression of towers, traceried roundels above arcade, triple tiers (upper false) of pointed windows flanking entrance; one-room plan with vestibule, distinctive interior details of clustered columns, interlaced columnettes in gallery. Cornerstone laid 1817, Benjamin H. Latrobe, architect; chancel extended late 19th C.; major additions 1957. Early example of Gothic Revival style in America. 1 ext. photo (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 2 data pages (1959); HABSI (1959).
Page 41

St. Paul's Episcopal Church

St. Paul's Episcopal Church Rectory (VA-708), 417 Duke St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, wooden lintels with corner blocks; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; wing added; double doors, wooden steps, and railing installed 1871; steps renewed 1884; entrance restored to elliptical arch with side lights, brick stoop, and wrought-iron railing c. 1930; demolished 1957. 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1900); 2 data pages (1932).

Second Presbyterian Church, Westminster Building (VA-682), NE corner S. St. Asaph and Prince Sts. Brick with limestone trim, rectangular (three bays x eleven bays), two stories present effect of three pavilions, flat roof with parapets (facade parapet with raked blocking, side elevations with mansard sections between pavilions), bracketed cornice, upper windows with semi-circular heads and large windows centered at each second-floor pavilion unit, hooded entrance on facade, projecting one-story bay at first-floor side elevation; center-hall plan with secondary rear entrance. Built 1912. 1 ext. photo (1968); 2 data pages (1968).
Page 42

Simmonds, Samuel, House (VA-684), 109 S. Royal St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimney; modified two-room plan. Built 1787-90; original brick facade covered with brick veneer and ground floor extensively altered c. 1956; demolished 1968. 1 ext. photo (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Snowden House (VA-944), see Vowell-Snowden-Black House (VA-709), Alexandria.

Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Shop (Leadbeater-Stabler Apothecary Shop) (VA-175), 105-07 S. Fairfax St. Pharmaceutical Museum. Brick (Flemish bond), 20' (three-bay front) x 40', three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, molded brick cornice, upper windows with flat arches and gauged brickwork, bow shop windows; two-room plan, nole interior trim. Built late 18th C.; interiors remodeled mid 19th C.; ground-floor shop fronts reconstructed 1936-39; laboratory building: (interior stripped), similar in general character, but with stone lintels and corner blocks. Built early 19th C.; exterior restored 1939. 2 sheets (1940, shop plan, details, sections); 6 ext. photos (1938, 1940), 5 int. photos (1940); 14 data pages (1934, 1939, 1941); 2 HABSI's (1958, 1959).

Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Shop
Page 43

Summers-Scott House (VA-600, Area Survey), 312 Queen St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, modillion and denticulated cornice, flat arches with keystones, arched doorway; side-hall plan. Built 1795-1814. 3 ext. photos (1959).

Stabler-Leadbeater Drug Corp. (Leadbeater Drug Store) (VA-948), SW corner King and S. Fairfax Sts. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two bays x five bays), three stories, hipped roof, molded brick cornice. Built early 19th C.; store front added late 19th C.; demolished c. 1940. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Swope, Michael, House (VA-292), 210 Prince St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three -and -a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney, modillion and fret cornice, pedimented Doric doorway; side-hall plan, interior trim; two-story ell. Built 1704; main stair removed, minor renovations in ell 1967. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Taylor-Fraser House (VA-678), 109 S. Pitt St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers,.two interior end chimneys, sawtooth brick cornice, wooden pedimented doorway, Doric pilasters flanking six-panel door with arched fanlight; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later alterations; entrance doorway added c. 1940. l ext. photo (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Thompson, Jonah, Houses (Twin or Married Houses) (VA-251), 211 N. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, denticulated cornice, Aquia stone flat arches with keystones, pair arched doorways with cast capitals and keystones, stone columns, monumental scale; modified side-hall plan, nole woodwork and stair, elaborate plasterwork; rear hyphen and entrance court giving access to adjoining Palladian unit of two stories with stuccoed facade, basement, gable roof, colonnade above, arcaded gallery below. Built late 18th C.; front-bay addition probably early 19th C.; interior renovations late 19th C. to early 20th C. 5 ext. photos (1936, 1937, 1958), 5 int. photos (1937, 1958); 2 data pages (1958); HABSI (1957).
Page 44

Twin or Married Houses (VA-251), see Thompson, Jonah, Houses (VA-251), Alexandria.

Van Havre-Daingerfield House (VA-710), 608 Cameron St. Brick (Flemish bond) with stucco ends, approx. 25' (three-bay front) x 34', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, arched over areaway to heavy piers, stone flat arches with keystones, stoop and steps with wrought-iron railings; side-hall plan, plaster cornices, vaulted basement chamber, Franklin stove; ell. Built 1798; vestibule with Greek Revival doorway, minor interior renovation mid 19th C.; alterations and additions to ell early 19th C. and late 19th C.; kitchen fireplace restored 1967. 2 ext. photos (1967), 4 int. photos (1967); 14 data pages (1967).

Vowell-Snowden-Black House (Snowden House) (VA-709), 619 S. Lee St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 30' (three-bay) x 40', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, arched and coved cornice, flat stone arches with keystones, pedimented doorway with engaged columns, front foundation Aquia stone with stoop, wrought-iron railings; side-hall plan, simple refined trim; brick ell; brick and frame wing with hyphen. Built 1798-1800; hyphen and wing probably mid 19th C.; widow's walk removed late 19th C.; minor renovations early 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1936, 1967), 2 int. photos (1967); 8 data pages (1967); HABSI (1958).

Wales House (VA-468), see Hampson, Bryan, House (VA-468), Alexandria.

Warehouse (VA-133), Strand St., at rear of 105 S. Union St. Brick (Flemish bond), 31'8" (three-bay front) x 50'6", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, stone lintels with keystones. Built late 18th C.; demolished c. 1940. 3 sheets (1937, including plans, ele-vations, details); 2 ext. photos (1937).
Page 45

Warehouses (VA-132), see Patterson-Fitzgerald Warehouses (VA-132), Alexandria.

Warehouses (VA-621, Area Survey), Tavern Square (Sharpshin Alley), Brick, rectangular (four-bay fronts), three stories, gable and half-gable roofs (latter with two-story lean-to). Built early 19th C.; demolished 1965. 2 ext. photos (1959).

Warfield Building (VA-681), 501 King St. Brick with stone trim, rectangular (three bays x seven bays), three stories, canted corner, flat roof with parapets, cast-iron cornice, half-round upper windows, side entrance to hallway and apartments. Built 1905-06; store front and interior remodeled mid 1950's; demolished 1968. 2 ext. photos (1968), 2 int. photos (1968); 2 data pages (1968).

Washington, George, Reconstructed Town House (VA-597), 508 Cameron St. (Original site). Clapboarding on cinder block, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above rubble basement, gable roof with dormers, exterior end brick chimney. Built 1960. Replaced the original 1769 building, which was demolished c. 1855. 1 photocopy, early drawing (c. 1855); 14 data pages (1961).

Wilson, James, House (VA-618, Area Survey), 124 S. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, sawtooth brick cornice, flat arches with gauged brickwork, transomed doorway (vestibule late 19th C.); side-hall plan; two-story ell. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1959);HABSI (1959).

Wilson-Hopkins House (Hallowell School, Burson House) (VA-933), 609 Oronoco St. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 55' (five-bay front) x 25', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, slightly projecting pedimented center pavilion, pilastered doorway; center-hall plan, nole interior trim, ornamental plaster; rear ell. Built 1795; porch additions and alterations early 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Wise-Hooe-Lloyd House (Lloyd House) (VA-582), 220 N. Washington St. Brick (Flemish bond), 48'2" (five-bay front) x 40'2", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, modillion and denticulated cornice continuous across gable ends, flat arches with fluted keystones, Doric pedimented doorway, balusters in cellar windows; center-hall plan, plaster cornices, architraves exhibit crossettes and corner blocks. Built 1793-96; additions and major interior alterations c. 1940; renovated 1960. 16 sheets (1959, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 20 ext. photos (1936, 1959), 14 int. photos (1936, 1959); 6 data pages (1959); HABSI (1958).
Page 46

Wise-Hooe-Lloyd House

Wise's Tavern (VA-934), see Dalton-Herbert House (VA-934), Alexandria.

Yeaton-Fairfax House (Fairfax House) (VA-211), 607 Cameron St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, tall recessed plastered arch containing upper-hall windows, entrance door-way set in recessed vestibule, elliptical fanlight and sidelights, engaged columns, double incurving stone steps and wrought-iron railings, Palladian windows flank entrance; center-hall plan, delicate wood-work, composition ornament and ornamental plaster, winding stair with niches; two-story rear ell. Built c. 1816, William Yeaton, architect-builder; minor alterations; restorations with additions 1966. 4ext. photos (1936, 1939), 8 int. photos (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).
Page 47

Wise-Hooe-Lloyd House staircase [not a HABS image].
Page 48

Yeaton-Fairfax House

 

  AMELIA VICINITY     Amelia County (3)

Handle House (VA-269), see Woodlands (VA-269), Amelia Vicinity.

Woodlands (Hindle House) (VA-269),.2 mi. W of Nibbs Creek, W side of State Rte. 656, .4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 624. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, two interior chimneys; four-room plan, paneled dining room. Built late 18th C. 2 sheets (1940, including sections, details); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1959).

Woodlands
Page 49

 

  ANNANDALE     Fairfax County (30)

Ossian Hall (VA-598), 5001 Regina Dr. Site. Frame with clapboarding, 45' (five-bay front) x 26', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, two-story verandah with square columns; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; later additions and. alterations; burned 1959. 11 sheets (1961, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 8 ext. photos (1936, 1959), 3 int. photos (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  ANNANDALE VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

Ravensworth (VA-105), 5200 Port Royal Rd. Site. Frame with clap-boarding, five-part composition, central block: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof with pedimented cross gable over central bay, four interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; flanking two-story wings terminated by pedimented pavilions. Built early 19th C.; burned 1926; coach house and stable: brick, stone foundations, 105' (six-bay front) x 50', two stories, gable roof, cornice continued on gable end to form pediment, four-bay arcade on S elevation supported by square brick piers and flanked by blind arches, former carriage entrance at W gable end framed by wooden lintel supported by two brick engaged Doric columns; rectangular plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished 1960. 4 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, section); 5 ext. photos (1936, 1937), 4 ext. photos, out-buildings and grounds (1936, 1937), 3 int. photos (1936); 3 ext. photocopies (c. 1900), 1 int. photocopy (c. 1900); HABSI (1958).

Ravensworth Coach House and Stable
Page 50

Green Spring Farm (Moss House) (VA-277), 4601 Green Spring Rd. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, center-hall plan; flanking one-and-a-half story, brick wings. Built c. 1760; extensive additions and alterations c. 1840, 1942. 2 ext. photos (1936); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Moss House (VA-277), see Green Spring Farm (VA-277), Annandale Vicinity.

 

  APPOMATTOX VICINITY     Appomattox County (6)

Appomattox Courthouse (VA-716), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, pedimented wooden entrance porch at first-floor level approached by long flight stone and brick steps; three-room plan. Built 1846; burned 1892; re-constructed 1964. 1 ext. photo (1964); 2 ext. photocopies (1865, c.1890). NR Jail (VA-436), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built c. 1870; replaced earlier jail probably destroyed mid 1860's. 1 ext. photo (1939); HABSI (1957).

Legrand House (VA-715), .6 mi. S of Plain Branch Run, SE side of State Rte. 631, .5 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 634. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior stone chimney; one-room plan; rear lean-to and side-porch; two-story frame wing built in front of one-story house and connected to it by one-story hyphen. Built early 19th C.; wing added c. 1860; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (1960); HABSI (1957).
Page 51

Appomattox Courthouse

Clover Hill Tavern
Page 52

Clover Hill Tavern (Patteson House) (VA-216), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan; rear lean-to; two-story brick guest house with projecting gable roof; two-story brick kitchen-guest house. Built early 19th C.; restored, lean-to removed; guest house projecting roof now shelters two-level porch on two sides. 2 ext. photos (1939); HABSI (1957).

McDearmon-Tibbs House (VA-714), .3 mi. S of N branch of Appomattox River, .7 mi. NE of State Rte. 24, 1.1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 656. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, three exterior end chimneys, one-story wooden porch across S and W fronts; center-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; later alterations and additions; ruinous. 2 ext. photos (1960); ABSI (1957).

McLean House (VA-240), see Raine-McLean House (VA-240), Appomattox Vicinity.

Old Store (VA-435), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; side wing. Built mid 19th C.; destroyed. 1 ext. photo (1939).

Patteson House (VA-216), see Clover Hill Tavern (VA-216), Appomattox Vicinity.

Plunkett-Meeks Store and House (VA-432), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney, side lean-to; one-story frame law office outbuilding, exterior end chimney. Built c. 1850; altered with additions; store and house re-stored, lean-to removed, porch and entrance added on E, door added on S, outside stair to second floor added on N. 2 ext. photos (1939, 1940); HABSI (1957).

Raine-McLean House (McLean House) (VA-240), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. House museum. Brick, 502" (three-bay front) x 22', two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; center-hall plan. Built 1848; dismantled 1893; reconstructed 1948-49. Scene of surrender of Gen. Robert E. Lee to Lt. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant, April 9, 1865. 8 sheets (1940, including plot plan, plans, elevations, details); 2 ext. photocopies (n.d.); 18 data pages (n.d., including specifications for moving and rebuilding structure); HABSI (1957). NR

Sears, J., House (VA-713), .2 mi. S of Plain Branch Run, .4 mi. N of State Rte. 631, .2 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 634. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one-story wooden porches; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; later additions and alterations; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (1960).
Page 53

Plunkett-Meeks Store and House

Raine-McLean House

Wright, Maria, House (VA-947), Appomattox Court House National Historical Park. Frame with clapboarding, 40' (threc-bay front) x 1711", one story, gable roof, two stone exterior end chimneys, one-story entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1823; alteration and additions c. 1890; interior stripped 1942; renovated. 7 sheets (1959, including plans, elevations, sections, details); HABSI (1957).

Maria
Page h Wright House

Page 54

 

  ARLINGTON     Arlington County (7)

Arlington House (Custis-Lee Mansion) (VA-443), Arlington National Cemetery. Brick with stucco, central section: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys, monumental hexastyle, dipteral Greek Doric portico, stucco of E elevation coursed to resemble stone blocks, walls and columns painted to resemble marble; center-hall plan, imaginative use of interior arches, arcades, and recessed niches; flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay each), one story above raised basement, hipped roof, one interior chimney N wing, one interior end chimney S wing, arched double-hung windows in arched recessed bays; S wing dining room has large scale arched recess in N wall; two dependencies: brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, flanking W entrance court. Flanking wings of main house built 1802-04; center section with portico completed 1817; main drawing room completed 1855; estate confiscated by Federal government 1864; sold to Federal government 1883; partially restored 1929, 1955 to present. Arlington House was built by George Washington Parke Custis, George Washington's adopted grandson. Custis' only daughter, Mary, married Robert E. Lee at Arlington House 1831. The Lees lived there until 1861. 18 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details of main house and kitchen). NR

Custis-Lee Mansion (VA-443), see Arlington House (VA-443), Arlington Co.
Page 55

Arlington House

Arlington House
Page 56

 

  ASHLAND VICINITY      Hanover County (43)

Church Quarter (VA-751), .6 mi. W of Little River, NE side of State Rte. 738, .8 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 688. Log, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; addition. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Fork Church (VA-409), .8 mi. W of Little River, NE side of State Rte. 738, opposite intersection with State Rte. 685. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), rectangular (one-bay front), gable roof, gable-end front, four-bay nave with segmental arch windows, modillion cornice. Built c. 1735; exterior end chimney added in rear. 3 ext. photos (1932, 1936), 1 int. photo (1932); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1957). NR

Rocky Mills (Fairfield) (VA-146), see Fairfield (Rocky Mills) (VA-146), Richmond Vicinity, Henrico Co.

Scotchtown (VA-117), .4 mi. S of Newfound River, .2 mi. NW of State Rte. 685, 1.2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 671. House museum. Frame with clapboarding, 84'11" (nine-bay front) x 351'/2", one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, four interior chimneys; center-hall plan; side lean-to. Built c. 1735; restored 1953, lean-to removed, four chimneys removed, and two original interior chimneys restored on ridge line, interior plan altered, ice house reconstructed, office and caretaker's house built partially on old foundations. Home of Patrick Henry 1771-77. 11 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 8 ext. photos (1934, 1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 5 data pages (1936);HABSI (1957). NR; NHL

 

  ATLANTIC VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Mt. Wharton (VA-551), 1.4 mi. E of N tributary of Assawaman Creek, .8 mi. SE of State Rte. 679, .6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 781. Frame with brick ends, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; irregular plan; side wing. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1940).

 

  AYLETT VICINITY King William County (51)

Cherry Grove Servants' Quarters (VA-762), .4 mi. NE of N tributary of Acquinton Creek, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 30, .5 mi. SE of inter-section with State Rte. 600. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, frame gable ends above eaves. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 57

Scotchtown

Scotchtown
Page 58

Moser House (VA-154), .5 mi. N of N tributary of Acquinton Creek, mi. S of State Rte. 30, .2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. . Log with clapboarding, 21' (two-bay front) x 18'10", one story below two-level attic, gable roof with splayed eaves, basement door diagonal exterior sheathing. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 6 sheets (1939, including plans, elevations, details); 9 ext. Photos (1937, 38, 1940, n.d.), 1 int. photo (1939); 3 data pages (1941).

Rummford Academy (VA-258), .9 mi. N of Acquinton Creek, .1 mi. E State Rte. 600, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick, T-shaped (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, exterior end chimneys. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 2 data pages (1939).

 

  BACON'S CASTLE VICINITY     Surry County (91)

Bacon's Castle (VA-75), 1.2 mi. SW of Castle Mill Run, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 617, .5 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 10. Brick (English bond), 46'1'/2" (five-bay front) x 25'8", two stories, gable roof with curvilinear ends, two exterior end chimney units each consisting of three stacks set diagonally to each other, S two-story closed porch with N two-story stair tower; brick, two-story additions to the E. Built mid 17th C.; alterations and additions 19th C. Seized and fortified in Bacon's Rebellion, 1676-77. 22 sheets (1940, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 14 ext. photos (1937, 1940, including two photos of quarters). 15 int. photos (1937, 1940); 5 data pages (1937, 1940). NHL.

 

  BARHAMSVILLE     New Kent County (64)

Union Level (VA-442), .3 mi. W of Richardson Swamp, .2 mi. NE of State Rte. 633, .3 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 168. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys with pent closet, rear porch; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; later additions. 2 ext. photos (c. 1934); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  BARHAMSVILLE VICINITY     New Kent County (64)

Smokehouse (VA-541), .7 mi. W of Davis Pond, .3 mi. NW of State Rte. 30, .8 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 633. Frame with clapboarding, approx. square, one story, peaked roof with finial. Built mid 18th C.; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).
Page 59

Bacon's Castle

Bacon's Castle

Bacon's Castle
Page 61

 

  BEAVER DAM VICINITY     Hanover County (43)

Dewberry (VA-752), .2 mi. SE of Little River, 1 mi. N of State Rte. 684, 1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 601. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, hipped roof with dormer, two interior end chimneys, three-part windows, projecting cross-gable pavilion in rear; center-hall plan, flanking two-story one-bay wings with hipped roofs, connected to central block by hyphens. Built early 19th C.; later additions; dormer removed. 2 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936).

Edgewood (VA-749),.95 mi. N of Newfound River, .4 mi. E of State Rte. 671, 1.6 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 668. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, three interior end chimneys; three-room plan, side stair vestibule; frame side-wing; brick doctor's office. Built late 18th C.; wing added late 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

Mount Olivet Baptist Church (VA-750), .6 mi. S of S branch of New. found River, SW side of State Rte. 671, .8 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 668. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, gable-end front with two entrances, three-bay nave. Built 1849; side additions. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  BELLAMY VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Baytop (VA-744), see Capahosic House (VA-744), Bellamy Vicinity.

Capahosic House (Baytop) (VA-744), .1 mi. E of York River, S side of State Rte. 618, opposite intersection with State Rte. 662. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof with jerkinheads, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; later addition. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

 

  BENA VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Little England (VA-515), SE bank of Sarah Creek at York River, .2 mi. W of W end of State Rte. 672, 1.2 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 642. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water le; center-hall plan; one-and-a-half story flanking wings. Built mid 18th C.; wings added mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1959).
Page 62

 

  BERRYVILLE VICINITY     Clarke County (22)

Clifton (VA-725), .4 mi. N of State Rte. 610,.4 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above raised basement, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, NW front with Palladian window in recessed arched bay over wooden one-story pedimented entrance porch with paired Ionic columns, SE front with two-story tetrastyle pedimented Roman Doric portico; center-hall plan, nole interior trim; stone dependency: two stories, gable roof; stone ice house: circular plan with conical wooden shingle roof. Built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1936), 1 ext. photo, outbuilding (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  BIRDHAVEN VICINITY     Shenandoah County (86)

Barb Water Mill (VA-137), bank of Elks Run, exact location unknown. Working platform of timbers carrying saw, driving machinery, including overshot water wheel 4'6" in width, 17'2" in diameter, located below, little or no protection from weather. Built c. 1790 as vertical action metal saw driven by flutter wheel, first overshot wheel installed 1880; circular saw introduced and second overshot wheel constructed c. 1924. 1 ext. photo (n.d.); 3 data pages (n.d.).

 

  BLACKSTONE     Nottoway County (68)

Anderson House (VA-813), see Schwartz Tavern (VA-813), Blackstone.

Schwartz Tavern (Anderson House) (VA-813), 111 Tavern St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; W wing: frame, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; E wing: frame, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, one-story hyphen with three-part bow projection on N. Built late 18th C.; dormers and both wings added 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  BLOXOM VICINITY Accomack Count (1)

Hinman-Mason House (VA-630), see Mason House (VA-630), Bloxom Vicinity.
Page 63

Mason House (Hinman-Mason House) (VA-630), N bank of Guilford Creek, .4 mi. NW of State Rte. 658, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 187. Brick with timber frame, 42' (three-bay front) x 23', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; frame two-story rear addition. Built early 18th C.; additions mid 19th C. 6 ext. photos (1940, 1960), 17 int. photos (1940, 1960); 3 data pages (1960, 1962).

 

  BOWLING GREEN     Caroline County (17)

Caroline County Courthouse (VA-718), SE corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 301 and Courthouse Lane. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, square wooden belfry, four interior end chimneys, four-bay open arcade on ground floor with semi-circular brick arches with stone keystones, Tuscan enlature, pedimented gable end with semi-circular lunette; one-room temple plan. Built early 19th C.; belfry added. 3 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1957).

Old Mansion (VA-128), .2 mi. W of State Rte. 2 (U.S. Rte. 301),.4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 207. Brick (Flemish bond), 47' (five-bay front) x 30', one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with jerkin-heads, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, molded brick water le, full length one-story entrance porch; center-hall plan, corner fireplaces; rear ell: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney, modillion cornice, two-room plan. Brick section built late 17th C.; frame ell built late 18th C.; interior trim partially altered early 19th C.; entrance porch added mid 19th C. 16 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 7 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957). NR

Old Mansion
Page 64

Mulberry Place (VA-719), .8 mi. W of Tanyard Swamp, .9 mi. S of State Rte. 721, .3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 2 (U.S. Rte. 301). Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, one-story wooden entrance porch with paired square posts, flat deck and balustrade; center-hall plan; kitchen: brick, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, brick sawtooth cornice; one-room plan. Built 1827. 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 ext. photo, kitchen (1936); HABSI (1957).

Oak Ridge (VA-720), .5 mi. SW of Elliot's Pond, .4 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 301, .9 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 207. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, wooden box cornice with dia-mond pattern frieze, arched entrance transom with wooden swag muntins, fretted architrave and carved and paneled door surround with reeded pilasters supporting fretted enlature, molded brick water le; center-hall plan, nole interior trim and plaster work over mantel. Built c. 1800; minor interior alterations; ruinous. 3 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

 

  BOYCE      Clarke County (22)

Summerville (VA-180), S bank of Page Run, near NW side U.S. Rte. 340. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pediment over three central bays, two interior end chimneys, low entrance porch of coupled columns with parapet; cross-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; burned 1932; restored. 3 sheets (1940, including foundation plans, restoration drawings); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941).

 

  BOYCE VICINITY      Clarke County (22)

Annefield (VA-256), .2 mi. W of Chapel Run, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 633, 1.4 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone, rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with flat deck and balus-trade, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, two-story wooden tetrastyle Ionic entrance portico with modillion pediment and Chinese fret balcony railing at second-floor level; center-hall plan, center hall with modillion and denticulated Ionic enlature sup-ported by fluted Ionic pilasters, nole interior trim in principal ground-floor rooms. Built 1790, later rear additions. 4 ext. photos (1936); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 65

Saratoga
Page different photographs than in actual book

Old Chapel (VA-352), N bank of Chapel Run, W side of State Rte. 255, at intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, interior chimney; one-room plan. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

Saratoga (VA-246), S bank of Roseville Run, at confluence of West-brook Run, .4 mi. SW of State Rte. 723, .4 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, one-story tetrastyle wooden entrance porch with arched window above; center-hall plan; smokehouse: frame with clap-boarding, rectangular, pyramidal roof. Built 1781; later additions. 2 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941);HABSI (1958). NR
Page 66

 

  BRANDY STATION VICINITY     Culpeper County (24)

Little Fork Church (VA-147), .8 mi. N of Hazel River, NE corner of Intersection of State Rtes. 624 and 726. Brick, 83'1" (seven-bay lateral facade) x 36'3", one story, hipped roof, modillion cornice, arched window heads, rubbed brick dressings; one-room plan, notable interior trim including original reredos. Built 1774-76, attributed to John Ariss, architect. 3 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations); ABSI (1958). NR

 

  BREMO BLUFF VICINITY     Fluvanna County (33)

Bremo (VA-302),.3 mi. N of James River, 2.4 mi. W of U.S. Rte. 15, .9 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 656. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof with deck, balustrade at eaves, four interior chimneys, pedimented Tuscan portico on N front, re-cessed Tuscan portico on S front, E and W Tuscan entrance porticoes; entrance hall with cross-hall plan; two end pavilions: brick, rectangu-lar (one-bay front), one story above high basement, gable roof with pedimented Tuscan portico, connected to main central block by raised terraces; barn: stone, T-shaped plan, two-story, hipped roof, cupola, pedimented stone Tuscan portico; stone stable, brick lodge, brick gardener's house, stone Doric Temperance Spring, two pise servants' quarters. Completed by 1820 from designs by owner-builder John Hartwell Cocke (1780-1866), who was influenced by St. George Tucker, Thomas Jefferson, James Dinsmore and John Neilson, the last of whom drafted the final designs; original flat roof replaced by esent design 1836. 9 ext. photos (n.d., 1940), 10 ext. photos, outbildings (1940), 6 int. photos (1940), 2 int. photos, schoolhouse 1940); 1 photo of Temperance vase (1940); 2 data pages (1940); BSI (1958). NR

Bremo
Page 67

Bremo, barn

Bremo, schoolhouse
Page 68

 

  BRENTSVILLE VICINITY      Prince William County (76)

Brent House (VA-553), see The White House (VA-553), Manassas Vicinity, Prince William Co.

Old House (VA-554), see Moor Green (VA-554), Manassas Vicinity, Prince William Co.

 

  BRIDGETOWN VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Belote (VA-544), see Wester House (West House) (VA-544), Bridgetown Vicinity.

Hungar's Church (VA-542),.1 mi. N of NE tributary of Hungar Creek, S side of State Rte. 619, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 622. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, two entrances on gable-end front, arched nave windows and entrances. Built c. 1751; structure repaired 1840; shortened from approx. 92' to 74'8" in 1851; renovated and repaired 1922, 1950, 1955. 2 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1940); HABSI (1958). NR

Vaucluse (VA-437), NW bank of Hungar Creek, S end of State Rte. 619, 1.8 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 657. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (eight-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one in-terior chimney and two interior end chimneys, two pedimented entrance porches; center-hall plan; side wing; kitchen ell; icehouse. W four bays between two original chimneys built late 18th C.; additions early 19th C.; two-story S porch added recently. Home of Abel Parker Upshur who served as Secretary of Navy and Secretary of State. 2 ext. photos (c. 1936, 1940); HABSI (1958).     

West House (VA-544), see Wester House (Belote) (VA-544), Bridge-town Vicinity.
Page 69

Wester House (Belote, West House) (VA-544), W bank of Westerhouse Creek, .6 mi. N of State Rte. 619, .4 mi. W of intersection with S Rte. 657. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; W end rebuilt 19th C.; interior ruinous. 3 sheets (1971 including site plan, plan, elevations); 1 ext. photo, chimney (1940).

Winona (VA-543), N bank of Hungar Creek, .7 mi. S of State 1 619, .4 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 622. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one end chimney with three stacks set diagonally each other; side-hall plan; two one-story frame flanking wings. B late 17th C.; wing additions; altered and renovated. 8 sheets (1S including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (19, HABSI (1958). NR

Wionna

Wionna
Page 70

 

  BULL RUN VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Mountain View (VA-291), 6421 Bull Run Post Office Rd. Two units at right angles, first unit: log and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof double pitched in front and extended to cover porch, one interior stone chimney; nole interior trim and original hardware; second unit: stone, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, large exterior stone chimney, two-story porch with balcony on two sides; rooms adjacent in plan, no corridors. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations; ruinous condition 1969. 3 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1958).

Sudley (VA-427), .3 mi. E of Bull Run on Sudley Rd., 1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 621. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, projecting second-floor room with pedimented gable roof supported by paired square wooden columns which create front porch; rectangular plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).

 

  CABIN POINT     Surry County (91)

Bremo

Ordinary, The (VA-236), SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 10 and 613. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above high brick basement, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; rear lean-to. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1958).

 

  CAPEVILLE VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Arlington (VA-811), S bank of Old Plantation Creek, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 644, .8 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 645. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan; raised stone tombs with incised inscriptions and swag decoration. Main house built early 19th C. 3 ext. photos, Custis Tombs (1960); HABSI, main house (1958).

 

  CATHARPIN VICINITY     Prince William County (76)

Log Cabin (VA-287), 1 mi. N of Lick Branch, E side of State Rte. 701, .6 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 234. Log, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one stone exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1936).
Page 71

 

  CENTER CROSS VICINITY     Essex County (29)

Bowlers (VA-728), W bank of Rappahannock River, N side of State) Rte. 684, 2.1 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 17. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; kitchen: frame with clapboarding, rectangular, one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney. Built early 18th C.; later additions and alterations; kitchen demolished. 3 ext. photos (1936), 1 ext. photo, kitchen (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Mount Verde (VA-729), see Omnium Hill (VA-729), Center Cross Vicinity.

Omnium Hill (Mount Verde) (VA-729),.8 mi. SW of Rappahannock River, .2 mi. SW of State Rte. 660, .4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 684. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; one-story N wing. Built late 18th C.; altered; additional mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  CENTREVILLE     Fairfax County (30)

Jammeson, Malcolm, House (VA-280), see Mount Gilead (VA-280), Centreville.

Mount Gilead (Malcolm Jammeson House) (VA-280), 5634 Mount Gilead Rd. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior stone chimneys, one-story wooden entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built c. 1750; additions and alterations 1936, 1952. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

 

  CENTREVILLE VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

MeatHouse (VA-282), exact location unknown. Frame with horizontal planks and chinking, stone foundations, square (one-bay front), one story, pyramidal roof with wooden shingles. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  CHAMPLAIN VICINITY     Essex County (29)

Fonthill (VA-330), 1.2 mi. S of Occupacia Creek, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 631, 1.7 mi. SW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 17. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, one-story entrance porch with paired supports supporrts and lattice railing; center-hall plan; flanking one-story wings. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1941).
Page 72

St. Anne's Parish Glebe (VA-232), .1 mi. NW of Farmers Hall Creek, .8 mi. SE of State Rte. 632, 3 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 633,.4 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 17. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, gauged flat brick arches over windows and doors, raking row of glazed brick headers on gable ends, beveled brick water le; !center-hall plan, nole trim on chimney breast of W room. Built mid 18th C.; major portion of interior trim dismantled 1967. 2 ext. photos (1939); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  CHANCELLORSVILLE     Spotsylvania County (89)

Chancellorsville (VA-77), 1.1 mi. NE of Lewis River, NW corner of intersection of State Rtes. 3 and 610. Brick ruins remain from original structure: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, steep gable roof, two interior end chimneys, full-length two-level porch; flanking wings: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, wings projected from plane of central block and flanked central porch. Built 1816; partially destroyed by Confederate gunfire May 3, 1863; rebuilt c. 1870: brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof with dormers, E three bays of facade set back with two-level porch; burned 1927; remaining walls blown down 1947. 11 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (n.d., 1934, 1935); 3 data pages (n.d.).

 

  CHANTILLY VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Leeton (VA-599), Dulles International Airport Site. Brick, rectangu-lar (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; ex-tensive later alterations; demolished 1960. 2 ext. photos (1959); 2 data pages (1961); HABSI (1958).
Page 73

Sully Plantation (VA-250), 3601 Sully Rd. Historic house museu Frame with clapboarding, original section 33'7" (three-bay front) 37'8", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exteri end chimneys; side-hall plan; one-and-a-half story frame additio nole outbuildings include stone patent house and smokehouse Built 1794, attributed to James Wren, Fairfax County builder-architect; later additions 19th C. 17 sheets (1960, including site plan, plans, elevations, details of main house; plan, elevations of patent house; plan, elevation of kitchen-laundry); 16 ext. photos, main house (1936, 1960), 4 ext. photos, patent house (1960), 4 ext. photos, kitchen-laundry (1960), 2 ext. photos, smokehouse (1936 1960), 1 ext. photo, outbuilding (1960), 16 int. photos, main house (1960), 3 int. photos, kitchen-laundry (1960), 1 ext. photocopy 1890); 7 data pages (1961); HABSI (1958). NR

Sully Plantation

Sully Plantation
Page 74

 

  CHARLES CITY      Charles City County (19)

Charles City County Courthouse (VA-60), .8 mi. N of Queens Creek, S.side of State Rte. 5, .2 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 155. Brick, T-shaped (three-bay S front), one story, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, segmental arched windows, modillion cornice. Built mid 18th C.; original full-length five-bay arcaded porch sheltered main entrance on N in a structural form similar to courthouses in King William, Hanover, and other counties which it predates; porch bricked-in with windows placed in former openings and entrance moved to S front. 2 ext. photos (1937); 1 data page (1937). NR

 

  CHARLES CITY VICINITY     Charles City County (19)

Berkeley (VA-363), .3 mi. N of James River, .7 mi. S of State Rte. 633, .3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 5. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, pedimented gable ends, modillion cornice, two-story three-bay portico combined with front and side one-story porch; center-hall plan. Built c. 1726; altered with additions; porch and portico removed in restoration. Birthplace of Benjamin Harrison, signer of the Declaration of Independence and Governor of Virginia (1781-1784), and of his son, William Henry Harrison (1773-1841), ninth President of the United States. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1935), 2 int. photos (1934, 1935); 1 data page (1941).

Farmington (VA-95), .9 mi. S of Morris Creek, 1.1 mi. E of State Rte. 5, 1.3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 614. Frame with clap-boarding, 54'4" (five-bay front) x 35'4", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear lean-to. Built late 18th C.; lean-to added later and recently removed; ruinous. 11 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sec-tions, details).

Glebe House (VA-723), .3 mi. SE of Glebe Creek, .2 mi. W of State Rte. 615, 1.6 mi. NE of State Rte. 5. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear one-story hipped-roof structure connected to main block by hyphen. Built mid 18th C.; alterations and additions 19th and 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1937), 1 int. photo (1937); HABSI (1958).
Page 75

Berkeley

Greenway (VA-23), .3 mi. W of Courthouse Creek, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 5, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 155. Frame with clapboarding, 56'43/4 " (five-bay front) x 1833/4", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; additions. Birthplace and childhood home of President John Tyler. 17 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details of main house; plan, elevation, details of plantation office); 7 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935, 1937), 3 ext. photos, outbuildings (c. 1934, 1935), 2 int. photos (1934); 8 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958). NR

House (Indian Field) (VA-376), exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys with frame pent closet between; rear ell. Side wing built mid 18th C.; later additions. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Indian Field (VA-376), see House (VA-376), Charles City Vicinity.

Lower Weyanoke (VA-290), see Weyanoke (VA-290), Charles City Vicinity.
Page 76

Rowe, The (VA-142), E bank of James River, .2 mi. SW of State Rte. 613, .9 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 623. Frame with clapboarding, three-part composition; central block: rectangular (three-front), two stories, gable roof, one interior chimney, pedimented gable-end front; two flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); 1 data page (1940).

Sherwood Forest (VA-722), 1.5 mi. N of James River, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 5, 2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 619 (Weyanoke Rd.). Frame with clapboarding, seven-part composition; central block: rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; two attached wings: one-and-a-half stories, gable roofs, exterior end chimneys; two hyphens connect outer one-story blocks with the attached wings; outbuildings include dairy and smokehouse. Built late 18th C.; ad-ditions and alterations 19th C. Home of President John Tyler. 2 ext. photos (1937). NR

Greenway
Page 77

Shirley

Shirley (VA-388), .1 mi. E of James River, .4 mi. SW of State Rte. 608, 1.5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 5. Brick, 48'6" square (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, two-level pedimented porticoes on N and S fronts, modillion cornice; four-room plan, extensive interior paneling, suspended stair with scrolled soffit; two brick L-shaped barn dependencies form outer forecourt; frame quarters; brick dove tote, smokehouse, stable, and log shed outbuildings. Dependencies built c. 1740; main house built 1769; porches early 19th C. 3 ext. photos (c. 1934,1935), 8 ext. photos, outbuildings (1934, 1937, 1938), 2 int. photos (1937); 3 data pages (1941). NR

Westover (VA-402), N bank of James River, at E end of State Rte. 33 extended, 2.4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 5. Brick, rectangular (seven-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, steep hipped roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, segmental arched windows, Portland stone entrances; modified center-hall plan, exceptional interiors with imported carved mantels and elaborate plaster ceilings; W wing: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, hyphen connects it to main block; E wing: brick, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, hyphen connects it to main block; two fine wrought-iron entrance gates. Main block built c. 1730 by William Byrd II, but W wing may pre-date it; E wing burned during the Civil War and rebuilt; entire house renovated 1900. 4 ext. photos (1939), 4 int. photos (1939); 1 data page (1940). NR

Weyanoke (Lower Weyanoke) (VA-290), .5 mi. NW of James River, .1 mi. S of S end of State Rte. 619 (Weyanoke Rd.), 4 mi. S of inter-section with State Rte. 5. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan, Chinese Chippendale stair railing; frame two-story wings with con-necting hyphens. Built mid 18th C.; wings added 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937), 1 int. photo (1937); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1958).
Page 79

Westover
Page 80

 

  CHARLOTTESVILLE     Albemarle County (2)

University of Virginia (VA-193), S of intersection of University Ave. and Rugby Rd. The Rotunda: brick (Flemish bond), circular, 77' in meter (five-bay front), with esplanades extending from either side of N and S fronts, two stories above high basement with attic, domed roof, two-story pedimented Corinthian porticoes on N and S fronts, corinthian enlature surrounding entire structure at top of second story, cornice surrounding top of attic; one-room plan, domed room encircled by Corinthian colonnade supporting enlature, two galleries behind colonnade. Begun 1823, completed 1826, Thomas Jefferson, architect; original building destroyed by fire 1895, only brick walls survived; structure as it exists today is the result of the rebuilding (1898-1902) by Stanford White, architect; White's departures from Jefferson's original design include the addition of the N portico, the N esplanades, the E and W colonnades, and the present arrangement of interior. Jefferson's interior consisted of two floors rather than one, with center hall and three oval rooms on the first floor, a circular domed library on the second containing a circular composite colonnade. Two-story annex with Corinthian portico to N front of Rotunda 1853, Robert Mills, architect; destroyed in fire of 1895. Perpendicular to the S front of the Rotunda are four ranges of brick buildings. The two inner ranges each consist of five, two-story pavilions connected by one-story Tuscan colonnades, behind which are individual student rooms. The pavilions vary in design, and each displays one of the three principal orders of Roman architecture. Each was designed to contain a classroom on the first floor, a faculty apartment on the second, an kitchen and service area in the basement. The two outer ranges of buildings each consist of three "Hotels" or dining halls with basement kitchens and service areas. The Hotels are connected by one-story arcades behind which are additional student rooms. Gardens enclosed by serpentine walls placed between the inner and outer ranges of buildings. Together with the Rotunda, this complex of structures formed the original portion of the University of Virginia as designed by Thomas Jefferson. This "Academical Village" served as the prototype for many institutions of higher learning in the United States. The four ranges of buildings were erected 1817-26. In spite of renovations, alterations, and additions, the basic concept and much of the original fabric survive intact. The Rotunda is currently (1974) undergoing restoration to the Jefferson design. 12 ext. photos, including details of pavilions, ranges, and serpentine walls (1933, 1937). NR; NHL
Page 81, good portion of 82

 

  CHARLOTTESVILLE VICINITY Albemarle County (2)

Carrshrook (VA-150), .2 mi. S of South Fork River, .3 mi. NE of State Rte. 631, .4 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 29. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior chimney, pedimented gable-end front, pedimented entrance porch; one-room plan with rear hall connecting with wing; two flanking wings: rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, connected to central block by hyphens. Built 1791; rear additions, renovated. 4 ext. photos (n.d.), 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 data page (1939).

Farmington (Farmington Country Club) (VA-253), 1 mi. SE of Ivy Creek, .7 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 250, .9 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 250-29 Bypass. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan; two-story octagon attached to E side; one two-story room in octagon; hipped roof with deck and pedimented Tuscan portico on E front, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, circular second-floor windows; W service wing. Original block built mid 18th C. with main front facing N; E octagonal addition built c. 1802, Thomas Jefferson, architect, at which time E front became main facade; remodeled mid 19th C.; enlargements and extensive W and S additions 1929 after property was acquired by Farmington Country Club in 1927. 1 ext. photo (1938). NR
Page 82

Carrsbrook

Farmington Country Club (VA-253), see Farmington (VA-253), Charlottesville Vicinity.

Monticello (VA-241), .6 mi. NE of State Rte. 53, 1.2 mi. E of inter-section with State Rte. 20. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond), 110'9" (nine-bay front) x 97'6" with octagonal ended projection in center of W front and recessed portico on E front, octagonal ended projections at each corner connected by enclosed loggias, two stories, deck-on-hip roof with octagonal dome on W front, four interior chimneys, pedimented Doric porticoes on E and W fronts with Doric enlature surrounding entire structure; plan features E entrance hall with drawing room and flanking dining room, bedrooms, study, and library; richly decorated enlature and mantels in entrance hall, drawing room, master bedroom, and dining room; L-shaped esplanades connected to either side of main block which shelter basement, service, and storage areas, esplanades terminated on N by law office and on S by guest cottage. Monticello is an excellent personal expression and record of the taste and skill of its architect-builder-owner: Thomas Jefferson. Guest cottage built 1769-70; main structure evolved to present appearance 1770-1808, Thomas Jefferson, architect; structural renovations made 1953-54. 8 ext. photos (1937, 1940); 1 data page (1940). NR; NHL
Page 83

Monticello

 

  CHATHAM     Pittsylvania County (72)

Pittsylvania County Courthouse (VA-271),.3 mi. W of Tanyard Branch of Cherrystone Creek, E side of intersection of State Rte. 57 and U.S. Rte. 29, .3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 832. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one story above high basement, gable roof, pedimented Doric portico, square clock tower; center courtroom with row of small rooms and offices on either side. Built 1853, L. A. Shumaker, architect. 2 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (1941).

 

  CHERITON VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Eyre Hall (VA-809), .1 mi. N of Eyrehall Creek, 1.2 mi. W of intersection of U.S. Rte. 13 and State Rte. 636, 1.6 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 680. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, three interior end chimneys, one interior chimney, wooden pedimented side porches; side-hall plan; long two-story side wing; nole wooden garden fence and brick and picket garden wall; brick overseer's house and orangery ruins; frame with clapboarding dairy and smokehouse; graveyard. Built mid 18th C.; incorporates earlier building; later additions; overseer's house built late 18th C. 6 ext. photos (1960), 4 ext. photos, orangery ruins (1960), 1 ext. photo, graveyard (1960), ext. photos, overseer's house (1960), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1960), ext. photo, smokehouse (1960), 1 ext. photo, brick wall (1960); ABSI (1958). NR
Page 84

Erye Hall
Page 85

Stratton Manor (VA-545), .2 mi. E of Old Plantation Creek, .4 mi. of State Rte. 642, .3 mi. S of intersection with alternate U.S. Rte. 13. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, full length front porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 18th C.; altered with rear ell and porch additions; recent renovations include replacement of porch and addition of aluminum siding. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  CHESAPEAKE VICINITY

Powers House (VA-228), .8 mi. W of Indian Creek, W side of U.S. Rte. 17, .4 mi. N of intersection with Rte. 614. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; frame rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; later addition; altered. 4 ext. photos (1937, 1940).

Ruins of House (VA-249), exact location unknown. Two exterior end chimneys remain from former frame building. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1937).

 

  CHESCONESSEX VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Ohio (VA-486), see Wise House (VA-486), Chesconessex Vicinity.

Revil (VA-931), see West House (VA-931), Chesconessex Vicinity.

West House (Revil) (VA-931), S side of Deep Creek, .3 mi. NE of State Rte. 657, .3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 656. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends, approx. 32' (four-bay front) x 20', two stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

Wise House (Ohio) (VA-486), SW bank of Deep Creek, .2 mi. NE of State Rte. 656, .1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 657. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends, telescope-type house (ten-bay front), two stories, one-and-a-half stories and one story, gable roof with dormers in center section, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney; irregular plan. Earliest part built mid 18th C.; addition early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1940).
Page 86

 

  CHRIST CHURCH VICINITY     Middlesex County (60)

Christ Church (VA-539), .6 mi. S of Rappahannock River, NE side of State Rte. 638, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 33. Brick Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, semi-circular arched windows; one-room plan, vestibule; wing. Built 1714; considerable rebuilding 1843; renovated in 1900 and 1930's; wing and vestibule additions. 1 ext. photo (c.1934); HABSI (1959).

 

  CHUCKATUCK     Nansemond County (62)

Gateposts (VA-800), exact location unknown, possibly .2 mi. ESE of Godwins Millpond, N side of State Rte. 125, at intersection with State Rte. 1032. Wooden, square posts with finials. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 3 photos (1937).

Quarters, The (VA-199), .2 mi. ESE of Godwins Millpond, N side of State Rte. 125, at intersection with State Rte. 1032. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story above high brick basement, gable roof with overhang, one exterior end chimney. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (n.d.).

Pembroke (VA-181), .1 mi. NW of Nansemond River, S side of State Rte. 603, 1.9 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 1032. Brick, U-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, four interior end chimneys, porch on land front; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; interior burned during War of 1812; renovated and restored 1940, now has gable dormers, interior woodwork replaced, land front porch filled in as cross hall, screen porch added on river front. 5 sheets (1929, including plans, elevations, conjectural restoration); 5 ext. photos (1937, n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  CHURCHVIEW VICINITY     Middlesex County (60)

House (VA-517), near La Grange Creek, exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, one interior end chimney, rear lean-to. Built early 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations; ruinous 1940; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).

La Grange (VA-516), near La Grange Creek, exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys pent closets; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 photo (1940).
Page 87

 

  CLAREMONT VICINITY Surry County (91)

Brickwork (VA-390), see House (VA-390), Claremont Vicinity.

Claremont Manor Office (VA-430), .2 mi. S of the mouth of Upper Chippokes Creek on the James River, 1.1 mi. NW of State Rte. 61 .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 609. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, one interior corner chimney, mo-dillion cornice. Built early 18th C.; altered. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

House (Brickwork) (VA-390), 1 mi. S of Upper Chippokes Creek, E side of State Rte. 10, SE of intersection with State Rte. 613. Frame with clapboarding and brick nogging, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above brick (English bond), foundation, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, some Dutch sized brick (1 3/4" x 7 1/4" x 3 1/2") in chimneys, some oversized brick in foundation (3" x 9" x 4 1/4"). Built early 18th C. 1 ext. photo, foundation wall (c. 1934).

Hotel Cottages
Page 88

 

  CLARKSVILLE VICINITY       Mecklenburg County (59)

Hotel Cottages (VA-186), .5 mi. W of Buffalo Creek, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 767, .2 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 58. Frame with clapboarding, line of double unit cottages each being rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, central chimney. Built early 9th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1958).

Prestwould (VA-320), .1 mi. N of Roanoke River, .7 mi. SW of U.S. Rte. 15, .4 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 49. Stone ashlar, rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior stone chimneys, modillion cornice; symmetrical six-room plan, central south stair hall, fine wallpapers. Built c. 1765; front and side porch additions. 3 ext. photos (1939), 1 ext. photo, outbuildings (1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  CLEAR BROOK VICINITY      Frederick County (35)

Hopewell Friends Meeting House (VA-693), 2 mi. S of W. Va. line, S side of State Rte. 672, .5 mi. W of intersection with Interstate 81. Random rubble, 63'3" (six-bay front) x 44'3", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one interior chimney; one-room plan. Built 1759-61; additions 1788-94. 8 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, sections, detail); 10 data pages (1972).

 

  CLIFFORD     Amherst County (5)

Brick House (VA-54), 1.7 mi. NE of Buffalo River, E side of State Rte. 151, 1.6 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 29. Brick, rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central projecting pedimented portico, four exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; entrance vestibule with three rooms; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions. 2 ext. photos (1936); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1957).

 

  COLONIAL HEIGHTS     Chesterfield County (21)

Archer's Hill (Oak Hill, Hector's Hill, Dunn's Hill) (VA-135), .2 mi. NW of Appomattox River, W end of Carroll Ave. Frame with clap-boarding, H-shaped (seven-bay front), filled into approx. rectangle, one story, hipped roof, two exterior end chimneys, three-part bow ends on S front, four interior chimneys, front and side porches, fine fanlight entrance motif. Built c. 1810. 5 ext. photos (1935), 1 int. photo (1935); 1 data page (1939).
Page 89

Dunn's Hill (VA-135), see Archer's Hill (Oak Hill, Hector's Hill Dunn's Hill) (VA-135), Colonial Heights.

Hector's Hill (VA-135), see Archer's Hill (Oak Hill, Hector's Hill, Dunn's Hill) (VA-135), Colonial Heights.

Oak Hill (VA-135), see Archer's Hill (Oak Hill, Hector's Hill, Dunn's Hill (VN-135), Colonial Heights.

Violet Bank (VA-322), .3 mi. NW of Appomattox River, between Royal Oak and Virginia Aves., N of Jackson Ave., one block E of U.S Rte. 1. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one story, hipped roof, two exterior chimneys, two projecting three part bows at either side of central entrance porch, center-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions. 3 ext. photos (1935); 5 int. photos (1935); 1 data page (1941).

 

  CRADDOCKVILLE Accomack County (1)

Hermitage (VA-483), E bank of Craddock Creek, .6 mi. W of State Rte. 615, .6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 752. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan, nole original interior woodwork. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 2 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  CRADDOCKVILLE VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Hedra Cottage (VA-484), E bank of Scarborough Cut, .3 mi. S of State Rte. 611, .8 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 612. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, side-hall plan; one-and-a-half story wing connected to side of house by one-story hyphen. Built early 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  CROAKER VICINITY     James City County (48)

Richardson House (VA-366), 1.2 mi. from Croaker, exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, 31'4" (three-bay front) x 26'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one brick exterior end chimney; side-hall plan, Chinese Chippendale motif stair railing. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 7 sheets (1933, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1934, 1935), 2 int. photos (1934); 1 data page (1941).
Page 90

 

  CUMBERLAND Cumberland County (25)

Cumberland County Courthouse and Clerk's Office (VA-192), .5 mi. f NW tributary of Little Guinea Creek, NW side of U.S. Rte. 60, site intersection with State Rte. 600. Brick, rectangular (five-bay ), one story, gable roof, pedimented Doric portico; large court room with two western offices; Clerk's Office: brick, rectangular -bay front), one story, gable roof, pedimented Doric entrance porch. Built early 19th C.; rear addition to Clerk's Office. 4 ext. photos (1939); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1957).

Cumberland County Courthouse and Clerk's Office

 

  CUMBERLAND VICINITY     Cumberland County (25)

Covered Bridge (Trent's Bridge) (VA-13), on Willis River, S corner of intersection of State Rtes. 650 and 622. Frame with batten walls and stone abutments on each bank, interior cross bracing, gable roof, ex-tension of roof as a canopy at both ends of bridge supported by projecting timbers. Built early 19th C. 2 sheets (1934, including plan, elevations, sections); 1 ext. photo (1934), 1 int. photo (1934); 1 data page (1936).

Trent's Bridge (VA-13), see Covered Bridge (VA-13), Cumberland Vicinity.
Page 91

Covered Bridge

 

  DANVILLE VICINITY Pittsylvania County (72)

Dan's Hill (VA-24), .4 mi. N of Dan River, .6 mi. SW of S end of State Rte. 1011, .3 mi. S of intersection of U.S. Rte. 58. Brick, 61'8" (five-bay front) x 41', two stories, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys, two Doric entrance porches; center-hall plan, fine interior moldings; side lean-to wing; orangery, smokehouses, kitchen, dairy, privy, and summerhouse outbuildings. Built 1833; later addition. 3 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 6 ext. photos (1934), 6 int. photos (1934); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  DELAPLANE VICINITY     Fauquier County (31)

Oak Hill (VA-5), 1.6 mi. S of Goose Creek, .2 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 17, .9 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 713. Frame with clapboarding, 32`3" (five-bay front) x 302", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan, nole interior trim. Built late 18th C.; enlarged 1818, by the construction of an addition adjacent to the frame structure: brick with stucco, 40'2" (three-bay front) x 37'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, pedimented gable entrance facade with modillion cornice and window bays in recessed panels giving effect of being set between engaged pilasters; cross-hall plan, nole interior trim. 34 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1934), 3 int. photos (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI 58).
Page 92

 

  DENDRON VICINITY     Surry County (91)

Crump House (VA-233), see House (VA-233), Dendron Vicinity.

House (Crump House) (VA-233), .5 mi. S of Blackwater River, .1 mi. of State Rte. 617, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 618. Frame with clapboarding, two units, S unit: rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, exterior end chimney; one-room plan; rear lean-to with exterior end chimney and rear ell; N unit: rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, exterior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; altered and enlarged. 1 ext. photo (1938).

 

  DILLWYN VICINITY Buckingham County (15)

Bellmont (VA-14), .1 mi. S of Hatcher Creek, .5 mi. N of State Rte. 667, .3 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 650. Frame with clapboarding, 44' (five bay front) x 28'5", one and a half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys; T-shaped hall with four rooms; side wing. Built mid 18th C.; addition subsequently destroyed. 4 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 3 ext. photos (1934); 2 data pages (1936).

 

  DINWIDDIE     Dinwiddie County (21)

Kingston (VA-384), .8 mi. W of Millrun Branch, .2 mi. W of State Rte. 619, .4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 40. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornices; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1936); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1959).

 

  DINWIDDIE VICINITY     Dinwiddie County (27)

Burnt Quarter (VA-386), .5 mi. NE of Wheelers Pond, .6 mi. S of State Rte. 613, .3 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 627. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two exterior end chimneys; side-hall plan; rear ell; flanking wings: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers. Built late 18th C.; additions early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1959). NR

Plank House (VA-314), .7 mi. W of Stony Creek, N side of State Rte. 647, .4 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 656. Planks half-dovetailed at corners, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, frame gable ends above eaves, stone and brick exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1959).

 

  DITCHLEY Northumberland County (67)

Ditchley (VA-308), S bank of Dividing Creek, N side of State Rte. 607, 1.5 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 200. Brick (Flemish bond), 57' (five-bay front) x 36', two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick water le and belt course, rubbed brick dressings, pedimented one-story wooden entrance porches on front and rear elevations; center-hall plan, nole interior trim including stair, dado, denticulated cornice, mantel pieces, and paneled arched alcoves; side wings. Built mid 18th C.; later additions. 5 ext. photos (1929, 1940), 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1940), 13 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (1941); HABSI's (1957, 1958).

 

  DUMFRIES     Prince William County (76)

Dumfries House (VA-826), see Williams' Ordinary (Old Hotel) (VA-826), Dumfries.
Page 94

House (Va-827), N side Main St. (U.S. Rte. 1, S), .3 mi. SW intersection of Jefferson Davis Hwy. (U.S. Rte. 1, N). Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (3 bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior chimney. Built late 18th C. or early 19th C.; later porch and lean-to additions; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Merchent House (VA-91), N side Main St. (U.S. Rte. 1, S), .2 mi. SW of intersection of Jefferson Davis Hwy. (U.S. Rte. l, N). Frame with rusticated wooden siding on front and rear elevations to resemble stone, clapboarding on gable ends, 24'6" (three-bay front) x 16'6", one story above raised stone basement, gable roof, unusual T-shaped brick exterior end chimney with narrow arch between two of the three flues above the level of the roof ridge; side-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; demolished c. 1940. 14 sheets (1935, including plans, ele-vations, sections, details, conjectural restoration); 10 ext. photos (1934, 1935, 1936, 1937), 3 int. photos (1936); 4 data pages (c. 1935).

Merchent House

Page 95

Merchent House

Page 96

Old Hotel (VA-178), see William's Ordinary (Dumfries House) (VA-826), Dumfries.

Tebbs-Mundy House (VA-178), N side Main St. (U.S. Rte. 1, S), .3 mi. SW of intersection of Jefferson Davis Hwy. (U.S. Rte. 1, N). Brick (all header bond E front), rectangular (five bay front), two stories above raised basement, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, modillion cornice, stone steps leading to pilastered entrance, stone quoins, window and door trim, belt courses and foundations; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; demolished 1933. 2 sheets (1932, including plans, elevations); 1 ext. photo (c. 1900); 2 data pages (1941).

Williams' Ordinary (Old Hotel, Dumfries House) (VA-826), N side Main St. (U.S. Rte. 1, S), .2 mi. SE of intersection of Jefferson Davis Hwy. (U.S. Rte. 1, N). Brick (all header bond E front), stone quoins, window lintels and doorway, rectangular (five bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; four-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; extensive later alterations to interior. 2 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959). NR

 

  DUMFRIES VICINITY      Prince William County (76)

Leesylvania (VA-281), between Neabsco and Powells Creeks, .5 mi. S of State Rte. 610 in path of powerline right-of-way, .3 mi. E of inter-section with U.S. Rte. 1. Brick and stone foundation and chimney ruins, probably of the 19th C. Fairfax House. Built 1825; burned 1910. 2 ext. photos (1936).

 

  DUNNSVILLE VICINITY Essex County (29)

Bathurst (VA-129), S bank of Piscataway Creek, .6 mi. N of State Rte. 662, 1.4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clapboarding, T-shaped (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers; two exterior end T-shaped chimneys, one interior chimney, covered porch across front; center-hall plan, nole interior trim; square frame, dairy and smokehouse with pyramidal roofs, dairy with brick nogging between studs. Built c. 1700, interiors removed; demolished c. 1937. 10 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details), 1 sheet (1936, outbuildings); 4 ext. photos (1936), 2 ext. photos, dairy and smokehouse (1936); 1 photocopy (n.d.); 6 data pages (1936).
Page 97

Cessford

Ben Lomond (VA-730), 1.3 mi. W of Rappahannock River, .3 mi. NE of U.S. Rte. 17, 1.2 mi. S of intersection of State Rte. 611. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories above raised basement, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, one-story wooden Doric entrance porch with flat roof and balustrade; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; enlarged mid 19th C.; restored 1954. 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  EASTVILLE     Northampton County (66)

Cessford (VA-808), .9 mi. SE of the Gulf, W side of U.S. Rte. 13, .2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 631. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, three interior end chimneys, modillion cornice with dentils, denticulated barge boards, pedimented Tuscan entrance porch; center-hall plan, nole early wallpaper; flanking two-story wing. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 5 ext. photos (1960), 6 int. photos (1960); HABSI (1958).
Page 98

Courthouse Group (VA-594), 1 mi. E of the Gulf, W side of U.S. Rte. 13, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 631.

Old Courthouse. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed header rows following rake of roof on rear gable end), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, windows on gable ends above eaves, one exterior end chimney. Built mid 18th C.; new courthouse built 1795, and the old one probably used for a storehouse after that date; moved and renovated 1913, front wall replaced.

Old Clerk's Office. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney. Built mid 18th C.; renovated.

Old Debtor's Prison. Brick, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof. Built early 19th C.

Commercial Building. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, gable-end front, first-floor store front. Built early 19th C.; altered.

Taylor House (Eastville Inn). Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (eight-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, full-length one-story front porch; side wing: rear ell. Built late 18th C.; enlarged and altered. 8 ext. photos (1960); 6 data pages (1960); HABSI (1958).

Eastville Inn (VA-594), see Courthouse Group: Taylor House (VA594), Eastville.

 

  EASTVILLE VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Caserta (VA-591), S bank of Mattawoman Creek, 1.2 mi. N of State Rte. 630, 1 mi. NW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding with brick gable end, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney, roof over side hall raised to accommodate the extension of hall beyond rear wall; side-hall plan; rear ell; kitchen: frame, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, exterior end chimney, connected to main block by one-and-a-half story fivebay hyphen. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 2 ext. photos (1960), 2 ext. photos, ice house (1960), 1 int. photo, ice house (1960); 3 data pages (1960). NR

Cherry Grove (VA-592), .1 mi. W of Cherrystone Inlet, .4 mi. SE of State Rte. 634, 2.6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 666. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories gambrel roof with dormers, splayed caves, two interior end chimneys modillion cornice; center-hall plan, some original paneling; wing. Built mid 18th C.; later addition. 3 ext. photos (1960), 1 int. photo (1960) 3 data pages (1960).
Page 99

Hollybrook (VA-593), 1 mi. SE of Mattawoman Creek, .1 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 13, .8 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 630. Brick' with frame front, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; two-room plan, central entrance vestibule with stair hall behind; rear ell; one-story side kitchen wing connected to main block by colonnade. Built late 18th C.; later additions including entrance vestibule. 5 ext. photos (1960), 6 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960).

Kendall Grove

Page 100

Kendall Grove

Kendall Grove (VA-807), E bank of Mattawoman Creek, NW end of State Rte. 674, 1.2 mi. NW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding, cross-shaped (nine-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys, advanced central pedimented bays front and rear with semi-circular glazed lunettes in pediments, modillion cornice, one-story flat roofed entrance porches on central bays, four pedimented tctrastyle one-story entrance porches on front and rear of lower two-story wings which flank the principal mass; cross-hall plan, nole interior trim; kitchen: frame with clapboarding, one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, connected to main house by long one-story covered passageway on open-arched brick foundations; three frame service dependencies with pyramidal roofs flank the main house, opposite the kitchen passageway. Built c. 1800. 10 ext. photos, main house (1960), 2 ext. photos, kitchen (1960), 1 ext. photo, passageway (1960), 1 ext. photo, service dependencies (1960), 3 int. photos, main house (1960), 1 int. photo, kitchen (1960), 3 int. photos, passageway (1960).
Page 101

Piney Branch Water Mill

 

  ELLISTON VICINITY     Montgomery County (61)

Fotheringay (VA-348), .5 mi. E of S fork (of Roanoke River), .2 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 11, 1.4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 631. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, hipped eastern end, two exterior end and one interior chimney, two-level portico with pediment; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; western two bays added. 1 ext. photos (1940), 1 ext. photo, outbuilding (1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  EMMERTON VICINITY Richmond County (80)

Elmore House (VA-63), S side State Rte. 3, approx. 5 mi. S of Warsaw, exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-hay front), one story with attic, gable roof, one large exterior end stone chimney; two-room plan with corner fireplaces. Built mid 8th C.; ruinous 1937; demolished. 1 sheet (1937, including plan, elevations); 6 ext. photos (1934, 1937).
Page 102

 

  EXMORE VICINITY Northampton County (66)

Tankard's Rest (VA-806), .4 mi. E of eastern tributary of Nassawadox Creek, .1 mi. S of intersection of State Rtes. 618 and 604, .6 mi. SW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Brick with frame front, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney; irregular plan; kitchen wing: brick with frame front, one story, gable roof; three one-story outbuildings. Built late 18th C.; destroyed. 5 ext. photos (1940).

 

  FAIRFAX VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Hope Park (VA-107), 11807 Popes Head Rd. Frame with clapboarding, original section 32'6" (three-bay front) x 27', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; centerhall plan. Built mid 18th C.; outbuildings 18th C.; additions and alterations mid 19th C. 6 sheets (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos, main house (1936), 2 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936), 2 int. photos, main house (1936); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Hope Park Mill (VA-741), see Piney Branch Water Mill (Robey's Mill) (VA-741), Fairfax Vicinity.

Innisfail (VA-279), see Stone House (VA-279), Fairfax Vicinity.

Piney Branch Water Mill (Hope Park Mill, Robey's Mill) (VA-741), 1212 Popes Head Rd. Frame with clapboarding and vertical plank siding, rectangular, one story with loft above raised stone basement, gable roof, wooden wheel and millrace. Built early 19th C. 5 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections); 3 ext photos (1936); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Robey's Mill (VA-741), see Piney Branch Water Mill (Hope Park Mill) (VA-741), Fairfax Vicinity.

Stone House (Innisfail) (VA-279), 11800 Fairfax Station Rd. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two stone interior end chimneys; rectangular plan, rear ell. Built early 19th C.; stone lean-to removed and rear ell added mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1969).
Page 103

 

  FALLS CHURCH

Bartlett-Lawton House (Home Hill) (VA-732), 203 Lawton St. Frame with clapboarding, T-shaped (four-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, one-story wooden entrance porch on three sides; cross-hall plan; side wing. Built mid 19th C. 2 ext. photo (1967), 5 int. photos (1967); HABSI's (1958, 1967).

Cherry Hill (VA-733), 312 Park Ave. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior chimney, one exterior end chimney, one-story wooden entrance porch across full width of house; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations mid 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1967), 8 int. photos (1967); HABSI (1967).

Crossman House (VA-734), 421 N. Washington St. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, decorated barge boards, one-story entrance porch with scrollwork decoration; center-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1967).

Dulin House (VA-278), site on Graham Rd. Brick, rectangular (threebay front), two stories, gable roof, sawtooth brick cornice, two interior chimneys with parapet; side-hall plan; ruins of kitchen, kitchen fireplace, and connecting hyphen. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1936).

Falls Church (Episcopal) (VA-288), 115 E. Fairfax St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five bays x three bays), two stories, hipped roof, modillion cornice, rectilinear windows below, arched windows above, rubbed brick dressings, molded brick water le, brick pediment and pilasters frame W doorway, wooden pediment and pilasters frame S doorway; open plan. Built 1767-69, James Wren, architect and builder; later renovations 1823, 1866, 1905; E end of church substantially altered by connection to parish house 1959. 4 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 1 int. photocopy (1861-65); HABSI (1958). NR

Home Hill (VA-732), see Bartlett-Lawton House (VA-732), Falls Church.

House (VA-736), 170 E. Broad St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; modified two-room plan; one-story lean-to; two-story side wing. Built late 18th C.; extensive additions and alterations mid 19th C. and early 20th C.; demolished 1967. 3 ext. photos (1967), 6 int. photos (1967).
Page 104

House (VA-735), SW corner of intersection of Great Falls and Little Falls Sts. Frame with clapboarding, T-shaped with octagonal corner tower (five-bay front, including tower), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormer, cross gables, two interior chimneys, projecting bay center of S front, one-story spindlework porch on two sides. Built late 19th C.; demolished 1967, 1 ext. photo (1967).

Pond-Copeland House (VA-737), 407 E. Columbia St. Frame with asbestos siding, L-shaped (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one-story wooden entrance porch with scrollwork decoration; irregular plan. Built late 19th C.; extensive later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1967).

Pope, Loren B., House (VA-638), see Pope-Leighey House (VA-638), Mount Vernon Vicinity, Fairfax Co.

Rollins, George F., House (VA-738), 109 E. Columbia St. Frame with clapboarding and shingles, modified L-shaped (three-bay front), twoand-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, one interior end chimney, one-story wooden porch, projecting front bay semi-octagonal first story, semi-circular second story with shingle siding; cross-hall plan. Built late 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1967), 3 int. photos (1967).

 

  FALMOUTH     Stafford County (90)

House (VA-264), 121 Prince St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys on one end, small entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built late 18th C. or early 19th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1939).

Union Church, Facade (VA-203), S side of Carter St., 1 block E of intersection with U.S. Rte. l. Brick, two-bay front, one story, gable roof, rectangular belfry, double entrance doors, semi-circular lights above doors; Latin-cross plan. Built mid 19th C.; only the facade remains following damage to the structure 1948. 2 ext. photos (1939); HABSI (1958).
Page 105

George F. Rollins House

 

  FALMOUTH VICINITY     Stafford County (90)

Chatham (VA-339), .1 mi. NE of Rappahannock River, .1 mi. NE of State Rte. 607, .1 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 3. Brick, five-part composition, central block: rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; flanking symmetrical wings: one story, hipped roofs, interior chimneys, connected to main house by one-story hyphens. Built c. 1769; extensive alterations including the removal of pedimented two-story porch from main house and pedimented porches from connecting hyphens early 20th C. 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1865); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1957).

 

  FARNHAM      Richmond County (80)

Linden Farm (VA-566), .3 mi. S of headwater tributary of Totusky Creek, N side of State Rte. 3, .5 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 607. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, center-hall plan. Built early 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1958).
Page 106

North Farnham Episcopal Church (VA-562),.9 mi. E of Bookers Mill Stream, E intersection of State Rtes. 607 and 602. Brick (Flemish bond), cross-shaped (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice, arched windows, entrance doorways with molded brick pediments and round gallery windows above; one-room plan with balconies. Built mid 18th C.; vandalized 1780; restored c. 1835; burned 1887; partially restored 1924. ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  FISHERSVILLE VICINITY     Augusta County (8)

Trinkling Spring Church (VA-718), S bank of E tributary of Goose Creek, E side of State Rte. 608, .l mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 631. Brick, 61'10" (four-bay lateral facade) x 44'8", one story, hipped roof, Doric distyle-in-antis entrance, shallow antae projections; one-room plan. Built 1850; altered 1890; later rear additions. 5 sheets ;(1962, including plot plan, plan, elevations); HABSI (1957).

Poplar Forest
Page 107

 

  FOREST VICINITY     Bedford County (10)
Page 10

Poplar Forest (VA-303), .2 mi. N of Timber Lake, .9 mi. S of Stat Rte. 661, .5 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 460. Brick, octagonal (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, two-and-a-half stories in rear due to slope of ground, hipped roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, two Tuscan porticoes supported by brick arcades; central salon with surrounding rooms; two brick octagonal privies with domi. cal roofs; two brick two-story servants' quarters with gable roofs; brick smokehouse with pyramidal roof; brick kitchen with gable roof. Built 1806 by Thomas Jefferson as his summer retreat; roof and interior trim burned c. 1840 and rebuilt. 9 ext. photos including out-buildings (1940), 3 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

Poplar Forest

Page 108

 

  FORT DEFIANCE     Augusta County (8)

Old Stone Church (VA-10), 1.1 mi. SE of Mt. Pisgah, W side of U.S. Rte. 11, .2 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 616. Random-laid stone, cruciform (five-bay front), one story, gable roof with jerkin-heads, spire at crossing, stone arched entrance porch; NE of church is stone, one-story session house. Built c. 1747; originally stone, approx. 40' (two-bay front) x 50', one story, gable roof with jerkin-heads; enlarged structure dedicated January 22, 1922. 9 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details of church and session house); 2 ext. photos (1934); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).

Old Stone Church

Page 109

 

  FREDERICKSBURG

Brompton (VA-569), Marye's Heights, SE corner of intersection of Sunken Rd. and Hanover St. Brick, temple form (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, pedimented Ionic tetrastyle portico with semi-circular lunette, modillion cornice, center entrance with fanlight and side lights; cross-hall plan; symmetrical one-story flanking wings; frame outbuilding connected to E wing by enclosed passageway. Built 1831; outbuilding mid 19th C.; flat roof of portico changed to pedimented gable late 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 7 sheets (n.d., including plans, elevations, section); 2 ext. photos (1934), 1 int. photo (1934); HABSI (1957).

Federal Hill, Summer House (VA-4), 510 Hanover St. Frame with horizontal planks and louvers, one story above stone foundation, bell-shaped roof; double louvered doors; octagonal plan. Built late 18th C.; restored. 1 sheet (1934, including plan, elevations, section); 1 ext. photo (1934); 3 data pages (1936).

House (VA-204), 100 Hanover St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys. Built late 18th C.; later alterations; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939).

House (Old Long House) (VA-263), 607 Sophia St. Frame with clap-boarding covered with asbestos shingles, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three exterior end chimneys, front and rear porches; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; later addition and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1939).

Houses (VA-206), 307-13 Sophia St. Brick, four units joined by party walls, two of one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney; two of two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney. Built early 19th C.; frame lean-to additions; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1939).

Houses (VA-205), 511-19 Sophia St. Brick, five units joined by party walls, rectangular (ten-bay common front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three interior chimneys. Built late 18th C.; later alterations; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939).

Houses (VA-207), 710-16 Sophia St. S building: frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, flat roof. Built early 19th C.; demolished. N building: brick, rectangular, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; one-story rear addition. Built early 19th C.; later alterations and additions; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939).
Page 110

Houses, 307-13 Sophia Street

Kenmore (VA-305), 1201 Washington Ave. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof with jerkinheads, four interior end chimneys, string course and water le, modillion cornice; modified center-hall plan, exceptionally fine interior woodwork and plasterwork ceilings, cornices, and mantel pieces; flanking dependencies. Built 1752 for Col. Fielding Lewis and Betty Washington Lewis, George Washington's sister; restoration begun 1922; original frame dependencies reconstructed in brick. 10 ext. photos, main house (1939, 1940), 1 ext. photo, kitchen (1940), 1 ext. photo, office (1940), 17 int. photos, main house (1939, 1940), 1 int. photo, kitchen (1940); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958). NR

Old Long House (VA-263), see House (VA-263), Fredericksburg.

Rising Sun Tavern (VA-1), 1 306 Caroline St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, 46'5" (five-bay front) x 30'5", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, two interior end chimneys, pedimented entrance porch; modified center-hall plan, nole interior trim. Built c. 1760; later rear addition; restored 1956.6 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plans, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos (1934), 5 int. photos (1934); 6 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 111

Sentry Box (VA-300), 133 Caroline St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, pedimented entrance porch, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations and additions; renovated 1967. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Stone Warehouse (VA-262), 915 Sophia St. Museum. Irregular ashlar, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one-room plan. Built early 18th C.; used as warehouse and as jail; first floor of exterior hidden by landfill for bridge approach; partially restored. 1 ext. photo (1939); HABSI (1957).

Washington, Mary, House (VA-2), 1200 Charles St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding and brick, 101'2" (nine-bay front) x 36'4", one-and-a-half and two stories, gable roof with dormers over one-and-a-half story portions, gable roof over two-story portion, three interior end chimneys, one interior chimney; irregular plan. Built mid 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations; restored 1929. Purchased in 1 772 by George Washington for his mother. 12 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details of house, plan and elevation of kitchen); 4 ext. photos, house (1934), 1 ext. photo, kitchen (1934), 5 int. photos, house (1934), 1 int. photo, kitchen (1934); 4 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Mary Washington House

Page 112

 

  FREDERICKSBURG VICINITY     Spotsylvania County (89)

Fredericksburg Country Club(VA-570), see Smithfield Hall (VA-f Fredericksburg Vicinity.

Mannsfield (VA-122), .1 mi. W of Rappahannock River, .4 mi. N U.S. Rte. 17, .3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 1303. Ruins remain from original stone ashlar structure, 68'4" (five-bay front x 47'113/4", two stories, forecourt formed by two dependencies curving connections, conjectural restoration indicates pedimented central pavilion, modillion cornice, hip-on-hip roof, and quoin Built mid 18th C.; destroyed in the Fredericksburg campaign Civil War, 1862-63; site excavated 1934. 27 sheets (1935, 1940, including archeological remains, plans, elevations, sections, perspective, details, hardware); 36 ext. photos, including photocopies of sketch (n.d., c. 1934, 1935, 1938); 6 photos, artifacts (1935); 12 data pages (n.d. 1935, 1937).

Salem Church (VA-640), 1.4 mi. S of Rappahannock River, S side State Rte. 3, SE corner of intersection with State Rte. 639, .2 mi of intersection with State Rte. 745. Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania County Battlefields Memorial National Military Park. Brick, (three-bay lateral facade) x 38'1", two stories (auditorium with balcony), gable roof, three interior chimneys; one-room plan balcony. Built 1844, minor alterations 1890, 1929, 1935, 1940, 10 sheets (1966, including plans, elevations, sections, details).
Page 113

Mannsfield

Mannsfield

Smithfield Hall (Fredericksburg Country Club) (VA-570), .2 mi. SW of Rappahannock River, .4 mi. NE of U.S. Rte. 17, 1.2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 1303. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, three-bay two-story pedimented Roman Ionic portico; flanking two-story hipped roof wings. Built 1805; later additions. 2 ext. photos (c. 1934); HABSI (1957).

Steiger House (VA-369), 1.3 mi. S of Rappahannock River, N side of State Rte. 3, .8 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 639. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, exterior end chimney; side wing: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built early 19th C.; addition; demolished 1951. 2 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (c. 1935).
Page 114

 

  FREDERICKSBURG VICINITY     Stafford County (90)

Ferry Farm, Surveying Office (Washington's Surveying Office) (VA-90), 712 Kings Hwy (State Rte. 3). Museum. Frame with clapboarding, 12'8" (two-bay front) x 13'2", one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built probably mid 18th C.; restored mid 20th C. Traditionally said to be one of two structures remaining from the original Ferry Farm complex, an early home of George Washington. 7 sheets (1935, including plan, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (n.d.).     NR

Lansdowne, Smokehouse (VA-368), 571 Lansdowne Rd. (State Rte. 638). Frame with clapboarding, square (one-bay front), one story, pyramidal roof, door with wooden hinges; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (n.d.), 1 int. photo (n.d.).

Washington's Surveying Office (VA-90), see Ferry Farm, Surveying Office (VA-90), Fredericksburg Vicinity.

 

  FRONT ROYAL VICINITY     Warren County (94)

Mt. Zion (VA-357), .1 mi. SW of Bordens Marsh Run, NW side of State Rte. 624, opposite intersection with State Rte. 642. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, Palladian window over entrance door; center-hall plan, nole interior trim including triple arch in front hall, elaborately carved mantels and overmantels with dog-ear motif, garlands, masks, and foliated pulvinated frieze; two-story frame side wing; stone outbuildings. Built 1769-71; later additions. 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 ext. photo, stone outbuilding (1936); 1 data page (1941). NR

 

  GAINESVILLE VICINITY     Prince William County (76)

Chinn House (VA-138), W side of Chinn's Branch, .6 mi. W of State Rte. 234, 1.6 mi. SW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 29, Manassas National Battlefield Park. Frame with clapboarding, 52'11" (five-bay front) x 28'7", two stories, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; razed to foundation level 1951. The structure was used as a hospital during both battles of Manassas 1861, 1862. 3 sheets (1959, including plot plan, plan, elevations of foundation); 7 ext. photos, house (1936), 7 ext. photos, foundations (1959); 2 data pages (1959).
Page 115

Mt. Zion

Page pictures do not match in book and website

Dogan House (VA-581), .8 mi. N of Young's Branch, NW corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 29 and State Rte. 622, Manassas National Battlefield Park. Historic house museum. Log and frame, two units connected by passageway, 37'3" (both units) x 13'7", one story, gable roof, one stone interior chimney serving both units; two-room plan. Nucleus built early 19th C.; lean-to addition built late 19th C. and removed 1946; original two units restored 1960. 3 sheets (1959, including plot plans, plans, elevations, details); 26 ext. photos (1936, 1959), 13 int. photos (1959); 3 data pages (1959).

 

  GLEN ALLEN VICINITY     Henrico County (44)

Quarters Cabin (VA-222),.5 mi. E of Big Swamp, .2 mi. W of Gayton Rd., 2.1 mi. S of intersection of U.S. Rte. 250. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, two front entrances; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1940).
Page 116

Dogan House

 

  GLOUCESTER     Gloucester County (37)

Botetourt Hotel (VA-513), .5 mi. SW of Beaverdam Swamp, N side of U.S. Rte. 17, opposite intersection with State Rte. 1010. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior chim-ney, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice; three-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; altered and enlarged mid 19th C.; restored 1968. 2 ext. photos (1934, 1937); HABSI (1959).

Gloucester County Courthouse (VA-511), Court Square. Brick, T-shaped (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney, modillion cornice, arched windows, brick water le, pedimented Ionic tetrastyle portico; two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; portico added and interior altered 1894; interior renovated 1956. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1959).

Longbridge Ordinary (VA-512), .2 mi. S of Beaverdam Swamp, NE corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 17 and State Rte. 14. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, exterior end chimney, covered porch; side-hall plan; lean-to wings. Built mid 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1959).
Page 117

 

  GLOUCESTER VICINITY     Gloucester County

Abingdon Glebe (VA-746), 1.8 mi. S of Fox Mill Run, .3 mi. W, U.S. Rte. 17, .6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 615. B (Flemish bond),-T-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half story gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney, main front is one-and-a-half stories for three of bays, end bays form one-story hipped roof extensions with common cornice with central bays; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; extensive alterations mid 20th C. 8 ext. photos (1934, 1937); HA (1959). NR

Belroi (Walter Reed Birthplace) (VA-57), 1 mi. NW of Leigh Pond, NW corner of intersection of State Rtes. 614 and 616. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built early 19th C.; restored 1927. Belroi is the birthplace of Dr. Walter Reed, 1851-1902. 2 ext. photos (1937); 2 data pages (1937); HABSI (1959).

Walter Reed Birthplace (VA-57), see Belroi (VA-57), Gloucester Vicinity.

 

  GOOCHLAND     Goochland County (38)

Goochland County Courthouse (VA-224), .2 mi. W of Courthouse Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 6, .8 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 522. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, gable-end front, pedimented Tuscan portico, two interior end chimneys; one-room plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1957). NR

Lawyer's Office (VA-225), .3 mi. W of Courthouse Creek, E side of U.S. Rte. 522, .1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 631. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys. Built early 19th. C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).

Ware Church (VA-408), .9 mi. NE of Beaverdam Swamp, SE side of State Rte. 3, 1.1 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 17. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay lateral front), one story, gable roof, modillion cornice, arched windows, arched entrance door in gable end with semi-circular gauged and rubbed brick architrave; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; roof altered and interior damaged c. 1865; partially restored 1929. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1937), 2 photos, brick churchyard wall (1934) ; 1 data page (1941) ; HABSI (1959).
Page 118

Ware Church

 

  GRAFTON VICINITY     York County (100)

York County Poor Farm, Dairy and House (VA-84), .2 mi. E of Harwoods Mill Reservoir, E side of U.S. Rte. 17, .6 mi. S of inter-section with State Rtes. 614 and 173. Dairy: frame with clapboarding, 12'3" (one-bay front) x 12'3", one story, pyramidal roof with marked overhang, plastered cove cornice, ventilated fretwork frieze; one-room plan; house: frame with clapboarding, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer. Built early 19th C.; ruinous. 1 sheet, dairy (1934, including plan, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos, dairy (1934); HABSI, house (1958).

 

  GREAT FALLS VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

Colvin Run Mill(VA-502), 10017 Colvin Run Rd. Brick and stone, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories with loft, gable roof, one interior end chimney; open plan. Built c. 1820; restored, S wall and much of the interior reconstructed 1969. 1 ext. photo (1935); HABSI's (1957, 1969).
Page 119

Colvin Run Miller's House (VA-742), 10015 Colvin Run Rd. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built c. 1810; later frame addition; extensive renovation 1968; one-and-a-half story frame addition 1969. 1 ext. photo (1935); HABSI's (1957, 1969).

 

  GREENBUSH VICINITY     Accomack County
Page 120

Bull-Coard House (VA-493), .1 mi. S of Coards Branch of Drummond Pond, E side of State Rte. 764, .7 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 659. Frame with brick ends, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, irregular plan; one-story side wing. Built mid 18th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1940).

 

  GRETNA VICINITY

      Pittsylvania County (72)

Yancy Cabin (VA-270), see Yates Tavern (VA-270), Gretna Vicinity.

Yates Tavern (Yancy Cabin) (VA-270), .5 mi. W of Long Branch, .1 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 29, .8 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 676. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories above stone foundation, gable roof, one stone and brick exterior end chimney, framed overhang at second-floor level; two-room plan with closed stair. Built mid 18th C.; overhang marks original eaves line before second floor was added. 3 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (1941).

 

  GUILFORD Accomack County (1)

Clayton, George, House (VA-629), Guilford. Simple, frame house, 17' x 34' (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof; central hall, two-room plan. Built c. 1820; rear wing added c. 1900. 4 ext. photos (1960), 3 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960, 1962).

Mason House (VA-952), Guilford. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories with dormers, splayed gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Diaperwork in brick panels on facade. 5 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections, details).
Page 120

George Clayton House

 

  GUINEA VICINITY Caroline County (17)

Jackson Shrine, The (John Thornton House) (VA-637), Fredericks-burg and Spotsylvania County Battlefields Memorial National Military Park, .5 mi. E of Poni River, .1 mi. NW of State Rte. 606, .1 mi. NE of intersection of Richmond, Fredericksburg and Potomac Railroad crossing. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, 32'4" (two-bay front) x 28'3", one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, open shed-roof entrance porch; four-room plan. Built 1828; restored 1927, 1928. Gen. Stonewall Jackson died here of wounds, May 10, 1863. 9 sheets (1962, including plot plan, plans, elevations, section, details).

Thornton, John, House (VA-637), see Jackson Shrine, The (VA-637), Guinea Vicinity.
Page 121

 

  HALLIVOOD VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Wessel's Root Cellar (VA-953), .3 mi. E of State Rte. 701, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 692. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior chimney. Built late 18th C. Unique example of type. 2 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, section). NR

 

  HAMPTON Accomack County (1)

Camphellton Smokehouse (VA-480), exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, pyramid roof with finial. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Eagle Point (VA-481), exact location unknown. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, rear saltbox extension, one interior end chimney. Built early 18th C.; side addition; demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Fortress Monroe, Main Sally Port (VA-595), .6 mi. E of Hampton Roads, .1 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 60/258 at Old Point Comfort. Brick, sandstone, rectangular with flanking ramparts and central covered passageway, one story, rusticated facade with pilasters and enlature; two casemates on either side of passageway. Built between 1819 and 1834. Jefferson Davis held prisoner at Fortress Monroe 1865-67. 8 sheets (n.d., including plot plan, plan, elevations, details). NR; NHL

 

  HANOVER Hanover County (43)

Barksdale Theatre (VA-521), see Tavern (VA-521), Hanover.

Hanover County Courthouse (VA-429), .3 mi. SW of Mechumps Creek, NE side of U.S. Rte. 301, at intersection with State Rte. 1005. Brick, T-shaped (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof, three interior end chimneys, five-bay arcaded porch set under roof, modillion cornice. Built c. 1735. 3 ext. photos (1932, 1934); HABSI (1959). NR Tavern (Barksdale Theatre) (VA-521), .4 mi. SW of Mechumps Creek, SW side of State Rte. 1002, at intersection with U.S. Rte. 301. Frame with clapboarding, T-shaped (nine-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three exterior end chimneys, two interior chimneys, pent closets on S and E gable ends, porch runs along most of street front; rear lean-to. Built early 18th C.; enlarged. 1 ext. photo (1934).

 

  HARRISONBURG

House (VA-907), 106 N. Liberty St. Stone, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, stone jack arches over windows and door, denticulated cornice and barge board; center-hall plan; two-story brick rear wing. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1938).

 

  HAYMARKET      Prince William County (76)

Cabin (VA-283), see McCormack House (VA-283), Haymarket.

McCormack House (Cabin) (VA-283), E side Fayette St., .1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 55. Log and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof sloping to rear lean-to; one exterior end chimney; two-room plan. Built early 19th C.; later additions; renovated mid 20th C. One of the few buildings to survive the burning of Haymarket, November 5, 1862. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  HAYMARKET VICINITY     Prince William County (76)

Beverley's Mill (VA-828), N bank of Broad Run, N side of State Rte. 55 at Thorofare Gap. Fieldstone, rectangular (four-bay front), four stories above raised basement, gable roof, one interior end chimney; open plan. Built mid 19th C.; later alterations; the present structure was rebuilt on the site of a mid-18th C. mill. 1 ext. photo; HABSI (1958).

Evergreen (VA-833), 1.4 mi. N of Catharpin Run, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 630, .5 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 601. Stone with plastered cement wash, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two stone interior end chimneys, pedimented one-story entrance porch; center-hall plan; flanking wings. Built early 19th C.; extensive later additions and alterations, including addition of two-story columned portico and flanking wings. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI's (1958, 1959).

Hagley (VA-276), 1.4 mi. N of Catharpin Run, S side State Rte. 601, .1 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 15. Log and frame, four adjacent units, one story, gable roof, two stone exterior end chimneys; one-room plan per unit. Built mid 18th C.; demolished mid 20th C. 5 ext. photos (1936).
Page 123

La Grange (VA-289), .9 mi. E of High Point Mountain, W side of State Rte. 681, .5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 601. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; one-and-a-half story brick dependency connected to main house by hyphen. Built late 18th C.; later restoration, alterations, replacement of vandalized interior trim 1936. 5 ext. photos (193 HABSI (1959).

Mt. Atlas (VA-831), .6 mi. NE of Catharpin Run, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 731, .4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 601. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof one stone and brick exterior end chimney, one-story porch, modillion cornice; side-hall plan; frame smokehouse with diagonal batten door studded with rose-head nails. Built early 19th C.; extensive late alterations including dormer windows. 2 ext. photos (1936).

Poplar Hill (VA-830), .2 mi. W of Catharpin Run, .5 mi. S of State Rte. 601, .5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 731. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two stone interior end chimneys, square columned entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; burned mid 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1936).

Meadowland (VA-829), see Ruins of House near Beverley's Mill (VA. 829), Haymarket Vicinity.

Prospect Hill (VA-832), .5 mi. SW of Bull Run, E side of State Rte. 624, .4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 701. Log and stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two stone exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; one-story stone wing joined to main house by frame hyphen. Built late 18th C. or early 19th C.; later alterations; stone wing reconstructed 1967. 3 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

Retreat, The (VA-285), .3 mi. SW of Chestnut Lick, 1 mi. N of State Rte. 601, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 234. Frame with clapboarding, three-part composition: (a) rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; side-hall plan, flanked by (b) rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan, flanked by (c) rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one stone exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged late 18th C., early 19th C. 5 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1959).
Page 124

Ruins of House near Beverley's Mill (Meadowland) (VA-829), .1 mi. Eof Broad Run, N side of State Rte. 55 at Thorofare Gap. Fieldstone walls. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Waverly Mills (VA-284), N bank Catharpin Run, S side of State Rte. 679, .4 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 15. Log with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two stone exterior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built early 19th C.; wing addition and later alterations; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  HEBRON VICINITY Dinwiddie County (27)

Harris House (VA-726), see House (VA-726), Hebron Vicinity.

House (Harris House) (VA-726), 1.8 mi. S of Namozine Creek, N side of U.S. Rte. 460, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 620. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, exterior end chimney; two-room plan; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormer, exterior end chimney. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1959).

 

  HERNDON VICINITY Fairfax County (30)

Dranesville Tavern (VA-642), 119119 Leesburg Pike (State Rte. 7), 8.6 mi. W of Tyson's Corner. Log and frame with clapboarding, 70'7" (five-bay front) x 27'1", two stories, gable roof, two stone exterior end chimneys, one stone interior chimney; center-hall plan Original portion built c. 1830, altered c. 1850, additions 1893, moved 100' S of original location, 1968. 8 sheets (1968, including plans, elevations, sections, details). NR

Dranesville Tavern

Page 125

 

  HICKORY

Old Academy (VA-227), SW corner of intersection of State Rte. 625 and 170, near Chesapeake. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; rear lean-to. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 7 ext. photos (1937, 1939, 1940, n.d.).

 

  HOPEWELL

Appomattox Manor (VA-824), N side of N end of Cedar Lane. Frame with clapboarding, U-shaped (seven bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three interior chimneys, one exterior end chimney, pedimented pavilion, one-story lattice-work porch; five-room irregular plan; one-story separate kitchen and outbuildings. Kitchen built early 18th C.; main house built 1763; later alterations and extensive additions 1840, 1850, 1913. Title to Appomattox Manor derives in unbroken descent since 1635. 5 ext. photos, main house (1964), 2 ext. photos, kitchen and outbuildings (1964); 4 int. photos, main house (1964); 4 data pages (1959); HABSI (1959). NR

 

  HOPEWELL VICINITY Prince George County (75)

Flower de Hundred (VA-295), .5 mi. S of James River, E side of State Rte. 639, 2.4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 640. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; flanking one-story frame wings with gable roofs; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; later additions; demolished c. 1950. 2 ext. photos (1940).

 

  HORNTOWN VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Chincoteague Farm (VA-489), see Corbin Hall (VA-489), Horntown Vicinity.

Corbin Hall (Chincoteague Farm) (VA-489), .3 mi. W of Chincoteague Bay, 1.2 mi. E of State Rte. 679, .4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 709. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, second-story central Palladian window, center-hall plan, frame, one-story wing. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 3 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1958).
Page 126

Appomattox Manor

 

  IRVINGTON VICINITY       Lancaster County (52)

Christ Church (VA-70), .5 mi. N of Ashburn Cove, W side of State Rte. 646, at intersection with State Rte. 709. Brick (Flemish bond), cruciform (three-bay front), one story, steep hipped roof with pronounced bell cast, full enlature main cornice, pulvinated frieze and dentils, molded brick entrance details including pilasters and pediments, high arched windows with molded brick detail and stone impost and keystone, oval windows above entrances; cruciform interior plan, exceptionally fine paneled wooden pews, balcony, pulpit, and reredos. Raised stone tombs of Robert "King" Carter and two of his wives. Built 1732; restored 1967. Christ Church is widely regarded as the finest example of 18th C. Virginia religious architecture. 12 ext. photos (1937, 1939), 2 int. photos (1937), 1 photo, Robert Carter's tomb (1932); HABSI (1958). NR; NHL
Page 127

Christ Church

 

  IVOR VICINITY     Southampton County (88)

Bailey House (VA-349), see Holmes, Peter, House (House on Black-water River) (VA-349), Ivor Vicinity.

Binford House (VA-235), .6 mi. W of Blackwater River, .1 mi. NW of intersection of State Rtes. 621 and 616, 3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 617. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, three exterior end chimneys; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; renovated. 5 ext. photos (1938), 5 int. photos (1938).
Page 128

Holmes, Peter, House (Bailey House, House on Blackwater River) (VA-349), exact location unknown. Brick (Flemish bond), gable ends frame fronts, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1936), 5 lilt. photos (1936).

House on Blackwater River (VA-349), see Holmes, Peter, House (Bailey House,) (VA-349), Ivor Vicinity.

 

  JAMES STORE VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Toddsbury (VA-417), W bank of North River, .3 mi. E of State Rte. 2, 1.1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 14. Brick (Flemish nd), L-shaped (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, three interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick water le, projecting two-story pedimented frame entrance porch on E front, tetrastyle Doric columns at ground-floor level supporting two-bay enclosed second story; center-hall plan, nole interior paneling including two fully paneled rooms on ground floor, hall with open string stair, dado, and denticulated cornice; ell. Built mid 17th C., extensive subsequent additions and alterations early 18th C., to 18th C., early 19th C.; restored. 8 ext. photos (1934, 1937); data pages (1941); HABSI (1959). NR

Toddsbury

Page 129

Ice House (VA-747), W bank of Toddsbury Creek, S side of S Rte. 622, .9 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 14. Brick, cylindrical (one-bay front), one story, conical roof; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; partially rebuilt mid 20th C. 1 ext. phi (1933); HABSI (1959).

 

  JAMESTOWN VICINITY James City County (48)

Powhatan (VA-177), S bank of E tributary of Powhatan Creek, .4 mi. W of State Rte. 615, .8 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 5. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two T-shaped interior end chimneys, brick water le and string course, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; burned Civil War; rebuilt. 1 sheet (1940, including perspective views of restoration); 1 ex photo (1940); 1 data page (1940). NR

 

  JAMESTOWN ISLAND James City County (48)

Architectural Remains; Project 103, Structure 123 (VA-472). Brick outside dimensions 10'3" x 15'3", rectangular with entrance steps, brick pavement with floor recess. Probably built early 17th C. 1 sheet (1958, including plan, sections, details).

Architectural Remains; Project 103, Structure 125 (VA-473). Brick, outside dimensions 11'9" x 21'6", rectangular with chimney and shed projections, brick pavement with cistern. Probably built early 17th C. 1 sheet (1958, including plan, sections, details).

Architectural Remains; Project 194, Structure 110 (VA-444), see Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 110 (VA-444), Jamestown Island.

Architectural Remains; Project 194, Structure 115 (VA-470). Brick, rectangular with cellar and porch projection at E end, partitions indicating four units. Probably built early 17th C. 3 sheets (1958, including plans, sections, structural details).

Architectural Remains; Project 194, Structure 117 (VA-471). Brick, outside dimensions 18' x 26', inner buttresses, brick pavement and unlined pit, corner porch projection with evidence of charred wood beneath. Probably built early 17th C. 1 sheet (1958, including plan, section).
Page 130

Architectural Remains, Unit A, Sub-unit 39 (VA-26). Brick foundations and basement paving, outside dimensions 36'4" x 25'4"; rectangular plan. Probably built early 17th C. 10 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plan, sections, details of basement walls, and details of tiles, roof slates, and hardware excavated); 4 ext. photos (1935); 7 data pages (1936).

Architectural Remains; Unit A, Sub-unit 39

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-units 59 and 73 (VA-27). Fieldstone and brick, outside dimensions 52'3" x 16'1", rectangular plan. Probably built early 17th C. 3 sheets (1935, including plot plan, plans, elevations, details of hardware excavated); 3 ext. photos, foundations (1935), 1 photo, hardware (1935); 6 data pages (1935).

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 62 (VA-28). Brick, outside dimensions 48'8" x 21'7", rectangular plan. Probably built early 17th C. 4 sheets (1934, including plans, sections, details of hardware excavated); 3 ext. photos, foundations (1935), 1 photo, hardware (1935); 5 data pages (1935).

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 86 (VA-29). Brick foundations. Probably built early 17th C. 4 sheets (1935, including plan, sections, details of hardware excavated).

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 76 (VA-30). Brick, outside dimensions 33'9" x 118'11", rectangular plan. Probably built early 17th C. 7 sheets (1936, including plan, sections, structural details, details of hardware excavated).
Page 131

Architectural Remains; unit B, sub-units 89 and 87

Architectural Remains; unit B, sub-units 86

Architectural Remains; unit B, sub-units 86
Page 132

Architectural Remains; Unit B, sub-units 89 and 97

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-units 89 and 97 (VA-25). Brick, outside dimensions 63'11" x 43'4", rectangular plan. Probably built early l 7th C. 14 sheets (1935, including plans, sections, structural details, details of hardware excavate(l); 3 ext. photos, foundations (1935), 4 photos, hardware (1935); 7 data pages (n.d.).

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 101 (VA-31). Clay, decorative faience tiles painted in blue monochrome. Probably 17th C. 1 sheet (1935).

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 110 (Architectural Remains; Project 194, Structure 110) (VA-444). Brick, 24'3" x 23', floor paved with tiles; rectangular plan. Probably built early 17th C.; later installation of three fire chambers. 3 sheets (1955, including plan, sections, structural details); 3 ext. photos, foundation (1954).

Architectural Remains; Unit B, Sub-unit 112 (VA-445). Brick, inside dimensions 47'4" x 31'6", cellar across N side. Built early 17th C.; later addition with porch partition; estimated that building burned before 1676. 3 sheets (1955, including plan and sections); 12 ext. photos (1954, 1955).
Page 133

 

  JAMESVILLE VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Mattissippi (Sturgis House) (VA-547), E bank of Chesapeake Bay, 1 mi. W of State Rte. 676, .6 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 183. Brick (Flemish bond), 35'7" (four-bay front) x 20'5", one story" gable roof, two interior end chimneys; two-room plan, enclosed winder stairs. Built mid 17th C.; ruinous. 8 sheets (1963, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1940).

Sommers House (VA-546), .1 mi. W of Nassawadox Creek, .6 mi. SE of State Rte. 183, .2 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 691. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; side wing. Built mid 18th C.; wing addition removed. 131 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1940). NR

Sturgis House (VA-547), see Mattissippi (VA-547), Jamestown Vicinity.

Sommers House

Page 134

 

  JEFFERSONTON VICINITY     Culpeper County (24)

Greenfield (VA-433),.5 mi. N of Bee Branch, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 621, .6 mi. SE of intersection with State Rtes. 625 and 710. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; one-story flanking side wings. Built early 19th C.; demolished 1947. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

 

  KING GEORGE VICINITY King George County (50)

Marmion (VA-145), .2 mi. N of Pepper Mill Creek, at W end of State Rte. 649, .8 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 609. Frame with clapboarding, 53' (seven-bay front) x 33', two stories, gable roof with jerkinheads, two nole exterior end chimneys with molded brick detail and glazed headers, modillion cornice, flush corner pilasters on front and rear elevations, small pedimented one-story wooden porch on front elevation, one-story wooden porch with shed roof along full length of rear elevation; center-hall plan, corner fireplaces, outstanding interior paneling, stair with turned balusters; original wooden dependencies include dairy, icehouse, smokehouse, kitchen, and schoolroom-office. Built late 17th C.; greatly altered and enlarged mid 18th C.; painted, paneled drawing room interior removed 1916, re-erected in the American Wing of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1924. 25 sheets (1936, including plot plan, plans, elevations, interior elevations, details); 22 ext. photos, including dependencies (1935, 1936), 8 int. photos, including dependencies (1935, 1936); HABSI (1958). NR

Marmion

Page 135

Marmion

 

  KING WILLIAM King William County (51)

King William County Courthouse (VA-123), .6 mi. E of Acquinton Creek, E side of State Rte. 619, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 1301. Brick, T-shaped (three-bay front), one story, hipped roof, five-bay arched loggia set under roof on S front, one exterior end and two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; courtroom with two flanking rooms. Built c. 1735. 7 sheets (1936, including plan, ele-vations, details); 4 ext. photos (1934, 1936), 1 ext. photo, stable (1936); 4 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 136

 

  KING WILLIAM VICINITY King William County (51)

Acquinton Church (VA-760), .6 mi. S of Acquinton Creek, N side of State Rte. 629, at intersection with State Rte. 618. Brick with stucco, rectangular (one-bay front) with projecting vestibule, one story, gable roof, vertical boarding in gable ends above the eavesline, three-bay nave with lancet windows built into the older arched openings. N wing built c. 1760 as addition to original building 1734; demolished; wing renovated in Gothic Revival style c. 1875; ruinous, roof destroyed. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Green Level (VA-759), .6 mi. S of E tributary of Acquinton Creek, .2 mi. N of State Rte. 621, 1.3 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 633. Brick and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, frame second floor over brick first floor; center-hall plan; side wings; brick servants' quarters. Built late 18th C.; original frame part elevated to second-floor level when brick first floor was built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936), 1 ext. photo, servants' quarters (1936); HABSI (1958).

King William County Courthouse

Page 137

Winterham (VA-761), .2 mi. E of N tributary of jacks Creek, .2 mi. E of State Rte. 629, .8 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 629. Brick and frame, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney, frame second floor over brick first floor; two-room plan; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (one-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer. Built early 19th C.; enlarged. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  LANCASTER Lancaster County (52)

Clerk's Office (VA-360), S side State Rte. 3. Brick (Flemish bond rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, studded wooden diagonal planked shutters; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (detail, 1938; data page (1940); HABSI's (1957, 1958).

Hughlett House (VA-412), State Rte. 3, exact location unkno Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers and rear slope in form of lean-to, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; demolish 1940. 6 ext. photos (1930, 1931); l data page (1941).

 

  LANESVILLE VICINITY     King William County (51)

Elsing Green (VA-67), .2 mi. N of Pamunkey River, 1.2 mi. SW of State Rte. 632, 1.8 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 623. Brick, U-shaped (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior chimneys, modillion cornice, molded brick pedimented S entrance; T-shaped hall defines four rooms surrounding it; two flanking brick dependencies, one-and-a-half stories. Built mid 18th C.; burned c. 1800; rebuilt within old walls; renovated; E dependency built mid 18th C., W one built 19th C. 8 ext. photos (n.d., 1936, 1937); 2 data pages (1939); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  LEE MONT VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Clayton, George, House (VA-629), 1.2 mi. E of Hunting Creek, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 673, .5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 658. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular, 34' (three-bay front) x 17', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two brick exterior end chimneys. Built early 19th C.; rear addition c. 1900; demolished. 4 ext. photos (1960), 3 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960, 1962).
Page 138

Drummond House (VA-487), .1 mi. N of Drummond Ponds, NE side of intersection of State Rtes. 661 and 658, 1.3 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 669. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends, rec-tangular (four-bay front), one-and-a half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built mid 18th C.; later side additions. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Drummond Store (VA-488), E bank of Drummond Ponds, S side of intersection of State Rtes. 658 and 661, 1.3 mi. S of intersection of State Rte. 669. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof; flanking wings. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1940).

 

  LEESBURG     Loudoun County (54)

Commercial Building (Drugstore) (VA-375), 1-5 N. King St. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front, three adjacent units of two bays, five-bay lateral facade), two stories, gable roof, five interior chimneys; shops on ground floor, two-room plan above. Built early 19th C.; later t alterations. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Commercial Building (Nichols Law Office) (VA-438), 13 S. King St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof, elaborate window with semi-elliptical fanlight on ground floor; commercial floor plan. Built early 19th C.; extensive alterations late 19th C.; street front stripped of detail mid 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1934). Drugstore (VA-375), see Commercial Building (VA-375), 1-5 N. King St., Leesburg.

Nichols Law Office (VA-438), see Commercial Building (VA-438), 13 S. King St., Leesburg.

Old Bank (VA-378), see Valley Bank (VA-378), 1 N. Church St., Leesburg.

Valley Bank (Old Bank) (VA-378), 1 N. Church St. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one interior chimney, shallow central pediment motif with elliptical attic light; irregular plan. Built early 19th C.; extensive later alterations and additions including reconstruction of S front. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1958).
Page 139

 

  LEESBURG VICINITY Loudoun County (54)

Log Cabin (VA-536), near Goose Creek. Log, rectangular (three-bay front), one story above raised basement, wood shingle gable roof, two exterior stone chimneys. Built late 18th C.; demolished c. 1937. 1 ext. photo (1933).

Oatlands Historic District (VA-949), E and W sides of U.S. Rte. 15, 6 mi. S of Leesburg. Rural historic district composed of early 19th C. manor house (Oatlands), subsidiary plantation buildings, gardens, and surrounding lands. Also included are the Church of Our Savior and Mountain Gap School, both historically related to the Oatlands property. 2 sheets (1973, including title sheet and site plan).

Oatlands (VA-949A), .9 mi. N of Goose Creek, .5 mi. NE of U.S. Rte. 15, 1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 651. Historic House Museum of National Trust for Historic Preservation. Brick with stucco, 107 (nine-bay front) x 64', three stories (central block) and two stories (wings) above raised basement, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, monumental tetrastyle portico; symmetrical plan with two octagonal ended stair towers, Adamesque details. Built 1800-03, attributed to George Carter; portico added 1827; minor interior alterations early 20th C. 13 sheets (1973, including plans, elevations, sections, details), 3 ext. photos (1973), 2 int. photos (1973). NHL

Oatlands
Page 140

Bachelor Cottage (VA-949B). Brick and frame with clapboarding, 18' (one-bay front) x 25', two stories, gable roof, one interior chimney, two-story porch. 1 sheet (1973, including plans, elevations).

Greenhouse (VA-949C). Brick, glass, and frame with clapboarding, 57' (four-bay front) x 33', one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys. 1 sheet (1973, including plans, section, elevation).

Studio (VA-949D) and Servants' Quarters (VA-949E). Brick, one-and-a-half story units, gable and hipped roofs. 1 sheet (1973, including plans, elevations).

Carter Barn (VA-949F). Brick, rectangular, three stories, gable roof, one-story stone wing, gable roof. 2 sheets (1973, including plans, elevations, detail).

Little Oatlands (VA-949G). Stone, rectangular, one-and-a-half stories, one interior chimney, gable roof; octagonal ended wing, frame with clapboarding, two stories, one interior chimney; later wing added to N of original portion. 2 sheets (1973, including plans, elevations).

Mountain Gap School (VA-949K). W side of U.S. Rte. 15, .2 mi. N of entrance to Oatlands. Frame, 20' (one-bay front) x 30', one story, gable roof, one interior chimney; one-room plan. Typical one-room schoolhouse. 1 sheet (1973, including plan, elevations, section).     

Noland's Ferry House (VA-538), .1 mi. W of Potomac River, W side of State Rte. 660, .7 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 662. Brick,, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, belt course and water le, semi-circular fanlight over the entrance door; center-hall plan; two-story flanking wings. Begun late 18th C., left unfinished; extensive additions and alterations executed c. 1968. 1 ext. photo (1930); HABSI (1958).
Page 141

 

  LENAH POST OFFICE Loudoun County (54)

Cottage, The (VA-537), exact location unknown. Log with stucco rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, full-length front porch, three exterior stone and brick end chimneys; rear lean-t Built mid 18th C.; demolished 1937. 1 ext. photo (1937).

 

  LEXINGTON Rockbridge County (82)

Alexander, William, House and Store (VA-905), NW corner of Main St. and Washington St. Brick (diaper work), 44'6" (four-bay front) X 34', 3 stories, shallow hipped roof with deep bracketed cornice, four interior corner chimneys, stone ground-floor exterior facing, cast-iron balcony at first-floor level; modified central-hall plan. Built c. 1790 for William Alexander; partially destroyed by fire 1796 and rebuilt; street lowered approx. 10' c. 1850 and stone ground-floor exterior installed; roof replaced mid 19th C. 6 sheets (1970, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1969); 9 data pages (1969); HABSI (1957).

House (Pendleton-Coles House) (VA-898), 319 Letcher Ave. Board and batten, 34'3" (three-bay front) x 41'6", two stories, steep gable roof, decorated barge board, two interior chimneys, one-story wooden entrance porch, bay windows, diamond-shaped window panes; irregular plan. Built c. 1850. 3 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 3 data pages (1969).

Jordan's Point (Stono) (VA-900), N side of intersection of State Rte. 303 and U.S. Rte. 11. Brick (Flemish bond), temple form (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two-story pedimented tetrastyle Roman Doric portico with brick columns and pilasters, two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney; cross-hall plan; flanking one-story wings; one-and-a-half story rear wing; office outbuilding: brick, square, one story above raised stone basement; round stone icehouse; rectangular stone outbuilding. Main house built 1818, John Jordan, owner-architect; extensive later additions and alterations; icehouse and office built early 19th C.; stone outbuilding built c. 1900. 13 sheets (1970, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1968), 3 ext. photos, outbuildings (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 6 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965).

Lee Chapel (VA-906), Washington and Lee University. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story above raised stone basement, gable roof, advanced belfry-entrance tower with concave elongated pyramidal roof, semi-circular window heads, corbel brick decoration on belfry; one-room plan, gallery and memorial apse; rectangular rear wing. Built 1867, under the direction of Robert E. Lee, president of Washington College; memorial apse and Lee crypt added 1879-83; original wooden frame construction replaced with concrete and steel, interiors renovated and partially restored 1962, 1963. 5 ext. photos (1968), 5 int. photos (1968); 9 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965). NHL
Page 142

Pendleton-Coles House

Lee-Jackson House (VA-903), 4 University Place. Brick, temple form (three-bay front), two stories, shallow hipped roof, tetrastyle Roman Doric portico, four interior end chimneys; side-hall plan; flanking one-story wings. Built 1841-42, William Gibson, carpenter, James Alexander, mason. President's house of Washington and Lee University from 1842 to 1869 and the home of Major Thomas (Stonewall) Jackson and his wife Elinor Junkin Jackson 1853-1855, and General and Mrs. R. E. Lee 1865-1868. 2 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965).

Main Street Area Survey (VA-897), Main Street. General views and selected details of building groups along Main Street. 10 ext. photos (1968).

Pendleton-Coles House (VA-898), see House (VA-898), 319 Letcher Ave., Lexington.
Page 143

Reid-White House

Reid-White House (VA-955), S side of Nelson St. (U.S. Rte. 60), between Myers St. and Lee St. Brick, 40'6" (three-bay front) x 34'6", two stories above raised basement, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys. Built early 19th C., wings added later. 8 sheets (1970, including plans, elevations, section, details).

Stono (VA-900), see Jordan's Point (VA-900), Lexington.

Stono
Page 144

Virginia Military Institute, Barracks

Valley Railroad Station (VA-904), N side of intersection of McLaughlin and Glasgow Sts. Brick, 142'6" (fifteen-bay front) x 22', one story, steep gable roof, one interior chimney, pressed brick segmental jack arches over openings; interior divided into passenger and freight areas; flanking gable-roof wings. Built 1883 for the Valley Railroad Company of Virginia; acquired by the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad Co. 1942. 5 ext. photos (1968);'4 data pages (1969).

Virginia Military Institute: Barracks (VA-902), V M.I. Parade Grounds at end of Letcher Ave. Brick with stucco, quadrangle (thirteen-bay S front), four stories, flat roof, crenellated parapet, octagonal towers flanking S entrance; quadrangular plan with open balconies on interior courtyard. Built 1850-62; burned 1864; rebuilt 1870-73, Alexander Jackson Davis, architect; enlarged 1892, 1. E. A. Rose, architect; enlarged 1918-19, B. G. Goodhue, architect; enlarged 1946-48, Carneal and Johnson, architects. 3 ext. photos (1968); 22 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965). NR; NHL

Superintendent's Quarters (VA-901), N side of V.M.I. Parade Grounds. Brick with stucco, irregular (nine-bay front), two stories, flat roof, six concealed interior chimneys; irregular plan; flanked by crenellated octagonal three-story towers. Built 1860-62, Alex-ander Jackson Davis, architect; dismantled and reconstructed on new site 1914; altered and enlarged 1924, Carneal and Johnson, architects; renovated 1954. 4 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 4 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965).

Washington and Lee University, Washington Hall

Washington Hall, Washington and Lee University (VA-568), N side of Jefferson St., E of Washington St. Brick, five-part composition, central block: rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof with cupola, gable-end front with hexastyle pedimented Doric portico, interior end chimneys; terminal blocks: rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, hipped roof with deck, portico with paneled square columns, interior end chimneys; hyphens: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, twin pilaster motif separates bays. Washington Hall built c. 1824; S block built c. 1831; N block and hyphens added 1842. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1968); 1 int. photo (1968); 11 data pages (1969); HABSI (1965).

 

  LEXINGTON VICINITY Rockbridge County (82)

Covered Bridge (VA-567.) on Maury River, .1 mi. W of intersection of U.S. Rte. 11 and State Rte. 39, at NE line of Lexington city limits. Frame, post supports under bridge platform, two long arched planks anchored on each bank span river to give additional sility, vertical and diagonal framing support gable roof. Built late 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Stone House

Stone House (VA-899), W bank of Woods Creek, .2 mi. SW of State Rte. 687 (Ross Rd.), at its intersection with Woods Creek. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney, one-story pedimented wooden entrance porch; center-hall plan; one-story side wing connected to main house by hyphen. Built 1797, John Spear, builder; renovated and partially restored 1966. 3 ext. photos (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1969); HABSI's (1957, 1965).

Winterview Farm Log Cabin (VA-956), .1 mi. S of interstate 81, 1.5 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 11. Log, rectangular (one-bay front), two stories, gable roof with overhang protecting second-floor balcony, one interior chimney; open plan. 5 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations).

 

  LIGHTFOOT VICINITY James City County (48)

Greenspring (VA-440), .4 mi. W of W tributary of Powhatan Creek, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 614, 1.2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 613. Site. Brick, foundations only; rectangular plan with ell. Built mid 17th C.; demolished 1796. 1 sheet (1929, plan); HABSI (1958).
Page 147

Stone House

Pinewoods (Warburton House) (VA-532), .1 mi. N of NE tributary of Pine Woods Pond, .4 mi. N of State Rte. 613, 1.4 mi. SW of inter-section with State Rte. 614. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two T-shaped interior end chimneys, segmental arched openings, full-length front porch; irregular plan; rear ell. Built late 17th C.; front porch and later additions. 3 ext. photos (1934); HABSI (1958).

Warburton House (VA-532), see Pinewoods (VA-532), Lightfoot Vicinity.

 

  LITWALTON VICINITY Richmond County (80)

Edge Hill (VA-431), .2 mi. NW of Lancaster Creek, .7 mi. SE of end of State Rte. 605, 1.4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, molded brick water le; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C. 3 ext. photos (c. 1930, 1934).
Page 148

 

  LONG ISLAND VICINITY     Campbell County (16)

Green Hill (VA-419), .5 mi. N of Staunton River, E side of State Rte. 728, .3 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 633. Brick, rectangular five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney, brick-columned porch. Built c. 1800; rear ell possibly built earlier. House and subsidiary bldgs. form extremely well-preserved plantation complex. 12 ext. photos (1937, 1960); 1 photocopy, plan of plantation (1960); 6 data sheets (1960); HABSI (1958). NR

White Hall (VA-66), 1.6 mi. NE of Staunton River, N side of State Rte. 637, 1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 761. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four stone exterior end chimneys; two stone one-story outbuildings. Built late 18th C.; renovated. 3 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  LORETTO VICINITY     Essex County (29)

Brooke's Bank (VA-731), S bank of Rappahannock River, 1.3 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 17, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 638. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), hipped roof, two interior end chimneys with brick diaper work, modillion cornice, molded brick belt course and water le, one-story wooden Doric entrance porch; center-hall plan, nole interior trim; one-story side wings, brick, one-story kitchen, smokehouse, and privy, frame with clapboarding. Built 1731-34; lateral wings altered and enlarged 1934. 16 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details of main house and outbuildings), 15 sheets (1967, adapted from drawings 1933, including plans, elevations, details); HABSI (1958).
Page 152

Brooke's Bank

Elmwood (VA-323), .5 mi. N of Elmwood Creek, .9 mi. NW of State Rte. 640, .2 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 17. Brick (Flemish bond), 100 (eleven-bay front) x 33', two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers; two interior chimneys, modillion cornice, advanced entrance bay with gable and Palladian window above entrance door, gauged belt course, molded brick water le; center-hall plan, nole interior trim including Doric cornice in center hall with triglyphs, metopes, and rosettes; elaborate dado, cornice, overmantels in drawing room and parlor. Built late 18th C.; enlarged late 18th C.; altered 1852; partially restored and renovated 1961-67. 5 ext. photos (1934, 1939), 12 int. photos (1994, 1939); 3 data pages (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

Elmwood
Page 153

Kinloch

Kinloch (VA-387), 2.7 mi. E of Baylors Pond, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 641, 2.3 mi. E of intersection of U.S. Rte. 17. Brick with stucco, square (five-bay front), three stories above raised basement, shallow hipped roof with deck with balustrade, two interior chimneys, recessed central bay, one-story entrance porch with flat roof, cast-iron balustrade, paired Ionic columns, double flight carved stone entrance steps with cast-iron railing; center-hall plan. Built c. 1840; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1937); 1 data page (1941).

Vauter's Church (VA-410), .1 mi. S of Elmwood Creek, NE side of U.S. Rte. 17, .3 mi. SE of State Rte. 640. Brick (Flemish bond), T-shaped (four-bay lateral front), one story, gable roof, one interior corner chimney modillion cornice, glazed headers above water le, S entrance with square-headed door and triangular brick pediment with gallery windows above, W entrance with arched door and segmental arched brick pediment, windows with arched heads; one-room plan. Built early 18th C.; interior partially destroyed mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1932); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  LORTON VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

Arch Hall (VA-109), see Lewis, Lawrence, House (VA-109), Lorton Vicinity.
Page 154

Belmont (Cocke-Washington House) (VA-578), 10913 Belmont Blvd., Belmont Park. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan with side stair hall. Original house built early 18th C. for Catesby Cocke and purchased by Edward Washington 1742; major portion dismantled 1866; the remaining structure may have been a dependency. 8 ext. photos (1959); 2 data pages (1959); HABS1 (1958).

Cocke-Washington House (VA-578), see Belmont (VA-578), Lorton Vicinity.

Colchester Inn (Fairfax Arms Tavern) (VA-413), 10712 Old Colchester Rd. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised stone basement, gable roof with hipped dormers, two stone and brick exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations and renovations. 7 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1959); 1 data page (1959); HABS1 (1958).

Fairfax Arms Tavern (VA-413), see Colchester Inn (VA-413), Lorton Vicinity.

Vauter's Church
Page 155

Gunston Hall

Gunston Hall Gardens
Page 156

Gunston Hall (VA-141), 10709 Gunston Rd. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond), stone trim, 60'6" (five-bay front) x 40'6", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, wooden pedimented W entrance porch, wooden semi-octagonal Gothic E entrance porch; center-hall plan, nole interior trim including an outstanding Chinese room and a Palladian room. Built 1755-58 for George Mason, author of the Virginia Declaration of Rights; William Buckland, architect-joiner, executed much of the interior work; altered mid 19th C.; partially restored and renovated 1913 by Glenn Brown; further restored 1951-52 under the direction of the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America and the Commonwealth of Virginia. 7 ext. photos (1936, 1938); 6 data pages (1941); HABSI (1969). NR; NHL

House (Metzer House) (VA-580), 10720 Old Colchester Rd. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; rectangular plan. Built late 18th C.; extensive later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1959); 1 data page (1959).

Lewis, Lawrence,House (Arch Hall) (VA-109), 11701 River Dr. Frame with clapboarding, 50'2" (five-bay front) x 25'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one interior chimney, entrance doorway with glazed arched transom and sidelights; center-hall plan, large center hall with arched ceiling, nole interior trim. Built late 18th C.; dismantled and moved from 815 Franklin St., Alexandria, 1950; reconstructed with alterations on Belmont Bay, utilizing materials from the original structure 1951 ; roof raised 18" and dormers added on one side of the gable roof 1951 ; further alterations included the addition of a two-story wing and increasing the existing one-story wing to one-and-a-half stories 1962. This house was acquired by Lawrence Lewis of Woodlawn Plantation as his town residence in the early 19th C. 11 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (1936, 1959), 5 int. photos (1937); 1 data page (1959); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Metzer House (VA-580), see House (VA-580), Lorton Vicinity.

Pohick Episcopal Church (VA-190), 9301 Richmond Hwy. Brick (Flemish bond), 66' (five-bay front) x 45'6" (two-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, wooden modillion cornice, rectilinear windows at ground-floor level, arched windows above, sandstone corner quoins, rusticated entrance doorways flanked by Ionic pilasters supporting a cushion frieze and pediment; one-room plan. Built 1769-74, James Wren and William Welt, architects; Daniel French, builder; William Bernard Sears, finish carpenter and carver; repaired and reroofed 1838; interior vandalized 1860-65; interior refurbished in Gothic Revival style 1874; interior partially restored and interior gallery added 1900-30. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1936, 1938); 3 data pages (1960). NR
Page 157

 

  LOVINGSTON            Nelson County (63)

Nelson County Courthouse (VA-336), W side of Peebles Mountain, E side of U.S. Rte. 29, .3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 56. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof with cupola, gable-end front, five-bay first-floor arcaded porch; courtroom with gallery; rear wings. Built early 19th C.; stucco added; rear wings added 1940. 2 ext. photos (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1957).

 

  LURAY VICINITY            Page County (70)

Fort Egypt (VA-200), .2 mi. N of Shenandoah River, .3 mi. SE of State Rte. 615, 1.8 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Log above stone basement, 36' (three-bay front) x 322", two stories, hipped roof, one stone interior chimney, fortified stone rooms in basement; four-room plan; nole construction details. Built mid 18th C.; fenestration altered and roof changed from high gable to hipped c. 1840. 11 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details, conjectural restoration); 5 ext. photos (1940), 9 int. photos (1940); 3 data pages (1941); HABSI (1958).

Fort Egypt
Page 158

Fort Massanutten (VA-341), .4 mi. N of Shenandoah River, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 615, 1 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone with brick gables, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two brick interior end chimneys, fortified stone rooms in basement; plan unknown, possibly two room. Built mid 18th C.; ruinous 1940; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941).

Fort Stover (VA-194), .3 mi. E of Shenandoah River, .8 mi. W of State Rte. 660, 1 mi. NW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Stone, 36'5" (three-bay front) x 28', two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, stone jack arches over windows, fortified arched stone vaulted room in basement; two-room plan, nole interior construction details. Built c. 1760, Samuel Stover, builder; sash altered late 19th C. 12 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 3 data pages (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  LYNCHBURG

Point of Honor (VA-311), 112 Cabell St. Brick with stucco, irregular shape (nine-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, three exterior end chimneys, center three bays framed by semi-octagonal ended bows; irregular plan, fine Adam-style mantels and doorways; one-story wing. Built 1806; later one-story addition. Stucco removed 1972. 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  LYNCHBURG VICINITY     Campbell County (16)

Johnson, Christopher, Cottage (VA-11), W side of Tomahawk Creek, N side of State Rte. 126, .7 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 675. Frame with clapboarding, 32'1" (three-bay front) x 18', one-and-a-half stories above stone foundation, gable roof, two stone exterior end chimneys, front overhang forming porch; two-room plan. Built late 18th C. 3 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Christopher Johnson Cottage
Page 159

 

  MADISON     Madison County (57)

Madison County Courthouse (VA-325), .5 mi. SE of White Oak Run, NW side of U.S. Rte. 29, .3 mi. NE of intersection of State Rte. 231. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular, temple form (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof with domed octagonal cupola, three interior end chimneys, Tuscan enlature with full Tuscan pediments at either end of building, ground-floor front is four-bay open arcade with brick arches and stone keystones; one-room plan with second-floor gallery. Built 1828, Malcolm F. Crawford, builder; interior ceiling altered and exterior chimneys added. 1 ext. photo (1939); 34 data pages (1941, including 33 pages of photostats of early correspondence concerning construction of the building); HABSI (1958). NR

 

  MADISON VICINITY     Madison County (57)

Hebron Lutheran Church Fence, Gate, and Stile (VA-411), .3 mi. W of White- Oak Run, NE side of intersection of State Rtes. 638 and 653, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 231. Picket fence with square pickets; gate with double arched picket motif and pierced lower rail; three-step wooden stile. Probably built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1937); 1 data page (1941).

 

  MANAKIN     Goochland County (38)

Manakin Village (VA-218), at intersection of State Rtes. 6 and 621. View of the village; near here is the site of the Dover Coal Mines, one of the first coal mining operations in America, which flourished in the mid 18th C. Much of the work force came from Huguenot families who moved to the Manakin area from the original Huguenot settlement south of the James River at Manakin-Town. 1 ext. photo (1940); 4 data pages (1941).

 

  MANAKIN VICINITY     Goochland County (38)

House (Old House) (VA-315), 1.1 mi. N of James River, W side of State Rte. 621, .3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 6. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, center chimney, extension of rear roof pitch forms salt-box shape. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Old House (VA-315), see House (VA-315), Manakin Vicinity.

Powell's Tavern (VA-748), .9 mi. N of James River, N side of State Rte. 650, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 647. Two separate buildings. N building: frame, two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, rear lean-to; central connecting porch. Built late 18th C. S building: brick, two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C. Central porch replaced by two-story frame passageway with interior chimney 1957. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1957).

 

  MANASSAS     Prince William County (76)

Liberia (VA-834), 627 Centreville Rd. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, sawtooth cornice, two-story Tuscan tetrastyle portico, arched doorway with semi-circular fanlight; modified center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; later additions. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

Tudor Hall (VA-835), end of Tudor Lane, one block E of intersection with Fairview Ave. Frame with wood siding simulating brick with stone quoining, covered with asbestos siding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, giant tetrastyle Doric portico, modillion cornice with triglyphs and metopes carried around below modillions; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 19th C.; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 161

 

  MANASSAS VICINITY     Prince William County (76)

Ben Lomond (VA-836), 1.7 mi. S of Bull Run, .4 mi. E of State Rte. 234, 2.6 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 29/211. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, monumental Tuscan portico extending across W end; center-hall plan; stone outbuildings. Built early 19th C.; later alterations and additions. 2 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1958).

Stone House

Stone House
Page 162

Brent House (VA-553), see White House, The (VA-553), Manassas Vicinity.

Moor Green (Old House) (VA-554), 1 mi. N of Broad Run, .3 mi. W of State Rte. 692, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 649. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys, brick cornice; center hall plan, nole interior trim; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Old House (VA-554), see Moor Green (VA-554), Manassas Vicinity.

Stone House (VA-144), N side of Youngs Branch, NE corner intersection of U.S. Rte. 29/211 and State Rte. 234, Manassas National Battlefield Park. Historic house museum. Stone, 40' (four-bay front) x 23'7", two stories, gable roof, two stone interior end chimneys; center hall plan. Built early 19th C. 9 sheets (1959, including plot plans, plans, elevations, details); 8 ext. photos (1936, 1937, 1940, 1959), 21 int. photos (1959); 2 data pages (1959); HABSI (1958).

White House, The (Brent House) (VA-553), .2 mi. S of Broad Run, to Rte. 619, SE corner intersection with State Rte. 678. Brick with cement wash, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, four brick exterior end chimneys with parapets; center-hall plan; wing. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo HABSI's (1958, 1959).

 

  MANGOHICK       King William County (51)

Cottage (House) (VA-534), .8 mi. N of Millpond Creek, N side of 604, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 30. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one story above high brick basement, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys with pent closet between; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; later addition; 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-534), see Cottage (VA-534), Mangohick.

Mooklar House (VA-764), .7 mi. N of Millpond Creek, NE corner of State Rtes. 604 and 30. Frame with clapboarding, (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, partially enclosed front porch. Built early 19th C.; frame kitchen remains. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 163

Hornquarter

 

  MANGOHICK VICINITY     King William County (51)

Hornquarter (VA-149), .6 mi. E of Pamunkey River, .6 mi. N of State Rte. 614, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 601. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with balustrade deck, four interior end chimneys, two-story pedimented portico, three-part windows, rear five-bay front, sides and rear have rectangular paneled insets on each bay between stories; center-hall plan; two front and two rear one-story brick dependencies. Built mid 19th C. 4 ext. photos (n.d., 1938); 1 data page (1939); HABSI (1958).

Mangohick Baptist Church (VA-763), .6 mi. N of Millpond Creek, N side of State Rte 638, .2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, modillion cornice. Built c. 1730; window sash, interior altered; rear additions. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Palestine (VA-765), .3 mi. N of Herring Creek, .4 mi. W of State Rte. 604, .7 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 628. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; frame, one-and-a-half story side wing. Built late 18th C.; later additions; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).
Page 164

Retreat (VA-767), .4 mi. of Malden Creek, .2 mi. NW of State Rte. 604, 2.2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 628. Brick, rectangular (five bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; brick one-story wing, entrance porch; frame rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions; porch removed. 2 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Roseville (VA-766), .4 mi. N of Herring Creek, .1 mi. SE of State Rte. 604, 1.1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 628. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, N exterior end chimney with brick pent closet, S double chimney with brick pent closet between them; center-hall plan; frame side wing; frame one-story outbuilding with gable roof and exterior end chimney. Built early 19th C.; later additions; N chimney and pent closet destroyed and replaced by exterior end chimney. 2 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  MANQUIN VICINITY King William County (51)

Dabney House (VA-244), see Seven Springs (VA-244), Manquin Vicinity.

Fontainebleu (VA-379), .3 mi. E of E tributary of Manquin Creek, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 618, 1.4 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 661. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers and cupola, four exterior end chimneys. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Seven Springs (Dabney House) (VA-244), .2 mi. E of Mehixen Creek, .4 mi. W of State Rte. 604, .l mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 605. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and kipped dormers, T-shaped central chimney; entrance hall with three rooms surrounding chimney, two rear rooms have corner fireplaces. Built mid 18th C.; in process of' restoration, rear screen porch added. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  MAPPSVILLE VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Wharton House (VA-490), .4 mi. W of Assawaman Creek, .3 mi. N of State Rte. 762, .4 mi. SE of intersection with Rte. 679. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 46' (five-bay front) x 45', two stories, hipped roof with balustrated deck, two interior chimneys, rectangular plan, fine carved doorway, plaster ceiling decoration, four signed Philadelphia mantels by R. Wellford; side wing. Built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958).
Page 165

Abijah Thomas House

 

  MARION VICINITY     Smyth County (87)

Thomas, Abijah House (VA-639), .25 mi. N of South Fork of Holston River, N side of Thomas Bridge Rd., .5 mi. SE of intersection with Scratch Gravel Rd. Brick, octagonal, 2410" each side two-bay side), two stories, octagonal hipped roof, four interior chimneys, one-story porch on three sides; complex interior plan. guilt mid 19th C.; abandoned. 13 sheets (1963, including plans, elevations, sections, details).
Page 166

Abijah Thomas House

 

  MATTOAX VICINITY     Amelia County (4)

Oaks, The (VA-157), see Oaks, The (VA-157), 307 Stockton Lane, Richmond.

 

  McLEAN VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

Maplewood (VA-739), 7676 Old Springhouse Rd. Brick, asymmetrical (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, advanced entrance tower with steep mansard roof and paired oval attic windows, bracketed cornice, one-story bracketed veranda flanking the entrance tower; modified center-hall plan; one-story side wing, unusually large scale. Built c. 1870; exterior altered 1884-1912; interior extensively remodeled 1912-19; demolished 1970. 7 ext. photos (1969); HABSI (1969).
Page 167

Maplewood

 

  MEADOWS OF DAN     Patrick County (71)

Mabry Mill (VA-165), see Mabry Mill (VA-165), Willis Vicinity, Floyd Co.
Page 168

Maplewood

 

  MECHANICSVILLE VICINITY     Hanover County (43)

Dr. Gaines House (VA-335), see Powhite (VA-335), Mechanicsville Vicinitv.

Gaines House (VA-78), .2 mi. NE of Sledd's Lake on Fairfield Farm, .2 mi. NW of- State Rte. 615, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 156. Frame with clapboarding, 26'2'/" (three-bay front) x 14'2", one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, two lean-to closets at either side of chimney end form 'T-shape; one-room plan with side closets. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged. 3 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935, 1936, n.d.) ; 1 data page (1941).

Gathwright House (VA-76), N side of N branch of Boatswain Creek, .1 mi. S of State Rte. 156, .4 mi. W of' intersection with State Rtes. 619 and 633. Brick and frame, 48'3" (five-bay front) x 18', two stories, gable roof, W interior end chimney, E exterior end chimney, W three bays oil first floor are brick; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; brick part is original with later frame additions; restored. 13 sheets (1934, 1935, including plans, elevations, details); IIABSI (1957).
Page 169

Pollard House (VA-343), see Williamsville (VA-343), Studley Vicinity.

Powhite (Dr. Gaines House) (VA-335), .3 mi. W of Powhite Creek, 1 mi. SE of State Rte. 615, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 156. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior and one exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; demolishe 2 ext. photos (1934).

Rural Plains (VA-753), .4 mi. NE of Totopotomoi Creek, S side of State Rte. 606, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 643. Brick rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with hipped dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, two-level entrance porch with enclosed second level; center-hall plan, corner fireplaces. Built early 18th C.; porch additions; interior remodeled mid 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

Watt House (VA-477), .2 mi. S of Boatswain Creek, .7 mi. S of Statell Rte. 156, 1.6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 615, at Cold' Harbor National Battlefield Park. Frame with clapboarding, 30'6" (three-bay front) x 28', one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys with two frame pent closets; side-hall plan. Built c. 1835; restored 1959. 6 sheets (1956, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (n.d., 1956); 3 data pages (n.d.).

 

  MERRY POINT VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Oak Hill (VA-298), S bank of W branch of Corotoman River,.3 mi. N of State Rte. 604, .3 mi. W of S terminus of Merry Point-Ottoman Wharf Ferry. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; probably two-room plan. Built c. 1805; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Verville (VA-151), .6 mi. NW of W branch of Corotoman River, W side of State Rte. 611, .3 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 604. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, nole interior trim; flanking one-story wings. Built c. 1700; later additions; restored. 5 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 2 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (1939); HABSI's (1957, 1958).

Waddel, James, House (VA-297), N bank of W branch of Corotoman River, E side of State Rte. 604, at N terminus of Merry Point-Otto-man Wharf Ferry. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three exterior end chimneys; probably two-room plan; side wing: one-and-a-half story, gambrel roof. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged early 19th C.; ruinous 1940; reconstructed within remaining original chimneys 956. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).
Page 170

 

  MIDDLETOWN VICINITY     Frederick County (35)

Old Stone Fort (VA-210), NW bank of Middle Marsh Brook, .6 mi. NW of Chapel Rd., 1.1 mi. N of intersection with U.S.Rte. 11. Stone, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, segmental flat stone lintels, nine-over-six window sash with heavy plank frames, three-room plan including long E room the full length of the house. Built mid 18th C. as house with fortified basement room; altered and enlarged early 19th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1938), 2 int. photos (1938); 1 data page (1941).

 

  MILLWOOD     Clarke County (22)

Belle Grove (VA-259), .2 mi. S of Cedar Creek, E side of State Rte. 27, .5 mi. NW of intersection with U.S. Rte. 11. Historic house museum of National Trust for Historic Preservation. Stone, rectangular (seven-bay front), hipped roof, four interior stone chimneys, one-story pedimented tetrastyle Doric entrance porch, entrance door with arched transom, stone corner quoins; cross-hall plan, nole interior trim including paneled dog-ear motif overmantels and glazed interior doorway transoms; one-story flanking wing above raised basement. Built c. 1794; restored c. 1922. 15 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.), 8 ext. photos (n.d., 1910, 1939, 1964), 6 int. photos (1964); 9 data pages (1940, 1972); HABSI (1958). NR

Burwell's Mill (Millwood Mill) (VA-354), S bank of Spout Run, N side of State Rte. 723, .4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 255. Stone, rectangular (two-bay front), gable roof with loft, one interior corner chimney; one-room plan. Built late 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1934), 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR

Carter Hall (VA-358), .2 mi. NW of Spout Run, .4 mi. SE of State Rte. 255, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 723. Stone, five part composition; central section: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof; hexastyle two-story Ionic portico with parapet, two interior chimneys, arched fanlight; modified center-hall plan; flanking two-story wings; gable roof terminated by flanking one-story wings, gable roofs; main house flanked by matching dependencies: stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built 1790-92; altered and enlarged c. 1830, c. 1855, c. 1930. 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.), 1 int. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).
Page 171

Burwell's Mill

Millwood Mill (VA-354), see Burwell's Mill (VA-354), Millwood.

 

  MODEST TOWN Accomack County (1)

Salt Box House (VA-491), .6 mi. W of Northam Creek, E side of State Rte. 679, E corner of intersection with State Rte. 772. Frame with clapboarding and brick (Flemish bond) end, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; two-room plan; frame, one-story addition. Built mid 18th C.; addition. 3 ext. photos (1940, 1960).
Page 172

 

  MOLLUSK VICINITY Lancaster County (52)

Belmont (VA-296), S side of State Rte. 662, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 354. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), gable roof with jerkinheads, dormers, and lean-to slope in ar, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan, closed string stair, olc interior trim. Built mid l 8th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1940), 4 int. photos (1940).

Saint Mary's Whitechapel (VA-59), 1.1 mi. E of Rappahannock River, NE corner of' intersection of State Rtes. 354 and 201. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), 60' (four-bay front) x 28', one story, hipped roof, modiIlion cornice, arched window heads; one-room plan, gallery, cove ceiling. Built c. 1740; extensively altered mid 19th C.; renovated mid 20th C. 5 ext. photos (1937, 1939), 2 int. photos (1937); HABSI's (1957, 1958). NR

Salt Box House
Page 173     

Towles House

Towles House (VA-62), E bank of Rappanhannock River, .5 mi. SW of S end of State Rte. 626, 1.4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 354. Brick ends and frame with clapboarding on front and rear walls, 39'7'/2" (four-bay front) x 26'4", one-and-a-half stories, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan, notable walnut stair. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 12 sheets (1940, including plot plans, plans, elevations, sections, details); 15 ext. photos (1933, 1937, 1940); 2 ext. photocopies (1893, 1898); 2 data pages (1941).

 

  MOSQUITO CREEK VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Poplar Grove (Wallop House) (VA-693), exact location unknown. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, segmental arched windows; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; burned 1944. 3 cxt. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 2 data pages (n.d., 1949).

Wallop House (VA-693), see Poplar Grove (VA-693), Mosquito Creek Vicinity.
Page 174

Mount Vernon

 

  MOUNT VERNON     Fairfax County (30)

Mount Vernon (VA-505), Va. shore of Potomac River, .2 mi. S of Mount Vernon Memorial Hwy. at intersection of State Rte. 235. Historic house museum. Frame, beveled-edged wood siding resembling rusticated stonework, 96' (nine-bay front) x 32' (not including portico), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with octagonal cupola and dormers, two interior chimneys, modillion cornice, monumental two-story portico with eight square pillars extending the width of the E front, modillion cross gable with elliptical lunette on the W front, entrance doorway with architrave frame supporting a frieze and pediment, Palladian window on N front; center-hall plan, nole interior trim, ornamental plaster decoration; frame, one-and-a-half story dependencies connected to main house by quarter circle covered arcades; nole brick and frame outbuildings forming com-plete plantation complex; nole landscaping and gardens. Probably first built c. 1730 for Augustine Washington, George Washington's father, as a one-and-a-half story dwelling; enlarged to two-and-a-half stories 1758-59; S end extended 1775; N end extended 1776; E portico completed 1777; W cross gable completed 1778; octagonal cupola added 1787; restored by the Mount Vernon Ladies' Associa-tion of the Union 1858. Mount Vernon was acquired by George Washington from his half brother's widow in 1 754 and was his home until his death in 1799. He is buried on the estate in the tomb erected in 1831. 8 ext. photos, main house (1942, 1969, 1970), 4 ext. photos, outbuildings (1942), 1 ext. photo, tomb (1942); HABSI (1969). NR; NHL
Page 175

Pope-Leighey House

Pope-Leighey House

Pope-Leighey House

Pope-Leighey House
Page 176

Pope-Leighey House

 

  MOUNT VERNON VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

Pope-Leighey House (VA-638), 9000 Richmond Hwy. Historic house museum of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Wood and brick, L-shaped, one story, two levels, flat roof, one interior chimney, pierced decorative clerestory window bands, three-layer wooden wall construction consisting of cypress sheathing screwed to both sides of a plywood core; asymmetrical plan of interrelated spaces. Built 1940-41 for Loren B. Pope at 1005 Locust St., Falls Church,Va., Frank Lloyd Wright, architect; sold to Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Leighey 1946; the National Trust for Historic Preservation and Mrs. Leighey contracted for removal and reconstruction of house at Woodlawn Plantation July 1964; house dismantled autumn 1964; reconstruction completed 1965. This house is an example of Wright's Usonian architecture. 9 sheets (1964, 1973, including plot plan plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos before dismantling (April, 1964), 6 ext. photos, after reconstruction (1969), 11 int. photos, before dismantling (April, 1964), 10 int. photos, after reconstruction (1969); 3 data pages (1964); HABSI (1969). NR
Page 177

Washington's Grist Mill (VA-506), 55,414 Mount Vernon Memorial Hwy. Museum. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories with loft, gable roof, one interior stone corner chimney; open plan. Built mid 18th C., ruinous condition mid 19th C.; reconstruct 1932. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1969).

Woodlawn Plantation (VA-337), 9000 Richmond Hwy. Historic house museum of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Brick with stone trim, five part composition, central block: 56' (five-bay front) x 45', two stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and cross gable over central bay, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, one-story porch with stucco over brick columns, deck roof with balustrade on E front; center-hall plan, nole interior stair and trim; symmetrical one-and-a-half-story gable-end flanking pavilions connected to the main block by one-and-a-half-story hyphens; separate dairy; smoke-house: brick (Flemish bond) with stone trim, one story, pyramid roof; one-room plan. Built 1800-05, Dr. William Thornton, architect; flanking wings altered and enlarged early 20th C. Woodlawn was built on part of the Mount Vernon estate for George Washington's adopted granddaughter Eleanor Parke Custis Lewis and her husband, Lawrence Lewis, who was George Washington's nephew. 16 ext. photos (1936, 1939, 1942, 1964), 9 int. photos (1936, 1964);HABSI (1969). NR

Woodlawn Plantation
Page 178

 

  NASSAWADOX VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Brownsville (VA-810), .1 mi. W of Upshur Creek, .6 mi. NE of end State Rte. 608, 1.2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 600. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice, pedimented wooden Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; one- and one-and-a-half-story frame wings; frame with clapboarding outbuildings. Built early 19th C.; attached frame wing predates main block; later addition. 6 ext. photos (1960), 2 ext. photos, outbuild-gs (1960), 7 int. photos (1960); HABSI (1958). NR

Happy Union (VA-805), N bank of Holly Grove Cove, .2 mi. NW of W end of State Rte. 692, 1.4 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, entrance door with semi-circular transom in gable end; side-hall plan with three entrance doors; one-story two-bay flanking dependency conected to house by one-story hyphen. Built late 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1960).

Holly Grove (VA-804), S bank of Holly Grove Cove, .8 mi. W of State Rte. 610, .1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; modified side-hall plan; side and rear frame one-story ells. Built 1812; later additions. 3 ext. photos (1960), 3 int. photos (1960).

Woodlands (VA-590), .5 mi. W of Greens Creek, .3 mi. E of State Rte. 600, 2.2 mi. NE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; one-story frame wing, connecting hyphen; frame outbuildings, including icehouse and dairy. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1960), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1960), 6 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (1960).

 

  NAXERA VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Land's End (VA-518), N bank of Severn River, .7 mi. S of State Rte. 614, 1.2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 629. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell; dairy: frame with clapboarding, one story. Built mid 18th C.; later additions mid 20th C. 4 ext. photos (1940), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1940); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1959).
Page 179

 

  NEW CHURCH VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Pitts Neck Farm (VA-492), .3 mi. SE of Pocomoke River, W end State Rte. 709 at intersection with State Rtc. 804, 1 mi. W of intersection with State Rtc. 701. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), gable roof', two brick interior end chimneys, brick pedimented entrance; center-hall plan; side wing. Built early 18th C. 3 ext. photos (1940).

 

  NEW KENT VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Criss-Cross (VA-126), .5 mi. E of intersection of Pelham Swamp and Rumley Marsh, .3 mi. S of State Rtc. 617, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 604. Brick and frame with clapboarding, cruciform (three-bay front), W wing: brick with frame gable end above eaves, one story, gable roof; S wing: brick with frame above second-floor windows, two-and-a-half stories, gable roof; E wing: brick with frame above first floor, two stories, gable roof; N wing: frame with clapboarding, two stories, gable roof; two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney. Built late 17th C.; originally a T-shaped plan; N wing added later; altered; W wing now: brick, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable end above caves; S wing: brick, two stories, gable roof, f'ramc gable end above eaves; E wing: brick, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable end above caves; N wing: brick, one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, frame gable end above eaves. 13 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 7 ext. photos (1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 4 data pages (1937); HABSI (1958).

 

  NEWPORT NEWS

Jones, Matthew, House (VA-1 63), S side of' intersection of MacAuliffe Ave. and James River Rd. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), 31'1" (three-bay front) x 21'2", two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, two-story enclosed front porch; one-story rear lean-to. Built early 18th C.; altered; second story added. 7 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations); 10 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935, 1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1959). NR

 

  NEWTOWN VICINITY       King and Queen County (49)

Drysdale Glebe (VA-398), 1 mi. S of Beverly Run, S side of State Rte. 641, 1.5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 625. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 int. photo, stair (1939), 1 int. photo, stair (1937, probably of another but similar unidentified stair); 2 data pages (1940, 1941).
Page 180

Matthew Jones House

Hillsborough

Hillsborough (VA-125), N bank of Mattaponi River, .6 mi. SW of State Rte. 633, 1.8 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 632. Brick (Flemish bond), gable ends and frame with clapboarding, 52'5" (five-bay front) x 30'4", two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, wooden one-story entrance porches; center-hall plan, nole interior trim; side wing; storehouse outbuilding: brick, 32'9" (four-bay front) x 18'8", one story, gable roof; one-room plan. Built c. 1722; extensive alterations and additions including removal of drawing room paneling. 20 sheets, main house (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 sheets, store-house (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos, main house (1936), 2 ext. photos, storehouse (1936), 7 int. photos, main house (1936); 5 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Jackson Farm Buildings (VA-361), exact location unknown. Three frame barns: two with clapboard siding and gable roof with wooden shingles, one with board and batten vertical siding and standing-seam tin roof; plans unknown. Date of erection unknown. 1 ext. photo (1937).
Page 181

Hillsborough

Hillsborough
Page 182

Southworth House (VA-313), exact location unknown. brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with shed dormers; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1938), 1 int. photo, basement stair (1938); data page (1941).

 

  NORFOLK

Purdy-Whittle House (Whittle House) (VA-15), 225 W. Freemason St. Brick, 40'2" (three-bay front) x 40'5", two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, two brick interior chimneys, modillion cornice, pedimented Tuscan entrance porch, two-level side porch; fine interiors. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 5 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photo (1934); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Whittle House (VA-15), see Purdy-Whittle House (VA-15), 225 W. Freemason St., Norfolk.

 

  NOKESVILLE VICINITY     Prince William County (76)

Effingham (VA-575), .5 mi. W of Cedar Run, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 646, 1 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; frame and stone outbuildings including blacksmith shop, dairy, and slave quarters. Built mid 18th C.; extensive later alterations and additions including mid 20th C. giant portico across front. 4 ext. photos, main house (1936, 1959), 9 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936), 4 int. photos, main house (1936); 2 data pages (1959).

Fleetwood (VA-275), S side of Slate Run, W side of State Rte. 611, .7 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 653. Stone, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; side-hall plan; flanking one-story wings, log with clapboarding. E wing built late 18th C.; main section and office wing built early 19th C. 4 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

House (VA-825), .1 mi. W of Cedar Run, N side of State Rte. 646, 1.6 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C. or early 19th C.; later additions and alterations including dormer windows. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Purdy-White House
Page 183)

Park Gate (VA-555), .4 mi. N of Slate Run, N side of State Rte. 65, .3 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 611. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, roof extended to cover porch across front; modified two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; later lean-to addition and interior alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937 HABSI (1959).

Pilgrim's Rest (VA-837), .2 mi. E of Cedar Run, .2 mi. W of State Rte. 607, opposite intersection with State Rte. 645. Frame with brick nogging and flush siding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys joined together below the eaves line to form one extra broad chimney; side-hall plan nole interior trim; side wing. Built late 18th C.; later porch and side-wing additions. 3 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

 

  NOTTOWAY      Nottoway County (68)

Nottoway County Courthouse (VA-812), .5 mi. E of Crystal Lake, W side of State Rte. 625, .1 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 460. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented Tuscan portico; one-room plan; flanking one-story, one-bay wings with gable roofs. Built c. 1840; later additions. 1 ext. photo (1938); HABSI (1959).

 

  NUTTSVILLE VICINITY     Lancaster County (52)

Belle Isle (VA-64), .1 mi. N of N branch of Deep Creek, at SW end of State Rte. 683, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 354. Brick (Flemish bond), three part composition with flanking dependencies, 38'1'/2" (three-bay front) x 32', two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water le, shallow segmental window lintels; modified asymmetrical plan; flanking one-story, gable roof wings each four bays with interior end chimney; NE dependency: brick, 28'1" (three-bay front) x 19'21/2", one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; interiors altered late 18th C.; ground-floor interiors removed c. 1930; ground floor renovated and plan altered c. 1940. Design of house possibly influenced by Robert Morris, Select Architectore, London 1750, plate 33. 18 sheets (1940, including plot plan, plans, elevations, interior elevations, details); 13 ext. photos (1937, 1940), 5 ext. photos, dependencies (1934, 1940), 5 int. photos (1940); 1 photocopy plate from Robert Morris (n.d.); 1 data page (1937); HABSI (1957).
Page 184

Belle Isle

Morattico (VA-73), NE bank of Rappahannock River, at S bank of mouth of Lancaster Creek, .1 mi. W of S end of State Rte. 622, .9 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 718. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished c. 1925; exceptionally fine interior trim reused in modern structure on site. 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1900); 1 data page (1940).

Oakley (VA-535), .1 mi. N of Little Branch, S side of State Rte. 622, .4 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 618. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (five-bay front), two-story front section, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one interior chimney; center-hall plan; ell: one-and-a-half story, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers, one exterior end chimney; outbuilding: frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior center chimney, two-room plan. Built early 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations. 2 ext. photos (1930); HABSI (1958).

 

  OCCOQUAN Prince William County (76)

Mill Ruins and Mill House (VA-576), SW bank of Occoquan Creek, N side of Mill St., at W end. Fieldstone and brick ruins of corner of mill at edge of creek; stone mill house: rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Mill built mid 18th C.; ruinous; mill house built late 18th C., reconstructed. 1 ext. photo (1959); 1 data page (1959).
Page 185

Rockledge

Bel Air

Rockledge (VA-577), S bank of Occoquan Creek, S side of Mill St. at W end. Stone, main block 62'9" (six-bay front) x 20'3", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, two interior end chimneys, one interior chimney, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; one-and-a-half story side wing; springhouse. Built mid 18th C., William Buckland, architect; later addition; interior vandalized; ruinous 1970. 11 sheets (1960, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details, main house; plans, elevations, details, springhouse); 20 ext. photos, main house (1959, 1960), 1 ext. photo, springhouse (1959), 12 int. photos (1960); 5 data pages (1959, 1961); HABSI (1959).

 

  OCCOQUAN VICINITY Prince William County (76)

Bel Air (VA-99), .2 mi. S of Neabsco Creek, .9 mi. W of State Rte. 640, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 610. Brick (Flemish bond), 50'11" (four-bay front) x 34'9", one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney, one interior end chimney; center-hall plan, nole interior trim in-cluding removable interior hall partition. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 7 sheets (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 6 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); HABSI (1959). NR
Page 186

 

  OLD TOWN NECK Northampton County (66)

Westover (VA-957), .2 mi. S of Mattawoman Creek, .5 mi. N of State Rte. 630, .8 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 1. Brick and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan, elaborate panelling. Built 18th C. 7 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections).

 

  ONANCOCK Accomack County (1)

Kerr Place (VA-494), NE corner of Crockett Ave. and Market St. Brick, rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, gable roof with cross gable, two interior chimneys, two interior end chimneys, central projecting pedimented pavilions on front and rear facades; center-hall plan, fine Adam-style mantels and woodwork; two-story wing. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1958). NR

Topping House (VA-482), .9 mi. S of Finneys Creek, .8 mi. S of State Rte. 638, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 641. Frame with clapboarding and brick (Flemish bond) end, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built late 18th C.; ruinous. 3 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  ORDINARY     Gloucester County (37)

Old House (VA-519), see Sewell's Ordinary (VA-519), Ordinary.

Sewell's Ordinary (VA-519), 1.2 mi. E of Timberneck Creek, W side of U.S. Rte. 17, opposite intersection with State Rte. 636. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two T-shaped exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney; center-hall plan; ell. Built mid 18th C.; moved to present location c. 1960; extensive alterations. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1959).

 

  ORDINARY VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Belle Farm Site (VA-69), S bank of Vaughans Creek, N side of State Rte. 656, opposite intersection with State Rte. 641. Landscape and garden plan of Belle Farm site, house: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney; one-and-a-half story rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; dismantled and moved to Williamsburg. 1 ex photo, site (1937); 2 data pages (n.d., including garden plan).
Page 187

 

  OWENS VICINITY King George County (50)

Saint Paul's Episcopal Church (VA-266), .8 mi. N of Pepper Mill Creek, SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 206 and 218. Brie (Flemish bond), cruciform (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, modillion cornice, arched windows, brick water le; Greek-cross plan. Built mid 18th C.; interior ruinous 1812; converted to school mid 19th C.; partially restored. 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  PAINTER VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Thunder Castle (Thunder Cottage) (VA-496), .9 mi. W of Machipongo River, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 607, .8 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Frame with clapboarding and brick ends (Flemish bond with random glazed headers), rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one interior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; additions. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Thunder Cottage (VA-496), see Thunder Castle (VA-496), Painter Vicinity.

 

  PARIS Fauquier County (31)

Watts Ashby Tavern (VA-743), SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 759 and 701. Stone and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories (stone first story, frame second story), gable roof, three exterior stone end chimneys, second story projects beyond first floor on street front to form covered porch below; one-story flanking stone wings. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1936).

 

  PETERSBURG

Battersea (VA-1 36), 793 Appomattox St. Brick, covered with stucco, five-part composition, two-story main block, one-story wings and hyphens, pyramidal hipped roof on main block, pedimented gable roofs on wings; nole Chinese trellis stairway. Built c. 1770, attributed to Thomas Jefferson; later alterations. 19 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, section, details); 32 photos (1935, 1937, 1938).
Page 188

Battersea
Page 189

Battersea

William H. Bowers House

Bolling, Robert, House (Lawn, The) (VA-814), 224 S. Sycamore St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys, pedimented entrance porch; side hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1825. 2 ext. photos (1935); HABSI (1959).

Bollingbrook (VA-79), on block bounded on S by Franklin St. on N by Henry and Bank Sts., on W by Jefferson St., on E by Madison St. Frame with clapboarding, 48'1" (five-bay front) x 22'1", one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; side wing: originally one of two similar buildings, each with two flanking side wings; destroyed. 5 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, details); 2 ext. photocopies (n.d. 1900); 21 data pages (n.d., 1940).

Bowers, William H., House (VA-68), 254 N. Sycamore St. Brick, 23'7" (three-bay front) x 50', three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, five interior end chimneys, rectangular insets above first and second-story windows, oval inserts above third-story windows, iron balconies, first floor store front; side-hall plan. Built 1828-1829; later alterations. 5 sheets (1935, including plan, elevations, details of ironwork); 6 ext. photos (1938, 1969), 3 int. photos (1968); 8 data pages (1939, 1968); HABSI (1959).
Page 190

William H. Bowers House
Page 191

Center Hill (VA-815), N of Franklin St., at end of Center Hill Lane. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, low hipped roof with cupola, four interior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; center-hall plan. Built c. 1825; altered with additions c. 1850. 2 ext. photos (c. 1920, 1936); HABSI (1959).

City Hall (VA-659), see Old United States Custom Office (VA-659), 121-41 N. Union St., Petersburg.

Double House (VA-816), 208-08A Bollingbrook St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, arched entrances; side-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1935); HABSI (1959).

Dunlop, David, Tobacco Factory (VA-663), 45-127 Old St. Brick, 144' (seventeen-bay front) x 151', four stories, gable roof, one tapered rectangular brick stack, corbeled brick decoration at gable eaves and on cross gable; open plan, wooden interior structural framing. Built 1887-88. 1 ext. photo (1968); 1 ext. photocopy(1894); 6 data pages (1968).

David Dunlop Tobacco Factory
Page 192

The Exchange

The Exchange

Dunn House (VA-130), 105 S. Sycamore St. Brick, 53'11/2" (five-bay front) x 23'3/4", two stories, hipped roof, interior end chimneys, Tuscan entrance porch; center-hall plan; dairy, smokehouse, and stable outbuildings. Built c. 1833; destroyed. 16 sheets (1936, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 5 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936), 6 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages.

Elliott House (VA-662), 269 High St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, mansard roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, decorative cast-iron roof cresting, three-bay projecting bay window on principal front, elaborate wooden hooded entrance porch with Eastlake decoration and iron cresting; side-hall plan. Built c. 1876; rear addition 1889. 2 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Exchange, The (VA-647), 15-19 W. Bank St. Brick with stucco, 60'4" (five-bay front) x 79'11", three stories, hipped roof; dome and ten-sided lantern, monumental tetrastyle Greek Doric portico, one interior end chimney; rectangular plan with central rotunda 39'7" in diameter with surrounding balcony. Built c. 1840-41, Mr. Berrien, architect; later interior alterations. 8 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (1968), 4 int. photos (1968); 7 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959). NR
Page 193

Friend, Nathaniel, Jr., House (VA-651), 27-29 Bollingbrook St. (Flemish bond front), approx. 48' (six-bay front) x 48', three-and-a- half stories, gable roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys four-room plan, nole interior trim; rear wing. Built 1816; extensive later alterations to ground-floor shop and interior room arrangements. 3 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 5 data pages (19 HABSI (1959).

Gill, Erasmus, House (VA-650), 53 S. Market St. Frame with boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, exterior end chimneys; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; one-story side wing (two-bay front), shallow gable roof; one interior end chimney; nole interior trim including arched niches flanking fin detailed gauge-work mantel and overmantel, fluted pilaster door window trim carrying paneled enlatures. Built c. 1785-91; interior trim and side wing possibly added c. 1800-10; later additions alterations. 1 ext. photo (1968), 6 int. photos (1968); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 6 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Gilliam Row Houses (VA-817), 102-04 Grove Ave., see Read's, B., Row (VA-643), 102-04 W. Old St., Petersburg.

Golden Ball Tavern (VA-818), SE corner of Market St. and Grove Ave. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above brick basement, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney and three interior end chimneys; rear ell continues pitch of roof making saltbox shape. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1935).

Harrison House (VA-642), see Strachan, Dr. Alexander Glass, House (VA-642), 302 Cross St., Petersburg.

Hinton House (VA-426), 416 High St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice. Built early 19th C.; altered. 2 ext. photos (1940), 4 int. photos (1935).

House in Blandford (VA-819), exact location unknown, site possibly S side of Wills St., between Church and Center Sts. in Blandford Cemetery. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built early 19th C.; demolished or possibly moved to unknown site. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Hustings Courthouse (VA-657), Courthouse Ave. and N. Sycamore St. Brick with stucco, temple form, 50' (one-bay front) x 100' (seven-bay lateral facade), two stories, gable roof, hexastyle portico, four Tower-of-the-Winds-order columns flanked by square pilaster-anta at each end, octagonal clock tower resembling steeple surmounted by statue of justice; modified center-hall plan, nole plaster ceiling in courtroom. Built 1838-40, Calvin Pollard, architect; later additions and alterations 1877, 1965. 4 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 1 ext. photocopy (1865); 10 data pages (1968).
Page 194

Hustings Courthouse

Hustings Courthouse

Jackson, John, House (VA-661), 410 High St. Brick with stucco, approx. 60' (five-bay front) x 40', two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, mansard roof with dormers; four interior end chimneys, arched cast-iron window lintels, bracketed cornice, entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1867; ground-floor balcony removed; interior altered. 4 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 1 ext. photocopy (1894); 8 data pages (1968).
Page 195

Lawn, The (VA-814), see Boiling, Robert, House, 224 S. Sycamore St., Petersburg.

May's, David, Row (VA-660), 21 7-23 High St. Brick, four adjoining units approx. 105' (twelve-bay front, each unit three bays) x 55'; three stories above raised basement, flat roof, large scale bracketed cornice, eight interior chimneys, two interior end chimneys, shallow pediments over first- and second-story windows, wooden entrance porches, cast-iron entry well fences; side-hall plan. Built 1859; ruinous 1968. 2 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 1 photocopy (c. 1870); 8 data pages (1968).

O'Hara, Charles, House (VA-820), 244 N. Market St. Brick, trapezoidal (three-bay front), three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, arched entrance; altered one-room plan; absence of parallel walls or right angles. Built c. 1815; renovated. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1959).

Old Farmers Market (VA-649), NE corner of intersection of W. Old and Rock Sts. Brick, octagonal, 80' in diameter, 33'10" per side (three bays per side), one story, hipped roof, octagonal louvered cupola, two interior end chimneys at each corner, projecting shed roof, 12', with ornamental cast-iron supporting brackets, open shed 60' x 30' on N side; open plan. Built 1878, B. J. Black, architect; H. W. Williams, builder; altered 1952. 4 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections); 4 ext. photos (1968); 8 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959). NR

Old United States Custom House and Post Office (City Hall) (VA-659), 121-41 N. Union St. Brick faced with granite, 46' (three-bay front) x 100' (eight-bay lateral facade), three stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, arcaded window and door openings on first floor, pedimented window lintels at second-floor level; modified center-hall plan, cast-iron interior supports with composite capitals. Built 1856, Ammi B. Young, architect; remodeled 1870; lateral facade extended three bays 1908-10; renovated 1938. 5 ext. photos (1968), 1 int. photo (1968); 30 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Pig Alley Block Study (VA-930), Hurt St., Plum St., and Grove Ave., near Appomattox River. Mid 19th C. village complex of cottages, built for laborers in nearby flour and cotton mills. General views; looking S along Hurt St. toward Plum St., and looking N along Hurt St. toward Grove Ave., arc included in this entry. 2 ext. photos (1968).
Page 196

Old Farmer's Market

Double House (VA-654), 406-08 Hurt St. Frame with clapboarding, 36' (four-bay front of two units) x 26', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, wooden one-story entrance porch; two-room plan per unit. Built c. 1835; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Double House (VA-645), 411-13 Hurt St. Frame with clapboarding, 36'4" (four-bay front of two units) x 26'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, wooden one-story entrance porches; two-room plan per unit. Built c. 1835; later additions and alterations. 7 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections); 2 ext. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Double House (VA-656), 702-04 Plum St. Brick, 40' (four-bay front of two units) x 30', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, wooden one-story entrance porch; two-room plan per unit, corner fireplaces. Built c. 1835; later alterations. 2 ext. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

House and Store (VA-653), 706 Grove Ave. Frame with clapboarding, trapezoidal, approx. 15' (two-bay front) x 60', two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, gable-end street facade with ground-floor store front; one-room plan; one-story rear wings. Built early 19th C.; ruinous 1968. 5 ext. photos (1968); 4 data pages (1968); HABSI (1969).

Row Houses (VA-655), 703-13 Plum St. Frame with clapboarding covered with asphalt shingles, approx. 100' (ten-bay front of five two-bay units) x 25', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney, four interior chimneys; two-room plan per unit. Built c. 1835; extensive alterations. 2 ext. photos (1968); 7 data pages (1968).
Page 197

House and Store

Store (VA-644), 412 Hurt St. Frame with clapboarding, 18'4" (three-bay front) x 36'7", one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, heavy stone foundation piers, one-story wooden entrance porch; one-room plan; side and rear wings. Built c. 1835; side and rear additions of one room each early 19th C., mid 20th C. 8 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections); 3 ext. photos (1968); 5 data pages (1968).

Pride's Tavern (VA-821), E of 600 N. West St. Brick, L-shaped (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior and two interior end chimneys; side lean-to; two brick one-story outbuildings. Built early 19th C.; tavern and one out-building demolished; kitchen remains. 2 ext. photos (1936); HABSI (1959).

Read's, John B., Row (Gilliam Row Houses) (VA-643), 102-04 W. Old St. Brick with stone window and door dressings and belt courses, 46'9" (six-bay front, three bays per unit) x 44'3", three stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys, arched entrance doorways with stone archivolts and keystones, shop fronts on ground floor; side-hall plan on second- and third-floor living quarters. Built 1815-18; later alterations and additions. 9 sheets (1968, including plot plans, plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (1935, 1968), 4 int. photos (1935, 1968); 7 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).
Page 198

Pig Alley Block Study, Store - elevation, not yet digitized.

John B. Read's Row
Page 199

Albert L. Scott House

Scott, Albert L., House (VA-648), 29 S. Market St. Brick with stucco scored to resemble ashlar, 42'8" (three-bay front) x 45'2" with rear wing 37'1" x 17'3", two stories above raised basement, hipped roof, square bracketed lantern, five interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, main floor windows paired with arched heads, entrance porch with balcony roof, cast-iron entrance gate and piers; center-hall plan, marble mantelpieces. Built 1860-61; remodeled c. 1950. 8 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (c. 1950, 1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 6 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Smith's, John H., Row (VA-646), 209-15 High St. Brick, four individual houses forming row, 20'7" (three-bay front single unit) x 34'11", two stories above raised basement, gable roof, two interior end chimneys per unit, rectangular recessed panels between first- and second-story windows; side-hall plan; antherion motif cast-iron fence. Built 1837, as row of five units; one unit demolished c. 1950; ruinous 1968. 9 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details of cast-iron fence); 4 ext. photos (1968, including fence), 4 int. photos (1968); 7 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Spottswood House (VA-822), see Stirling Castle (VA-822), 320 High St., Petersburg.
Page 200

John H. Smith's Row

Stirling Castle (Spottswood House) (VA-822), 320 High 5t. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, Greek Ionic entrance porch; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; altered; moved from unknown site W of Petersburg early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936); IIABSI (1959).

Stone House in Blandford (VA-96), SE corner of E. Washington St. and Crater Rd. Stone with clapboarding, 30'5" (three-bay front) x 30'6'/2", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney, stone quoining, frame south wall with clapboarding; side-hall plan. Built c. 1760; demolished. 9 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 8 ext. photos (1935, 1936); 4 data pages (n.d.).
Page 201

Dr. Alexander Glass Strachan House

Stone Warehouse (VA-823), E side of Market St., between Grove Ave. and the Appomattox River. Random-laid stone, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof. Built early 19th C.; altered. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1959).

Strachan, Dr. Alexander Glass, House (Harrison Douse) (VA-642), 302 Cross St. Frame with clapboarding, center section 46'4" (five-bay front) x 19'11", one-and-a-half stories, hip on gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; flanking wings: rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, N wing is connected to center section by one-bay hyphen. Built mid 18th C.; wings added probably early 19th C.; interior gutted 1968. 7 sheets (1968, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 4 ext. photos (1936, 1968), 7 int. photos (1968, including framing details and removed mantels); 6 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).
Page 202

Dr. Alexander Glass Strachan House

b Street Presbyterian Church (VA-658), 21 W. b St. Stone d brick with stucco scored to resemble ashlar, temple form, approx. 5' (one-bay front) x 85' (four-bay lateral facade), two stories above raised basement, gable roof, monumental hexastyle Greek Doric portico, cast-iron and granite fence; entrance lobby and auditorium with balcony on three sides, hexastyle modified Corinthian exedra, t-iron balcony columns; rear ell. Built 1843; addition 1923; octagonal spire on square belfry removed 1938. 2 ext. photos (1968), 3 int. photos (1968); 2 photocopies (1910, 1935); 8 data pages (1968); HABSI (1959).

Washington Street Methodist Church (VA-299), SW corner of Washington and Adams Sts. Brick with stucco, three-part composition, central block: rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above rusticated basement, low hipped roof, two-story three-bay Greek Doric portico; two flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, low hipped roof, two-story Greek Doric porticoes. Built 1842; later additions. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1959).

 

  PETERSBURG VICINITY     Dinwiddie County (27)

Mayfield (VA-958), .1 mi. N of Cattail Branch, S side of U.S. Rte. 1 (U.S. Rte. 460), .5 mi. E of intersection of Rte. 1 and Rte. 460. Brick, 54' (five-bay front) x 32', one-and-a-half stories over raised basement, clipped gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, fine interior panelling. Built mid 18th C., moved.5 mi. NW of original location 1969. 10 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections, details). NR
Page 203

Mayfield

Mayfield

Wales (VA-152), 2 mi. S of Appomattox River, .3 mi. S of U.S. Rte. 460, immediately E of intersection with State Rte. 632. Frame with clapboarding, central unit: approx. 32' (three-bay front) x 24', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys; modified four-room plan; flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof with hipped end facing central unit, interior end chimney, wings connected to central unit by one-bay hyphens. Built mid 18th C.; later additions. 17 sheets (1935, 1940, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 16 ext. photos (1935, 1936, 1940), 10 int. photos (1935, 1940); 2 data pages (1940); HABSI (1959).
Page 204

 

  PORT ROYAL     Caroline County (17)

Rectory, The (VA-260), E side of State Rte. 1006, adjacent to St. Peter's Episcopal Church. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney; two-room plan, corner fireplaces; side wing: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; side-hall plan. Built mid 1 8th C.; wing constructed early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1939); HABSI (1957).

Roy House (VA-721), exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 4 ext. photos (n.d.).

Saint Peter's Episcopal Church (VA-261),N side of Water St., between State Rtes. 1002 and 1006. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, distyle-in-antis entrance bay flanked by lancet windows, pedimented gable end with circular lunette, lancet windows; one-room plan; separate bell tower in churchyard: square with wooden vertical siding, battered base walls, pyramidal roof with scalloped soffitt skirting. Built 1836; bell tower demolished. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 ext. photo, bell tower (1939); HABSI (1957).

St. Peter's Episcopal Church

St. Peter's Episcopal Church
Page 205

 

  PORT ROYAL VICINITY Caroline County (17)

Camden (VA-184), S bank of Rappahannock River, .8 mi. N c of State Rte. 686, .5 mi. N of intersection of State Rte. 686 a Rte. 17. Frame with flush siding, T-shaped (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with subsidiary crossed gable interior end chimneys, one interior chimney, projecting pediment front pavilion, boldly projecting bracketed eaves, paired and single segmental arched windows, triple round arched windows, one-story roofed front and rear porch flanking semi-circular arcaded conservatory; center-hall plan, offset elliptical staircase, nole mantels, plaster cornices, and centerpieces; flanking two-story wing. Built 1856-69, Nathan G. Starkweather, architect; square center cupola destroyed c. 1863. 4 ext. photos (1939) 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1957). NR

Gaymont (VA-306), .5 mi. N of Goldenvale Creek, .5 mi. SE Rte. 17, .7 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 675. Concrete with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two end chimneys, full-length one-story hexastyle front porch; center-hall plan; flanking one-story wings with shallow gable roofs terminated by half-octagons, foundations of octagonal rear wing. Built mid 18th C.; wings and front porch built 1819-20; octagonal rear wing built 1834; half octagon-ends to flanking wings built 1838-39; burned 1959; S wing rebuilt 1960; N wing rebuilt 1962; central block rebuilt in concrete block with stucco to replace original frame construction 1964-65. 17 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 3 int. photos (1940), 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1957).

 

  PORT ROYAL VICINITY King George County (50)

Belle Grove (VA-274), NE bank of Rappahannock River, .2 mi. W of U.S. Rte. 301, 1.1 mi. S of intersection with State Rtes. 660 and 625. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two gable roof, four interior end chimneys, N front with projecting pedimented central pavilions flanked by two-story concave quandrant porticoes at re-entrant angles, modified Corinthian superposed Doric order, S front with pedimented central portico, Ionic posed on Doric order; center-hall plan; flanking wings termini one-story pedimented pavilions with central arched windows by paired Ionic pilasters. Built early 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1937); 1 data page (1941).
Page 206

Woodlawn (VA-213), N bank of Rappahannock River, 1.2 mi. S of State Rte. 627, 1.5 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 301. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, two-story Doric portico; center-hall plan; W wing added. Built early 19th C.; later additions 1932. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

 

  WHATAN     Powhatan County (73)

Tavern (VA-441), .5 mi. E of Fighting Creek, N side of State Rte. 300 at intersection with State Rte. 13. Brick, rectangular (nine-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, two interior chimneys, two-level full-length front porch; one-and-a-half story frame side wing; one-story rear ell additions. Built late 18th C.; altered for apartment use. 1 ext. photo (n.d.); HABSI (1958).

 

  POWHATAN VICINITY     Powhatan County (73)

Belnemus (VA-86), .6 mi. N of Sallee Creek, .1 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 60, 1.5 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 684. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with finial, two interior end chimneys; one-room plan; two flanking wings: rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof. Built late 18th C.; altered with later additions in rear. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 3 data pages (1940); HABSI (1958).

Keswick (VA-164), .8 mi. S of James River, .2 mi. N of State Rte. 711, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 714. Frame with clapboarding, H-shaped (six-bay E front), two stories, gable roof, four exterior end chimneys; four-room plan. Built early 19th C.; renovated with additions. 3 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

Page 207

Keswick, Outbuildings

Malvern (VA-338), .9 mi NW of Bernards Creek, .5 mi. N of State Rte. 711, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 624. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four exterior end chimneys with brick pent closets, brick W gable end; center-hall plan, nole paneling. Built late 18th C.; much of fine interior paneling removed 1936-37; renovated. 2 ext. photos (1940), 9 int. photo., (1940, n.d.); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958).

Norwood (VA-148), .6 mi. SW of James River, .1 mi. NE of State Rte. 711, 2 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 652. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; flanking wings: rectangular (one-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; additions mid 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936); 1 data page (1937).
Page 208

Woodberry Mill

Woodberry Mill (VA-201), .1 mi. E of Woodberry Pond, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 614, .6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 711. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories above stone foundations, gable roof with two tiers of dormers, segmental arched windows and doors. Built c. 1800; burned. 4 ext. photos (1936).

 

  PRINCE GEORGE VICINITY Prince George County (75)

Brandon (VA-143), W bank of James River, at E end of State Rte. 611, .3 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 653. Brick, seven-part composition, central block: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof; one-room plan; two flanking wings: one story, two bays, hipped roof, interior end chimney; one-story hyphens connect central grouping with two terminal pavilions: rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (1935); 2 data pages (1940). NR

Merchants Hope Church (VA-405), .1 mi. W of Walls Run, N side of State Rte. 641, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 646. Brick (Flemish bond with English bond below water le), rectangular (one-bay front), gable roof, splayed eaves, gable-end front, rubbed brick arched entrance way, gallery window, four-bay nave, modillion cornice; altered. Probably built mid 17th C. 5 ext. photos (1932), 1 int. photo (1932); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 209

 

  PROVIDENCE FORGE New Kent County (64)

Dr. Pott's House (VA-912), see Providence Hall (VA-912), Williamsburg.

 

  PROVIDENCE FORGE VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Cedar Grove (VA-802), .6 mi. SE of Toe Ink Swamp, N side of State Rte. 609, .2 mi. VV of intersection with State Rte. 615. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, frame gable ends above eaves, modillion cornice; one-room side-hall plan; two-story frame side wing. Built late 18th C.; altered; later additions. 1 ext. photo (1936), 3 int. photos (1936).

Grist Mill (VA-110), S bank of Old Forge Pond, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 608, .2 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 60. Frame with clapboarding, 48'2" (three-bay front) x 32'3", two stories over brick; (Flemish bond) foundations on both sides of stream, scroll-cut boards at first-floor joist level. Built mid 18th C.; demolished 1938. 9 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 12 ext. photos (1937, n.d.), 5 int. photos (1937); 2 data pages (n.d.).

 

  PUNGOTEAGUE     Accomack County (1)

St. George's Church (VA-497), 1 mi. E of Nandua Creek, NW side of State Rte. 178, .3 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 180. Brick (Flemish bond front), rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof with belfry, pedimented gable-end front; originally cruciform plan. Built early 18th C.; ruinous after Civil War; rebuilt without transepts 1885. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  PUNGOTEAGUE VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Melrose (VA-631), see Shepherds Plain (VA-631), Pungoteague Vicinity. f0

Shepherds Plain (Melrose) (VA-631), SE bank of Nandua Creek, 1.2 mi. NW of State Rte. 178, 1.3 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 180. Frame with clapboarding and brick (Flemish bond) ends, approx. 53' (five-bay front) x 34', two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick quoins, brick rustication around first-floor end windows; center-hall plan, fine interior paneling. Built mid 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1960), 4 int. photos (1960); 2 data pages (1960, 1962).
Page 210

Grist Mill

Grist Mill

Grist Mill
Page 211

 

  QUINBY VICINITY Accomack County (1)

Warwick (VA-495), .2 mi. W of Upshur Bay, .1 mi. E of State 605, 1 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 182. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; one a-half story wing. Built early 18th C.; addition; renovated. 1 photo (1934), 2 int. photos (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  QUINTON VICINITY New Kent County (64)

Dr. Lucas House (VA-121), 1.1 mi. E of Chickahominy River, .1 N of State Rte. 33, .2 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 613.- Frame with clapboarding, 45'4" (three-bay front) x 18'1", two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built 18th C.; W two-bay part is original with E one-bay part added; ruinous, only chimney and foundations remain. 8 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sections, details, interior perspective).

Dr. Lucas House
Page 212

 

  RICHMOND

Adams, Dr. John, Double House (VA-865), 2501-03 E. Grace St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, plastered flat arches over windows; two separate two-room plans; rear ell. Built 1809-10; originally half of four-unit row; exterior restored except for the small rear ell and the retention of the two post-Civil War entrance porches. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Allen-Ellett House (Ellett House) (VA-850), 2702 E. Grace St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Tuscan porch with pediment; side-hall plan. Built 1829. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Allen, William C., Double House (VA-869), 4-6 E. Main St. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior chimneys, two modified Corinthian entrance porches; side-hall plan. Built 1836; W unit restored 1946; E unit altered by projecting store front. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Allison-Moore-Crump Building (VA-896), 1309 E. Main St. Brick with iron store front, rectangular (four-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, parapet walls, Corinthian pilasters on store front supporting cornice, arched windows with metal hood molds above. Built mid 19th C. 3 ext. photos (1969); 4 data pages (1969).

Ampthill (VA-159), 211 Ampthill Rd. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hip-on-hip roof, two interior chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan, fine interior paneling; flanking wings: rectangular (three-bay front), one story, hipped roof, one interior end chimney, connected to main block by hyphens. Built c. 1732; enlarged c. 1750; dismantled and moved from original site .8 mi. W of James River, .4 mi. E of U.S. Rte. 1, .4 mi. S of Richmond city limits in Chesterfield Co.; reconstructed at present location 1929; wings placed closer to central block than before; hyphens added; hipped dormers added later. 1 sheet (1941, plan only); 1 ext. photo (1940), 10 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (1940).

Barret, William, House (VA-425), 15 S. Fifth St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, three-piece first-floor windows, Greek Ionic entrance porch, rear two-level verandah; center-hall plan. Built 1844; restored. 2 ext. photos (1936, 1940); HABSI (1957).
Page 213

Bell Tower (VA-116), Capitol Square. Brick, 25'6" (one-bay frog x 25'7", three stories, ballustrade deck and cupola. Built 1824:; sheet (1936, including plans and elevations); 1 ext. photo (1930 1 ext. photocopy (1886); 5 data pages (1936, n.d.); HABSI (1951 NR

Belvin House (VA-111), see William, William C., House (VA-111 Richmond.

Bott, Aliles, House (VA-119), 216 Cowardin Ave. Frame with clap boarding, 47'11" (five-bay front) x 36'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two free-standing double chimneys with pen closet at each end; center-hall plan. Built c. 1800; demolished 1941 12 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 3 ext. photo (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 3 data pages (1936).

Bowser, Rosa D., School (VA-862), see Dill, Addolph, House (VA-` 862), Richmond.

Branch-Glasgow House (Glasgow, Ellen, House) (VA-857), 1 W. Main St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built 1841. Home of novelist Ellen Glasgow from 1887 until her death in 1945. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957). NR; NHL

Bransford-Cecil House (Bransford, Frederick-Cecil, House) (VA-161), 1005 Clay St. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch, two-level rear verandah; one-room plan, fine marble mantels. Built 1840; moved 1953-54 from 13 N. Fifth St.; interior plan and exterior brickwork altered. 5 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 4 int. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Bransford, Frederick-Cecil House (VA-161), see Bransford-Cecil House (VA-161), Richmond.

Brockenbrough, Dr. John, House (White House of the Confederacy) (VA-861), 1201 E. Clay St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, low hipped roof with cupola, garden front has two-story Doric portico, heavy modillion cornice; modified center-hall plan. Built 1816-18, attributed to Robert Mills, architect; third-floor addition and interior alterations 1850's. Residence of Jefferson Davis during the Civil War. 3 ext. photos (1936, n.d.); HABSI (1957). NR; NHI.

Bell Tower
Page 214

Miles Bott House

Building (VA-420), NE corner of Third and E. Main Sts. Brick with stucco, rectangular (seven-bay front), three stories, hipped roof, interior chimneys, central pedimented pavilion; first-floor store front. Built late 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).

Call, Daniel, House (VA-866), 217 IV. Grace St. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; side wings; rear ell. Built before 1796; moved from SE corner of Ninth and Broad Sts. 1849; dismantled and rebuilt 1936; additions; full-length porch re-placed by present entrance porch. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 215

Cameron, Alexander, House (VA-876), 519 E. Franklin St. Brick rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimneys; each bay has rectangular inset panels between stories. Built mid 19th C.; demolished 1938. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Carter-Crozet House (Crozet House) (VA-420), 100 E. Main St. Brick rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, two center entrances, heavy cornice, bracketed porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1814-15; structure divided into double house between 1881 and 1885; renovated 1940; front entrance now has molded brick segmental arch motif. 2 ext. photos (1936), 3 in photos (1936); HABSI (1957).

Columbian Block (VA-842), 1301-07 E. Cart' St. Brick with stucco, trapezoidal (eleven-bay front), three stories, low hipped roof, cupola, sheet-metal cornice, doorway and window trim, iron store fronts on Cary St.; exchange room on third floor uses cast-iron Corinthian columns. Built 1871 as a commodity exchange. 4 ext. photos (1969, 3 int. photos (1969); 6 data pages (1969).

Commercial Building (VA-853), see Donnan-Asher Iron Front Building (VA-853), Richmond.

Cottage (VA-881), 6 Granby St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof; two exterior end chimneys; windows have dado paneling. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Cottage (VA-877), 778 N. Ninth St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Crozet House (VA-420), see Carter-Crozet House (VA-420), Richmond.

De Saussure House (VA-114), see Freeman, Samuel, House (VA-114), Richmond.

Dill, Addolph, House (Rosa D. Bowser School) (VA-862), 00 Clay St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, Ionic entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built 1832. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 216

Donnan-Asher Iron Front Building

Donnan-Asher Iron Front Building (Commercial Building) (VA-853), 1207-I1 E. Main St. Brick with cast-iron front, rectangular (twelve-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, bracketed cornice, arched window openings separated by Corinthian columns. Built c. 1866; center four bays of street front altered. 6 ext. photos (1936, 1969); 7 data pages (1969); HABSI (1957). NR

Double House (VA-875), 311-13 College St. Brick end walls with clapb6arding on fronts, two units, S unit: rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, central entrance; N unit: rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimney, side entrance. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).
Page 217

Double House

Double House (VA-892), 212-14 S. First St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, central chimney, heavy wooden cornice. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Double House (VA-118), 2216-18 E. Main St. Brick, 45'4" (six-bay front) x 44'4", three stories, flat roof, stone flat arches with keystones over windows; passageway separates house at first-floor level. Built early 19th C.; gable roof removed early 20th C. 12 sheets (1936, including plans, elevation, details); 2 ext. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1936).

Double House (VA-886), 1200-02 N. Seventeenth St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Dunlop Mills (VA-925), S side of James River, .1 mi. E of Hull St., at S end of Mayo's Bridge. Brick, two structures form L-shape; W structure: rectangular (five-bay front), five stories, gable roof, parapet end walls, four interior end chimneys, lunettes on gable ends, six-story river front; E structure: rectangular (four-bay front), four stories, gable roof, parapet end walls, gable-end front, four interior end chimneys, lunettes on gable ends, seven-story river front; four-story metal covered frame structure attached to inset of ell on river front. Built 1853; burned and repaired 1865; enlarged; demolished. This mill, with the Gallego and Haxall mills, made Richmond one of the leading flour-producing centers in antebellum America. 2 ext. photos (1936).
Page 218

Ellett House (VA-850), see Allen-Ellett House (VA-850), Richmond.

Ellett-Todd-Lawrence Building (VA-844), 1019-21 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), four stories on north, three stories on south, gable roof, parapet end walls, two interior end chimneys. Built late 19th C. as canal warehouse. 2 ext. photos (1969), 1 int. photo (1969); 4 data pages (1969).

Freeman, Samuel, House (De Saussure House) (VA-114), 316 E. Main St. Brick, 275" (three-bay front) x 4011", two-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; bays have inset rectangles between first and second floors; side-hall plan. Built 1838-39, Samuel Freeman, architect; demolished 1940-41. 11 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 3 ext. photos (1936, 1940); 2 data pages (1936).

Gentry-Stokes-Crew House (VA-873), NW corner of Twenty-eighth and E. Franklin Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, cupola, three-bay Doric entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built 1839; second floor and wings added later. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Dunlop Mills
Page 219

George, William O., House (VA-868), 116 S. Third St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, flat roof, two-story portico flanking two-story wings with projecting three-piece bow windows; modified side-hall plan. Built 1847; altered. 1 ext. Photo HABSI (1957).

Gill House (VA-131), see House (VA-131), Richmond.

Glasgow, Ellen, House (VA-857), see Branch-Glasgow House (VA-857), Richmond.

Gosden House (Tucker House) (VA-852), NW corner of Third and E. Leigh Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Greenhow House (VA-112), 403 E. Grace St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan, refined interior woodwork with Adam influence. Built early 19th C.; demolished 1936. 5 sheets (1936, including plan, elevations, details); 1 ext. photo (n.d.), 8 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1937).
Page 220

Greenhow House

Hancock-Wirt-Caskie House

Hampton-McCurdy House (VA-851), see House (VA-851), Richmond.

Hancock-Palmer-Caskie House (VA-113), see Hancock-Wirt-Caskie House (VA-113), Richmond.

Hancock-Wirt-Caskie House (Hancock-Palmer-Caskie House) (VA-113), 2 N. Fifth St. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, three-part bow projection at either side of central entrance and two-level wooden arcaded porch, two interior chimneys, enclosed porch; center-hall plan, fine plaster and wooden door and ceiling ornament; rear ell. Built c. 1809. 12 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 3 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957). NR

Hawes House (VA-115), see Mann-Hawes House (VA-115), Richmond.

Hickock House (VA-855), see Ritter-Hickock House (VA-855), Richmond.

Hobson-Nolting House (Nolting House) (VA-160), 409 E. Main St. Brick, 48'31/2" (three-bay front) x 44'3 1/2", three stories above raised basement, hipped roof, two brick interior chimneys, three-piece windows, three-story rear portico; center-hall plan, elaborate interior woodwork. Built mid 19th C.; demolished, but some interior columns and moldings are preserved in the Valentine Museum, Richmond. 8 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations); 10 ext. photos (1936, 1940), 11 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (1940).
Page 221

House (VA-879), NE corner of Ballard St. and Tobacco Alley. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (six-bay front), one story, gable roof, interior chimneys; lean-to. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-859), 107 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, modified step-gable roof, two interior end chimneys, Greek Ionic entrance porch; center-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; altered, porch removed and door replaced with window. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-891), 402 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), three stories, flat roof, two interior end chimneys, Roman Doric entrance porch. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-856), see Mann, William, House (VA-856), Richmond.

House (VA-882), 21 W. Clay St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, step gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

House (VA-887), 706 N. Eighteenth St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, canopy porch design with brackets. Built early 19th C.; altered; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 222

House (Hampton-McCurdy House) (VA-851), SW corner of Eighteenth and E. Main Sts. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; first-floor store front; rear ell. Built 1845; altered and enlarged. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-422), 400 W. Franklin St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, low hipped roof, heavy bracketed cornice, wooden bracketed full-length porch. Built late 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1940).

House (VA-890), 206 E. Leigh St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, entrance porch. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-885), 531 E. Leigh St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, two interior end chimneys, entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (Gill House) (VA-131), 1007 McDonough St. Frame with clapboarding, two stories, gambrel roof with dormers, pedimented entrance porch. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 sheet (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 1 ext. photo, porch (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 3 data pages (1937).

House (VA-864), 2416 E. Main St. Brick (Flemish bond with English bond foundations), rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built c. 1800; first-floor entrance and windows altered; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-854), 2606 E. Marshall St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior end chimney. Built c. 1810. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

House (VA-883), SE corner of Seventeenth and Venable Sts. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, gable-end parapet wall, heavy bracketed nice. Built early 19th C.; first floor altered by store front; demolished 1 ext. photo (1936).
Page 223

House (VA-888), SE corner of Fifth and E. Leigh Sts. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof with dormers, connected interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch, two-level rear verandah; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).

House (VA-894), 516 N. Third St. Brick, rectangular (four-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1936).

House (VA-893), 102 S. "Third St. Brick,with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, cast-iron porch with delicate tracery, heavy cornice; side wing. Built late 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-880), SW corner of Twenty-second and Venable St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one story above raised basement hipped roof, brick interior end chimneys, entrance porch. Built mid 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-884), 9 N. Twenty-third St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay-bay, front), two-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof, two interior end chimneys, Tuscan entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

House (VA-878), SW corner of Venable and Tulip Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, central chimney. Built mid 19th C.; altered by store front. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Howard-Palmer House (Palmer House) (VA-867), 211 W. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, modified step-gable roof, four interior end chimneys, Roman Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1852. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Jefferson Hotel (VA-840), block bounded by W. Main, N. Jefferson, W. Franklin, and N. Adams Sts. Brick with iron beams, terra cotta and stone decorative trim, symmetrical composition on N front consisting of four-story central block with loggia, flanked by two six-story towers and three-story wings; two clock towers rise behind wings; the S half of hotel has eight-story, U-shaped plan surrounding two-story lobby fronted by a Doric portico; the N end contains the Palm Room, the Marble Hall, and several richly decorated parlors; the S end of the hotel centers around a two-story lobby with a double tier of columns supporting the mezzanine and the cove ceiling. Built 1895, Carrere and Hastings, architects; S two-thirds burned 1901; rebuilt 1905. 9 ext. photos (1969), 15 int. photos (1969); 10 data pages (1969); HABSI (1969). NR
Page 224

Jefferson Hotel
Page 225

Main Street Station

Kent-Valentine House (VA-858), 12 E. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, flat roof, interior end chimneys, two-story Ionic portico, heavy bracketed cornice. Built 1845; altered after 1904. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957). NR

Lee, General, House (VA-895), see Stewart-Lee House (VA-895), Richmond.

Linden Row (VA-247), 100-14 E. Franklin St. Brick, eight units, each: rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, flat roof, two interior chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan. 110-18 built 1847; 100-08 built 1853; 116-18 demolished 1922. 6 ext. photos (1936, 1940); HABSI (1957).

Main Street Station (VA-848), 1520 E. Main St. Brick with stone and terra cotta, rectangular (seven-bay front) with iron train shed projecting from rear, three-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with red tile, six-story clock tower, two levels of dormers, first story and loggia faced in stone. Built 1901, Philadelphia firm of Wilson, Harris and Richard, architects. 9 ext. photos (1969); 6 data pages (1969); HABSI (1969). NR

Malone,,James, Row (VA-870), 2301 E. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, interior end chimneys; side-hall plan. Built 1827; part of a four-house row including 2303, 2305, and 2307, all of which have been demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 226

Mann-Hawes House (Hawes House) (VA-115), 506 E. Leigh St. Brick, 6'1" (three-bay front) x 38', two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built 1816; rear additions. 14 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos J1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).

Mann, William, House (House, Chamberlayne Ave. and St. Peter St.) VA-856), SW corner of Chamberlayne Ave. and Jackson St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; E bay; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions; asbestos siding recently added. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Marshall, John, House (VA-309), NW corner of Marshall and Ninth Sts. Historic house museum. Brick, two stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, pedimented gable-end front, modillion cornice; four-room plan, fine woodwork shows Adam influence; rear ell; outbuildings. Built 1790; rear ell added before 1810; the law office, kitchen, and laundry outbuildings have been demolished. 9 ext. photos (1940), 13 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1957). NR, NHL

Mason's Hall (VA-21), 1805 E. Franklin St. Frame with clapboarding, 50'10 1/4" (three-bay front) x 47', two stories, hipped roof with cupola, two interior chimneys, projecting central pedimented pavilion. Built 1785-87. 12 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, de-tails); 2 ext. photos (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).

Monroe, James, Tomb (VA-843), Hollywood Cemetery. Cast-iron cage set on granite base enclosing a simple granite sarcophagus. Erected when Monroe's body was moved from New York 1859; cast in Philadelphia from designs by Richmond architect, Albert Lybrock. 3 ext. photos (1969); 4 data pages (1969). NR, NHL

Morris, John, Cottage (VA-860), 2500 E. Grace St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built c. 1830. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Nolting House (VA-160), see Hobson-Nolting House (VA-160), Richmond.

Oaks, The (VA-157), 307 Stockton Lane, Windsor Farms. Brick, L-shape, four-and five-bay fronts), two stories, gable roof, four interior end chimneys; side-hall plan; flanking one-and-a-half story frame wings. Built mid 18th C.; moved from Amelia Co. to present site early 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1939, 1940), 5 int. photos (1939, 1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

Mason's Hall
Page 227

Palmer House (VA-867), see Howard-Palmer House (VA-867), Richmond.

Parsons, Samuel P., House (Virginia Division of Youth Services) (VA-434), 601 Spring St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan, fine front-room mantel; high brick wall curved from shallow entrance shelter out to street; two-story brick rear ells. Built 1818; curved wall demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Philip Morris Leaf Storage Warehouse (VA-849), 1717-21 E. Cary St. Brick, rectangular, 88'5" x 93'9" ; with elevator shaft on W front, five stories, flat roof, exposed brick piers with brick curtain walls, windows with segmental arches. Built early 20th C. 4 ext. photos (1969); 4 data pages. (1969).

Poe Museum (VA-120), see Stone House (VA-120), Richmond.

Pratt's Castle (VA-162), 324 S. Fourth St. Brick with stucco and tin, irregular plan, two stories with stone foundations; corner towers and roof parapet were brick covered with tin forming crenellations. Built-1853-54; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1939, 1940); 1 data page (1940); IIABSI (1957).     

Pratt's Castle
Page 228

Quarles, John D., House (VA-871), 1 E. Main St. Brick, rectangular three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, Greek Ionic entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built 1839; altered. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Ritter-Hickock House (Hickock House) (VA-855), 821 W. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, interior chimneys, pedimented pavilion, heavy enlature, Ionic entrance porch, balustrading on surrounding un-sheltered promenade. Built 1855. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Rutherfoord-Hobson House (VA-423), 2 W. Franklin St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, mansard roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, cast-iron porch with delicate tracery. Built 1842-43; altered and enlarged late 19th C.; demolished 1941. 2 ext. photos (1940).

St. John's Episcopal Church

St. John's-Episcopal Church (VA-22), 2400 block between E. Grace and E. Broad Sts. Frame with clapboarding, cruciform plan, one story, gable roof with belfry. Transept built in 1741; 40' of nave built in 1772; belfry added and nave widened c. 1830; present belfry is third replacement. Oldest, public graveyard in Richmond; church was scene of the Virginia Convention, March 23, 1775, where Patrick Henry delivered his "Liberty or Death" speech. 11 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1934), 1 int. photo (1935); 4 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957). NR
Page 229

Scott-Clarke House (VA-421), 9 S. Fifth St. Brick, rectangular (three bay front), two stories, flat roof, four interior end chimneys, three-part first-floor windows, Greek Doric entrance porch; five-room plan. Built 1841; interior plan altered. 2 ext. photos (1940); HABSI (1957).

Smith, John D., House (VA-872), 2617 E. Franklin St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, step-gable roof with dormers, connected interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch, two-level rear verandah; side-hall plan. Built 1856; restored 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Stearns Iron-Front Building (VA-847), 1007-13 E. Main St. Brick with cast-iron front, rectangular (fourteen-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, decorated cornice, arched windows separated by engaged Corinthian columns. Built 1866; ironwork furnished by Hayward, Bartlett of Baltimore. 2 ext. photos (1969); 11 data pages (1969); HABSI (1957). NR

Stewart-Lee House (Lee, General, House) (VA-895), 707 E. Franklin St. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), three stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, Greek Doric entrance porch; side-hall plan. Built 1844. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Stone House (Poe Museum) (VA-120), 1916 E. Main St. Stone, 32'1", (three-bay front) x 22', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with three irregularly spaced dormers, two stone and brick interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. Probably the oldest dwelling standing in Richmond. 7 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 8 ext. photos (1936, 1937, 1939); 4 data pages (1936, 1940); HABSI (1957).

Tomlinson, A. M., House (VA-926), 2427 Venable St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built 1840. 1 ext. photo (1940); HABSI (1957).

Tucker Cottage (VA-959), 612 N. Third St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers. Built c. 1800. One of last remaining gambrel roof cottages in city. 1 sheet (1971, elevations).

Tucker House (VA-852), see Gosden House (VA-852), Richmond.
Page 230

Turpin-Yarbrough-Pohlig Factory (Yarbrough or Pohlig Factory) (VA-863), SW corner of Twenty-fifth and Franklin Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, gable-end front, connected interior end chimneys, parapet wall. Built 1853, John Freeman, architect. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1957).

Valentine Museum (VA-310), see Wickham-Valentine House (VA-310), Richmond.

Wickham-Valentine Museum
Page 231

Virginia Division of Youth Services (VA-434), see Parsons, Samuel P House (VA-434), Richmond.

Virginia Fire and Marine Insurance Company Building (VA-84 1015 E. Main St. Brick with cast-iron front, rectangular (four-bay front), four stories, low shed roof, heavily ornamented cornice recessed first-floor porch with Corinthian columns supporting semi-circular arches, upper-story arch windows separated by Corinthian columns. Built c. 1866 to replace structures destroyed in the April 3, 1865, Evacuation Fire. 4 sheets (1970, including elevations, details, section); 3 ext. photos (1969); 5 data pages (1969). NR

White House of the Confederacy (VA-861), see Brockenbrough, Dr. John, House (VA-861), Richmond.

Whitlock Double House (VA-874), 628-30 N. Seventeenth St. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney, arched entrances. Built c. 1818; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Wickham-Valentine House (Valentine Museum) (VA-310), 1015 E. Clay St. Historic house museum. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, central pavilion on front facade, three-piece windows, projecting bow in rear, one-story full-length rear porch which follows curve of bow; circular vestibule with spiral stair. Built c. 1812, attributed to Robert Mills, architect; interior altered 1850's. 1 ext. photo (1936), 10 int. photos (1940); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1957). NR

William, William C., House (Belvin House) (VA-111), 412 N. Eighth St. Brick with stucco, 55'8" (five-bay front) x 44'7", two stories, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, heavy bracketed cornice. Built 1810; burned and roof replaced mid 19th C.; demolished 1936. 5 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos (1926, 1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 3 data pages (1936).

William C. William House

William C. William House
Page 232

Wilton

Wilton (VA-158), N bank of James River, at end of Wilton Rd., .5 mi. S of Cary Street Rd. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, rubbed brick window dressings and quoining, wooden pedimented entrance; center-hall plan, fully paneled rooms. Built c. 1750; dismantled and moved from original site .1 mi. E of James River, 1 mi. W of Wilton Rd., .6 mi. S of Richmond city limits; reconstructed at present location 1935. 13 ext. photos (1933, 1939, 1949), 13 int. photos (1933, 1939); 4 data pages (n.d., 1940).

Wiseham House (VA-889), 804 E. Clay St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, entrance canopy design with consoles. Built 1823; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936).

Yarbrough or Pohlig Factory (VA-863), see Turpin-Yarbrough-Pohlig Factory (VA-863), Richmond.

 

  RICHMOND VICINITY     Chesterfield County (21)

Ampthill (VA-159), see Ampthill (VA-159), Richmond.

Bellona Arsenal Workshops (VA-139), .l mi. S of James River, .2 mi. N of State Rte. 673, 2.4 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 147. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above stone foundation, hipped root, segmental arched windows and entrance; two smaller workshops to N and W: brick, rectangular (three-bay fronts), two stories, hipped roofs, wide segmental arched windows. Arsenal quadrangle completed by U.S. Government 1817; arsenal building on the N matching large and small workshops and officers' quarters on the E and W sides, barracks on the S and powder magazine to the W, outside of the stone walls surrounding the quadrangle; barracks destroyed 1840's; arsenal building, officers' quarters, and one workshop destroyed 1870's; three remaining workshops renovated as a residence and guest house 1942; window sash, chimneys, interior paneling, and porches added to remaining shell of structures. E workshops connected by kitchen hyphen. 10 ext. photos, workshops before renovation (1936); 4 data pages (1937); HABSI (1957). NR
Page 233

Bellona Arsenal Workshops

 

  RICHMOND VICINITY     Henrico County (44)

Fairfield (VA-146), see Rocky Mills (VA-146), Richmond Vicinity.

Malvern Hill (VA-89), .2 mi. N of Turkey Island Creek, 1.1 mi. S of State Rte. 156, immediately W of intersection with Carter's Mill Rd. Walls remain from original brick (Flemish and English bonds) structure, 50'10'/2" (five-bay front) x 20'7", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys with glazed header diaper pattern, front and rear arched brick porches with gable roofs; two-room plan. Built late 17th C.; altered early 18th C.; burned c. 1905, approx. one bay and end wall remain. 6 sheets (1934, 1935, including plot plan, plan, elevations, sections, including kitchen and icehouse); 3 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 2 data pages (1941). NR
Page 234

Malvern Hill

Malvern Hill

Rocky Mills (Fairfield) (VA-146), 211 Ross Rd. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories above stone foundations, hipped roof, two interior chimneys, stone belt course and quoining, Palladian window centered on N front; central salon-stair hall with hall beyond, two rooms on either side. Built mid 18th C.; dismantled and moved from original site in Hanover Co., rebuilt near Richmond, central pedimented pavilion restored to S front, two bays and stone porch added to S front, brick one-story wing added to E side of structure 1928. 6 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations); 6 ext. photos (1940), 4 int. photos (1940); 6 data pages (1940).

Wilton (VA-158), see Wilton (VA-158), Richmond.

 

  ROANOKE VICINITY     Roanoke County (81)

Garst Fort (VA-359), .2 mi. S of Lock Haven Lake, .3 mi. N of State Rte. 811, 2.2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 116. Planks with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories above stone cellar, gable roof, stone exterior end chimney, planks dovetailed at corners and exposed on front facade up to second-floor window sill level; one-room plan, built over spring for water supply. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1957).
Page 235

Rocky Mills

Rocky Mills

 

  SABOT     Goochland County (38)

Saddlebag House (VA-215), .2 mi. E of Dover Creek, S side of State Rte. 6, immediately E of intersection with State Rte. 644. Frame with batten walls, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, central chimney; structure was rear ell of frame two-story building. Built early 19th C.; two-story building added later; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).

 

  SALEM

Moravian House (VA-347), see Williams-Brown House and Store (VA-347), Salem.

Williams-Brown House and Store (Moravian House) (VA-347), 423 E. Main St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, recessed two-level verandah on front with two arched side entrances opening on either end of the first-level porch; rear ells. Built mid 19th C.; altered with later additions. 1 ext. photo (1940).

 

  SALEM VICINITY     Roanoke County (81)

Fotheringay (VA-348), see Fotheringay (VA-348), Elliston Vicinity.
Page 237

 

  SCOTLAND VICINITY     Surry County (91)

Pleasant Point (VA-94), S bank of James River on Timber Neck Creek, N side of State Rte. 637, .5 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 31. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; glazed brick header pattern parallel to raking on gable ends; center-hall plan; frame kitchen and smokehouse outbuildings. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 1 sheet (1935, detail of paneled cup-board only); 4 ext. photos (1932, 1934); HABSI (1959).

 

  SCOTTSVILLE VICINITY Albemarle County (2)

Fry House (VA-12), see Viewmont (VA-12), Scottsville Vicinity.

Viewmont (Fry House) (VA-12), .5 mi. W of Hardware River, .4 mi. E of State Rte. 20, 2.3 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 712. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, modillion cornice; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; burned 1939. 4 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 3 ext. photos (1934), 2 int. photos (1934); 2 data pages (n.d., 1936).

Viewmont

Viewmont
Page 237

Pear Valley

 

  SEALSTON VICINITY       King George County (50)

Lamb's Creek Episcopal Church (VA-98), .1 mi. W of Lamb's Creek, NE side of State Rte. 694, .4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 3. Brick (Flemish bond), 80' (seven-bay front) x 34', one story, hipped roof, modillion cornice, arched windows, molded brick pediments above entrance doorways, rubbed brick dressings; one-room plan. Built 1770; interior gutted 1861-65; exterior restored mid 20th C. 3 sheets (1936, including plan, elevation); HABSI (1958).

 

  SHADYSIDE VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Pear Valley (VA-960), .1 mi. S of State Rte. 628, .5 mi. W of intersection with U.S. Rte. 13. Brick and frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, one-room plan. Built 17th C. Rare example of small yeoman's cottage. 5 sheets (1971, including site plan, plan, elevations). NR
Page 238

 

  SKINQUARTER Chesterfield County (21)

House (Skinquarter) (VA-724), .5 mi. SE of pond at head of Goode Creek, S side of U.S. Rte. 360, .2 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 603. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936); HABSI (1958).

Skinquarter (VA-724), see House (VA-724), Skinquarter.

 

  SMITHFIELD     Isle of Wight County (47)

Barrett House (VA-140), N side of S. Church St., opposite Cedar St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable ends above eaves, two interior end chimneys, the E one being T-shaped; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; renovated. 5 ext. photos (n.d., 1936); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958).

Clerk's Office (Small Office) (VA-754), NE corner of Mason and Main Sts. Brick, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, gable-end front, one interior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; renovated. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1958).

Grove Hotel (VA-301), see Pierce, Thomas, House (VA-301), Smithfield.

Isle of Wight County Courthouse (VA-294), NE corner of Main and Mason Sts. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above high basement, gable roof with dormers, gable-end parapet wall, two interior end chimneys; rear apsidal ell. Built c. 1750; extensively altered; rebuilt 1961, structure now: brick, rectangular (five-bay porch arcade), one story, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys; rear apsidal ell. 3 ext. photos (1937, 1940); HABSI (1958). NR

Masonic Hall (VA-424), near site of present lodge hall at SE corner of Mason and Hill Sts. Brick with stucco, second floor was frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1940).
Page 239

Pierce, Thomas, House (Grove Hotel) (VA-301), SW corner of Mason and Grace Sts. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, pedimented gable end. Built early 19th C.; restored. 3 ext. photos (1937, 1940); HABSI (1958).

Small Office (VA-754), see Clerk's Office (VA-754), Smithfield.

 

  SMITHFIELD VICINITY     Isle of Wight County (47)

St. Luke's Church (VA-20), S side of SW tributary of Jones Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 10, .2 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 258. Brick (Flemish bond with English bond below grade), 29'43/4" (one-bay front) x 65'7'/2" with tower, one story, gable roof with step-gable ends; buttressing with plastered splays, some original molded brick mullions remain in lancet windows; tower: rectangular, three stories, peaked roof, arched entrance way with simple detached pediment above. Built late 17th C.; renovated and restored. 10 sheets (1934, including plan, elevations, details); 12 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1939, 1940), 2 int. photos (1934); 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1890); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958). NR; NHL

 

  SOMERS VICINITY     Lancaster County (52)

Edgehill (VA-930), .8 mi. NE of Deep Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 354, opposite intersection with State Rte. 683. Frame with clap-boarding, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two-story side wing. Built early 18th C.; later addition. HABSI (1957).

 

  SOUTH BOSTON VICINITY     Halifax County (42)

Berry Hill (VA-304), .5 mi. N of Dan River, .6 mi. S of State Rte. 659, 1.5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 682. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, gable-end front with pedimented octastyle Greek Doric portico, four interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; office and schoolhouse are temple-form structures which form forecourt. Earlier structures re-modeled c. 1839. 9 ext. photos (1940), 4 ext. photos, outbuildings (1940), 4 int. photos (1940); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 240

St. Luke's Church

St. Luke's Church
Page 241

Berry Hill

Berry Hill
Page 242

 

  SOUTH HILL     Mecklenburg County (59)

Old Tavern (VA-312), 624 Mecklenburg Ave. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys (one of which was stone up to the eaves, the rest being brick). Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

 

  SPERRYVILLE VICINITY     Rappahannock County (79)

Estes Mill (VA-374), S bank of S fork of Thornton River, SW corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 211 and State Rte. 667. Frame with clapboarding above stone basement, rectangular (three-bay front), one story with lofts above raised basement, gambrel roof, wooden overshot wheel with wooden sluice. Built late 18th C.; wheel removed c. 1940. 4 ext. photos (c. 1934); 1 data page (1941).

Saw Mill (VA-839), NE bank of S fork of Thornton River, SW side of U.S. Rte. 211, 1.9 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 667. Frame with vertical planking, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof, wooden saw mill equipment, iron blade for vertical up-and-down cutting; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936), 2 int. photos (1936).

 

  SPOTSYLVANIA            Spotsylvania County (89)

County Offices (VA-265), see Spotsylvania County Jail (VA-265), Spotsylvania.

Harrison House (VA-392), .7 mi. SW of Ni River, N side of State Rte. 208, .l mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 613. Brick end wall and interior end chimney remain from original two-story structure. Built early 19th C.; wall and chimney now demolished. 2 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935).

Spotsylvania County Jail (County Offices) (VA-265), 1.5 mi. W of Ni River, SE corner of intersection of State Rtes. 208 and 613. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central chimney, brick corbeled cornice, walls become thinner at second-floor level. Built early 19th C.; stucco added. 1 ext. photo (1939).

 

  SPOTSYLVANIA VICINITY     Spotsylvania County (89)

Dabney Farm Outbuildings (VA-391), 1.1 mi. W of Ni River, NW side of State Rte. 208, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 720. Smokehouse: brick, rectangular (one-bay front), one story, gable roof; kitchen: frame with batten walls, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers set partially into the front wall, central chimney. Built early 19th C.; altered. 1 ext. photo (1935).
Page 243

Herndon House (VA-372), .3 mi. N of Po River, .1 mi. SE of State Rte. 612, 1.9 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 649. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, S three bays on both fronts project from facade with the second-floor wall sloped and roofed creating a gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; altered with later additions. 7 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (c. 1934).

Todd House (VA-367), exact location unknown. Frame, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, two interior chimneys; probably center-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 4 ext. photos (1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (1934).

Todd House
Page 244

Whig Hill (Wigg Hill) (VA-373),.3 mi. W of Ni River, .2 mi. SE of State Rte. 208, 1 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 720. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, lower slope of roof is covered with clap-boarding, one interior and one interior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; enlarged. 4 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935), 1 int. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1957).

Wigg Hill (VA-373), see Whig Hill (VA-373), Spotsylvania Vicinity.

 

  STAFFORD      Stafford County (90)

Old Stafford County Courthouse Complex (VA-56), SE corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 1 and State Rte. 630. Complex including: Courthouse: brick, T-shaped (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, cornice forming pediment at gable ends with semi-circular recess simulating a lunette. Built mid 19th C. Clerk's Office: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys. Built late 18th C. Jail: stone, rectangular (one-bay front), two stories, gable roof, central interior chimney. Built early 19th C. All buildings demolished. 4 ext. photocopies (c. 1900, including Courthouse, Clerk's Office, jail); 3 data pages (1936).

 

  STAFFORD VICINITY      Stafford County (9-0)

Aquia Church (VA-415), .8 mi. SW of Aquia Creek, .l mi. E of U.S. Rte. 1, .1 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 676. Brick with rusticated stone quoins, cross-shaped (five-bay front), one story with gallery, hipped roof, modillion cornice, three pedimented entrances framed by stone architraves, semi-circular arched window heads at gallery level; one-room Greek-cross plan, gallery on one side, nole interior including three-level pulpit and sounding board, box pews, and reredos. Built 1751; burned; rebuilt 1757; restored. 5 ext. photos, church (1934, 1959), 9 ext. photos, cemetery (1959), 1 int. photo, church (1932); 5 data pages (1941, 1959); HABSI (1958). NR

Entrance Gates

 

  STAUNTON

Entrance Gates (VA-7), 120 Church St. Wood, two posts with caps and spherical finials, double leaves with Chinese Chippendale decorative framing. Built late 18th C. 1 sheet (1934, including plan, elevation, details); 2 ext. photos (1934); 2 data pages (1936).
Page 245

The Manse

Manse, The (VA-392), SW corner of Frederick and Coalter Sts. House museum. Brick, 44'3" (three-bay front) x 34'3", two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, E street front had two-level Doric porch with extensions on first-floor level to either side, rear w elevation has two-level porch with two-story Doric columns; center-hall plan. Built c. 1847; altered c. 1897; restored c. 1941; street front now has Greek Doric entrance porch. Birthplace of President Woodrow Wilson, December 28, 1856. 8 sheets (1934, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 5 ext. photos (n.d., 1934); 2 data pages (1936). NR

 

  STAUNTON VICINITY     Augusta County (8)

Folly Farms (VA-8), .3 mi. S of Folly Mills Creek, .3 mi. NW of U.S. Rte. 11, .3 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 654. Brick (Flemish bond), 50'7" (three-bay front) x 40'4", one story above high basement, hipped roof with deck and balustrade around deck, four interior end chimneys, N and E pedimented tetrastyle Tuscan porticoes, three-part windows, center-hall plan with cross hall; brick, one-and-a-half story side wing; one-story rear ell; brick icehouse with pyramidal roof; brick dairy with gable roof and pedimented portico; brick slave quarters; brick serpentine wall frames garden. Built c. 1818. 10 sheets (1934, including plot plans, plans, elevations, details, main house and icehouse); 6 ext. photos, including slave quarters, dairy, and icehouse (1934), 1 int. photo (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1957).
Page 246

 

  STRASBURG VICINITY     Shenandoah County (86)

Fort Bowman (Harmony Hall) (VA-909), NW bank of Shenandoah River, at end of Frontage Rd., .6 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 11. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan, nole interior trim including exposed-beam ceiling with beaded beams and joists, fully paneled interior walls, large fireplace with bolection molding surround. Built mid 18th C.; later additions and alterations. 7 sheets (1970, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photo (1938); 2 int. photos (1938); HABSI (1958). NR

Harmony Hall (VA-909), see Fort Bowman (VA-909), Strasburg Vicinity.

Hupp House (VA-908), E bank of Town Run, NW side of U.S. Rte. 11, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 55. Stone, approx. 42' (three-bay front) x 25', one story above raised basement, gable roof, stone jack arches above doors and windows; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; interior chimney dismantled. 1 ext. photo (1938); HABSI (1958).

Old Tavern No. 1 (VA-35), .7 mi. NW of Shenandoah River, N side of U.S. Rte. 11, .2 mi. E of intersection with Frontage Rd. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, interior stone chimney; log one-story rear wing. Built approx. 1800; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1935).

Folly Farms
Page 247

Fort Bowman

Old Tavern No. 2 (VA-35A), .7 mi. NW of Shenandoah River, S side of U.S. Rte. 1 1, .1 mi. W of intersection with Frontage Rd., approx. location. Stone, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two stone interior end chimneys, one-story wooden pedimented entrance porch; probably center-hall plan. Built approx. 1800; later alterations and additions; demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).
Page 248

 

  STRATFORD     Westmoreland County (97)

Stratford Hall (VA-307), .8 mi. S of Potomac River, .6 mi. NE of State Rte. 214, 1.2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 3. Historic house museum. Main house: brick (Flemish bond), H-shaped, 93'6" (nine-bay front) x 62'8", two stories, hipped roof, eight interior chimneys in two clusters of four chimneys with segmental brick arches between the chimneys in each cluster and flat observation deck with turned wooden baluster railings between the chimneys, modillion cornice, ground-floor windows with segmental brick arched lintels set below molded brick water le and forming the base story for the principal second story, windows with rubbed brick jack arches, principal entrance doors to hall on N and S with rubbed brick dressings and molded brick pediments, monumental splayed stone steps to N and S entrance doors, massive brick steps with brick parapet railings to E and W entrance doors; center-hall plan with E and W cross halls, nole interior trim including fully paneled Great Hall, 28'8" x 28'6", with engaged Corinthian pilasters and tray ceiling; SW dependency: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, one interior chimney; two-room plan; SE dependency (kitchen, laundry): brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof with jerkinheads, one interior chimney; two-room plan; NW and NE dependencies: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one story, hipped root; one interior end chimney; one-room plan; stable: brick (Flemish bond), rectangular, one story with loft, gable roof. Built c. 1730; extensive interior alterations late 18th C.; exterior alterations early 19th C.; restored 1933-40, Sidney Fiske Kimball, architect for Robert E. Lee Memorial Foundation, Inc.; exterior steps built 1935, 1940. Stratford Hall is an outstanding example of American Georgian architecture. 34 sheets (1969, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details, annotated restoration drawings); 55 ext. photos (1932, 1934, 1938, 1940, 1969), 82 int. photos (1938, 1940, 1969); 2 photocopies (1940); 13 data pages (1940, 1969). NR; NHI,
Page 249

Stratford Hall

 

  STUDLEY VICINITY     Hanover County (43)

Pollard House (VA-343), see Williamsville (VA-343), Studley Vicinity.

Williamsville (Pollard House) (VA-343), .4 mi. E of Pollard Creek, .4 mi. NW of State Rte. 645, .8 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 615. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1800. 2 ext. photos (1935); 1 data page (1941).
Page 249

Joiner House

Clerestory House

 

  SUFFOLK VICINITY Nansemond County (62)

Joiner House (VA-248), .3 mi. W of Green Swamp, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 31, .6 mi S of intersection with State Rte. 10. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, rear porch; side lean-to. Built late 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1938); 1 data page (1941).

 

  SURRY VICINITY      Surry County (91)

Clerestory House (VA-248), .3 mi. W of Green Swamp, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 31, .6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 10. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, full length clerestory windows on front and rear, two exterior end chimneys; rear ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1938); HABSI (1958).
Page 250

Four Mile Tree Plantation (VA-55), .1 mi. S of James River, .9 mi. N of State Rte. 610, .2 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 618. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, hip-on-gambrel roof with dormers, four interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, Ionic porch; center-hall plan; servants' quarters: pise, one-and-a-half stories. House built late 18th C.; altered; servants' quarters built early 19th C.; demolished. Grounds contain oldest legible tombstone in Virginia (1650). 3 ext. photos, slave quarters (1934), 1 int. photo (1934); 3 ext. photocopies (c. 1900); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1959). NR

Warren House (VA-397), .6 mi. S of Grays Creek, at end of State Rte. 641, .2 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 31, 2 mi. NE of Surry. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, two interior end chimneys, brick segmental arch entrance design; center-hall plan. Originally built c. 1652; rebuilt early 18th C.; restored 1934. 7 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1939), 1 int. photo (n.d.); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Warren House
Page 251

 

  SUSSEX VICINITY     Sussex County (92)

Windsor Farm (VA-255), see Winsor (VA-255), Sussex Vicinity.

Winsor (Windsor Farm) (VA-255), .4 mi. W of Joseph Swamp, .1 mi. S of State Rte. 602, 4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 35. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, one interior and one exterior end chimney, modillion and denticulated cornice; irregular plan; two-story side wing. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 3 ext. photos (1938).

 

  SWEET HALL VICINITY     King William County (51)

House (VA-533), see Seaton House (VA-533), Sweet Hall Vicinity.

St. John's Church (VA-758), l mi. SW of Bull Swamp, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 30, .2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 630. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), approx. 30'2" (one-bay front) x 50'3", one story, gable roof, molded brick arches on W and N entrances; much original woodwork, N wing. Built 1734; N wing added c. 1760; in process of renovation. 1 ext. photo (1934), 2 int. photos (1938); HABSI (1958).

Seaton House (House) (VA-533), .6 mi. S of Custis Pond, N side of State Rte. 634, .l mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 625. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

Sweet Hall (VA-385), N bank of Pamunkey River, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 634, 1.6 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick (English bond) with partially stuccoed front facade, T-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two T-shaped interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney, modillion cornice, side and front porches; rear ell. Built early 18th C.; later additions. 3 ext. photos (n.d., 1937); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

Waterville (VA-257), see Windsor Shade (VA-257), Sweet Hall Vicinity.

Windsor Shade (Waterville) (VA-257), N bank of Pamunkey River, .4 mi. W of S end of State Rte. 634, 1.7 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 30. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with hipped dormers, two massive exterior end double chimneys with brick pent closets between, brick (English bond) E gable-end wall up to eavesline; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (n.d.); HABSI (1958).
Page 252

 

  TAPPAHANNOCK      Essex County (29)

Customs House (VA-499), 109 Prince St. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories above raised basement, gable roof with pedimented dormers; one interior chimney; side-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

Debtor's Prison (Old Lawyer's Office) (VA-500), 321 Prince St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, wooden box cornice; one-room plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; interior altered and rear ell constructed mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1968).

Emerson's Ordinary (House) (VA-498), 314 water Lane. Frame with clapboarding, L-shaped (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior chimney, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan; right-angle wing: frame with clapboarding, one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built in two stages: early 18th C. and mid 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1935); HABSI (1958).

Glebe House (VA-961), Tappahannock. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; open plan, elaborate interior woodwork. Built 18th C. 5 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, sections).

House (VA-498), see Emerson's Ordinary (VA-498), Tappahannock.

Glebe House
Page 253

Old Lawyer's Office (VA-500), see Debtor's Prison (VA-500), Tappahannock.

Ritchie House (VA-501), 227 Prince St. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; two exterior end T-chimneys, wooden box cornice, brick water le; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C. in two stages; interior of principal ground-floor rooms removed and rebuilt in the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum at Winterthur, Del. 4 sheets (1971, including plans, elevations, details); 1 ext. photo (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  TASLEY VICINITY     Accomack County (1)

Custis House (VA-485), .1 mi. E of Deep Creek, .4 mi. NW of State Rte. 660, 1 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 658. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior and one exterior end chimney; off-center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C. 2 ext. photos (1940), 1 int. photo (1940); 1 data page (n.d.).

 

  THE PLAINS VICINITY     Fauquier County (31)

Gordonsdale Cabin (VA-6), 1.9 mi. NW of Broad Run, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 750, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 245. Log with stucco, 30'1" (three-bay front) x 20'4", one story, gable roof, three exterior stone chimneys; modified two-room plan; rear lean-to. Built mid 18th C.; later addition. 9 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 1 ext. photo (1934); 3 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

 

  TIDEWATER VICINITY     Richmond County (80)

Indian Banks (VA-74), .1 mi. E of Morattico Creek, W side of State Rte. 606, .8 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 673. Brick (Flemish bond), L-shaped (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water le, scalloped brick jack arch lintel above S entrance door; modified center-hall plan. Built early 18th C. 5 ext. photos (1934, 1937), 2 int. photos (1934, 1937); 1 data page (1937).
Page 254

 

  TOANO     James City County (48)

Marston House (VA-319), exact location unknown. Frame with clap-boarding, two stories, gable roof, exterior end chimney in Flemish and English bond. Built mid 18th C.; raised from one-and-a-half to two stories; extensive later additions; demolished. 1 ext. photo, chimney detail (1938); 1 data page (1941).

 

  TOANO VICINITY     James City County (48)

Hickory Neck Church (VA-214), .6 mi. E of Mill Creek, E side of U.S. Rte. 60, .8 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 610. Brick (Flemish bond above beveled water le and English bond below, three-course American bond on S end and on S portions of the E and W walls), rectangular, 36' (three-bay front) x 28', one story, gable roof, modillion cornice, small chimney on S end, porch on S entrance, vestry on N end; one-room plan. Built 1773-74 as the N transept addition to 1734 nave and chancel which were destroyed c. 1825; later additions; interior completely altered. 2 ext. photos (1936, 1940); HABSI (1958).

Martin House (VA-756), N bank of intermittent stream of Mill Creek, S side of U.S. Rte. 60, .3 mi. W of intersection with State Rtes. 30 and 168-Y. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; extensive later additions and alterations; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

Windsor Castle (VA-254), .5 mi. SW of S tributary of Mill Creek, N side of State Rte. 610, .6 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 659. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; side wing; rear ell; log smokehouse. Built mid 18th C.; later additions and renovations. 2 ext. photos, main house (1936, 1937), 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1937); 1 data page (1941).

 

  TOWNSEND VICINITY     Northampton County (66)

Fitchett House (VA-548), .2 mi. IV of Raccoon Creek, E side of State Rte. 600, 3.2 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 645. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys. Built early 19th C.; destroyed; now site of Cape Charles Air Force Base. 2 ext. photos (1940).
Page 255

 

  TUCKER HILL VICINITY     Westmoreland County (97)

Yeocomico Church (VA-268), .1 mi. SE of Bonum Creek, w side of State Rte. 606, .4 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 610. Brick, T-shaped (three-bay entrance front), one story, gable roof, flared eaves, modillion cornice, round window in E gable, paired double-hung sash windows, advanced brick entrance porch with gable roof and flared eaves, triple arched head above porch entrance comprised of two small brick semi-circles surmounted by a third, resembling tracery, massive batten door (6' x 8') with a smaller wicket door with its own hinges set into it; T-shaped-open plan. Built 1706; extensive, almost continuous renovations and alterations 1773, c. 1820, 1906, 1928, 1959. 3 ext. photos (1937), 1 ext. photo, wicket door (1937); 1 data page (1941). NR

 

  TUNSTALL VICINITY     New Kent County (64)

Castle, The (VA-124), .1 mi. S of Pamunkey River, 1 mi. N of State Rte. 608, 1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 606. Brick (Flemish bond), T-shaped (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys, two-story enclosed brick porch; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built c. 1700; originally: one-and-a-half stories, two-story porch; enlarged late 19th C.; rear additions 20th C. 13 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 4 int. photos (1936); 4 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Road View Farm Kitchen
Page 256

St. Peter's Church

Poplar Grove (VA-801), S side of Pamunkey River, 1.2 mi. N of State Rte. 608, 1 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 609. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (originally two-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, one brick interior end chimney and one brick exterior end chimney; side-hall plan; two-story brick ell; brick barn, frame office, outbuildings. Built late 18th C.; ell added mid 19th C.; addition early 20th C. 2 ext. photos (1936), 2 ext. photos, outbuildings (1936); HABSI (1958).

Road View Farm Kitchen (VA-97), .6 mi. W of W tributary of St. Peter's Swamp, .1 mi. W of State Rte. 609, .2 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 606. Frame with vertical boarding, 143" (one-bay front) x 1441/2", one story, gable roof, wood and clay chimney. Built early 19th C.; destroyed. 5 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1935), 3 int. photos (1935, 1936); 3 data pages (1936).

St. Peter's Church (VA-127), .3 mi. S of St. Peter's Swamp, N side of State Rte. 642, .4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 609. Brick (English and Flemish bond), 284'/2" (one-bay front) x 644", one story, gable roof, curvilinear gable ends, segmental arched windows, two-story tower with pyramidal roof, open first-floor arches. Built early 18th C.; tower added mid 18th C.; pre-Revolutionary N wing removed mid 19th C. Restored. 9 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1936); 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1892); 10 data pages (1937); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 257

Woodland (VA-803), exact location unknown. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two brick (English bond) T-shaped exterior end chimneys; two side lean-to 's. Built mid 18th C; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1936).

 

  UPPERVILLE     Fauquier County (31)

House (VA-478), N side of U.S. Rte. 50, .5 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 712. Stone with stucco and log, 33'8" (three-bay front) x 25', two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, one exterior end chimney; two-room plan; log side wing: 25'5" (three-bay front) x 20', two stories, gable roof; one-room plan. Built late 18th C.; restored. 5 sheets (1953, including plans, elevations).

 

  URBANNA     Middlesex County (60)

Customs House (VA-799), N side of State Rte. 1002, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 1005. Brick, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, modillion cornice. Early 18th C.; renovated. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1959).

Tobacco Warehouse (VA-589), S side of State Rte. 1002, .1 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 1005. Brick, rectangular (two-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, full-length front porch; two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 7 ext. photos (1960), 20 int. photos (1960); 6 data pages (1960); HABSI (1959).

 

  URBANNA VICINITY     Middlesex County (60)

Hewick House (VA-540), .7 mi. S of Robinson Creek, .3 mi. N of intersection of State Rtes. 615 and 602, .4 mi. IV of intersection with State Rtes. 602 and 1010. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell: brick, T-shaped, one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof, interior end chimneys. Rear ell built late 17th C.; front block added later; alterations. 2 ext. photos (c. 1935); HABSI (1959).

 

  VARINA VICINITY     Henrico County (44)

Cox House (VA-396), exact location unknown. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; rear lean-to; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys with frame pent closet between; rear lean-to forms saltbox shape. Built late 18th C.; later addition. 5 ext. photos (c. 1934, 1935).
Page 258

 

  VIENNA VICINITY     Fairfax County (30)

Ash Grove (VA-504), 8900 Ash Grove Lane. Frame with clapboarding, 61'5" (five-bay front) x 20'5", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear ell, 29'1" x 17'5". Built late 18th C.; seriously damaged by fire 1960; restored 1961. 15 sheets, main house (1960, including plot plan, plans, elevations, details), l sheet, kitchen (1960, including plans, elevations); 13 ext. photos, main house (1930, 1959, 1960), 2 ext. photos, kitchen (1959), 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1959), 7 int. photos, main house (1960), 5 int. photos, smokehouse (1959); 3 data pages (1961); HABSI's (1958, 1969).

Ash Grove
Page 259

Brock Farm Quarters

 

  VIRGINIA BEACH

Ackiss, Francis, House (VA-226), exact location unknown. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with shed dormers, two exterior end chimneys. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Brock Farm Quarters (Brook Farm Quarters) (VA-400), 2.5 mi. E of West Neck Creek, .5 mi. SE of State Rte. 615 (Oceana Blvd.), .9 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 632 (London Bridge Rd.). Planks, rectangular, one story above brick (Flemish bond) foundation, gable roof, dovetailed timbering. Built late 18th C.; end chimney destroyed 1937; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1937, 1939); 2 data pages (1941, n.d.).

Brook Farm Quarters (VA-400), see Brock Farm Quarters (VA-400).
Page 260

Cornick, Henry T., House (VA-558), 1.5 mi. SW of Linkhorn Bay, .2 mi. S of intersection of Potters and Colonial Rds., .4 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 58. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular, two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys; one-story frame rear ell, exterior end chimney. Built c. 1800; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Eastwood (VA-242), S side of Great Neck Lake, .2 mi. W of Great Neck Rd., .l mi. S of intersection with First Colonial Rd. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys (destroyed above roof ridge line); two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; demolished; bolection molding around one fireplace now in the Henry Francis du Pont Winterthur Museum, Winterthur, Del., as part of the Flock Room woodwork. 2 ext. photos (1934, 1939), 3 int. photos (1938); 1 data page (1940).

Fairfield Plantation Dependency (VA-557), .5 mi. E of E branch of Elizabeth River, .2 mi. W of State Rte. 190, .5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 165. Brick with stucco, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, steep gable roof, two interior end chimneys (the N one being T-shaped). Built early 18th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1935).

Hudgins House (VA-243), E side of Pinetree Branch, S side of U.S. Rte. 58, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 644. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with shed dormers, massive E exterior end chimney, IV interior end chimney. Built mid 18th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1939); 1 data page (1940).

Keeling, Adam, House (VA-17), N side of Keeling Drain, SE side of Keeling Rd., opposite intersection with Inlet Rd. Brick (Flemish bond, English bond below water le), 48'3" (five-bay front) x 20'2'/2", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, rows of glazed headers follow roof rake on gable ends, modillion cornice; center-hall plan, fine interior paneling. Built late 17th C.; later additions. 6 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1938), 1 int. photo (1934); 2 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958).

Lovett, Reuben, House (VA-560), .1 mi. S of West Neck Creek, .2 mi. NE of State Rte. 627 (Holland Rd.), .5 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 149 (Princess Anne Rd.). Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built late 18th C.; renovated with rear additions. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Adam Keeling House
Page 261

Pleasant Hall (VA-238), .1 mi. E of E branch of Elizabeth River, N side of State Rte. 165, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 646. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; frame rear ell. Built late l 8th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Princess Anne County Courthouse (VA-556), .2 mi. E of E branch of Elizabeth River, .1 mi. N of State Rte. 165, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 646. Brick with stucco, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney; one-room plan with balcony. Built late 18th C.; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1958).

Salisbury Plains (VA-559), .8 mi. W of Great Neck Creek, S side of State Rte. 1002, .2 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 635. Brick with frame front, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Thoroughgood, Adam, House (VA-209), .1 mi. W of Bayville Creek, at E end of Thoroughgood Lane. Historic house museum. Brick (English bond except for Flemish bond on W front), rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimented dormers, one exterior end and one interior end chimney (both being T-shaped), modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 17th C.; altered 18th C.; restored and opened to public 1957; dormers and cornice removed, both fronts are now three bays with segmental arched, leaded diamond-pane windows. 2 ext. photos (1939); 1 data page (1940); HABS1 (1958). NR; NHL

Wishart, James, House (VA-16), .9 mi. NE of Thurston Branch, .1 mi. S of State Rte. 649, .4 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 652. Brick (English bond), 32'91/4" (three-bay front) x 21'1/2", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with connected shed dormers similar to clerestory, two massive T-shaped exterior end chimneys, front porch; two-room plan, closed stair; rear ell. Built late 17th C.; later additions. 3 sheets (1934, including plans, elevations, details); 2 ext. photos (1934), 1 int. photo (1939); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 262

Adam Thoroughgood House

Woodhouse, Jonathan, House (VA-239), 1.5 mi. E of West Neck Creek, .2 mi. NE of State Rte. 632 (London Bridge Rd.), .7 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 615 (Oceana Blvd.). Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with shed dormers, two interior end chimneys, rear porch; two-room plan; side-wing. Built mid 18th C.; interior paneling replaced; later additions. 5 ext. photos (1937, 1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

 

  WARDTOWN VICINITY Northampton County (66)

Fisher House (VA-549), 1 mi. NE of Holly Grove Cove, .2 mi. E of State Rte. 606, .4 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 607. Frame with clapboarding with one brick end (Flemish bond with glazed headers set in diaper pattern), rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, brick interior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished 1944. 2 ext. photos (1940).

Locust Grove (VA-550), .1 mi. NW of Nassawadox Creek, 1 mi. S of State Rte. 183, .1 mi. W of intersection with State Rte. 611. Brick with frame fronts, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, three exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; rear lean-to forming saltbox. Built early 18th C.; later addition. 2 ext. photos (1940).
Page 263

 

  WARSAW     Richmond County (80)

Clerk's Office (VA-331), S side U.S. Rte. 360, between State Rtes. T1004 and T1015. Stone with garnetted joints exposed below water le, stone with stucco above water le, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney, central door-way with fluted keystone; one-room plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; altered and enlarged 1935. 2 ext. photos (1938); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).

Lawyer's Office (VA-563), NW corner of intersection of U.S. Rte. 360 and State Rte. 3. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, wooden box cornice, main entrance on second floor approached by exterior brick stair; one-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Richmond County Courthouse (VA-896), S side of U.S. Rte. 360, between State Rtes. T1004 and T1015. Brick (Flemish bond), rec-tangular (six-bay front), one story, hipped roof, two interior corner chimneys, modillion cornice, brick water le, arched windows set in recessed arched panels with stone imposts and keystones; one-room plan, advanced brick vestibule. Built mid 18th C.; extensively altered late 19th C.; interior remodeled 1952. 2 ext. photos (1938); HABSI (1958).

Saint John's Episcopal Church (VA-564), N side of U.S. Rte. 360, at NW corner of intersection with State Rte. T1003. Brick (Flemish bond), approx. 54' (four-bay lateral facade) x 34', one story, gable roof, square wooden belfry, recessed porch-vestibule with three-bay arcade supported by brick columns without capitals, arched entrance doors; one-room plan. Built 1837; later rear chancel addition. 2 ext. photos (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  WARSAW VICINITY     Richmond County (80)

Menokin (VA-156), .2 mi. E of Menokin Bay, .8 mi. W of State Rte. 690, 1.3 mi. NW of intersection with State Rte. 621. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with deck, two interior chimneys, corner quoins, double belt course, water le, molded window architrave with rusticated blocks, arched fanlight; four-room plan, nole interior trim including paneled dado and overmantels; stone dependency: rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, arched central doorway; two-room plan, nole interior trim including Chinese Chippendale stair rail. Built c. 1769; main house ruinous; dependency demolished: 20 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, details); 6 ext. photos, main house (1934, 1940), 2 ext. photos, dependency (1940), 5 int. photos, main house (1940), 3 int. photos, dependency (1940); 2 data pages (n.d.); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 264

Menokin

Mount Airy (VA-72), .5 mi. S of Mt. Airy Millpond, .3 mi. W of State Rte. 646, .4 mi. N of intersection with U.S. Rte. 360. Stone, five-part composition, main house: rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior chimneys, advanced three-bay central pedimented pavilions on NE and SW fronts with rusticated cut-stone decoration, NE front with recessed entrance loggia and Doric pilastered piers, SE front with arched rusticated recessed entrance loggia; stone cornice, corner quoins, belt course, water le, and window architrave; center-hall plan; flanking one-story quadrants with shed roofs terminated by dependencies: rectangular (three-bay fronts), two stories, hipped roofs, one interior chimney, corner quoins; SE dependency: four-room plan; NW dependency: three-room plan; entrance court with stone piers and carved stone vases. Built 1758, attributed to John Ariss, architect; interior of main house gutted by fire 1844; rebuilt c. 1845. Mount Airy is the most outstanding 18th C. stone house erected in Virginia. 10 ext. photos, main house (1934, 1937, 1938, 1939), 4ext. photos, dependencies (1938), 3 ext. photos, entrance court (1938), 1 int. photo (1938); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI's (1957, 1958). NR; NHL
Page 265

Mount Airy

Old House (VA-566), see Linden Farm (VA-566), Farnham.

Sabine Hall (VA-155), 1.3 mi. NE of Rappahannock River, .4 mi. S of State Rte. 624, 1.3 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 360. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (seven-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, four interior end chimneys, brick belt course and water le, rusticated stone central bay, stone window lintels with keystones, tetrastyle wooden two-story Doric entrance portico with pediment on NE front; center-hall plan, unusually line interior trim; flanking wings: one-and-a-half story, gable roof. Built c. 1735; main house connected to kitchen with covered way, porches added, roof lowered 1764; house stuccoed and kitchen demolished 1830-40; W wing added and E wing enlarged 1929. 24 sheets (1940, including plot plan, plan, elevations, details); 14 ext. photos (1934, 1940), 1 ext. photo, gate house (1940); 3 ext. photos, garden (1940), 22 lilt. photos (1934, 1937, 1940); 5 data pages (1936); HABSI (1958); NR; NHL
Page 266

Sabine Hall

Sabine Hall
Page 267

 

  WASHINGTON     Rappahannock County (79)

Lawyer's Offices (VA-561, Area Survey), Court Green. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Rappahannock County Courthouse (VA-561, Area Survey), Court Green. Brick, rectangular, temple form (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, square belfry, four interior end chimneys, pedimented gable end with semi-circular lunette, four engaged Doric pilasters; one-room plan. Built early 19th C.; interior remodeled c. 1958. 1 ext. photo (1934); HABSI (1958).

 

  WASHINGTON'S BIRTHPLACE     Westmoreland County (97)

Blenheim (VA-571), .8 mi. S of Bridges Creek, .5 mi. W of State Rte. 204, .8 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 3. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, segmental window lintels; center-hall plan; side wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; roof altered and wing added early 19th C.; ruinous. 4 sheets (1968, including elevations); 4 ext. photos (c. 1934); HABSI (1958).

George Washington Birthplace National Monument (Wakefield) (VA-393), W bank of Pope's Creek, N end of State Rte. 204, 1.7 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 3. Historic house museum. Brick, 52' (five-bay front) x 34', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, four exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Original house built c. 1726, burned 1779; present house erected 1931. Conjectural reconstruction of house in which George Washington was born. Edward W. Donn, Jr., architect for reconstruction. 21 photocopies of working drawings (1930, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 3 ext. photos (1934).

Wakefield (VA-393), see George Washington Birthplace National Monument (VA-393), Washington's Birthplace.

 

  WATERFORD     Loudoun County (54)

Apothecary Shop (VA-777), see Haines-Shuey House (VA-777), Waterford.
Page 268

Arch House (Miriam Gover House) (VA-380), NE side Main St. Brick, 18' (three-bay front) x 22'3", two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior end chimney, brick archway and covered passage connecting street with rear garden at ground-floor level; two-room plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; altered and enlarged mid 20th C. 1 ext.s photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Atley-Huff House (VA-779), see Hough-Haines House (VA-779), Waterford.

Bank House (Old Bank) (VA-378), SW side Main St. Brick, 37' (five-bay front) x 24', two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, carved wooden cornice with modified triglyphs and metopes, semi-circular fanlight above entrance door; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; interior plan altered early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Braden-Rinker House (Charles Moreland House) (VA-768), SW side Main St. Hill. Brick, 22'1" (three-bay front) x 18'2", one story above full stone basement, gable roof, interior end chimney, two-story wooden porch with balcony across full width of street facade; two-room plan. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Brick Cottage on Hwy. (VA-776), see Gover-Phillips Cottage (VA-776), Waterford.

Clockmaker's House and Shop (VA-787), see Nettle, W. and Sarah, House (VA-787), Waterford.

Curbs, Lloyd, House (VA-785), see Myer, Mahlon, House (VA-785), Waterford.

Divine, Charles IV., House (Loudoun Hotel) (VA-769), NE side Main St. Brick nogging with clapboarding, 38'11" (six-bay front) x 29'2", three stories, gable roof, two interior chimneys, iron balcony across full width of street facade at second story; two-room plan; originally two adjacent houses. Built late 18th C.; later additions and alterations. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Dorsey, Edward, House (Middle Huff House) (VA-770), SW side Main St. Hill. Brick, 36'6" (five-bay front) x 20'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, carved wooden cornice with modified triglyph and metope detail; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built 1804. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).
Page 269

Dutton, John B., House (Steer House) (VA-771), NE corner Second and Mahlon Sts. Frame with clapboarding, 38' (five-bay front) x 25', one-and-a-half stories above raised stone basement, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Edwards Barn (VA-782), see Hough, William, Barn (VA-782), Waterford.

Edwards House (VA-781), see Hough, William, House (VA-781), Waterford.

Edwards-Hough House (Dr. Edwards House) (VA-772), NW corner intersection of Main St. Hill and Butcher's Row. Brick, 34'2" (five-bay front) x 20'2", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; originally center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; extensive alterations and additions mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Fairfax Meeting House (Meeting House) (VA-773), SE corner intersection of State Rtes. 665 and 698. Stone, 70' (seven-bay facade) x 35', two stories, gable roof, two stone interior corner chimneys; original interior plan altered by conversion into residence. Built 1761; reconstructed 1868; altered as residence mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

French-Atlee House (Sidewell House) (VA-774), NW corner Second and Church Sts. Brick, 26'2" (three-bay front) x 28', two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan, elliptical arch in entrance hall; one-and-a-half story rear ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Gover-Matthews Log House (Log House) (VA-775), NE side Main St., opposite Bank House. Log, 14'5" (one-bay front) x 15'2", two stories, gable roof, interior chimney; one-room plan; frame lean-to side wing. Built late 18th C.; later addition; ruinous. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Gover-James House (VA-382), see Gover, Samuel A., House (VA-382), Waterford.
Page 270

Gover-Phillips Cottage (Brick Cottage on Hwy.) (VA-776), SW side Main St. Brick, 27'3" (three-bay front) x 161", one story, wooden shingle gable roof; one-room plan; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Gover, Miriam House (VA-380), see Arch House (VA-380), Waterford.

Gover, Samuel A., House (Gover-James House) (VA-382), SW side Main St. Log and frame with clapboarding, 33'9" (six-bay front) x 20', two stories, gable roof, brick interior end chimney, stone exterior end chimney; rectangular plan. Built late 18th C.; altered and stone chimney reconstructed mid 20th C. l ext. photo (1937).

Haines-Shuey House (Apothecary Shop) (VA-777), NE side Main and Water Sts. Brick, 29'4" (five-bay front) x 22'6", three stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, metal supports for balcony across full width of street facade at second-floor level; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Haines-Shuey House
Page 271

Hampier-Robinson House (Nancy Robinson House) (VA-778), N side Water St., at intersection with Main St. Log, 36' (four-bay front x 15'11 ", two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-roof plan. Built late 18th C.; enlarged early 19th C.; restored 1959. 1 ex photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Hough-Haines House (Atley-Huff House) (VA-779), SW side Main St Hill. Brick, 26'1" (three-bay front) x 18'1", two stories, gable roof two interior end chimneys; two-room plan; brick, one-story side wing. Built early 19th C. l ext. photo (1937).

Hough, Hector, House (VA-789), see Moore, James, House (VA-789), Waterford.

Hough, John and Samuel, House (Robert Huff House) (VA-780), SW side Main St. Hill. Brick, 34'6" (four-bay front) x 25'4", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney; originally a double house with adjacent three-room plans; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; altered mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937), light-struck negative, print available by special request; HABSI (1959).

Hough, William, Barn (Edwards Barn) (VA-782), W side John Brown's Rdwy. Frame with stone foundations and gable end, rectangular, one story with loft, gable roof. Built late 18th C.; burned 1864; rebuilt. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Hough, William, House (Edwards House) (VA-781), E side John Brown's Rdwy. Brick (Flemish bond), 44'2" (five-bay front) x 28'8", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice, brick belt course and water le; center-hall plan, nole interior trim including fully paneled wall in principal room with fluted pilasters and dog-ear motif overmantel; kitchen: stone, one story, gable roof, interior end chimney; one-room plan, unusually large fireplace, connected to main house by two-story brick hyphen. Built late 18th C.; alterations, including raising original one-story hyphen to two stories, mid 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937), 1 int. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Huff, Robert, House (VA-780), see Hough, John and Samuel, House (VA-780), Waterford.

Huff, Robert, House (VA-792), see Schooley, Mahlon, House (VA-792), Waterford.
Page 272

Janney, Mahlon, House (View of Bond St.) (VA-927), N side Bond St., opposite intersection of Leggett St. Stone, 25'11" (three-bay front) x 20', two stories above raised basement, gable roof, interior end chimney; one-room plan; rear ell. Stone section built mid 18th C.; brick portion built late 18th C.; both sections originally two separate houses converted into a single residence mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Log Cabin (VA-783), SXV side Main St., adjacent to Old Mill. Log, 19'6" (two-bay front) x 14'9", one story, gable roof, interior end chimney; one-room plan; rear lean-to. Built early 19th C.; moved to present location from outside village c. 1870; later addition. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Log House (VA-775), see Gover-Matthews Log House (VA-775), Waterford.

Loudoun Hotel (VA-769), see Divine, Charles IV., House (VA-769) and Talbot's Tavern (VA-929), Waterford.

Mansfield House (VA-795), see Walker-Phillips House (VA-795), Waterford.

Meeting House (VA-773), see Fairfax Meeting House (VA-773), Waterford.

Fairfax Meeting House
Page 273

Middle Huff House (VA-770), see Dorsey, Edward, House (VA-770), Waterford.

Mock House (VA-793), see Shawen-Schooley House (VA-793), Water-ford.

Moore, James, House (Hector Hough House) (VA-789), NE side Main St. Hill. Brick and stone, 26' (three-bay front) x 23'3", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; two-room plan. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937);HABSI (1959).

Moreland, Charles, House (VA-768), see Braden-Rinker House (VA-768), Waterford.

Mount-Silcott House (Shop on Main St.) (VA-381), SW side Main St. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof. Built early 19th C.; destroyed 1965. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Myers, Mahlon, House (Lloyd Curtis House) (VA-785), NE side Main St. Hill. Brick, 16'2" (two-bay front) x 25'2", one story, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-room plan; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; altered and enlarged mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Nettle, W. and Sarah, House (Clockmaker's House and Shop) (VA-787), W side Second St., between Patrick and Church Sts. Brick, 29' (three-bay front) x 21'2", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; two-story side wing; rear ell. Built early 19th C.; later additions and alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Nettle, William, House (Yellow Brick House) (VA-786), W side Second St., between Church and Main Sts. Brick, 26'6" (three-bay front) x 20'4", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, wooden denticulated cornice; modified center-hall plan, nole interior trim; one-story rear ell above raised stone basement. Built 1817; later alterations. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Old Bank (VA-378), see Bank House (VA-378), Waterford.

Old Mill (VA-788), N bank of Catoctin Creek, at end of Main St. Brick, 36'4" (three-bay front) x 39'1", three-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pulley hoist, interior corner chimney; open plan with heavy timber posts, metal overshot wheel. Built early 19th C.; converted to exhibition use mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo, detail of working wheel (1937); HABSI (1959).
Page 274

Old Mill

Patton House (VA-794), see Steer, James M., House (VA-794), Water-ford.

Robinson, Nancy, House (VA-778), see Hampier-Robinson House (VA-778), Waterford.
Page 275

Sappington House (View of Main St. from Bank) (VA-928), SW side Main St. Log with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-room plan. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937).

School House (VA-798), see Williams Warehouse (VA-798), Water-ford.

Schooley, Elizabeth Hough, House (Nathan Walker House) (VA-789), NW corner Main St. and John Brown's Rdwy. Brick, 47'2" (five-bay front) x 20', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan; two-story side wing. Built 1796, dormer windows added 1969. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Schooley, Ephraim, House (Stucco House) (VA-790), W side Second St., between Patrick and Mahlon Sts. Stucco over brick, 50'7" (six-bay front) x 22'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Originally two adjacent houses; S portion built 1835; N portion built 1850; altered 1959. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Schooley, John, House (VA-791), W side Second St., at intersection with Factory St. Brick, 40' (five-bay front) x 18', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan. Built early 19th C.; additions and alterations mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Schooley, Mahlon, House (Robert Huff House) (VA-792), W side Second St., between Mahlon and Patrick Sts. Brick, 30'2" (three-bay front) x 24'6", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan; two-story rear wing. Built 1817; wing added c. 1850; interior altered c. 1900, c. 1930; partially restored 1969. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Shawen-Schooley House (Mock House) (VA-793), NE side Main St. Hill. Brick, 61' (seven-bay front) x 24'4", three-part composition, one story, one-and-a-half stories with dormers and two stories, gable roof, three interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan. Built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); HABSI (1959).

Shop on Main St. (VA-381), see Mount-Silcott House (VA-381), Waterford.
Page 276

Sidewell House (VA-774), see French-Atlee House (VA-774), Waterford.

Steer House (VA-771), see Dutton, John B., House (VA-771), Waterford.

Steer, James M., House (Patton House) (VA-794), NE corner Second and Factory Sts. Brick, 46'6" (five-bay front) x 27'3", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. S portion built late 18th C.; raised to two stories mid 20th C.; N portion built early 19th C. 2 ext. photos (1937); ILABSI (1959).

Stucco House (VA-790), see Schooley, Ephraim, House (VA-790), Waterford.

Talbot's Tavern (Loudoun Hotel) (VA-929), NE side Main St. Stone, 20'4" (three-bay front) x 29'2", three stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; two-room plan; one-and-a-half story side wing. Built late 18th C.; altered and enlarged mid 20th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

View of Bond St. (VA-927), see Janney, Mahlon, House (VA-927), Waterford.

View of Main St. from Bank (VA-928), see Sappington House (VA-928), Waterford.

Walker-Phillips House (Mansfield House) (VA-795), W side Second St., at intersection with Church St. Brick, 23' (three-bay front) x 28'2", two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan; one-an d-a-half-story rear ell. Built early 19th C. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).

Walker, Nathan, House (VA-789), see Schooley, Elizabeth Hough, House (VA-789), Waterford.

Waterford Baptist Church (VA-796), SW corner High and Church Sts. Brick, 39'9" x 59'10" (three-bay lateral facade), one story above raised basement, gable roof, Doric distyle-in-antis entrance vestibule; one-room plan. Built 1853. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Williams, John B., House (VA-797), NE corner Second and Janney Sts. Brick, 28' (three-bay front) x 32', two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; side-hall plan, nole interior trim; two-story rear ell. Built 1815; addition to rear ell late 19th C.; partially gutted by fire 1968; restored 1969. 1 ext. photo (1937); HABSI (1959).
Page 277

Williams Warehouse (School House) (VA-798), NE corner Second and Janney Sts. Brick, 26' (two-bay front) x 28'9", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers; exterior end chimneys; one-room plan. Built 1808, later converted to a school; altered 1937. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Yellow Brick House (VA-786), see Nettle, William, House (VA-786), Waterford.

 

  WAYNESBORO VICINITY     Augusta County (8)

Rockfish Service Station (VA-962), E side of State Rte. 865, 10 mi. N of Waynesboro. One story, rectangular, gable roof, porte-cochere. Example of early 20th C. gasoline station. 6 sheets (1970, including plans, elevations, sections, details).

 

  WEEMS VICINITY     Lancaster County (52)

Corotoman (Spinster's House) (VA-153), N bank of Rappahannock River at mouth of Carter Creek, .2 mi. S of State Rte. 222, at inter-section with State Rte. 631. Frame with clapboarding, 62' (three-bay front) x 20'3", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney; modified center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; demolished. 1 sheet (1940, including plan, elevation); 1 ext. photo (1925); 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1910); 4 data pages (1925, 1929, 1945). NR

 

  WEST POINT VICINITY     King William County (51)

Chelsea (VA-399), W bank of Mattaponi River, 1 mi. NE of State Rte. 634 (Chelsea Rd.), .9 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 30. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, entrance porch; three-room plan; rear ell: brick, rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one interior and one exterior end chimney. Built early 18th C.; enlarged; porch now two-story. 2 ext. photos (1934, 1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958). NR
Page 278

Chelsea

 

  WHITE MARSH VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Abingdon Church (VA-65), .6 mi. E of Piny Swamp, E side of U.S. Rte. 17, .5 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 614. Brick (Flemish bond), cruciform (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, modillion cornice, rubbed brick corners and window jambs, gauged brick window arches, water le, and door openings, W doorway with arched tympanum and semi-circular paneled transom, N and S doorways with triangular tympanum and without transom; cruciform plan. Built mid 18th C.; altered mid 19th C. 4 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (1937), 5 int. photos (1937, 1939); 2 data pages (1941); HABSI (1959). NR.

 

  WHITE MARSH     Gloucester County (37)

White Marsh Store (VA-520), White Marsh P.O., U.S. Rte. 17. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, wooden shingle gable roof with dormers and rear lean-to slope, two exterior end chimneys. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 3 ext. photos (1934, including plank shutter and door detail).
Page 279

Abingdon Church

Rosewell (VA-61), NW bank of Carter Creek, .5 mi. SE of State Rte. 644, .3 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 632. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (five-bay front), three stories, gable roof, molded brick exterior decoration, stone keystones, sills, and chimney caps; highly architectural composition. Built 1726-50; interior stripped c. 1838; burned 1916; extensive ruins remain; 18th C. graves vandalized 1967. 8 ext. photos, main house (1934, 1937, 1939), 3 ext. photos, cemetery (1934, 1937); 1 data page (n.d.); HABSI (1959). NR

 

  WHITE POST VICINITY     Clarke County (22)

Greenway Court Estate Office (VA-332), .1 mi. W of Borden's Marsh Run, .3 mi. W of State Rte. 658, .6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 627. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front); one story, gable root, one interior end chimney; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C. 4 ext. photos (1936), 2 int. photos (1936, including a photo of interior door possibly from original house now demolished); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958). NR; NHL
Page 280

Powder House (VA-108), .1 mi. W of Borden's Marsh Run,.3 mi. W of State Rte. 658, .6 mi. SW of intersection with State Rte. 627. Log, approx. 12' (one-bay front) x 12', one story, conical wood shingle roof; horizontal logs mortised into vertical corner structural members; one-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; moved to new foun-dations mid 20th C. 4 sheets (1937, including plans, elevations, section); 5 ext. photos (1936), 1 int. photo (1936); 1 data page (1937); HABSI (1958).

Rosewell

Tuleyries, The (VA-353), .8 mi. S of Westbrook Run, .7 mi. NE of State Rte. 628, 1.4 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 340. Brick with stucco, L-shaped (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with flat deck, balustrade, and octagonal domed cupola, two-story pedimented tetrastyle Corinthian portico, four interior chimneys; center-hall plan; nole brick outbuildings with stepped gables and arched window and door openings. Built 1828. 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 1 data page (1941); HABSI (1958).
Page 281

Greenway Court Estate powder house
Page 282

 

  WILLIAMSBURG

Barraud, Dr. Philip, House (Mercer House) (VA-234), NW corner of Francis and Botetourt Sts. Frame with clapboarding, approx. 46' (five-bay front) x 33', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1942. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Blair, Archibald, House (VA-196), N side of Nicholson St. between N. England St. and Palace Green. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; porch; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; porch added early 19th C.; rear ell removed 20th C.; restored 1930-31. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Blair, John, House (VA-910), N side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Nassau and Henry Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end and one interior chimney; modified three-room plan; rear shed. E four bays built early 18th C.; W three bays added late 18th C.; present interior chimney is an expansion of an earlier end chimney; restored. 1 ext. photo (1939), 1 int. photo (1937); 1 data page (1940).

Bland, Richard, House (VA-403), see Bland-Wetherburn House (Wetherburn's Tavern) (VA-403), Williamsburg.

Bland-Wetherburn House (Bland, Richard, House; Wetherburn's Tavern)((VA-403), S side of Duke of Gloucester St., E of Botetourt St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and hipped dormers, two interior chimneys, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice. Built early 1 8th C.; restored. 2 ext. photos (1938, 1939), 2 int. photos (1938, 1939); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Bracken-Carter House (VA-523), see Bracken, Rev. John, House (VA-523), Williamsburg.
Page 283

Bracken, Rev. John, House (VA-523), S side of Francis St., between Queen and Colonial Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two T-shaped exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan; attached rear structure: frame, one story, gable roof, connected by hyphen. Built early 18th C.; restored; rear structure demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Brush-Everard House (Page House) (VA-273), E side of Palace Green, N of Nicholson St. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; modified center-hall plan, interior woodwork probably moved from another structure in 18th C.; rear ell; smokehouse and kitchen outbuildings. Built early 18th C.; altered with additions; restored, second rear ell reconstructed. 6 ext. photos (1937, 1938), 1 int. photo (1937); 2 data pages (1941).

Bruton Parish Church (VA-191), NW corner of Duke of Gloucester St. and Palace Green. Brick, cruciform (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, three-story tower with low spire, arched windows, modillion cornice. Built c. 1714; chancel deepened 1750-52; tower added 1769; restored 1903-07, 1939. 2 ext. photos (1930, 1937). NHL

Camm-Apothecary Shop (VA-316), see Prentis Store (VA-316), Williamsburg.

Capitol (VA-365), E end of Duke of Gloucester St. Historic museum. Brick, H-shaped (nine-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers and central cupola, S projections have apsidal ends with semi-conical roofs, N projections have square ends, central connection has first-floor loggia. Built 1701-05; burned 1747; rebuilt in altered form by 1756; destroyed by 1832; reconstructed 1931-34. 1 ext. photo (1939); 3 data pages (1941).

Chiswell, Col. Charles, House (VA-404), S side of Francis St., E of Botetourt St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney; rear ell, side wing. Built early 18th C.; restored with E three bays reconstructed. Structure now: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (seven-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers, two interior chimneys. 2 int. photos (1937); 2 data pages (1941).
Page 284

Coke-Garrett House (VA-527), N side of Nicholson St., W of Waller St. Four-part composition: W part: frame with clapboarding, approx. 40' (five-bay front) x 18', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, exterior end chimney. Built mid 18th C. E office built partially on site of an earlier structure: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, gable-end front, pedimented porch. Built between 1810-20. In 1837, the two-and-a-half story, frame with clapboarding structure was built at the E end of the original building, and an 18th C. frame, one-and-a-half story structure was moved from another site and placed between the new building and the older brick office. Restored. 1 ext. photo (1934).

College of William and Mary, The: Brafferton Hall (VA-346), College Yard. Brick, approx. 52' (five-bay front) x 34', two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two interior chimneys; center-hall plan. Built 1723; restored 1931-32. 4 ext. photos (1937, 1938, n.d.); 3 data pages (1941, n.d.).

Main Building (Wren Building) (VA-401), College Yard. Brick, rectangular (thirteen-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, cupola and central pedimented pavilion; chapel and hall rear ells; W front has arcaded first-floor loggia between the chapel and hall ells. Built 1695-1700; burned 1705; rebuilt by c. 1716; burned and rebuilt 1859; burned 1862; rebuilt 1869; restored 1927-31. Oldest academic building in continuous use in the United States; attributed to Sir Christopher Wren. 1 sheet (n.d., restored first-floor plan only); 4 ext. photos (1937, 1938, 1939); 1 data page (n.d.). NHL

President's House (VA-913), College Yard. Brick, approx. 56' (five-bay front) x 38', two-and-a-half stories, hipped roof with dormers, two interior chimneys; center-hall plan. Building begun 1732, Henry Cary, master builder; interior burned 1781; repairs made 1782-83; restored 1931. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Wren Building (VA-401), see Main Building (VA-401), Williamsburg.

Courthouse (VA-528), Courthouse Green, N side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Queen St. and Palace Green. Historic museum. Brick, T-shaped (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof with octagonal cupola, two interior chimneys, central pedimented portico with Tuscan columns; plan has central courtroom with two-room side wings. Built 1770; interior burned 1911; columns added after fire; restored 1932, columns removed. 1 ext. photo (c. 1929).
Page 285

De Neufville (Barlow) House (VA-245), see Orr, Captain Hugh, House (VA-245), Williamsburg.

Foundation of Early Church (VA-176), Bruton Parish Churchyard. Brick, 66'2" x 28'5", five buttress bases remain on the S wall foundations, three remain on the N. Completed 1683; demolished 1718. 1 sheet (1938, foundation plan only).

Galt, Annie, House (VA-522), see Nelson-Galt House (VA-522), Williamsburg.

Golden Ball Shop (VA-526), see Hunter, Margaret, Shop (VA-526), Williamsburg.

Governor's Palace (VA-327), N end of Palace Green, N of Duke of Gloucester St. Historic house museum. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, steep hipped roof with dormers, ballustraded deck, cupola, two interior chimneys; modified four-room plan, front entrance hall; rear ell; entrance forecourt formed by two brick, one-and-a-half story dependencies. Built 1706-20; altered with additions 1749-51 and 1770-76; burned 178 1 ; reconstructed 1932-33. 4 ext. photos (1938, 1939); 4 data pages (1941).

Greenhow-Repiton Office (VA-406), S side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Nassau St. and Palace Green. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one exterior end chimney, molded brick water le. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1948, now has dormers. 1 ext. photo (1937); 1 data page (1941).

Hunter, Margaret, Shop (Golden Ball Shop) (VA-526), N side of Duke of Gloucester St., E of Botetourt St. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, gable-end front with clapboarding above eaves. Built mid 18th C.; moved and restored. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Jackson, George, House and Store (Lamb, Lucy, House) (VA-524), N side of York St., between Waller and Page Sts. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, rear lean-to continues the roof pitch of main structure, exterior end chimney; E wing: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (two-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormer, exterior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; E wing moved to present location 18th C.; demolished 1933; reconstructed 1953-54, E wing now has three bays. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).
Page 286

Kerr House (VA-525), see Palmer House (VA-525), Williamsburg.

Lamb, Lucy, House (VA-524), see Jackson, George, House and Store (VA-524), Williamsburg.

Little Christian House (VA-383), see Timson, William, House (VA-383), Williamsburg.

Ludwell-Paradise House (Paradise House) (VA-189), N side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Colonial and Queen Sts. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan; rear lean-to. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1931. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1938); 1 data page (1941).

McCandhsh House (VA-328), see Orrell, John, House (VA-328), Williamsburg.

Magazine, The (Powder Horn) (VA-529), S side of Duke of Gloucester St., between Queen St. and Palace Green. Historic museum. Brick, octagonal, two stories, peaked roof. Built c. 1716; restored 1934-35. 1 ext. photo (c. 1935).

Mercer House (VA-234), see Barraud, Dr. Philip, House (VA-234), Williamsburg.

Moody House (Roper House) (VA-237), S side of Francis St., between Botetourt and Colonial Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; rear lean-to added; demolished and reconstructed 1939-46. 3 ext. photos (1933, 1937); 2 data pages (1941).

Nelson-Galt House (Galt, Anne, House) (VA-522), N side of Francis St., E of Botetourt St. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two interior end chimneys, E chimney is T-shaped, small end-bay windows light chimney closets; center-hall plan; smaller E structure: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, T-shaped interior end chimney, connected to main house by hyphen. Built early 18th C.; later additions; restored 1951-52. 1 ext. photo (c. 1935).
Page 287

Nicolson, Robert, House (VA-188), N side of York St., between Waller and Page Sts. Historic house museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; XV two bays added. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Prentis Store
Page 288

Orr, Captain Hugh, House (De Neufville [Barlow] House) (VA-245), SW corner of Duke of Gloucester and Colonial Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one interior and one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan; rear ell. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1930-31. 1 ext. photo (1939); 1 data page (1940).

Orrell, John, House (McCandlish House) (VA-328), S side of Francis St., between Colonial and Botetourt Sts. Frame with clapboarding, 28' square (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, interior end chimney, modillion cornice; modified side-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1929-31. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Page House (VA-273), see Brush-Everard House (VA-273), Williamsburg.

Palmer House (Kerr House) (VA-525), S side of E end of Duke of Gloucester St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored 1951. Structure now: brick, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney; side-hall plan. 1 ext. photo (n.d.).

Paradise House (VA-189), see Ludwell-Paradise House (VA-189), Williamsburg.

Peachy House (VA-197), see Randolph, Peyton, House (VA-197), Williamsburg.

Powder Horn (VA-529), see Magazine, The (VA-529), Williamsburg.

Prentis Store (Camm-Apothecary Shop) (VA-316), NW corner of Duke of Gloucester and Colonial Sts. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, pedimented gable-end front with splayed eaves, interior end chimney in rear, store front with central door and large flanking windows. Built mid 18th C.; partially restored. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Providence Hall (Dr. Pott's House) (VA-912), .2 mi. S of Francis St., SE of Williamsburg Inn. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end double chimneys with brick pent closets between; smokehouse outbuilding. Built late 18th C.; dismantled and moved from Providence Forge location, .2 mi. SE of Old Forge Pond, now N lane of U.S. Rte. 60, NW side of intersection with State Rte. 608, Providence Forge, New Kent Co.; reconstructed in Williamsburg; smokehouse demolished. 6 ext. photos (1934, 1936, 1937), 3 ext. photos, outbuildings (1934, 1937); HABSI (1958).
Page 289

Public Gaol (VA-530), N side of Nicholson St., between Waller and Botetourt Sts. Historic museum. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, frame gable ends above eaves, two small interior chimneys. Built early 18th C.; restored 1935-36. Building now: brick, I.-shaped, one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinhead at S end and hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney, enclosed S yard. 1 ext. photo (1934).

Public Records Office (VA-1 95), N side of E end of 'Duke of Gloucester St. Historic Museum. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, hipped roof, two T-shaped interior chimneys, rubbed brick pedimented door ornamentation; three-room plan. Built 1747-48; restored. 1 ext. photo (1937).

Randolph, Peyton, House (Peachy House) (VA-197), NE corner of Nicholson and N. England Sts. Historic house museum. Built in three parts, W part: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior chimney, two-story closed porch on N front. Built c. 1715; restored. E part: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, interior chimney. Built c. 1724; reconstructed. Middle part added to connect the two buildings: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, interior end chimney. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 1 ext. photo (1938), 5 int. photos (1937, 1938, 1939); 2 data pages (1941). NR; NHL

Randolph-Semple House (VA-911), see Semple House (VA-911), Williamsburg.

Roper House (VA-237), see Moody House (VA-237), Williamsburg.

Semple House (Randolph-Semple House) (VA-911), S side of Francis St., IV of Waller St. Frame with clapboarding, -rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, pedimented gable-end front, two interior end chimneys, Roman Doric entrance porch; three-room plan; flanking one-story, two-bay wings form typical Palladian design. Built late 18th C.; roof of central block burned and replaced c. 1900; restored 1932. 1 ext. photo (1938). NR; NHL
Page 290

Spencer's Hotel

Spencer's Hotel (VA-356), present site of Chowning's Tavern, NW corner of Duke of Gloucester and Queen Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (six-bay front), two stories, hipped roof with cupola, two-level full-length porch on S and W fronts. Built c. 1840; additions to N and E; demolished c. 1938. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941).

Taliaferro-Cole Shop (VA-531), S side of Duke of Gloucester St. E of Nassau St. Historic museum. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (four-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, gable-end front; lean-to shed added on W. Built before 1782; partially restored; lean-to removed. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

Timson, William, House (Little Christian House) (VA-383), NW corner of Prince George and Nassau Sts. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, brick interior end chimney. Built early 18th C.; later additions; restored. 1 ext. photo (1938); 1 data page (1941). HABS1 (n.d.).

Wetherburn's Tavern (VA-403), see Bland-Wetherburn House (Bland, Richard, House) (VA-403), Williamsburg.
Page 291

 

  WILLIAMSBURG VICINITY     James City County (48)

Carter's Grove (VA-351), .2 mi. W of Grices Run, .7 mi. SW of U.S. Rte. 60, .2 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 667. Historic house museum. Brick (Flemish bond with belt course and molded water le), rectangular (seven-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, modillion cornice, two interior chimneys, rubbed brick flat arches and quoins, molded brick pedimented entranceways; plan centers on broad, paneled entrance hall with smaller stair hall behind, flanking paneled rooms with imported marble mantel in W parlor; connected side dependencies: brick, rectangular (three-bay fronts), one-and-a-half stories, gable roofs with dormers; hyphens have similar design. Built 1751, David Minitree, builder; roof raised and dormers added 1927-29; dependencies enlarged and connected to house. 2 photos, plantation account book showing payments for house construction (1939); 3 data pages (1941). NR; NHL

Kingsmill Plantation Dependencies (VA-208), .6 mi. S of Kingsmill Pond, 1.5 mi. S of S end of State Rte. 637, 1.8 mi. S of intersection with U.S. Rte. 60. Two dependencies: brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (four-bay front), one story, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, double entrance doorways; two-room plan. Built mid 18th C.; W dependency said to have burned and been rebuilt within the old walls; later frame additions. 2 ext. photos (1938); 2 data pages (1940).

Maine Farm (VA-71), .6 mi. W of Powhatan Creek, .1 mi. E of State Rte. 614, .9 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 31. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end chimneys, pedimented entrance porch, larger gable dormer over entrance porch. Built late 18th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished c. 1928. 6 ext. photos (1928); 1 data page (n.d.).

Poplar Hall (VA-755), .1 mi. S of Skiffes Creek, .2 mi. N of U.S. Rte. 60, .9 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 667. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, two exterior T-shaped end chimneys; rear ell. Built late 17th C.; later additions and alterations; demolished. 2 ext. photos (1937).

Skiffs Creek House (VA-407), .1 mi. W of Skiffes Creek, 1.6 mi. SE of U.S. Rte. 60, 1.4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 667. Brick, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys; irregular plan. Built mid 18th C.; enlarged early 19th C.; burned 1964. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1936); 1 data page (1941).
Page 292

 

  WILLIS VICINITY     Floyd County (32)

Mabry Mill (VA-165), 1 mi. SE of Laurel Fork, E side of Blue Ridge Pkwy., 1 mi. S of intersection with State Rte. 778. Historic museum. Frame with clapboarding and batten walls, rectangular, one story above stone foundations, gable roof; waterwheel; one-story flanking wings lower than central block. Built c. 1900 for use as a saw mill and grist mill; restored. 7 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 6 ext. photos (1940); 1 data page (1940); HABSI (1958).

Mabry Mill

Mabry Mill
Page 293

Mabry Mill
Page 294

Mabry Mill
Page 295

Mabry Mill
Page 296

Mabry Mill
Page 297

Mabry Mill

 

  WILSONS VICINITY     Dinwiddic County (27)

Roseberry (VA-727), .9 mi. N of White Oak Creek, .1 mi. N of intersection of State Rte. 640 and U.S. Rte. 460, .6 mi. E of intersection with State Rte. 724. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, two exterior end chimneys, full-length one-story porch; one-story side wing; three frame one-story gable roof outbuildings each having one free-standing chimney. Built mid 19th C.; extensively altered; outbuildings demolished. 2 ext. Photos (1936).

 

  WINCHESTER

Abram's Delight (VA-692), see Hollingsworth, Isaac, House (VA-692), Winchester.

Amherst Street Area Survey (VA-694), N side of Amherst St. between Washington and Braddock Sts. Mid 19th C. area, containing 5 houses (Robert Long House, 1850; Alexander S. Tidball House, c. 1830; William F. Hottle House, 1880; Dr. William T. McGuire House and office, c. 1880; and Edward McGuire House, c. 1825). 6 sheets (1972, including site plans, plans, elevations, details); 25 data pages (1972).
Page 298

Durtz, Adam, House (Washington's Headquarters) (VA-696), NE corner S. Braddock St. and W. Cork St. Museum. Rubble stone and log with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior chimney; three-room plan. Built c. 1750. 1 photo-copy (1899); 11 data pages (1972).

Glen Burnie (VA-698), 801 Amherst St., opposite intersection with Whittier Ave. Brick, rectangular with side and rear wings, two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Original portion built c. 1794; altered 19th C.; remodeled 1959. 18 data pages (1972).

Hollingsworth, Isaac, House (Abram's Delight) (VA-692), Rouss Spring Ave. House Museum. Random rubble, 38'2" (three-bay front) x 27'4", two stories, gable roof, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built 1754, two-story gable-end wing. 7 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, section, details); 11 data pages (1972).

Lawyer's Row (Holliday Office Building) (VA-691), 30-36 Rouss Ave. Brick, 61'3" (ten-bay front) x 36'1", two stories, gable roof, two double interior end chimneys, one double interior chimney, one-story front porch; interior arranged as three offices (first floor), two offices (second floor). Built '1874. 5 sheets (1972, including plans, elevations, section, details); 10 data pages (1972).

Amherst Area Street Survey
Page 299

Washington's Headquarters (VA-696), see Durtz, Adam, House (VA-696), Winchester.

 

  WINCHESTER VICINITY     Frederick County (35)

Red Lion Tavern (VA-508), 204-08 S. Loudoun St. Stone, two stories, gable roof; rear ell. Built late 18th C.; later alterations and additions. 1 ext. photo (1935); HABSI (1958).

 

  WOODBRIDGE VICINITY     Prince William County (76)

King's Highway (VA-579), narrow roadway bordered by hedgerows, extending from ferry landing opposite Colchester for several hundred yards to Belmont subdivision. It roughly parallels U.S. Rte. 1 and stands as a ridge across open fields. Built as a colonial post road. 2 photos (1959); 2 data pages (1959); HABSI (1959).

Rippon Lodge (VA-106), .2 mi. NW of Neabsco Creek, .2 mi. NW of State Rte. 638, .8 mi. E of intersection with U.S. Rte. 1. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior chimney; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; extensive later alterations and additions including colonnaded front porch, flanking wings, and rear porch. 9 sheets (1936, including plans, elevations, sections, details); 2 ext. photos (1936), 5 int. photos (1936), 1 int. photo, furnishings (1936), 1 photo, wooden newel post as garden ornament (1936).

Scarlit, Martin, Gravestone (VA-838), W bank of Belmont Bay, between Conrad Point and Deep Hole Point at end of State Rte. 687, 2 mi. SE of intersection with U.S. Rte. 1. Stone, rectangular grave-stone with clipped corners, bearing the inscription: "M S 1695. Heare lyes Martin Scarlit Gent." Erected 1695 on gravesite near Marumsco Creek, discarded into Marumsco Creek and gravesite cultivated c. 1900; retrieved and erected at present location approx. 1 mi. E of original site c. 1915. 1 photo (1936).

 

  WOODFORD     Caroline County (17)

Flippo House (Old Sycamore Tavern) (VA-344), Woodford, exact location unknown. Brick nogging with clapboarding, 166" (three-bay front) x 20'2", one-and-a-half stories, gambrel roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; one-room plan; shed. Built late 18th C.; demolished. 6 ext. photos (1936); 1 data page (1941).

Old Sycamore Tavern (VA-344), see Flippo House (VA-344), Woodford.
Page 300

Issac Hollingsworth House

 

  WOODS CROSSROADS VICINITY     Gloucester County (37)

Marlfield (VA-514), .3 mi. N of Poplar Spring Branch, .1 mi. SW of State Rte. 612, 1.4 mi. NIV of intersection with State Rte. 613. Brick (Flemish bond), T-shaped (three-bay facade), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two exterior end chimneys, one interior end chimney, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built early 18th C.; enlarged; demolished mid 20th C. 3 ext. photos (1934).

Mount Prodigal (VA-510), see Roane House (VA-510), Woods Cross-roads Vicinity.

Roane House (Mount Prodigal) (VA-510), 1 mi. E of Poropotank River, .2 mi. SE of U.S. Rte. 17, .4 mi. N of intersection with State Rte. 14. Brick, rectangular (six-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior end chimneys, one-story wooden pedimented entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell; dairy and smokehouse: frame with clapboarding, rectangular, one story, pyramidal roofs. Built c. 1700; later additions and alterations. 3 ext. photos (1934), 1 ext. photo, dairy (1935); 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1935); 1 int. photo ( 1935); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); 11ABS1 (1959).
Page 301

 

  WORSHAM     Prince Edward County (74)

Jail (VA-552), .8 mi. N of W tributary of Briery Creek, W side of U.S. Rte. 15, SW side of intersection with State Rte. 695. Stone, rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, gable roof, one interior end chimney, brick gable ends above caves. Built 1823; burned 1845 and rebuilt; burned 1855 and repaired; demolished. 1 ext. photo (c. 1934).

YORKTOWN     York County (100)

Archer House (VA-914), S bank of York River, side of Water St., Colonial National Historical Park. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations c. 1820, 4913; restored. 3 sheets (1958, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details).

Architectural Remains: Bake Oven (VA-915), Commons Lot 117, Water St., Colonial National Historical Park. Brick remains of bake oven. Built early 18th C.; demolished. Site is immediately N of and adjacent to the Archer House. 1 sheet (1960, including plot plan, plan).

Architectural Remains: Structures "L"and "M" (VA-917), Lot 77, Main St., Colonial National Historical Park. Brick foundations of two rectangular structures; structure "L" 36'2" x 18'3"; structure "M," 16'2" x 12'2". Built c. 1706-07; destroyed c. 1755-60. Site is located in the front yard of the Dudley Digger House. 2 sheets (1960, including plot plan, plan, sections).

Ballentine House (Dewsville) (VA-596), S side of Main St., between Comte de Grasse and Nelson Sts. Brick, 39'8" (three-bay front) x 19'4", one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, one exterior end chimney; two-room plan, nole interior trim. Built c. 1939 from material salvaged from Dewsville, Newton Vicinity, King and Queen Co., which was originally built late 18th C. 3 int. photos (1960, showing salvaged architectural features); 3 data pages (1960).
Page 302

Customs House (VA-202), W corner of intersection of State Rte. 1004 and Main St. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), two stories, hipped roof, interior end chimney, modillion cornice; two-room plan. Built early 18th C.; restored 1929. 3 ext. photos (1934, 1938); HABSI (1959).

Dewsville (VA-596), see Ballentine House (VA-596), Yorktown.

Digges, Dudley, House (West House) (VA-82), NE side of Main St., NW corner of intersection with State Rte. 1002. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (five-hay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with pedimeiited dormers, modillion cornice, two interior end chimneys; center-hall plan. Built c. 1760. 18 sheets (1935, including plans, elevations, details); 5 ext. photos (1934, 1937); 1 ext. photo-copy (n.d.); 2 data pages (1938).

Foundations (VA-93), SE corner of intersection of Main and Church Sts. in Lot 30, Yorktown. Unexposed. 1 sheet (1935, plan).

Foundations (VA-92), MV corner of intersection of Main and Church Sts. in Lot 31, Yorktown. Unexposed. 1 sheet (1935, plan).

Lightfoot House (Somerwell House) (VA-87), E corner of intersection of State Rte. 1003 and Main St. Brick (Flemish bond with glazed headers), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable wooden pedimented entrance porch; center-hall plan; rear ell; dairy and smokehouse: frame with clapboarding, rectangular, one story, pyramidal roofs. Built c. 1700; later additions and alterations. 3 ext. photos (1934), l ext. photo, dairy (1935); 1 ext. photo, smokehouse (1935); 1 int. photo (1935); 1 ext. photocopy (n.d.); HABSI (1959).

Dudley Digges House
Page 303

Medical Shop (VA-395), N corner of intersection of State Rte. 1003 and Main St. Colonial National Historical Park. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (three-bay front), one story, gable roof, one interior end chimney. Built late 18th C.; reconstructed. 1 ext. photo (1939).

Nelson House (VA-58), see York Hall (VA-58), Yorktown.

Sessions-Sheild House (VA-81), S corner of intersection of State Rte. 1005 and Main St. Brick, 49'6" (five-bay front) x 27', one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and hipped dormers, modillion cornice, two exterior end T-shaped chimneys; center-hall plan; frame rear ell. Built c. 1700. 11 sheets (1933, including plans, elevations, details); 4 ext. photos (1934, 1938); 1 data page (1937); HABSI (1959).

Somerwell House (VA-87), see Lightfoot House (VA-87), Yorktown.

Swan Tavern (VA-83), SW side of Main St., SE side of intersection with State Rte. 1001. Frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with jerkinheads and hipped dormers, interior end chimneys. Original structure built early 18th C.; demolished 1862; reconstructed 1934. 10 sheets (1933, including plot plan, archeological remains, plan, elevations, details); 3 ext. photos (1934); 1 photocopy (n.d.); 2 data pages (n.d.).

Two Stone Steps from the Dudley Digges House (VA-916), Lot 77, Main St., Colonial National Historical Park. Fragments of two stone steps with unusual keying as integral part of the stone. Stone is limestone of English origin. Steps made during 18th C.; excavated mid 20th C. 1 sheet (1960, including plans, elevations, molding profiles).

West House (VA-82), see Digges, Dudley, House (VA-82), Yorktown.

Wharf Buildings (VA-371), N side of State Rte. 238, E corner of intersection with George P. Coleman Memorial Toll Bridge. First building: frame with clapboarding, rectangular (five-bay front), gable roof, interior chimney. Built c.1934. Second building: brick, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof, one exterior end chimney. Built c. 1934. 2 ext. photos (1935).
Page 304

York Hall

York Hall (Nelson House) (VA-58), W corner of intersection of State Rte. 1005 and Main St. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with hipped dormers, two interior chimneys, pedimented gable ends, modillion cornice, segmental-arched window openings with stone keystones, molded brick water le, brick pedimented entrance motif, stone quoins; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; later alterations. 8 ext. photos (1934, 1937, 1938), 2 int. photos (n.d.); 13 ext. photocopies (c. 1863, 1915), 21 int. photo-copies (c. 1915); 4 data pages (1937).

Moore Hall

Painting/Sketch of Moore House not available
Page 306

 

  YORKTOWN VICINITY     York County (100)

Kiskiack (VA-183), W bank of S tributary of Lee Pond, 1.6 mi. NW of State Rte. 238, 2.4 mi. NE of intersection with State Rte. 168, Page 305 Naval Weapons Station. Brick (Flemish bond), rectangular (three-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior T-shaped end chimneys with molded brick caps, brick water le, advanced entrance vestibule; center-hall plan. Built late 17th C.; burned February 24, 1915; renovated 1927; entrance vestibule added 1937. 4 sheets (1940, including plans, elevations). NR

Moore House (VA-80), .1 mi. S of York River, E side of State Rte. 676, .4 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 238. Frame with clap-boarding, rectangular (five-bay front), one-and-a-half stories, hipped on gable roof with hipped dormers, two exterior end T-shaped chimneys, modillion cornice; center-hall plan. Built mid 18th C.; restored. 16 sheets (1931, including plans, elevations, details, archeological remains); 10 ext. photos (1929, 1934, 1939); 2 ext. photocopies (1864); 1 data page (1940).

 

  YORKTOWN NAVAL WEAPONS STATION BRANCH VICINITY     York County (100)

Bellfield Cemetery (VA-918), .2 mi. NW of Indian Field Creek, .2 mi. N of intersection of Bellfield and Digges Rds., .4 mi. N of intersection of Digges and Felgates Rds. Marble and brick, le tombs. Erected 18th C.; restored. 1 ext. photo (c. 1900).

Ringfield (VA-318), S bank of King Creek, .2 mi. N of Colonial National Pkwy., 1.8 mi. SE of intersection with State Rte. 641. Brick, rectangular (five-bay front), two-and-a-half stories, gable roof with dormers, two interior T-shaped end chimneys; brick wing. Built 18th C.; altered; demolished c. 1905. 1 ext. photocopy (c. 1900); 3 data pages (1940).
Page 307

 



Send Comments/Questions To: Gary Stanton